You are here: HomeNews2016 12 11Article 493492

Serious Akufo-Addo will appoint Martin Amidu as AG

Read Comments Comments (86)

Oh,my God that's always my dream.

• OYOKOBA 7 years ago

As good as Martin is, he should is diehard NDC. He should rather run for NDC leadership for the 2020 election.

He has lightening rod persona and to invite him into NPP will be tantamount to inviting Nkrumah into the UGCC. ...

• OYOKOBA 7 years ago

As good as Martin is, he is a diehard NDC. He should rather run for NDC leadership for the 2020 election.

He has lightening rod persona and to invite him into NPP will be tantamount to inviting Nkrumah into the UGCC. He s ...

• Dessie 7 years ago

He can help clean the drillship money as well as E.T Hammond awaiting trial for that scandal.And Akuffo Addo can also be impeach for giving green light for the sale of our national property; where is the 4million$ proceeds fr ...

• Kwabena Anane 7 years ago

I will rather opt for Citizen vigilante to be made the independent prosecutor in view of his determination to fight for the cause of Ghana. Most people would have kept quiet to partake in the raping of Mother Ghana, but this ...

• $AINT GHFUO, BLACK EXCELLENCE! 7 years ago

CALL THE RIGHT PPL IRRESPECTIVE OF PARTY AFFILIATION. IF THEY CAN DO THE JOB N MAKE U LOOK BEST N BRING PROSPERITY SIGN THEM ON...

• OSUO ABRUBUOR 7 years ago

Oyokoba,

I think you have given the precise reason why Amidu should appointed special prosecutor.
    I have a very cynical opinion of all politicians and whilst the impunity under Mahama was particularly nauseating, there is ...

• T and T 7 years ago

Martin is well educated, one who can think so he is always on the side of what is good or what is right and fair. He is not like u who is tied down to one party because of tribe or mere stupidity. U are with them even if they ...

• Dr. J.K. Bokor 7 years ago

Prof. Lungu, Nana Akuffo Addo will rather appoint youf father as the Attoney General of Ghana. Will that be ok for you?

I think you have still not got it that our NDC party has been kicked out!

• DUNGEON MASTER 7 years ago

"I think you have still not got it that our NDC party has been kicked out!"--Bokor

So now its official: all those loudmouthed Nkrumahists (no one has to guess who they are: Lungu and Co) who cant stop beating our ears wit ...

• Dessie 7 years ago

Thank you JK

• Branaboy 7 years ago

Best role for Martin Amidu is as the new independent SPECIAL PROSECUTOR. He is perfect for the role. The CITIZEN VIGILANT has been pursuing corrupt NDC officials on his own for a number of years. His appointment to the newly ...

• yanks 7 years ago

a.g post

• Abusua 7 years ago

Amidu always plays a traitor role. He should be left a lone. NPP should just prepare, because Martin and Rawlings will start scream about injustice in Nana Addo's regime 6 months from now.

• Kwadaso 7 years ago

The elections are over and it is time for governing.The President elect needs to bring in the best people into his administration rather than the usual stomach politicians.Personally I think Nduom,Konadu,Woyongo,Greenstreet a ...

• THE REAL C.Y. ANDY-K 7 years ago

No! of course no! Akufo Addo will appoint the NDC Lawyer, that Ape Amaliba as the Attorney General of the New Republic of Ghana.
    And if! what is your fucking beef about that. Get it in you smarched coconut sitting on your u ...

• Prof Lungu 7 years ago

Impersonator // immature brain!

Even with the anonymity the internet offers, you find it useful to use other peoples' monikers to make a fool of yourself.

When we sent the paper to the publishers last night, we copied s ...

• Kojo T 7 years ago

Impersonation or not, he is making a laudable point. What is your beef as an NDC staunch member to pop you ugly nose into the arrairs of the NPP? Think twice before posting any rubbish!

• Kojo T 7 years ago

I can't wait to see what the fat Ewe pig Michael Javis Kwadzo Bokor aka J.K. Bokor will post the next to this platform. Clearing it's going to be the same tribal and partisan shit as usual with that ugy Ewe pig!

• SAM 7 years ago

SPILL SUCH NONSENSE.
    DON'T THINK BECAUSE NPP WON THE 2016 ELECTIONS THEY ARE IN GOV FOREVER? 4 YEARS JUST AROUND THE CORNER GO AND ASK MAHAMA HOW QUICK IT GOES. USE YOUR ENERGY TO HELP A.ADDO PERFORM RATHER THAN SHOWING YOU ...

• Villager 7 years ago

Prof Lungu, yours is a great idea but you seem to forget that most of the people do not have the nation at heart. Now that they have won the elections the next item on the agenda is «JOBS FOR THE BOYS». They have lawyers in ...

• Jordys 7 years ago

Good assessment!

• yanks 7 years ago

i like it

• SARPONG 7 years ago

Attorney General, NO but a Special Prosecutor. We are going to need him to prosecute the Ndc criminals who have looted everything in Ghana that is not bolted down and keep an eye on the incoming government.

Martin cannot b ...

• Francis Kwarteng 7 years ago

Lungu, I hope Sarpong has blown some sense into you bird-brain about your rubbish on who becomes the attorney general in the New Republic of Ghana under the watch of Nana Addo Dankwa Akuffo Addo.

• THE REAL C.Y. ANDY-K 7 years ago

From what the gentleman Sarpong is saying, one can deduce that Prof. Lungu's article is a garbage without a ticture of truth in it. Quessing to write any nonsense!

• K.K. 7 years ago

Good idea Sarp, Mr. Martin Special Prosecutor and what about Ana Aremeyaw Anas also to investigate all the revenue corners for the government.

Caught on camera, shown to the national tv then you face the music afterwards.

• Kwabena Yeboah 7 years ago

I fully agree with you, Sarpong. As much as I wish Martin Amidu was NPP and could easily fill the position of AG, the position of AG should go to a bona fide NPP candidate who holds unflinching loyalty to the Executive Counci ...

• Prof Lungu 7 years ago

Kwabena Yeboah,
    Thanks for your comment.

We did not begin our essay's title with "Serious" for no worthwhile purpose.

Work on a revised Constitution has already been completed, more than once, practically.

So, what ...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 7 years ago

Please do not ask or suggest to the President Elect to appoint certain individuals into certain positions. The President Elect is capable of making his own appointment decisions. Martin Amidu as AG or special prosecutor in my ...

• Villager 7 years ago

The villagers salute you Kofi, this is the most sensible contribution to the subject.

• CORNEY 7 years ago

My friend,special prosecutor is alien to our constitution,we have laws,a constitution,election of Akuffo Addo is not a military coup to be changing our laws.

Appointing Amidu as whatever is just a waste,he is not any anti ...

• ANKORA WASH DC 7 years ago

Did you ever hear the name of Mr. Gyeke Darko, the former Director of the Public Prosecutions?
    Anyway, go back and read the constitution. The President , through the Chief Justice, can establish any court or judicial institu ...

• CORNEY 7 years ago

My friend,special prosecutor is alien to our constitution,we have laws,a constitution,election of Akuffo Addo is not a military coup to be changing our laws.

Appointing Amidu as whatever is just a waste,he is not any anti ...

• Asem 7 years ago

Mr. Amidu has been fighting on his own. Can we imagine what this man could achieve if he his given an office in the Akufo Addo Government..... He must be considered...

• James 7 years ago

She will rig for NDC in 2020

• Botha 7 years ago

I think the president-elect should appoint Martin Amidu as an independent prosecutor instead. This is because African attorney generals often find it extremely difficult to live up to expectation by virtue of their partial lo ...

• Pojus 7 years ago

That is exactly my thinking Boss! You are on point!

• Battle of amoaful 7 years ago

Rubbish

• Abisi 7 years ago

This is exactly what I was discussing with a very good friend of mine. Our President-elect should look out side the box when considering the people he wants to work with. I am NPP to the core but this time around let our lead ...

• Brobbey@50 7 years ago

Martin Amidu can be the right Attorney-General who can perform without fear or favour. But then, he should start his probe from officials who served under the Kufour, Mills and Mahama's administration. The Ghana @50 oganize ...

• kay 7 years ago

oooyewa, mr. matin Amidu shd be appointed to hold the position to retrieve state funds embezzled by these corrupt state officials, azzaaaaa

• Nuhu Mahama, US 7 years ago

I have said it here in US many times. I would like to see my wish come true. Mr. Amidu as att.@ general for Ghana.

• Dr. R.R. Baidoo, USA. 7 years ago

This is exactly what I discussed with my wife today, that Mr. Amidu be appointed as Attorney general and Minister of Justice or special prosecutor, whichever the President finds appropriate.

• fear woman 7 years ago

mama former transportation minister hahaha RUN RUN RUN cos satana in town

• Kwaku 7 years ago

I support this.

• Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law 7 years ago

Cool beans Bro.

The first time in your life that you have written something sensible.

This is a clear departure from your anachronistic rant about the Dictator in Chief, the terrible Kwame Nkrumah.

With the NDC, PN ...

• Nii Teiko 7 years ago

In the first place no one need any advise from this ' Monday night quarter back ' who until today was feeding the Ghanaian electorate with his daily nonsense of " Danquah Invented Dummies ; Nkrumah Distooled Chiefs..." and st ...

• YAO ANDY KWAWUKUMI 7 years ago

Thank you Sir! Nii Teiko you have really made my day. Lungu is a stupid useless nonentity, a foolish Ashanti-Boy who has converted to a Voltarian all because the full idiot wants to please the NDC thieves and stupid fools! .. ...

• Prof. Lungu 7 years ago

With all respect the rejoinder, YAO ANDY KWAWUKUMI is 100% right, Dr. J.K. Bokor is a fully primitive, tribal and partisan Ewe. He is bias and very awkwardly serfish Ewe but that is very normal with the Togolese Ewes living w ...

• Villager 7 years ago

You make us laugh paaaaaa in the village.
    Firtsly you impersonate Andy-K
    Secondly your "they are all domiciled in USA"
    Thirdly, walk down the streets of America with Juju/Voodoo around their WASTE". We laugh paaaa

• Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law 7 years ago

Ethnocentric Goons,

Did you need to turn my comment into your tribal nonsense?

All those bringing in your Ewe bashing are far worse than Prof. Lungu who is a known patriot, although a misguided one.

If you cannot acc ...

• C.Y. ANDY-K 7 years ago

Kabideta SAS,

You're in for the long haul with the goons on the loose. Yes, these scums of the earth shall be the undoing of Nana in 4 years time. I promise you that at the end of it, ethnic relation sin Ghana won't be sam ...

• sam 7 years ago

Amidu was part of the PNDC/NDC there was a lot of loot what did he do about those ones ?
    Amidu only turned into a saint when he got booted out of the NDC govt. due to gross insubordination.
    Yes if he has something good to ...

• Pot Pourie 7 years ago

Prof, I beg to disagree with you. The best role Martin Amidu can play in Nana's government is to be appointed as an INDEPENDENT PROSECUTOR. In that case, he will not kowtow to either NPP stalwarts or NDC gurus.

• FLO,Germany 7 years ago

100% deserves position in npp rule,created votes for npp esp. Western & central regions.

• Adu 7 years ago

I think if any boby learned a lesson from NPP 1 IT MUST BE Akufo Addo. Pre occupation of wayome and loose focus on important national issues. Same as Tastsu vs. the state.

• Kobi 7 years ago

I will side the appointment of Martin Amidu as the AG of Ghana. I do hope, as Nana has the same carracter of fighting corruption in the system as Martin, his appointment as the AG shall be of help to his Government. Long live ...

• Koku Anyidohu 7 years ago

Prof you have done mother ghana a lot of injustice. You knew all along that Mahama was on a wrong trajectory but you never had the spine to criticize him. Now I am waiting to hear from another rabid NDC supporter Dr Borkor

• Kwame Okyere 7 years ago

PATRIOTIC PROF. GREAT

• Dessie 7 years ago

Will it be easy worthwhile as most of these debt were collaborated by own Ghanaians : For instance the sold of the drillship to abrogate out debt was the failure of government own lawyers at U.K. represent Ghana at internatio ...

• Ghanaman THE REAL 7 years ago

Yes Mr President, please, hit the ground running and appoint Mr Ace Ankomah as the Independent Prosecutor General of Ghana asap to show that you mean business in tackling all the hanging corruption cases!

• Omanba Kwame 7 years ago

No one deserves this honourable post than Mr Martin Hamidu.
    Hon Nana Addo,congratulations on your elections and government.
    We the same people appeal to you to choose for us the AG in the person of Mr Martin Hamidu,who,inv ...

• Lee 7 years ago

I agree with you that the citizen vigilante be appointed as the AG

• highlander 7 years ago

I think Mr Amidu will do a good job by helping the country to retrieve the monies illegally paid to wayome. I believe Mr. Martin deserve to be the next attorney general as he can pursue all the corrupt former and the incoming ...

• A. A.Mensah Santa Maria, Accra 7 years ago

Appointing Mr. Martin Amidu as the Attorney General by Nana Akuffo Addo will be a mature decision that will gladden the hearts of many Ghanaians. The man had down that he is patrotic and loved Ghana.

• A. A.Mensah Santa Maria, Accra 7 years ago

Yes, Mr. Martin Amidu will be a wise, bold and an all embracing choice for the Attorney General position. He is on the few patrotic politicians in Ghana today.

• NANA 7 years ago

Why should Nana appoint Martin Amidu. Martin will regret it, you can ask Mallam Issa.
    oh Kwame Nkrumah, our beloved CPP party and nkrumahism has given birth to traitors and unhinged stomach direction politicians--Kwaku Baak ...

• Prof Lungu 7 years ago

NANA,
    You must be living in an entirely different world.

Why must you conflate our work and defense of Kwame Nkrumah's legacy for Unitary Ghana, with the work and agenda of "Kwaku Baako, Kwesi Pratt, Ivor Greenstreet"?

• NANA 7 years ago

So can't we true nkrumahists put ourselves together and form a formidable team to put ourselves back to power? These matemeho traitors and NDC trokosi thieves have nothing good for our beloved Ghana. A winnable 3rd force must ...

• Prof Lungu 7 years ago

NANA,
    Thanks greatly for the follow up.

Our critique of Mr. Mahama and his NDC party is part of our record - on these same pages and as mentioned, on GhanaHero.com.

You know, we've worked on many projects on behalf o ...

• SAM 7 years ago

THOUGHT MAHAMA IS A NOTHERNER? KNOW YOUR FACTS OK.

• KD 7 years ago

Amidu would be a formidable AG. Good recommendation

• GPS 7 years ago

J J Raw-lings is number one corrupted leader in Ghana. he should be arrested first. who was J J before he took power by force? Ghanaians are not fools. Almost all our leaders are thieves, and have looted nation

• Yaw Yeboah 7 years ago

Yes, indeed, Nana Addo should consider Martin Amidu as the Attorney General. May the Lord brind this to pass. Martin Amidu deserves this position in Nana's government.
    God bless our new President, Nana Addo and Ghana.

• Abraham Danso 7 years ago

No time waste to appoint him immidiately as possible.

• Esi Ewusiwaa 7 years ago

he has fought so well. God bless our new president elect and guide him to appoint incorruptible ministers. I personally believe in u, Mr Addo. I trust u can make me and my fellow youth successful Ppl. My God always bless u

• Nantwi, BSEd,MSEd(ece),MSEd(sas) 7 years ago

Yes Indeed. Martin Amidu should be appointed the Attorney General as I have the belief that the President-Elect has Ghanaians at his heart and Martin has Exhibited that Courage.

• God bless Ghana 7 years ago

Amidu thinks with his heavy criticism he will be considered. remain the corruption vigilante you accorded yourself. Shame to you

• Joseph Asare (Ekuoba gyasi Germany) 7 years ago

I think Mr Amidu must be given public protector,s position to help attack our corrupt leaders .Ghana must learn from South Africa (Thuli Madonsela) a renowned public protector in zuma's regime but fighting against his governm ...

• Opoku 7 years ago

We are waiting for the competent team. Nana we are waiting but please don't start it with excuses please. one village one dam, one district one factory, more jobs, low tariffs, we are waiting mr desperate.

• Donald Trump 7 years ago

Even if Nana Addo is a fool he will not appoint Martin Ahmidu.
    1.Check what happened in the US.
    2. Martin Ahmidu is arrogant and disrespectful
    3. There are better qualified NPP members who can do that job

• Osigi 7 years ago

ALL NPP PEOPLE WILL REJOICE WHEN CITIZEN VIGILANTE IS GIVEN MINISTERIAL POST. IT WILL HELP NPP PEOPLE. THOSE WHO WANT TO DO CORRUPT PRACTICES WILL IMMEDIATELY THINK OF CITIZEN VIGILANTE WILL BACK OFF

• KWAME MOSI 7 years ago

I THINK MR AMIDU SHOULD RATHER BE APPOINTED AS A SPECIAL PROSECUTOR BECAUSE HE WILL NOT USE POLITICS TO GO AFTER THE CRIMINALS WHO HAVE LOOTED THE NATIONAL COFFERS.

• ANKORA WASH DC 7 years ago

I have decided to come out of my self-imposed exile to voice my support for your opinion. I strongly believe Nana Addo can start to demonstrate his desire to fight the menace of corruption in this country by appointing this s ...

• T and T 7 years ago

This is exactly what we have to do, it can't be status quo. If that is the case, where is the change we are looking for?
    This is a test for Nana, if he fails, I would say it is because his hands are dirty. He must put the i ...