You are here: HomeNews2017 01 10Article 499694

Plagiarism in Akufo-Addo's speech depressing and shocking - Minority

Read Comments Comments (128)

• Kofi-USA 7 years ago

WHAT DID NDC SAY WHEN MAHAMA QUOTED PARTS OF A SPEECH BY JFK WORD FOR WORD. WAS THAT NOT ALSO PLAGIARISM.

• Kwasi Asante RI USA 7 years ago

Bro Kofi,
    The President's speech writer must be shown the exit or be demoted.There's nothing wrong to quote others' in a speech. But such a historic moment for the President, I believe the speech writer should have concentra ...

• JJ 7 years ago

No matter what his supporters spin around and around, Nana Addo's behavior was disgusting and disgraceful!!

• CHARLES KOOLIE 7 years ago

Plagiarized speech is not depressing, but rather looting and stealing from state coffers with impunity is depressing than anything you can imagine.

Notorious and nation wreckers, NDC con men have stolen every asset in our ...

• ADANKO 7 years ago

Whatever name you give to Akuffo Addos speech,he is still your president.You must think of remaining in opposition forever and ever.You will remember all the 4x4 cars which are no more coming.Sorry for you ooo NDC. Don't cry.

• KB,LONDON 7 years ago

What can be worse than NDC government of thieves at the seat of government. You have managed to rob the country under broad day light. Never think of a comeback because IT WON'T HAPPEN.

• PNDC 7 years ago

That is a hallmark of incompetent and crass opposition.

• Gye Nyame 7 years ago

The speech writer apologized and the world has heard the apology, Melania Trump did same, her speech writer apologized and that was end of story. When brought up in an interview in the near future, Nana Addo will apologize. ...

• OMANBAPA KD 7 years ago

Mahama lifts part of JFK's speech: NDC distractors are all "blind".

Nana Addo lifts from whoever:
    NDC distractors suddenly have 20/20 vision.

Campaigns are over; election is over; Mother Ghana has a President to whom ...

• Eben 7 years ago

Nana only wears those glasses only to look smart which he isn't. All along, I thought he was a smart guy.

• Tee 7 years ago

If you remove the stupid political cover from your brains you will think better.Get lost.

• Sam Adjei-Kwabi 7 years ago

UHURU KENYATTA DID NOT BECOME GHANA's PRESIDENT OVERNIGHT

• AKAJATAME 7 years ago

IS a SHAME, in the campaign time when Akufo Addo will talk he will mention Kufour did these he that and I was saying can't this man talk of his own.You here Manama campaign mentioned Rawllings name but Akufo Addo always Kufo ...

• BECCA 7 years ago

akufo must resign now
    the dead hyena akufo Addo! i don't even know what people see in this man! a common speech too you have to steal it from Americans that you claim that are not good for our development. in Ghana we have s ...

• C J 7 years ago

Pls respect Him he is still your president !

• Papa Jeff quashie 7 years ago

Becca, you are an asshole. Stupid fool.you are blind. I wonder how your children are going to fare. Stupid thing

• inercycl 7 years ago

U will know how fit he is when he starts to jail your NDC thieving ministers and even the bribe taking president Mahama.

• Frimso. UK, a bushman 7 years ago

It is sad when educated people behave in a manner that diminishes literacy to a level where one could easily justify the waste of resources it is to put people like you through school all in the name of politics. It is utter ...

• Chic 7 years ago

Change has come to Ghana with a speech from old US Prez. Blame the little man.... speechwriter. What is Nana's own vision if the speech isn't his ? We told you Nana isn't fit.

• George 7 years ago

Dab3n na NdcFoo b3hunu nyansa? Why do you worry about this ?

• Kofi Seth 7 years ago

I think Nana should dig around him again because these so called American graduates are all fakes. I think the committee should start vetting them. Whether they are private secretary's or private security the all should be ve ...

• Jerry 7 years ago

Well, when we people complained about 3rd class degree holders and their low IQ, people said it degrees were not important to be president. Now the fake lawyer with a 3rd class degree in economics doesn't even know that plagi ...

• Socrates 7 years ago

Akufo is too arrogant that he won't do the right thing by apologizing. Same conduct lead to his expulsion from Oxford

• ERIC 7 years ago

CURSE BE TO YOU IF YOUR USELESS MAHAMA HAS DONE SAME BEFORE. AJIMIFO NDC.

• Ayitevi 7 years ago

EVEN DR KWAME NKRUMAH, OBAMA AND MANY MORE HAS DONE THIS UNCOUNTABLE TIMES,, NDC MUST FIND SOMETHING BETTER TO DIVERT ATTENTION,,, THEY MUST PREPARE FOR NSAWAM PRISONS HAHAHA

• Socrates 7 years ago

Wise man can never apologise to foolish ndc dogs, ask Prof Mantey, Can your stupid ndc let wisemen like Nkrumah, obama, George Bush apologise? Wisemen don't apologise to desperate opposition

• Efo Kwaku Canada 7 years ago

NDC fools and idiots nonentities and educated illiterates are dragging my balls now, didn't those idiots defend Mahama Prez secretary changing Mahama name to Kenya president, Mahama Ford bribe which is disgrace and embarrasse ...

• Socrates 7 years ago

Gready Mahama will die loke a dead goat, after this huge loot, you dont want to give Dr Bawumia his home

• 4 Year Old 7 years ago

This is no big deal, sir. It's not academic exercise. Nobody owns words. God made them and we speak it freely. Give me a break.

• Jonna 7 years ago

Hey! you are worse than the dwarf who plagiarised presidential speeches.

• aikins (mission accomplished) 7 years ago

Was that not more disgraceful more than what NANA ADDO DANQUAH AKUFO ADDO did ? You guys should give us a break, mahama has disgraced Ghanaians as a president than any other president has done.

• MUGU YARO 7 years ago

KOFI-USA, WE CANNOT GRANT YOU THE BREAK YOU REQUESTED FOR, DON'T FORGET MAHAMA IS A MEDIA MAN WHO HAS WRITTEN HIS OWN BOOK, YES HE MAY HAVE QUOTED JFK, BUT I BET YOU HE ACKNOWLEDGED HIM. IF MAHAMA HAD NOT ACKNOWLEDGED JFK WIL ...

• Armyson 7 years ago

Ndcfo) nyinaa maame tw3 s3 konka.
    Kwasiafo) u guys talk as if he stole the whole speech.
    Mo maame tw3 one one

• pilolo 7 years ago

incompetent impotent oldman

• MATTALLY 7 years ago

Thank God you said he 'Quoted'QUOTING IS NOT A CRIME WAI. Unlike making somebody's speech look as if they were originally urs without any acknowledgement.

• Otaniiba 7 years ago

NDC IS THE WORST OF ALL

• Youli 7 years ago

Please advise Nana his outfit on the first day at the Office was bad

...yes.

• ... 7 years ago

Sour grapes

• KumiDumor 7 years ago

"The controversy you're talking about is not meaningful at all. “SHE'S NOT A CANDIDATE FOR OFFICE”. She was expressing her personal feelings about her country and her husband and why he's best for the United States." … ...

• Too Late 7 years ago

Exactly what does 'Akufo-Addo plagiarised speech is depressing and must be withdrawn' mean? The bad news is: the bad news is already out there, maybe somewhere way up in the 'cloud' and the foreign media are already having a ...

u guys promised to do a good job in opposition but u hv started again fooling, by 2020 the gap betn npp n u will be 2 million votes.make u guys continue fooling

• KumiDumor 7 years ago

… … "The controversy you're talking about is not meaningful at all. “SHE'S NOT A CANDIDATE FOR OFFICE”. She was expressing her personal feelings about her country and her husband and why he's best for the United State ...

• AmalibaM 7 years ago

Your minority leader, Haruna Iddrisu has a PhD in plagiarism. It is an open secret that he used NDC bigwigs to get his PhD degree because his thesis were full of plagiarism.

• Nuhu M US 7 years ago

This quote is not from Bush. Bush plagiarized the speech from Wldrow Wilson one of the Americans President.

• CharlesP 7 years ago

The pot calling the kettle black. The speech was neither depressing or shocking. I will listen to it over and over, plagiarism or not. It did not smack of deception and if it was meant to be inspiring it ticked all the right ...

• Kwetteh 7 years ago

It is an embarrassment. The new govt. should own up to it, apologize and let's move on. It is not encouraging though.

• Uncle Pee 7 years ago

There is no new thing under the sun! NDC minority must find something better to do!

• Cletus Kuunifaa 7 years ago

What a hopeless fellow who no longer counts or matters anymore. Go inside and switch on your heater.

Meanwhile repeat this every morning: HIS EXCELLENCY NANA ADDO DANQUAH AKUFFO ADDO, PRESIDENT OF GHANA.

Nuff Respect

• asem 7 years ago

you have nothing to say, you are frustrated, go and sleep and come back tomorrow

• asem 7 years ago

you have nothing to say, you are frustrated, go and sleep and come back tomorrow

• asem 7 years ago

• AKUFO, ALL DIE BE DIE UGLY DWARF. 7 years ago

DONALD TRUMP USED NANA ADDO'S INAUGURAL SPEECH TO JUSTIFY WHY HE IS ALWAYS HARSH ON AFRICANS

The president of the United States of America, Donald Trump said he will continue to hold the neck of Africans if they are not r ...

• zebila Donkey Rider 7 years ago

Does Trump put food on Ghanains table or is he the one who gave we Northners free Education. American problems are more and worse than Ghana's if you don't know.

• AKUFO, ALL DIE BE DIE UGLY DWARF. 7 years ago

Seriously, if you knew competent Akufo Addo could not assemble men to write his inaugural speech with their own words, would you have voted for him?
    Our elders said if a Tuesday market would be good, it depended on the happe ...

• sam 7 years ago

please stop this shit and lets move on

• Abeiku SW2 London 7 years ago

Oh Please ... let's move on and help make Ghana a better place for Ghanaians .. it's not the end of the world ... come on guys

• Rev Atopa 7 years ago

you lost the election because u paid too much attention to the npp while in power and less than three days after you went to opposition you are still doing same.Am sure you will come to power 3030

• Nana adwoa 7 years ago

Weda u like it or yes Nana will continue to be our President for the next 8 years. Pls give us a break. It has taken u all by surprise, to all those who tot he can't be President shame unto you, you are not God, instead of us ...

• Abeiku SW2 London 7 years ago

Oh Please ... let's move on and help make Ghana a better place for Ghanaians .. it's not the end of the world ... this is getting very boring now ... come on ..

• apuuuu 7 years ago

Is clear Ghanaians made right decision to get ride of ndc party and send them to opposition to learn a thing of two they started making outrageous comments about Nana Adoo it did not work they lost bi ...

• Bob 7 years ago

I am very depressed now since my American friends won't give me a break from this embarrassment. Nana you no try kraa. This no be good start.

• Eb 7 years ago

What an embarrassment to mother Ghana. As a Ghanaian living in the States, to see this as news on TV and all over the international media, I was soo humiliated as my colleagues made mockery of my country for the first time. A ...

• C J 7 years ago

This is nothing to make a big issue out of, Ghanaians should focus on the wisdom that message carries!!!! Be a CITIZEN !!!!

• Henry 7 years ago

A baby can only crack a snail ???? but dares a tortoise ????

*Odikro of Akyem Tinkong 1826*

Ghana is going to be sweet like honey????
    Remember all idioms, poems, music & proverbs *(literary works)* have an authority

• Henry 7 years ago

Ecclesiastes 1:9-10New International Version (NIV)

9 What has been will be again,
        what has been done will be done again;
        there is nothing new under the sun.
    10 Is there anything of which one can say,

• Kojo Thompson 7 years ago

But what do Ghanaians expect when they've cozily adopted corruption as part of our culture and have therefore ignored Akufo-Addo's corrupt background and voted for him to become president? What do Ghanaians expect when Akufo- ...

• joe 7 years ago

Foolish and negative thinking. What Ghanaians are interested in is the looted billions by the outgoing Mahama administration. Will shall hunt them down until they all end up behind bars.
    Thieves and Lair

• Yaa Adwubi 7 years ago

If you rigged election and in hurry to begin looting and witch hunting thus what happens to you. The Genesis of disgrace was at the inauguration. Prepare for more when he has to deliver speech at the international diplomatic ...

• JOHN 7 years ago

HE WOULD HAVE READ OVER THE SPEECH AND MAKE SOME CHANGES BUT THE MAN HIMSELF CANNOT TELL GHANAIANS WHO ISSUED HIS LAW CERT TO HIM

• Daniel Amoakoh 7 years ago

President Nana Akufo-Addo gave a wonderful and inspiring speech. A single phrase without a citation is an acceptable oversight. This must not be the ground for minority to express their bitterness.

• Grid 7 years ago

Move on. Yesterdays news

• Karim 7 years ago

Charity begins at home or first day in office stealing someone words what about the rest of the days weeks months years God save Ghana from this stealers

• OWEN NEW YORK 7 years ago

ITS BETTER NDC MEMBERS TELL GHANAIANS NOT YO EVEN SPEAK ENGLISH EVERY NATIONAL EVENT IN GHANA. INSTEAD OF THINKING OF THE NUMEROUS PROBLEMS FACING THE COUNTRY, THESE NDC FOOLS WILL NOT LET THE NEW GOVERNMENT TO THINK FAR BECA ...

• SAY IT LOUD 7 years ago

Copyright laws allow people to use other persons' work 70 years after their death without quoting them.

President Nana Addo statement was first used by Woodrow Wilson who died over 70years now. Bush used it in 2001 without ...

• kwaku USA 7 years ago

Tell Mahanadi to vacate the place

• Baba 7 years ago

Surprised if you take us serious we will be happy to have you but you don't bring us any serious issues sorry we will take easy with you people at all, we have along way to go so please get serious and make sure any you put i ...

• Freddie Re Nduom fucken dirty lies. 7 years ago

It only in a Useless Ghana, that when an elected president finish reading a pregialized speech to the citizens, a good for nothing elderly man like Martey would come referring to the latter as a wise one. We should seat in G ...

• Kaba Tim 7 years ago

Can someone help me here was this statement issued by the minority leader? If no, why the statement was not in his name. Interesting times indeed

• Hassan Anabah 7 years ago

This old man is putting Ghanaians onto dh

• zombie police 7 years ago

Nana should speak Akyem from now, that is his native language because anything he says in English has been said before.Sani Abacha never gave a speech as a President. All this long English and speeches with big words did not ...

• Onaapo Virus vaccinator 7 years ago

Haruna infected Addo with Plagi-Virus type Onaapo at the inauguration grounds. He should have been vaccinated at least 3 weeks before appearing at the Black Star Square.

• FACT 7 years ago

Plagiarized speech, where?
    The use of the words citizens, spectators, subjects is plagiarized speech? Anokwa...
    Ghana is confronted as of today about 4 serious issues arising from acts of commission or omission of John Maha ...

• ChrisC 7 years ago

Foolish minority, did anybody tell these NDC dunces to pick their battles? What an idiot minority.

• TVhm 7 years ago

So owusu bempa didn't see the speech coming?

• Jackson 7 years ago

he was aslp

• Afia.Sika Gomoa.Nkran 7 years ago

If The Minority Has Nothing Doing In Parliament At The Moment,They Should Get Out Of There And Save The Taxpayer Some Cedis At The End Of The Month . if Plagiarized Speeches Are The Only Problems Facing The Country For Which ...

• zebila Donkey Rider 7 years ago

Speech is only a talk show, it is not necessary.Abacha never gave a speech how about that?

• TI 7 years ago

this were the peoples saying somebody is incompetent

That is not a big deal. To hell with the Minority. I think NPP has apologised for it. What again? Mahama did the same thing.Why do you want to make a mountain out of this? Give suggestions that can solve the problems of the c ...

• Armyson 7 years ago

Useless Ndc who started this whole saga u thought u were destroying npp u didn't know u were destroying Ghanas image now look at wat they are saying.

• Nana yeboah 7 years ago

Ask ur leader wat happened in his university days

• moses 7 years ago

pls n.d.c give us a break over ur overzealousness and unwarranted approach to critize anything cos u are in opposition.if ur team had done what the people wanted u wouldnt have lost this elections shamefully.The communicatio ...

• J J Poter 7 years ago

NDC IS SUFFERING FROM KPOKPOBRIBRI OF THE SHAMEFUL DEFEAT.
    THEY WILL REMAIN IN OPPOSITION FOR LONG TIME BECAUSE THEY CAN'T THINK FAR THEY THINK MADNESS

• papa ghana think Good 7 years ago

Is English our language?

• kweku 7 years ago

This is wat ndc do best. Stupid press conference.

• Jackson 7 years ago

nppfo nyinaa mou mame tw3 s3 wiasie

• kk 7 years ago

Eiii NDC, is this what constructive criticism mean to u people? Ohhhh, I pity you people paaaaaa.....
    You have nothing to do as minority in Parliament than this.....Is good.
    No matter what, your DEAD GOAT(JDM) is no more... ...

• M.A. Abbew 7 years ago

Togather we build a stronge Nation

• ben 7 years ago

Why did the minority leader haruna the chief plargiaris not sign?

• Jacob 7 years ago

Akans every time '"Oburoni Wawu."That is their own way.Common speech is very difficult for a whole lawyer like Akuffo Addo.Blockheaded Akans ".Fufu" must be banned in Ghana.That is what makes it difficult in Ghana especiall ...

• Abdulai Mahamadu 7 years ago

Ladies and gentle men,let me pump some sense into the coconot of the NPP ,we are not saying that you cannot plagiarize but you have to quote the source and give credit to it.

• kk 7 years ago

PLEASE GOOGLE JOHN MAHAMA INAUGURAL SPEECH VRS J F KENNEDY'S INAUGURAL SPEECH
    2013 John Mahama's inaugural speech paragraph 16
    "In your hands, my fellow citizens, more than mine, will rest the final success or failure of ou ...

• Kwaku Bright 7 years ago

Please what is the percentage of the plagiarism? Kindly tell us that the speech was this percent plagiarise that makes it bad. Otherwise, let's Ghanaians have our peace. Some percent of plagiarism s accepted in academic writt ...

• THE SILENT BLIND OLD WATCHMAN 7 years ago

Any crime committed? IS IT IN THE GRAMMAR, STYLE OR CONTENT? AND IS THAT PORTION PLAGIALISED NOT IN GOOD TASTE FOR A GHANAIAN OR GHANAIANS. NDC MP'S SHOULD NOT ONAAPO THEIR ROLE AS PARLIAMENTARIANS. YOU COULD NOT EVEN COMPLE ...

• BERNARD 7 years ago

GET RID OF YOUR STRETCH MARKS, SCARS, ACNE, DARK SPOTS, DRY SKIN, SUNBURNS, RASHES & OTHER SKIN.0572174551
    RELATED PROBLEMS USING OUR NATURAL PRODUCTS .0572174551
    ALSO GET PRODUCTS THAT BRINGS OUT THE BEST OF YOUR SKIN'S CO ...

• Dessie 7 years ago

Scandals upon scandals:Wontumi(chairman) .propergated scheme to humiliate Mahama which turned to be fraud got himself embarrassed.and reminded in jail.Now President's speech plagiarized that has led much humiliation

• Atta Germany 7 years ago

NDC (FOOLS)

• Eno 7 years ago

Welcome to the New Ghana, NPP style where originality of thought is thrown outside and replaced with stealing of ideas of others. Be citizens not spectators indeed.

• Tommy 7 years ago

I want to know the feeling of former President Rawlings right now.And also that busy body UK High Commissioner Jon Benjamin. Let them be citizens not spectators to quote our Excellency the President.

• survival 7 years ago

copy, copy president and criminal as well.

• vci 7 years ago

Equally Shocking was when Uhuru Kenyatta was made "president" of Ghana, remember the brochuregate?
    Speech writer has Apologised, end the matter

• Akos 7 years ago

You should rather find your corruption and loss of power depressing and shocking

• Mahama Stolen Speech 7 years ago

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=KYxyueV_UMU&itct=CAsQpDAYCyITCPHB5Pykt9ECFUi5VQodJBMAFlIcSm9obiBtYWhhbWEgaW5hdWd1cmFsIHNwZWVjaA%3D%3D&client=mv-google&hl=en&gl=GH

• Dan Boya 7 years ago

There is no problem here because there is no copy write protection (c) on the speeches. Other wise Ghana should expect copy write claim from these leaders. No copy/peste next time.

• inercycl 7 years ago

The pot now calls the kettle black.

• RASPUTIN 7 years ago

Hmmm. How about Mahama plagiarism of John Kennedy's speech in his inaugural address in 2012?

• KOJO MENSAH 7 years ago

Nana Addo is failure and incompetent. He thinks nobody could know that it is somebody's speech. Nana Addo and Buhari are they same.

• Abena 7 years ago

Ndc please take mahama to Court for attempting to annex state property wai. Thats more important. Where is Okujeto?

• ARGI MEN 7 years ago

Become Strong On Bed From 20-40min with your wife
    natural solution to get BIG DICK or LAST LONG on bed. visit: healthprograms.com.ng/maca.htm

• ad 7 years ago

You people think Ghanaian want to hear this rubbish. We want the man to come and reduce taxes, etc and not your nonsense plagiarism . Is he the 1st .

• sadam 7 years ago

nana where from that disgrace,this means that the promises you people made you can't fufil them.NDC must come back by 2020

• APPIAH DALLAS 7 years ago

Just this morning I was listening to KERA, a popular public TV and FM station in USA when this issue of plagiarism was mentioned. I felt very disgraced about the comments the reporters made about President Akufo-Addo's stolen ...

• KWAKUWUSU 7 years ago

These corrupt and incompetent idiots who have made the NDC their home and made Government coffers their personal ATM should just shut up and start worrying about what is coming to them, the LAW, . ..JAIL TIME.. starting with ...

• Wofa Koo 7 years ago

YOUR STEALING AND LIES IN ADDITION TO THE KILLING OF SITTING PRESIDENT IS MORE SHOCKING THAN A SPEECH

• bnn 7 years ago

Please you are already depressed stop blaming the speech

• Afrika Bravo 7 years ago

Akofo Ado Security man had diabities.it apear all Over his Face.

• King Asante-Yeboa 7 years ago

Plagiarism...Some of us have expressed our displeasure about the incident and I think that it is enough. This must not distract our advance. It's a minor issue. Even if President Addo-Dankwa or his speech-writer stole for us ...