You are here: HomeNews2016 12 24Article 496680

Don’t reduce utility tariffs – Economist tells Nana Addo

Read Comments Comments (112)

• donpierro 7 years ago

Good idea Npp will systematically do things..they wont rush.We know they have experienced people in the party,everything will be fine

• APONKYE 7 years ago

All our professionals are stomach politicians. They use their knowledge to twist facts for politicians.

How can anyone say Nana Addo should not reduce utility tariffs when people voted for him based on the promise to reduc ...

• Concerned 7 years ago

The economist said we have no money for subsidies but prices are high because bills are loaded with taxes. Reducing or cutting out the taxes will allow us to breath

• SmartphonesSupportBiz 7 years ago

Merry CHRISTMAS IN ADVANCE GOOD PEOPLE!
    Here's hoping you are not late to the party yet. It's not December 31st yet....
    So here is the deal..

You shall not be counted among the POOR!

POOR: *means* "Passing Over Oppo ...

Bad advice

• suley 7 years ago

Aponkye u are big fool ok i think u should read it again b4 u talk nonsense.the man did not say he shouldn't reduce it rather he should at least allowed a year to mobilise resources in order to reduce it.kwasia tw€.

• Eborenasa 7 years ago

Fool suley were u deaf when nana was all over the place promising to reduce light bills within 3 months in office. Where were u and this economist to advise him that he will need a year. hypocrites

• AKUFO, ALL DIE BE DIE UGLY DWARF. 7 years ago

GATHERING RESOURCES FROM KYEBI OR WHERE?. NPP NONSENSE AGAIN, YOU CAN'T FOOL GHANAIANS AGAIN LIKE IT HAPPEN IN THE YEAR 2000. YOU KNOW ABOUT ALL THESE BUT BECAUSE OF YOUR USUAL NPP 419 SCAMS , AND POWER HUNGRY, YOU PROMIS ...

• Whatever 7 years ago

Suley,you stupid too,Nana asked to vote for him and he will reduce utility bills as soon as he come to office for President,and NPP party member and economist asked for one year before reduce the bills,shame.

• gaddafi 7 years ago

Stop exibiting those animalistic behaviors and act like a normal human being for once.Your boss mahama is in big trouble. Him and his two brothers are worth over $10b.Nana will retrieve the money right after january 7th. H ...

• Whatever 7 years ago

Stupid Gadafi what Nana said ,we have money so what is your problem hypocrite

• boko haram 7 years ago

Dead goat

• GFrostK @ ANIM: THERE'S ANOTHER WAY 7 years ago

ALTHOUGH YOUR SUGGESTION IS PRUDENT, YOU'RE DEALING WITH 85% OF A POPULATION THAT HAS NO UNDERSTANDING OF YOUR ANALYSIS. ONLY 15% OF GHANAIANS WILL GET IT AT YOUR LEVEL. I WOULD RATHER SUGGEST THE GOVERNMENT OF NANA ADDO PLAC ...

• SIMON PETER 7 years ago

Nana Akufo Addo should on assumption of office on 07 January 2017, immediately reduce utility tariffs. Nana Akufo Addo has the so called best economist in Ghana, Dr. Bawumiah who advised him to reduce tariffs on assumption o ...

• Osei Mensah 7 years ago

Thak you my brother. Very soon ghanaians will know the worse decision they have made by voting that criminal patapaa old fool as president.

• juda 7 years ago

ofui...dd mahama bring money into UR POCKET??? fa wani to wo maame tw3 so... stop fooling.. we need wise people not you to criticise NANA ADDO

• SmartphonesSupportBiz 7 years ago

Merry CHRISTMAS IN ADVANCE GOOD PEOPLE!
    Here's hoping you are not late to the party yet. It's not December 31st yet....
    So here is the deal..

You shall not be counted among the POOR!

POOR: *means* "Passing Over Oppo ...

Stupid suggestion by so-call economist. What do think we voted npp for? Even the utility tariffs should have been reduced that very day Nana was declared winner before starting 1district 1factry and the rest immediately after ...

• Whatever 7 years ago

He is NPP party member so he talking rubbish,why we voted President Mahama out,because of utility bills,right?

• Nana is Antoa Nyamaa 7 years ago

So called experts say this and that. This is all part of a grand scheme to hoodwink Ghanaians. Blame Mahama first

• JOHN 7 years ago

WHY DO YOU THINK NANA ADDO WON?. HE PROMISED TO REDUCE ELECTRICITY AND WATER BILLS, REDUCE PETROL PRICES, FREE MATERNITY, FREE NHIS, ALLOWANCES FOR TEACHERS AND NURSES ETC . WHY SHOULD YOU GIVE SUCH AN ADVICE?. IN THAT CASE D ...

• boko haram 7 years ago

Go away folish man

• Ghanaba 7 years ago

YOU ARE STUPID PROCLAIMING JUST NONSENSE

• Me 7 years ago

nana addo also has experts so please we will not take any excuses for not to reduce tariffs

• boko haram 7 years ago

Ndc you just small Group of People in Ghana .44.40 so what can u do.

• boko haram 7 years ago

Nana toaso

• King 7 years ago

So NPP didn't know it wasn't easy but they promised Ghanaians ,hmmm folks I don't belong to any political party but if care is not taken akuffo Addo leadership would be a failure because of power he promised heaven in Ghana h ...

• AGOLOSHI 7 years ago

mahama made a lot of promise but he later turn his back on his promise.

• sam Y 7 years ago

stupid full !!!!! So Nana should do same..... Monkey!!!!!!

• GHANANI 7 years ago

This was a flagship campaign message to ghanaians which convinced most ghanaians to vote for Nana.If he fails to reduce water and electricity tariffs significantly to ease the finacial burdens of ghanaians he is finished.He w ...

• AGOLOSHI 7 years ago

who told you he is finished. either he reduce or not... he will get my vote.

• onipanua 7 years ago

You will be a fool then to allow politicians to fool you and take you for granted.You are a gulligle ghanaian.

• Kris 7 years ago

I agree with you. He must reduce them all ASAP else we won't even wait for 4yrs. We'll drag him out of the flagstaff house.

• No Mercy 7 years ago

Rubbish Speeches .don't advice Nana Addo.Nana Addo will do his work

• PATRIOT 7 years ago

No way!!!.Nana's government must do it or his government will be voted out of office in 2020.It was one of numerous campaign promises which convinced ghanaians to vote for him.Ghanaians will not accept any excuses from his go ...

• Frimpong Shaban 7 years ago

That's is NPP for u. They should not play with the intelligence of Ghanaians. We'll boot them out if they fail to implement their promises. Ghanaians are anxious for the reliefs immediately. NPP should hit the ground running ...

• juda 7 years ago

ofui...even God himself created things systematically... u moron being can't tell wat shd be done...go n eat ur moda ofui

• Karni 7 years ago

Stupid economist. Did we force him to make that promise? Ket him honour his promises or face our anger come 2020. Go ask dead goat JM what happened to him

• paul Kwao 7 years ago

Yes the blame game is in the offing, NPP is hatching a plan to blame Mahama for their failures simply say the economy is beyond fixing due to NDC bad policies

• Peal 7 years ago

If they like they can blame Mahama till they leave office Ghanians do not care. Now that the competent team is in power they should make sure they they fulfill all their promises if not we will go back to our incompetent Mah ...

• Foster 7 years ago

Akuffo Add said,he will used hundred days.We ddon't want to hear the word incompetent in his administration. He Should do as he promised. We know anytime they comes to power they give more excuses. We don't want hear thing a ...

• ROGUE LAWYER 7 years ago

Akuffu Addo has no chose than stick to his promises which are social contract with the voter.if he cant do it , it means he has no business at the presidency.
    it is high time Ghanaians ought to be serious in holding the poli ...

• Apple sauce 7 years ago

I don't understand why some people put their noses to where it don't belong

• Kaf Sweden 7 years ago

After the allowance let see were he will fix them after school without building hospitals there Ghanaians will see how valuable infrastructures are needed

• Malia 7 years ago

Without infrastructure how can a nation boast of development, Ghanaian s will regret voting Mahama out, the time is up, oya they should put money in people's pocket

• Jojo Sam 7 years ago

THEY HAVE ALL THE MEANS OF COMMUNICATION ALL THE SIGNIFICANT MEDIA THEY OWN RADIO STATIONS TV NEWSPAPERS AND YOU SO ITS EASY JUST AS THEY DECEIVED THE SIMPLE MIND TO VOTE IN PROMISES AGAINST INFRASTRUCTURE. DO YOU DRIVE THROU ...

• Malia 7 years ago

Correct for 100 points

• Koffi Sarpong 7 years ago

In fact peoples don't realise how good are infrastructure in a country that preferred having money in they own pocket enjoying life. Any economist in the world will tell you that infrastructures are the s ...

• BERNARD 7 years ago

INCREASE YOUR LIBIDO WHILES ENHANCING YOUR SEXUAL PERFORMANCE WITH MORE ENERGY AND STAMINA. USE VITAL 5 WITH MULTI MACA ( save your marriage ).0572174551
    1. Multi-Maca + VITAL 5 have a special property which enhances energy ...

• Hmmmm 7 years ago

This is a political talk, Mr. Anim don't intimidate us, because of their promise to reduce tax and utility tariff that is why we voted for them.

• Adams nj 7 years ago

Here we go the lies has start ...now we vote for you the games is on right...we live to see ,keep your promises bcos u said all JM did was wrong so pls reduce it now

• Brassky 7 years ago

Is this man feeding through his an us? It is campaign promise. Simplicitor

• Appiah 7 years ago

An economist my foot! ! This is a party strategy to hide behind such hypocrites to give excuses why they can't fulfil their promises. We can see far!

• eddie 7 years ago

This economist is a hypocrite. When Nana Addo was making the promises where was he? He kept quite knowing that it will not be possible. Playing for time is just an excuse.

• Nana Sarkwa 7 years ago

Master shut up. This you weak model will not work. Where were you when the npp said they were going to reduce tarrifs? Do you think you are wiser than ghanains? Npp became successful in this year's elections because among oth ...

• TWEAAA dc. 7 years ago

MR ECONOMIST....WHO TOLD YOU WE ARE GOING TO BORROW LIKE YOUR MAHAMA?.........THE TARRIFS ARE TOO PROHIBITIVE AND SHOULD BE REDUCED.

• TRUTH STANDS 7 years ago

were you not in this country when Nana said it? Did you suddenly realised that the economy cannot support it? Why didn't say it then? Are you hired to speak for NPP?

• minladder 7 years ago

Stupid economicist , u r gyimgyim .....

• S. K. A 7 years ago

Eiiiii you see, Masa Put Money in our Pocket, we are waiting for free SHS, free NHIS, one District one Factory, one District one Dam, reduction of Taxation, Utility bills, one Million Dollars for each constituency.

• GH PEOPLE 7 years ago

U ARE A FOOLISH ECONOMIST, IDIOT

• Cutlass 7 years ago

Rome wasn't built In a day so the economist is right in saying that ndc must takè time.

• Gilly 7 years ago

Joker

• Banga Soup 7 years ago

Stupid economist. We voted based on the promises and you are now spewing thrash. It won't wash. Where were you when Nana was promising all these? You should have advised against that but you kept mute. We won't take your thra ...

• Leejoe 7 years ago

We are already dying with this utility and what are you saying . Nana Addo and his team have already put in place plan to cushion the consequences of the reduction pls dont come and confuse them . You can sacrifice your reddu ...

• Agyemang boye 7 years ago

That is one of Bawumia's economist mates. Ghanaians prepare for more of such excuses. Bawumia has the solution to all Ghana's economic problems. When JM was saying we needed some time for things to change for the better, Bawu ...

• Last warrior 7 years ago

It can still be done,one option is to start retrieving stolen money to pump that money to reduce bill and another option is to keep a very close eye on the money we make from oil,gold,and diamond and making foreign investors ...

• Bissa 7 years ago

Any attempt to delay the reduction of utility bills will be meeting with massive demonstrations such as has never been witnessed in the country. No one should take Ghanaians for a ride. Nana promised and won so he must fulfi ...

• Nana Apraku 7 years ago

You won power on the basis of those promises telling us "ska w) h)" ie there is money. Inherit it and FIX it. we expect drastic reduction of utility tariffs with effect from January.

• Ghanaba 7 years ago

PEOPLE BEFORE YOU SAY SOMETHING, LOOK THE TAKE HOME PAY OF THE MP'S AND THE PRESIDENTS, COUPLED WITH FREE FUEL FOR THE MINISTERS, WHY NOT SUBSIDIZE FOR THE POOR GHANAIAN. WAKE UP

• Comfort 7 years ago

We voted for him because of this and you are telling him not to do that. Where were you when he was making these promises? If you don't want your bills to be reduced, it's ok. The rest of us do

• S. K. A 7 years ago

We leave to see. China's and Japans use years to build afacstrsture and today thier economy is ok, what did Ghana have done to do some like those country's. All Ghanaians want is money been in thier Pocket, how will the money ...

• Ghana Man WudWhatUDo 7 years ago

hardship and increment started small small under mahama and thus how it will reduce small small and to full enjoyment under the competent man Nana-Addo. ndc people should stop the rushing they didn't vote for good governance ...

• Asoreba 7 years ago

Is the man NDC ? . Akuffo Addo must reduce immediately in his first month. I voted for him cos of killer utility tariffs. If he can do Mahama should reduce and let's see if he will increase when he comes

• Alberto 7 years ago

Mahama reduce the utility tariffs and see if the will increase.

• Ogyam 7 years ago

These NDC criminals are the nation's woes.
    It's unfortunate these same criminals want to use constitutional clauses to make ghana not to work again.

• Dessie 7 years ago

Any nation that do not enforce taxes is doom to fail:let us look at Greece,Spain and Italy where these countries are bankrupt because of tax heavens

• Ogyam 7 years ago

Mahama is like a playboy who inherits the whole families wealth and plunge them into debt in the name of unprecedented infrastructural development. THIEVES.

• Nii Okai 7 years ago

Ghana voted massively for Akuffo Addo because of the wonderful reducing of taxes promises he gave us all. Do you read why he won the election with great margin? It basically is because of the promises to make life better for ...

• shine your eye's 7 years ago

bam. nii oh nii

• Wilberforce Yirenkyi 7 years ago

Don't worry Ghanaians have strong brains to think for themselves. Where was this so called economist when people were agitating for reduction in tariff. Well, may be at that time he was dumb and has suddenly found his voice t ...

• Eborenasa 7 years ago

Where was this so call economist when Nana and his Messiah bawumiah were all over the the promising to reduce utility tariffs within the first 100 days of their government. Why didt he advice them that they will need one year ...

• OKESS 7 years ago

The country has money to pay emoluments to the outgoing president and MPs, and no money to reduce tariffs for the working people. Illiterate!

• Victor A. Young 7 years ago

Please get lost with your bogus ideas. The incoming govt knows what to do; there is a difference in theoretical analysis and practical aspects of real economy. Allow our President-elect, Nana Addo Danquah Akufo-Addo and his t ...

• shine your eye's 7 years ago

kikikikikikikk

• y because we have no money5 7 years ago

Ab n
    e

• we have the money and competence 7 years ago

change has come

• we have the money and competence 7 years ago

Ghanaians rejoyce

• good job 7 years ago

Put sense in to the head of the empty good for nothing mutumbanza economist bawumia . he collaoese Zimbabwe economy and wanted to do same to that of Ghana . chew and pour economist and certificate less lawyer will kill Ghana ...

• Tutugyagu 7 years ago

Which of the campaign promises made by Nana Addo, did he place a time limit to roll-out or to complete ? Could anyone proved an answer if they know? 1. One-district-one-factory 2. One-village-one-dam ...

• OBIBA JK 7 years ago

hahahahaha.you said the driver is a bad one.you have the mantle.we are watching.and will pressure you till you deliver your promises hand down

• Kwesi Kwesi 7 years ago

Nobody forced Nana Addo to promise a reduction in utility tariffs. Whether he likes it or not he will reduce tariffs. Where were u when he was making the promises? We won't listen to any Kwaku Ananse story.

• Matete 7 years ago

The NPP have Africa's best economist in the person of Bawumia who has the magic to turn things around within the next few weeks to come because Mahama is INCOMPETENT he claims. The real kick of is on the 7th Jan 2017,so fello ...

• Sankofa 7 years ago

Foreign direct investment is not a panacea for our economy.

We need to learn to do things ourselves and utilise our abundant resources ourselves for the benefit of all rather than rely on foreigners.

The foreign investo ...

• Kofi Asante 7 years ago

I think the reduction should be immediate. The tariff should not be more than rent.akuffo should please reduce it immediately. We need it. Those economist should shout up please. Akuffo must reduce it now. Ghana can't be amon ...

• Justin 7 years ago

It won't hurt to reduce utility tariffs because for the past four years, tariffs has went up over %1500 and all that revenue went into the pockets of public officials. Npp should reduce all that unnecessary hike from the prev ...

• Alberto 7 years ago

It must be reduced that why he was vote for. That what cost living higher and unbearable.

• LMohammed Amin abdallah 7 years ago

Stop your silliness if you are bored go out for exercise to stimulate your mind and stop the irritating remark Head line is enough to realise how borrimg your writing is bound to be iwoudnt waste my time to read.

• Biyariga 7 years ago

This man is joking, if he should try to implement your advice we will press a restart button. Why do you think he is called president elect? This advice is politically motivated.

• the lone Prophet of Jehovah 7 years ago

Their slogan was we have the man to turn the economy and fill the packets of Ghanaians with money shalom

• COMMON SENSE 7 years ago

Nana if you refuse to reduces the utility tariffs you go to opposition,you tell us your coming to reduce the tax,that is the reason we voted for you,even Mahama is doing well but he refuse to reduce the tax,we are not joking ...

• Sid 7 years ago

The bigger economics have already done their home work before coming out leave it to them any way u have a say so I've no quarrel

• kofi dee 7 years ago

Oh nana and npp government must reduce it drastically.that was their promise they must filfil all their lies.

• Kris 7 years ago

Massa STOP what you are saying. We voted for him for the change he promised and that is what we want. If it doesn't happen ASAP we will walk out on the streets and demonstrate. What do you mean???

• sam Y 7 years ago

U are a stupid fool !!!!! where were u when they went on promising free this and free that? motherfucker like uuuu... They have to fulfil those compaign promises on the basic needs of the citizenry. ....... U think talk is c ...

• Dr A A sudaise 7 years ago

masa stop those silly advice let see the magic of the so called expect and we shall hold them by their words they can't sweave any

• santi 7 years ago

No wonder , u have not acquired PhD in economics. where were u before those with the so called PhD in economics were making the promises ? do u know better than them ? if that is the anti campaign fulfilment strategy they gav ...

• boko haram 7 years ago

Do u vote For him? Go away

• Yao-Danso, South Afr 7 years ago

Sankofa goo come ooooo

• Kb 7 years ago

The tricksters are back again
    You will reduce the utilities immediately
    Or we return NDC

• Stupid frogman nana 7 years ago

Who sent malafaka. Go tell them we want the reduction stating from 8january. Idiot

• wood 7 years ago

Mr.Anim you no better but not than Bawumia professor in economics ..
    So stop telling what Npp gov't should do and not to

• No comment 7 years ago

The promise is for four years not eight year master. Utility tariffs and taxes are within the 100days period which we are waiting for. They promise us heaven on earth.