You are here: HomeNews2017 01 08Article 499266

Government apologises for ‘plagiarised’ portions of Akufo-Addo’s speech

Read Comments Comments (275)

• KANAWU KASABA 7 years ago

Apology very well accepted.

To err is human and accepting your faults and apologizing for it is a noble thing.

The bumbling buffoons who were just booted out would be spinning and resorting to senseless lies, noi ...

• Zoobie-Zoobie 7 years ago

what a change...the spin doctors are ready

international disgrace

be proud!

an international disgrace

• BJJ 7 years ago

BABIES WITH BARAWO BRAINS CAUGHT LIVE!

• mRNA + tRNA 7 years ago

What a shame by plagiarizing on your median speech to the nation and the world at large. This legal luminary could not write his own speech with input from his wife! Anyway Bawumia has taught Nana how to cheat with words sin ...

• ACHEAMPONG 7 years ago

You meant to say maiden not median, you cant even write lol.
    At least they have admitted that it was an oversight to acknowledge the author. haters gonna hate.

• APANTESIS 7 years ago

COMPETENCE NUMBER ONE

• APANTESIS 7 years ago

Onyame ahu wo !!!!!!

• insight to the bone 7 years ago

get rid of all these badluck corrupt your mind pepeni /ayigbe among you and you will make no mistakes.Plain and simple NDC is not a political party but the megaphone of a hegemony/tribalism treacherous insidious movement of E ...

• Emma 7 years ago

Is this what you call competence, Ghana is watching.

AUTHOR: PUMA--------Flash back **Nana Addo can never be president and he knows it. --Omane Boamah (MetroTV) **Nana Addo to become president is highly unlikely, he's divisive,arrogant and and cannot match JM in any elections a ...

• AKOTO MARFO 7 years ago

Massa wagyimi sen obiaa kwasia nana second in command is also PEPENI so what are you really saying nothing but GABBAGE

KWASIABA GOD WILL PUNISH YOU WITH YOUR TRIBAL NONSENSE

• Nana Appiah 7 years ago

There is no choice but to apologize. But do not tell us that Arhin did not know what he was doing. This era is a different era social media is at work. kuffuor s the last lucky president. mahama got his social media day and y ...

• Bownie 7 years ago

WHAT A DISGRAACE.

• CORNEY 7 years ago

What do you expect,they stole Ayariga's manifesto but turned around to say their manifesto that was under lock was the one Ayariga stole.
    Today in the history of the world a new president who they claim has babies with shar ...

• CORNEY 7 years ago

NANACOUGHADDO

• agoli 7 years ago

What a shame. President caught stealing first day in office. Please Nana don't bring shame to Ghana.

• KKA 7 years ago

This quote was used by George W. Bush in 2001 without crediting its originator Woodrow Wilson because, the 70 years had already passed since Wilson died Feb 3rd 1924.

PLEASE CROSSCHECK PLAGIARISM LAWS.

• Socrates 7 years ago

Certificate less can't write speech.
    "Wo ahofe de so beko na wo suban de so aba.".

PLEASE WE EXPECT SOME DIFFERENCE IN PERFORMANCE BETWEEN THE "BRAINERS" AND THE "BABIES WITH SHARP THIEF."
    NOT APOLOGY AFTER YOU ARE CAUGHT!

• predator 7 years ago

but who was that stiff-faced, overbearing gentleman standing to his right? look! we don't like such intimidating people o.

• DR TRUTH 7 years ago

EX PRES MAHAMA PROUDLY BOASTED THE RENOVATED CIRCLE ARCHITECTURAL DESIGN WAS STOLEN FROM DUBAI YET STILL ZUUU ZAA SYNCOPHANTS WILDLY APPLAUDED

• CAST-THEFIRST-STONE 7 years ago

Hope you understand the word plagiarism?
    The architects who design the circle interchange are responsible for any breach of copyright for that'ediffice

• Kojo 7 years ago

Not true. Mahama said a part was a replica of what is in Dubai. He said it on the comisioning day.

• DR TRUTH 7 years ago

GREAT MINDS THINK ALIKE.. THIS IS NO EXAMINING BOARD EXAMS OR COURSEWORK. INFACT I WILL BE GLAD IF NANA ADDO COPY DITO DITO HOW USA, JAPAN, GERMANY, ISRAEL BUILT THIER DEVELOPMENT SYSTEMS & FACILITIES

• ACHEAMPONG 7 years ago

I know right?if these are the things the president would be plagiarizing in his governance, then i am with him bro because they are from people who has made it to the top. Well done your excellency.

• Justice 7 years ago

Plagiarism is the practice of taking someone else's work or ideas and passing them off as one's own. Now read your comments and tell us if it makes sense. Lazy guy who can't write an original speech.

• Tilayoo 7 years ago

YES OOO DO WHAT GREAT MINDS DO
    Great minds copy and acknowledge sources. They dont steal, great minds are not dishonest, or untrustworthy. For plagiarism amounts to all these. You know what great minds do they resign when ca ...

• Twinkle 7 years ago

Shallow thinkers.Those words came from right speakers heart.Are these from. Nana Addo's heart.He failed to tell us what's in his heart instead copied ditodito what another man has said.shame unto you all and your npp party

• Kaikai 7 years ago

Including how to talk because his communications director can't think far

• Samson 7 years ago

No matter how much you try to belittle this first gaff in the presence of Africa's great statesmen, the harm has been done. This incident a harbinger of things to come. Pres Akufo Addo needs to pray really hard for forgivenes ...

• Biney 7 years ago

Stupid fool!

• CAST-THEFIRST-STONE 7 years ago

Kanawu because of people like your sort who have sealed thei eardrums with cement so as not to listen to any tangible reasons during NDC era Ghana will always be politically polarised.
    NDC made mistakes on a brochure about ...

• Say no to old age for president 7 years ago

Very ignorant on his parts and the speech writer they no what they were doing thinking Ghanaians are stupid how will you govern from ignorance that shows we are in trouble I will only accept this apology if he can copy develo ...

• Ringo Star 7 years ago

The bumbling buffoon now is the pigmy president who has just read a stolen speech. The sport light is now focused on your thieving president and his government not NDC. A competent president would have read through a speech b ...

• Tilayoo 7 years ago

To err is human but steal, to be dishonest,to be untrustworthy, require resignation and 78 lashes for a "competent president" like Nana Addo. Can you imagine stealing someone's speech (plagiarism) knowing very well you would ...

• Solar 7 years ago

Ghanaians need to read more. The statement isn't originally by Bush. It's a Woodrow Wilton quote. After him, it's been used by 13 different presidents in their speeches.

Copyright laws allow people to use other person's w ...

• Kojo 7 years ago

Yes then justify the quotes from Clinton too. We still acknowledge Galeleo and Shakespeare. Stealing is stealing period.

• akwasi Agyei, adenta 7 years ago

Solar, for your info, the speech contains portions of Pres Clinton's inaugural speech given on Jan 20, 1993 only 23yrs ago. That one too u don't acknowledge ? Students are sanctioned by WAEC for copying but a whole Presidenti ...

• Dessie 7 years ago

Speech of such nation could spill out of control if not in check:Adolf Hitler created authoritarian..Right wing conservative idealogy we don't need in Ghana

• Akua 7 years ago

Replace the culprits

Hehehe. You will soon be refreshed even more.hahaha

• EA 7 years ago

You don't apologise the nation via Facebook. That's an insult! No politics here, what is wrong is wrong, period!

• Pelicles 7 years ago

Look, it is too early to give NDC any room to spew out nonsense. They are going to use this plagiarized nonsense to rain insults on Nana and NPP something that could have been avoided.

• J0eY l0nD0n 7 years ago

Weren't you calling jdm incompetent? Wait and see.

• CORNEY 7 years ago

They need to apologize for the wrong word he used in taking the oath of office too, while the Chief Justice said, for the WELL BEING of the people of Ghana he said, for the WELFARE of the people of Ghana,he needs to apologize ...

• Nyebro 7 years ago

That was the Chief Justice's fault...she should have read the oaths in bits, instead of reading very long portions at a time....

• mr amin 7 years ago

Wellfare is better in meaning than well being, to the people so nana corrected the chief justice. There is nothing wrong to copy someone good works, nana be mindful of the value of the cedi, depreciation the cedi could bring ...

Do you understand the rule of law? Do you understand obeying is better than to sacrifice? Do you know such attitudes are classified as irrelevant arrogance and inglorious too knackered to comprehend?

• Ali 7 years ago

wellbeing is the same as wellfare you need free education.n.d.c never learn.

Rules of engagements. You are required to respect and repeat what the chief justice says regardless of your own sweet words , do you think they are stupid to used such words? It's shows how arrogant the recipient was.

• master 7 years ago

There was also the same oath written that Nana was reading as a response. So, it might be that it is the CJ that made the mistake and not Nana.

• Dessie 7 years ago

Too pragmatism:we don't need that

Don't worry Ghanaians don't give a fuck about the useless noise dumb Mahama's sycophantes are making of a quotes from president Bush.People don't have job,our people are commiting suicide ever before because they don't see an ...

• onipanua 7 years ago

Don't worry? We shall let Nana sit in his own shit and eat it.What he did to Mahama worse will be done to him.He had the secret agenda of putting the nation on fire if he had lost the election.GOD WILL NEVER LET A PERSON OF S ...

• BJJ 7 years ago

Well said he will swim in his own shit!

• Thinker 7 years ago

Man, do onto others what u want to be done for u . remember, God hates deceitful tunks

• Thinker 7 years ago

Man, do onto others what u want to be done for u . remember, God hates deceitful tunks. If u point one finger at Nana wrongfully, note that ur other fingers points back at u

• Ghana Baby 7 years ago

You are so perfect ?????????

• Koffi Sarpong 7 years ago

Ooook that mean he want to put war in this country if he have loose this election There is a couple of people's investigating in his stolen victory It's about to come out wait and see ooooh just for power heeeey

• Kyei-Kojo 7 years ago

Imagine Sub-Human idiot calling himself Dr Kwame Nkrumah's first name (KWAME)

Only Sub-Human illiterate Spies for money don't see anything wrong with Plagiarism

Kyei

• Agyeman Tony 7 years ago

Look at you!ah! YOU are very ignorant and stings like walm....guys and women I met.You are a real example of Ghanaians home and abroad who are been fooled by criminals worldwide

• Kojovi 7 years ago

Kwame, please just accept your npp, newest mistakes and stop beating about the bush. Am waiting on you to arrest the one you claim stolen millions of dollars. Empty talk!!!

• Ayo William ( USA) 7 years ago

Kwame, plagiarism is the root of corruption you talk about. To root out corruption in government people should be accountable for their mistakes or incompetency. Your incompetency will give NDC room.
    I don't even know if you ...

• Quakku 7 years ago

Have u also committed suicide if u see no hope?
    If u throw a ball against a wall it bounces back to you.

• Pasco 7 years ago

Hmmm look the bible emphatically advises us" TO DO UNTO OTHERS WHAT WE WANT OTHERS TO DO UNTO US" Are we now justifying this blunder about plagiarism? My Goodness! Have we so soon forgotten about "Ecominy" and OFUMFOUR mist ...

• onipanua 7 years ago

The foolishness is coming from your president's camp.As they spewed uncontrolled nonsense about Mahama and his government so they will be paid in the same coin.Nana and his government will regret they treated Mahama with cont ...

• not necessary 7 years ago

And you think he has time to be reading such nkwasias3m from sexually challenged nincompoos and wasted sperm like you on ghanaweb? Oh plsss!!

• Sandra 7 years ago

Talk is cheap. The heat is now on you and all you can do is insult.... smh

• Soin 7 years ago

l absolutely agree! when you do evil, be prepared the receive evil! Manama and his governmebt we unfairly treated by npp and their leadership. I don't think that was right!

• Say no to old age for president 7 years ago

Who is incompetent the first day fumble thieve speech or the person who has record of getting some job done shame useless lawyer this shows how Ghana education system will be cut and paste under your tenure

• Nana kwame Ashreigney 7 years ago

This is his day one and he has failed. Nana Addo is full incompleteness'babyishness, callowness, childish behavior, childishness, greenness, ignorance, imperfection, incompleteness, inexpertness, infantilism, puerility, rawne ...

inaction

• Apuskele 7 years ago

Haruna Iddrisu, the new minority leader in parliament if the King of plagiarism.

Another wasted sperm

• Angela G. 7 years ago

in which alternate universe of blubbering nonsense did you erupt from? If you feel you are in a position to criticize an obviously well-spoken, well-educated and intelligent person like Nana Akuffo Addo, you might as well use ...

• Kojo 7 years ago

..and well copied speech. This is the beginning of falling standards in our schools where all are allowed
    To copy

• Ghana Baby 7 years ago

You are so perfect

• samuel azumah 7 years ago

walayi talayi,npp,put yourselves well.

• Naniama 2 7 years ago

the whole world watched our 3rd Class President disgrace on his first day on the job!
    Sign of incompetence

• apuuuu 7 years ago

Ndc onnapo ya go kill ya self onnapo change is here to stay you losers onnapo apuuuu

• TT, US 7 years ago

By the way, has he found his missing law certificate?

• apuuuu 7 years ago

Onnapo apuuuu

• Nana Sarkwa 7 years ago

Addo has started looting to the extent of stealing knowledge and ideas the very first day in office. The is unpresidented and very monumental. Wow this record is unmatchable. This is a very serious crime that should be invest ...

Please watch your subject-verb agreement. They seem not to be agreeing. Watch your grammar too fool! You want to insult yet you cannot write insults in english.

• Sir Pascal 7 years ago

It's better to steal knowledge, than to steal from the state.
    I would appreciate if the president steals all the ideas in the world in other to help build our country.
    He will never be held accountable for stealing ideas b ...

• Think 7 years ago

I felt that. Already showing, be careful.

• Odikro 7 years ago

I heard portions of the speech "lifted" from inaugural speeches delivered by ex-presidents George Bush and Bill Clinton with "Americans" recklessly changed to "Ghanaians". This is plagiarism and not quoting. No acknowledgment ...

• Johnson Mensah 7 years ago

You who call yourself Paa Joe (UK), you're apparently ignorant. You don't understand what plagiarism is. Plagiarism is not a question of the use of the English language. In this particular case, Akufo-Addo has plagiarised bec ...

• Kweku 7 years ago

Seems your hatred for some NPP top men have no bounds. You will do your soul a lot of good translating from the wrong side of history.

Even Jesus Christ's resurrection is still doubted by many, obviously to those bound fo ...

• Balobbo 7 years ago

Ndc must recruit this dude Johnson Mensah as their commications guy. He really can lay facts across succinctly. ????

• Abeiku SW2 London 7 years ago

Petty ...

• Klinker 7 years ago

Please Ghanaians arise and keep close surveillance on these people. They have already started by stealing speeches from the American archives. Ebeiiiii. Nana!!!!! Please, withdraw your mouth before the yankees take Ghana to c ...

• KANAWU KASABA 7 years ago

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10209971176268185&set=p.10209971176268185&type=3&theater

• chief awo 7 years ago

I thought Nana was too intelligent to write a speech by himself. This is a big shame from the start.

tT

• ATO WIAFE YAWSON 7 years ago

THE PHRASE NANA ADDO USED WAS ORIGINALLY QUOTED BY THE 28TH USA PRESIDENT FAR BACK 1912 WHICH IS OVER 70 YEARS AND THE LAW ALOUD ANYONE TO USE IT WITHOUT A QUOTE

• OLE GAANAMAN 7 years ago

KWABOTWE MAN HAS MESSED THIS UP BAD. MADE IN GHANA ORIGINALITY, SLIPPED OUT OF THE PRESENTATION AND LET YANKEE GEORGIE AND BILLY BOY SLITHER IN AND LAY AN AMERICAN FIZZOG ON THE ORATION. THE WHOLE WORLD SAW AND HEARD THE BORR ...

• Suzie Heman 7 years ago

Apology ok yet I see it as a path to good governance and positive assurance to the people. Also, won a wo di 3kyi sua won a wo di kan nantew!!!! Keep the good work Nana.

• Tim Kaba 7 years ago

Eugene check your facts well and dont follow those guys circulating the false plagiarised sections of the speech. Bush used same words which were first published in the 17th century America

• ATO WIAFE YAWSON 7 years ago

THE PHRASE NANA ADDO QUOTED WAS ORIGINALLY QUOTED BY FORMER AMERICAN PRESIDENT WOODROW WILSON IN 1912 WHICH IS MORE THAN 70 YEARS NOW SO ANY ONE CAN SAY IT WITHOUT A QUOTE BY THE LAW OF INTELLECTUALS

• Kweku 7 years ago

Wow, God bless you and thanks for clearing the air. Government's apology was needless then??? They should have rather explained why the quote was not referenced???

Hey have you been behind the walls of higher institutions before? Well, may be you studied in one of Ghana schools where there are no course textbooks to use apart from the lectures old hand notes. Ghanaian student in Ghana d ...

wait and see more! CHANGE.

• Tonya 7 years ago

Should have stated what the misquote was and then render an apology. Poorly written statement.

• OFO. 7 years ago

You err you,you apologise...
    That is awesome....

• Kojo 7 years ago

When Mahama erred and apologised it is incompetence but if Nana did it is a sign of competence. Tweeaaaa!

• Abigi 7 years ago

I hsve said it several times Ghana education I'd a joke. How can a speech writer quite verbatim without giving credit? The speech wriyer should be replaced and Akuffo Addo should rehearse his speeches.

.......and it came to pass that Nana Akufo Addo could not read through his median speech to detect that the speech he was about to deliver to the nation was plagiarized. What a shame to the man his followers call legal lumina ...

• Kojovi 7 years ago

Dr lies????please accept your npp mistakes and move on

• OMANNI 7 years ago

Words and names are inspiration,what if your name is John,Peter,Paul,Samuel,Mohamed etc.were all have been recycling from generation that we never met,so is that Ghanaians can be stupid if i repeat something which had been in ...

• alex 7 years ago

Who wrote the speech? How on earth could such a mistake be made just at the heels of the widely circulated plagiarizing linked to Donald Trump's wife?
    This is so embarrassing and a real anti-climate to an otherwise beautiful ...

Self acclaimed intellectuals party could not write a speech. Where is the competency? Plagiarism is a serious offense for which the consequence is a failing grade.
    These are the same NPP who mocked JDM mercilessly for the ty ...

• JACK 7 years ago

Critics Nana who claim he plagiarised George Bush's speech should answer these simple questions;
    1. Is it true that Woodrow Wilson is the originator of the speech?
    2. Is it also true that George W. Bush used the same words ...

You should be speaking from your heart on your inaugurations day and not from your belly.

• Pasco 7 years ago

Pls be objective and stop justify what is universally accepted to be wrong. Is Nana an American ? Is he a descendant of that Woodrow you are referring to? After all George Bush and Woodrow all swore under the same oath. Can t ...

• Matete 7 years ago

This is just the kick off.The UNGRATEFUL GHANAIANS who have never helped any government to focus and develop the nation will criticize you daily. Akufo Addo must quickly develop a thick skin to withstand these attacks. You mu ...

• BOB. 7 years ago

Criticism from NDC camp is unnecessary but from NPP camp is necessary and wise to stage. This is just the beginning. Don't forget the unnecessary demonstrations across the world against John Mahama by NPP supporters, for ever ...

• liza 7 years ago

There you go again. You must give this old boy time to settle down to work please. Hahah remember u guys never gave Mahama time to work. Abaa a ye de bo takyi no. Will surely beat baah. Please no time to waist game no na a s ...

• Nana Kwaku Sarpong 7 years ago

Hahahah. That is Ghana politics for you, this is how we do it in Ghana, "The stick that was use to beat Mahama, Same will be used to beat Nana" it just started competent people don't make mistakes, they are vigilant and ...

• Willy 7 years ago

You see how the law of Kharma works? Mahama can have his peace as all critical attention is focused on Nana Addo from now onwards.

• Tuapee 7 years ago

Are you recommending a dead goet syndrom for Nana already? The game is just begining

• kwame 7 years ago

Weda he quoted Bush or not he sent da message not ecomdemo

• Teddy Washington 7 years ago

I don't understand why pple r making a big deal out of the so called plagiarism. Do we hv to quote and unquote the verses in the Bible whenever we r sharing the word of God with others? yet it was written by some pple. Prez B ...

• Kofi Odum 7 years ago

It's not about the copyrights or plagiarism. It's about the legacy and vision you have for the citizens. Your inauguration speech should be your vision you have for your country not American vision. It should be a speech from ...

• KOFI SIAW 7 years ago

Mr. Arhin is still being economical with the truth.In his apology, Mr. Arhin is still not telling us from whose inaugural speech the plagiarised information was lifted: we know it is from President Bush's inaugural speech!Why ...

• Tuapee 7 years ago

Teddy how can you understand. Obviously you ignorant of plagiarism

• Willihene 7 years ago

Those who are using this medium to insult people should stop and repent before it is too late.
    If you want to live long fear God.

• Kojo 7 years ago

Are you new to this forum?Did you say this a couple of months ago? When Mahama was insulted left and right ?

• Nana Thiefman 7 years ago

You think we are all illiterates. You think you can deceive everybody and go scotfree. We shall check every move. Some illiterates were hailing the old man for a great speech but here you are now apologizing. Tweaa! Nana's ac ...

You stealing and apologize. Is that NPP new manifesto? No wonder!

• Nag 7 years ago

Is not better stealing a quote from American than stealing from poor Ghana purse. The fine here is just 5000 to 250000 dollars. Woyome alone got over this. (millions of dollars) freeeee

• Steve Yeboah 7 years ago

No big deal thus quoting from world best known political speeches when it fits the cap. After all, what really matters is how you utilise those phrases in your ettic work.

• Master 7 years ago

First day and stealing has begun!When you go and meet a big head chewing nuts dont think it is easy

• Yussif 7 years ago

It's a storm in a tea cup but apologizing and moving on is ok,what we need to know is that we don't leave in isolation anymore,any mistake you make such as this ll not take a day to notice.The next big even yet to come ll be ...

• BB 7 years ago

Nobody has a monopoly on English language.

• The Ghanaian 7 years ago

This real competence!!. COMPETENCE has arrived.

• kwame peter 7 years ago

Kwame, you're calling ndc commentators sycophants? You're such an ignorant and arrogant fellow!! Your Secretary made that avoidable mistake,damaging the the name we made for ourselves and you don't want us to complain? When i ...

• Kaikai 7 years ago

Incompetence at its peak.

• mk 7 years ago

The beginning of incompetence

• Kofi Odum 7 years ago

As a president elected if you can not be sincere about your true passion, aspirations and thoughts of the future of that country then am sorry.

You speech gives an insight on the general goals.

• AAziz Issahaku 7 years ago

The incompetence has started the first day you took office ooo

• Justice 7 years ago

Read the statement. First of all he only pointed to one quote and gave a lame apology. It was at least two quotes he plagiarized so don't try to deceive us. Also when you apologize unreservedly you don't insult Ghanaians by t ...

• Yaw Manu 7 years ago

Great Speech, Nana.

Good Job, Fii

• Hassan, Tamale 7 years ago

Eight years of insults have not prevented Nana from becoming President. Another eight years of insults will only make him a great president

• Osu 7 years ago

say what you like but Nana is your president and will continue to be for 8 or years. So NDC try to cooperate or you leave the country. Remember the vote margin from the just ended election.

• addae 7 years ago

the guy must go

• KK. 7 years ago

The COMPETENT people hv jst begun. Ayeeeeeko. Hahahahaha.

• prof Ali 7 years ago

Ghanaians and foolishness. How will this so called plagiarism affect development?? The one who started this I really not a civilised human

• Kojo 7 years ago

Your thinking is myopic. Think far! It could be the tip of an iceberg. There is one thing saying you can do it and actually doing it.

• Osei Poku 7 years ago

If plagiarism doesn't affect development then how will corruption affect development.. Or plagiarism is not a corrupt act... I pity you and your likes... Because it is now against the npp there is nothing wrong with it... Let ...

• Abu Mohammed Bomzaa 7 years ago

I think our president has no faults it's the Secretary to the president who made such mistake and should be blame for such thing.I thought Nana Addo should get somebody to Assist him because it's never small job which needed ...

• KDA, Texas-USA 7 years ago

This statements were made more than 70 yrs ago. It is normals to quote it without referencing after 70 years.
    That is why Bush did not reference it in his speech. By the way, Bush is not the originator of the statement as b ...

• Viv 7 years ago

I can't believe that as a nation, people are focusing on a sentence which was not fully plagiarised. What about the rest of the brilliantly written speech which was so eloquently read? You guys are jokers and far too pessimis ...

• Fuachie 7 years ago

This is sheer incompetence and the boot licking hypocrites are defending. Just wait, we will give you back what you gave to Prez Mahama. You won't have your way this time around.

• Op 7 years ago

Failing to acknowledge the source made it plagiarism. Period. It was intentional and Arhin wanted to ascribe it to Nana as the originator but forgetting that Ghanaians will cross-check it. Apology not accepted. Resign now, Ar ...

• ghana 7 years ago

Incompetent government

• Fr. Francis 7 years ago

This is a sign of total incompetency. Do you think to be a president is easy.You will soon see your real side.

• Kutsii 7 years ago

I have always maintained that Akufo Addo is a crook and a damn criminal. First day in office and already stealing somebody's speech to present to Ghanaians as his own.

Now all the brilliance on the inaugural speech has bec ...

• Kwaku 7 years ago

I thought Nana was a lawyer? Who knows everything. So is all copy and paste speech and the so call babies with sharp brains can't even see. Ghana is doomed.

• Issahaka Abdul kudus 7 years ago

It would amount to an academic Summersault, for us as fellow Ghanaians ,to think of plagiarism without checking our facts right.hmmmmm.the question is who copied who: That phrase or sentence came from Christian Lindke and ev ...

• Kojo 7 years ago

Stealing garguartuan! How about that of Clinton?

• Kwabena1 7 years ago

This plagiarism is a deliberate. Arhin wanted to ascribe these quotes to President Nana Addo as the originator. Resign now Arhin. Apology not accepted

• semantical 7 years ago

d facts aa dat :1.nana is president ,2. for d 1st time in d history of gh we hv a 1 term president ,3. a president has lost by more dan 1 million votes .

• ADOOLEY!! 7 years ago

This is INCOMPETENCE! of the highest order!! They have began with INCOMPETENCE!!

• semantical 7 years ago

dey would hv defended dis chlidishly.apology well taken. but no further blunders. know dat d sharpe teeth vowed dat nana would never b president.

• Chuks, Tudu 7 years ago

Just now? "ebu bo ba". So our presidents always come to read speeches others have written without them even believing in what they read for after all, it's not their own mind. Now we know anything they say is just the though ...

• bambz 7 years ago

So will that change the verdict and make JDM Prez? Ibi speeches we go chop? If it was JM he wouldn't have even located his speech.

• haruna 7 years ago

our education is meaningless, until we change our attitude as NDC n NPP

• Benjamin 7 years ago

Yes, the incompetency is beginning to raise its head, when it happened to mahama, they say he is working with incompetent staff. Bn in government is different ball altogether

• sam 7 years ago

Too early to insult nana incompetent

• Fine boy 7 years ago

Hahaha

• Akwasi Manu 7 years ago

Plagiarism and cough syndrome. Nana Addo has started on a bad note. As3m b3ba dabi.

• Okito of Bogoso 7 years ago

Okito: We accept the apology for the plagiarised portions of our President's speech.
    To err is human, and as humans, we are bound to make certain bloopers in all facets of our lives.
    However, next time don't be.......

• haruna kintampo 7 years ago

there is nothing worsen than wearing white man's suit, underwear, shirt which is the biggest plagiarism than just speeches. plagiarism my shit

• Osei Mensah 7 years ago

Whosoever diggeth a pit.....shall fall in it !!!. First day on the job and SHOWING INCOMPETENCE. It's going to be fun with Opana Shortingo

• Alhassan A mathew 7 years ago

Oooh nana, u are starting ur government with errors n apologies, hmmmmmmm

• Godbless 7 years ago

foolish people, u can't even write your own speech how can u change De country. idiots like u use complete propaganda to win De elections n it wud chase u into De bush before your term because your foolish prophet Owusu says ...

• BERNARD 7 years ago

INCREASE YOUR LIBIDO WHILES ENHANCING YOUR SEXUAL PERFORMANCE WITH MORE ENERGY AND STAMINA. USE VITAL 5 WITH MULTI MACA ( save your marriage ).0572174551
    *1. Multi-Maca + VITAL 5 have a special property which enhances energy ...

• Abroampah 7 years ago

Always copy-copy!!When are we ever going to be authentic?? We can't just afford such a disastrous begining. Who ever was responsible for this debacle, whether the newly appointed personal secretay or communications attache et ...

• ERIC 7 years ago

THIS IS NOT FROM BUSH. WOODROW WILSON IS THE ORIGINATOR OVER 70 YEARS AGO ,SO WHAT IS THIS FOOLISHNESS AND IDIOCY ALL ABOUT ? AJIMIFO.

• Kojo 7 years ago

Good try and Clinton?

• Abeiku 7 years ago

Very délibérante. They were playing fast on ghanians. They taught all ghanians are fools. You can fool sôme people but not all. Why quote the ghanians and the bible, because that one will be easy to traces.

• the don 7 years ago

plagiarism means: the practice of taking someone else's or ideas and passing them off as one's own

• Prince Kwaku Bless 7 years ago

Thanks Eugene you have show maturity. Never give up!!!

• Agyemang 7 years ago

Plagiarism for those not properly educated is stealing of intellectual property,where someone's written thoughts are lifted verbatim without permission and passing same as original,it is the worst form of dishonesty since it ...

• Kofi Acheampong, USA. 7 years ago

Who cares, what is wrong with quoting someone ?

• Joe Ampofo 7 years ago

Kofi, there is absolutely nothing wrong with quoting someone. But....an inuagral address is for the President to outline his vision for Ghana. He cannot copy someone else's ideas and pretend it is his words coming from his he ...

• Kofi Gbagbladza 7 years ago

Incompetent idiots in the helm. Duplicitous idiots

• KWAME 7 years ago

YOU HAVEN'T SEEN ANYTHING YET. USING ALMOST A MONTH TO COPY OTHER PEOPLE'S SPEECHES IS COMPETENCE.

• Danny 7 years ago

These are the people who claimed they are very competent. Competency my foot

• Jermm 7 years ago

So is this the competent people? Interesting times ahead for Ghana

• Ken 7 years ago

Copy and paste a lawyer without certificate

• genuwine 7 years ago

NDC and its footsoldiers never they learn sense , you did propaganda and it finally lands you in opposition and instead of you to go back to the drawing board and learn sense to restratagise and come back as a strong force ,y ...

• Prince Kwaku Bless 7 years ago

Eugene you have proof you listen to advice.Never let this cover the good work. Yours is different from the pass where the former President speech was full of.mistakes during our 59th Independent celebration .

• jojo 7 years ago

When in the year 2017 people still defacate in open drains, is this something we should even begin to waste our energy on, really?...

• Adam 7 years ago

Really, have you so soon forgotten about the independence brochure. Had people stopped defecating in open drains when the government was being criticized. Remember the law of karma

• ABBY 7 years ago

Apology accepted

• 1day 7 years ago

This arhin boy should not pretend his attention is drawn to this fact. From the very onset he knew that he was plagiarising.
    The speech was actually done by Asante bediatuo
    Arhin is just being made a scapegoat

• Timbatao 7 years ago

If you have ever written a University thesis, you would appreciate the perils of unintended plagiarism. No President writes his own speech for an occasion such as an inauguration and the pressure on speechwriters could lead t ...

• Kkkkk 7 years ago

Stop this nonsense. All ndc people are going to jail

• Bush Elephant 7 years ago

If it were someone else, Joy Fm, Oman Fm, Peace Fm, Ok Fm and all the numerous Gossiping Fms would shout INCOMPETENCE. Npp is telling us it was an 'oversite'. How can that be? You lacked ideas, you lacked originality, so you ...

• Solar 7 years ago

Ghanaians need to read more. The statement isn't originally by Bush. It's a Woodrow Wilton quote. After him, it's been used by 13 different presidents in their speeches.

Copyright laws allow people to use other person's wo ...

• Thor 7 years ago

Then it is a mark of incompetence not to know what you have just stated and offer an apology

• Jacob 7 years ago

Governance is not TV3 mentor where you sing somebody's song to achieve glories.
    This shows that all the promises he made was someone's thoughts. This is the first time a president who can not create anything onless somebody ...

• Kongfu Master's 7 years ago

Competence is at work. pelagerise even...... hahah

• OKOFO 7 years ago

Copy and paste speech. Disgraceful

• AB Sa 7 years ago

Plagiarism so what? The guy wants a specific message sent. Regardless of who first spoke or used it, His message was clear. Give him a break. Most of the academia all over the world do cut and paste of peoples original materi ...

• Agama. 7 years ago

Hahaha, competency in place

• T man 7 years ago

Big shame. The person who wrote the speak for the president. Copy and paste. No not for Ghana. Please the earily the better take him off. I not NPP but we will support you and pray for you. Long live Nana long live Ghana.

• IBM 7 years ago

hmmmm...this is something one shouldn't try to make fun of..they have admitted it but what goes around surely comes around.....the way npp made fun of ndc about the brochures and mistakes during independence day was too much. ...

• Bobandey 7 years ago

Ghana is a nice place to be. I hope this doesnt continues becos if does the we may have to go and appologize to JM for the " incompetence" discription we gave him.

• KOJO MENSAH 7 years ago

Akufo Addo's incompetency has began and Ghanaians will live to regret voting that Third Class Economics student and fake lawyer to precious seat.

• Nii 7 years ago

Yawa

• Dollar 7 years ago

There is no defence for plagiarism ! Nana Addo's speech will always be remembered for the wrong reasons. It has become 'a damaged good'. The speechwriter needs to be sacked, for causing disgrace to all Ghanaians. After Buhari ...

• Kamal Dauda 7 years ago

Nonsense u call Mahama administration incompetent. Kwasiasem common spech u guys dey do copy n paste. Heeer Ghana go sweet waaa.

• Cool Cat. USA 7 years ago

Nothing wrong to quotes someone spech,
    If you think so then stop reading Bible. I see nothing wrong

• Juliet's ofori 7 years ago

Nana addo is going to rule the country with happiness.

• OKYEAME 7 years ago

No Nana Addo's speech not plagiarism*

They are not Bush's original quotes. Bush quoted from Woodrow Wilson who died on 3rd February 1924, without referencing.

Copyright laws allow people to use other persons work 70 y ...

• Micheal 7 years ago

JDM, npp onaapo

• alex 7 years ago

this is the work of babies with sharp brains

• HONNYMOON 7 years ago

God had admonished us to always becareful what you do to others.thus incompetence at its best,for not acknowledging peoples quote was it a mistake?Mr president Nana Akoffo Addo so if human beings can make mistake then why do ...

• Leumas 7 years ago

apology heartily accepted

• Emmanuel Abbey 7 years ago

Just step down. You are a failure. It is unacceptable to render an apology after you have plagiarised. You didn't know it would be detected.
    This is a first hurdle of the President . How he handles it will show how competent ...

• Micheal 7 years ago

Already the thing is in his DNA, something he always does.he pretends to be whom he is not.somebody who had impersonate his father as a lawyer which he is not.Nana Addo he not the one whom he made Ghanaians to believe he his, ...

• Kwasi 7 years ago

Incompetent Nana Addo

• Leumas 7 years ago

Apologize heartily accepted

• CASMED 7 years ago

COMPETENCE INDEED, OLD CONFUSED MAN

• CASMED 7 years ago

COMPETENCE INDEED, OLD THIEF

• %54z#¢5/@%; a 7 years ago

Zr

• Truth 7 years ago

Indeed Nana Addo has made me proud for choosing well cultured Press secretary who had a good upbringing. Unlike those babies with devastating sharp teeth, Arhin has demonstrated that indeed he is a baby with good brain in hum ...

• Kweku 7 years ago

What are you talking about you stole American President speech and you are quoting Ghanaian law. babies with dumb brains.
    This is what the DWARFISCO President has just done.
    Plagiarism is the "wrongful appropriation" and " ...

• Cobby 7 years ago

Oh Ghanaians should have the vision of the so called plagiarised speach and walk with it. The message is most important. Congratulations your Excellency

• Kay 7 years ago

Yes. Apology , sign of humility.
    NDC NEVER APOLOGISED. THEY JUSTIFIED ALL BLUNDERS AND THIEVERY

• Nana Kwame Asutifi north constituency 7 years ago

I see no wrong in the speech those words doesn't belongs to people you claim they have use it before in their speech.Eugene don't waste ur time on this propaganda people let's focus on Ghana .

• JDM 7 years ago

When it is coming it will be doing...hehe

• Abeiku SW2 London 7 years ago

Nothing wrong with quoting others .. ain't no crime

• Komla Nutsukpui 7 years ago

We need mature strong independent thinkers and prolific writers to the Frontline to tell our story as a country, and Africa as a whole. The type like the old Africa Writers. Our languages and culture are very rich and therefo ...

• Karim 7 years ago

Is shameful day one of your Adminstration

• hhhhhhhhhhhhhhh 7 years ago

indian black magic spritualist in ghana call for spritual help
    black magico244908520 money rituals lucks chanting gay spell lesbian spellposition spell vodoo spell

• Jay 7 years ago

Already? Yooooo!!!!!

• Big Dan. 7 years ago

Nana Addo is most incompetence president Ghana had ever have. Full of plagiarism

• LANDIZ 7 years ago

Then all quots should be credited to Almighty God, He is the creator of all univers but not the authors who are also a people like you. Fools with no exception...... Think......

• Jon in Tema. 7 years ago

Competence at display. Ghana this is the level we have come to.

People never ceases to amaze me.The man said so many things that was inspiring, instead of concentrating on the positives they are however trying so hard to spoil the momentum. One, the speech was not an academic exercise. Th ...

• Kojo 7 years ago

What is it? Competence or Incompetence

• Kwasi Tough 7 years ago

AUTHORS AND ARTISTS IN THE USA HAVE EXCLUSIVE RIGHTS FOR ANY WORK DONE IN THEIR NAMES. HOWEVER, THESE EXCLUSIVE RIGHTS ARE SUBJECT TO TIME LIMIT AND GENERALLY EXPIRE 70 YEARS AFTER THE AUTHOR'S DEATH. WILSON WOODROW FIRST MAD ...

• Ghanaian 7 years ago

That is not problem for deep thinking Ghanaians, even it happened in America.
    By the way thanks for your apology, rather than insulting Ghanaians like NDC were doing to the people of Ghana.

• Else 7 years ago

You guys have important job to do. Move away from lazy writing and do something creative and innovative to help the very poor in society. That is what you're voted for not touching or big English Language for nothing. We have ...

• Else 7 years ago

You only have to know how to copy. The original words were not from President W Bush. 70 yrs on he copied free so why not Nana and his team. NDC is making meal out of this, shameful. You claimed ownership of oil find, Flag St ...

• Osei Poku 7 years ago

If plagiarism doesn't affect development then how will corruption affect development... Or plagiarism is not a corrupt act... I pity you and your likes....

• figo 7 years ago

First day in office with such blunder..this made me remember my kindergarten book entitled "MY FIRST COPY BOOK".I laugh enter jubilee house

• Adamu 7 years ago

Ghanaians must realize Nana swear-in as president of Ghana not president of America therefore it makes no difference what Nana said in his inurguration speech. Americans themselves won't bother if Trump use it as long as is g ...

• TULA 7 years ago

For me ; I do not understand why Arhin ; the speech writer had to apologise ; this typical NDC propagada ; there is a BIG different in using somebodys intellectual property to make a case in a in any academic thesis and just ...

• kwabena, kwashieman 7 years ago

There is no gov't in place for it to render an apology. What we have now is a president and a vice who have been sworn in. The rest of gov't personnel is yet to be set up. The apology of this so called plagiarism was made by ...

• Akosua K 7 years ago

If it were Mahama would you have apologised for him? You would have torn him into pieces. Don't on your life ever refer to Osagyefo for plagiarising. He never did. His love for his country had his sentiments to bring out all ...

• Kwamoko USA 7 years ago

That is how sane society is all about. The upstarts that dont understand what apology means will whine, rave and rant all along. At least we have a new era of accountability where appointees will apologise from wrongdoing. L ...

• mashaa allah 7 years ago

thats why u remov thm

• Gh 7 years ago

Then he Should try to acknowledge them when he STEALS their speeches

• Mr Bond 7 years ago

I can't believe that NPP administration can be very stupid,reckless and stoop soo low to succumb to criticism from the most stupid journalist of accusing Nana Ado

• Mr Bond 7 years ago

Of plagiarize former presidents of US speeches.what make civilized speeches disgusting uncivilized,unpatriotic that the administration should apologize?I cant believe NPP can be very stupid.Am very disappoint of their apology ...

• Frenzy B 7 years ago

There is nothing wrong about using the same words in a speech. Its a popular inaugural statement used by many leaders in the history of democratic societies. It will be difficult to attribute it to one particular person. Bush ...

• Agyapa 7 years ago

Please fellow Ghanaians lets not try making a mountain out of a molehill. Quotes from other people are always used in speeches upon speeches. I wonder how many Ghanaians can quote the first line and the last line of Osagyefo ...

• nan ft pig 7 years ago

I thought nppig said they hv the men. Bawuliar is the most useless incompetent fool, so he couldnt help nana addict to prepare common speech that he had to plagiarise. Nana addict aids r all useless pigs of no use. Incompeten ...

• NDP 7 years ago

What happened during the rainy season will surely happen during the dry season so you have no option than to endure okay. ...time to taste the COFFEE

• Sir Pascal 7 years ago

We talk too much as a nation and it doesn't help us in any way. Bush repeated this speech of Wilson Woodrow and never acknowledged his source. What did Americans do.
    We are here talking about plagiarism.
    We only have to t ...

• Issifu 7 years ago

There are 2 video clips of President's Bush and Clinton trending from which Nana Addo's speech were plagiarised. Clinton speech was made about 23 years ago. So this argument of 70 limitation if copyright is bogus from the on ...

• Oyoko Nana Amoakohene 7 years ago

Hmmmmmm Oman Ghana paaanie?so are we serious?

• onipa nua 7 years ago

hmm

• The NPP 7 years ago

Here lies the case, at the highest office of this lovely nation, plagiarism has fined it room there. And people are saying it was an oversight. I think this is common sense why. Because, from Junior High School to the top mos ...

• Kwame Essien 7 years ago

I'm in support of campaign to FIRE the speech writer/s who helped to SHAME ALL of us. If President Nana AA cannot act as our new leader by taking a strong action to signal warning to his minister's and staff (paid with tax pa ...

• Tony, Eritrea 7 years ago

Is that the practice for the director of protocol to behind Akufo Addo while gining his inaugural adddress

• CHORKOR SCHOOLBOY 7 years ago

NDC WILL FOR A LONG TIME TO COME STAY IN OPPOSITION IF THEY WILL CONTINUE TO FIND FAULT WITH WHATEVER NANA ADDO DOES OR SAYS.