You are here: HomeNews2016 07 27Article 458292

Ghana's economy is in serious trouble - Kwesi Pratt

Read Comments Comments (118)

• Grow up 7 years ago

Say it.. Kwesi ...you are torn between stating your professional opinion and your personal loses. You are not serving Ghana well. Call it.. Mahama govt has plunge Ghana into a serious economic mess.

• UA 7 years ago

No government plunge Ghana into a serious economic mess. You know that economy on raw material is not good economy. However, when Nkrumah want to lay foundation for industrialization to take place the same NPP said is not goo ...

• Citizen 7 years ago

UA, I appreciate your frustration with Ghanaians. But it's useful to note that dedicated leadership built on the bedrock of integrity provides the stimulus for the generality of the people to rise up and work. UA, great leade ...

• insight to the bone 7 years ago

We are now at the crossroads era whereby seemly insignificant decisions will have a serious impact on our future peace and prosperity. We observe the antics of Erdogan in Turkey , Trump's racism in The USA , mahama's tribali ...

• facts 7 years ago

Kwesi Pratt is often times funny. A government which inherited a double digit GDP growth, ranked with middle class economy status,with oil income support around, today is running in a serious economic trouble. It is only Kwes ...

• Mahmoud 7 years ago

Mahama is a corrupt, incompetent, driver mate and "surplus eater". He didn't deserve to be president in the first place, and will soon tuck his tail under his legs and crawl away in shame like Jonathan of Nigeria.

Author:- MAHAMA.....
    So now Liberia and Sierra Leone are the standard? What happened to President Mahama's confirmation in Parliament in February 2016 that he had fixed dumsor? You guys are only full of lies and propaganda. ...

• Nanasoyinka Soju 7 years ago

By far, the best comment ever! What an intelligent person u are! Am amazed at the depth of ur thought. Won't be surprised if u are a hair-raising academician. Thumbs up, bro...

Author:- facts.....
    Kwesi Pratt is often times funny. A government which inherited a double digit GDP growth, ranked with middle class economy status,with oil income support around, today is running in a serious economic tro ...

• Ritewing 7 years ago

You now want us to build the foundation for Ghana, after fifty years as an Independent country. The man you intended to heap praises on, is rather the person who did us in. Yes, Akosombo Dam was built so were a few other usef ...

• Ghana 7 years ago

Please Sir/Madam, If Busia did not devalue cedi, abandoned all the nkrumah projects like nuclear engineering, Gold refinery, etc. Ghana will not be in Dumsor.

Author:- Jah Baghai.....
    Ghanaians have witnesed a cold blood murder of our Judges before.We as a Nation has to take the threat seriously.
    Mugabe added insult to injury by saying his wife and children are out of the country ...

• OBOSOMANKETRE 7 years ago

LET US , ALL GHANAIANS HEAR THIS COMMENTARY AGAIN TO KNOW WHO HATE GHANA. WHETHER THE JUDGEMENT WAS UNFAIR, FAIR, JUST OR INSUFFICIENT SENTENCE.

• DR TRUTH 7 years ago

WONDER WHERE KWESI PRATT WAS ALL THESE YEARS WHEN MOST GHANAIANS STARTED SUFFERING

• UAE 7 years ago

Hypocrites at the helm of their stomach ! Shame on u K pratt

• Uncle Pee 7 years ago

Pratt has been making some sense of late! He's very right, we are in a deep whole, economically, and Mahama/NDC own the mess!!!

Mahama is a bad manager and must be sack.

• master atsu 7 years ago

Have you just realize is issue? When Bawumia was talking about excessive borrowing, waste in the system and over spending, you were the same person criticizing him... When Mahama said he will continue to borrow ... yen tie ob ...

• Gbagbladza Amuzuga 7 years ago

Mahama is clueless and incompetent.The earlier we vote him out the better.He has plunged the country into a terrible mess like illiterate Buhari has done to Nigeria.Nigeria now is in economic recession because Buhari just doe ...

• Nanagoygo 7 years ago

Call spade a spade ,and stop your lackadiscal ,its n.d.c.........

• KOFI KOFI 7 years ago

KWASI PRATT HAS BEEN CAREFULLY CHOSEN TO REVEAL THE STATE OF AFFAIR IN GOVERNMENT. MAHAMA FEEL ASHAMED TO ADMIT WHAT HAS BEEN OBVIOUS. ONE THING IS THAT , PRATT IS NOT HONEST TO HIMSELF AND GHANA. A STOMACH POLIYICIAN WWHAT H ...

• Alhaji A Brutus Germany 7 years ago

KWASI WHY ARE YOU CALLING SPADE A BIG SPOON ?BE BOLD LOOKING IN MAHAMAS EYES AND TELL HIM;

• Kofi-USA 7 years ago

YOU ARE TELLING US THAT THE ECONOMIC CHALLENGES DID NOT ORIGINATE FROM THIS GOVERNMENT. YOU ARE TRYING TO BLAME OTHER GOVERNMENTS. THE NDC HAS BEEN IN POWER FOR THE PAST EIGHT YEARS. THEY COULD NOT SOLVE THE ECONOMIC SITUATIO ...

• ako 7 years ago

As pratt is a ndc n he make a good analyses about the sinking of the economic in the nation then y i n u can't make good comment on it n contribute something good on wat he said rather insulting our leader let me tell u my br ...

• ssb 7 years ago

Kwasi, be honest for once and say the truth, who is the manager of economy and who is responsibly, kwasi say the truth and live long. because of your stomark.

• No Mercy 7 years ago

Mahama and Terpker are Criminals.also all NDC members are Thieves.They need huge amount to steal the votes.Very bad President

• Dayelle Jacool 7 years ago

Mr Pratt, I like your comment, but it seems you are divided between telling the truth and supporting your party (NDC), yes, it didn't start now, but this is the overall worse times Ghana's economy has find itself, I have neve ...

• ROCKY 7 years ago

Judging from what I have read so far, this idiot said nothing sensible. Instead of him to lay the blame squarely at the door step of the ruling government he was just beating about the bush. This stooge is one of the numerous ...

• j0eY l0nD0n 7 years ago

A misleading headline.

• KWAKU MANU 7 years ago

When NDC came to power, they soon boasted of making Ghana a middle income country. Lifted us from our previous third world status. So now that everything has gone wrong, how do you blame previous government?

• OFOSUAA 7 years ago

IGNORE KWASI PRATT AND SPEAK TO TECHNOCRATS PLEASE SPEAK TO TECHNOCRATS NOT THIS STOMACH POLITICIAN AND STOMACH JOURNALIST KWASI PRATT....CONTRACT SOLE SOURCING HAS BEEN USED TO DESTROY EVEN OUR ENERGY INDUSTRY AS AMERI AND K ...

• AYI MEGBE 7 years ago

SINCE YOU HAD FREE RIDE TO South Africa BY ATTAH MILLS YOU HAVE BEEN SINGING THEIR PRAISES, WHY NOW?

• OFOSUAA 7 years ago

KWASI PRATT STILL PROMOTES MEDIOCRITY IN GOVNCE....CONTRACT SOLE SOURCING HAS BEEN USED TO DESTROY EVEN OUR ENERGY INDUSTRY AS AMERI AND KARPOWER ARE RIDICULOUSLY EXPENSIVE TO RUN BCOS OF NDC SOLE SOURCING DIRTY DEALS WITH TH ...

• OFOSUAA 7 years ago

KWASI PRATT ONLY KNOWS NPP HATRED BUT NOTHING POSITIVE ABOUT HOW TO BE PRAGMANTIC AND CONDEMN NDC THIEVERY, CONTRACT SOLE SOURCING, SADA, GYEEDA, BUSREBRANDING ETC ETC....IGNORE HIM LIKE A KID....CONTRACT SOLE SOURCING HAS BE ...

• jam 7 years ago

What is that braggart saying. If the economy is in serious trouble who caused it. You are always hypocritical. Why can't you say it as it is, that it's your incompetent NDC govt's making. To say that its not their making is w ...

• kwadwo 7 years ago

We have the so called economic advaisers taking home fat salaries, when the opposition was telling Mahama of the borrowing, what did he say, kwasi the wantom corruption of create loot and share, where did it start? when the v ...

• God will provide 7 years ago

God is watching us all. Simple truth is starting at your face and you are going round it as if you are discussing piloloo game matter. If previous leaders had mess up like he Mahama wouldn't have had the interest of becoming ...

• Ghana must know. 7 years ago

Because of money our leaders can't speak the truth. What has happen to the better Ghana agenda they promised Ghanaians?. Kwasi Pratt is Ghana better now than it was before ?. After the unprecedented borrowing, unprecedented t ...

• Kobby 7 years ago

I will like to ask a question , why is it that each government that comes into power always see to the needs of MP's and other government officials but not the needs of the people that put them there. They get new cars, house ...

• Nana Asenso 7 years ago

When he is at peace fm he speaks a difeerent language but at radio gold the kpokpogbligbli disease attacks him. Akwasi go and heal yourself

• me 7 years ago

You are in serious trouble too.

• Randy 7 years ago

is this Kwasi Pratt man serious at all? . Is he not the same person who said the country is doing so well like during Nkrumah's time? He is dishonest

• seth 7 years ago

y is it that KWASI can't say is mahama government that has course this mess.u don't work in the interest of ghana.how can we progress as a country wen we have all this people as leaders

• from finland 7 years ago

Shame Kwasi Pratt!!!!!!

• agyeman 7 years ago

IT IS STRANGE THAT MR. KNOW ALL IS JUST BEGINNING TO THINK OR REALIZE THE ECONOMY IS IN SERIOUS TROUBLE. IT IS VERY STRANGE THAT AFTER RECEIVING MONTHLY STIPENDS FROM THE GOVERNMENT KWESI IS NOW TELL THE NDC THEY HAVE MESSED ...

• Jamaica 7 years ago

Sycophanist journalister! Talking only for his stomach as mahama is feeding him.He cannot even put it straight but rather beating about the bush as he always does. Idiotic foolish journalist. Better call a spade by its name b ...

• MT 7 years ago

The only sensible thing in this article is the headline.

• Obi Ba JK London 7 years ago

This is the first time Kwasi Pratt has come out with a true Talk, he always say something which benefit John Mahama but today he's telling the Truth about Ghana Sinking Economy

Oh God let John Mahama die so Ghanaians wil ...

• Kotoo 7 years ago

Akwasi,I understand your point,yet mahama and ndc- led administration has to be blamed for this economic hardship.How would you build a house in Dubai.

• THE WORD OF GOD 7 years ago

Discovering heavenly treasure
    Discovering God's kingdom is like stumbling across hidden treasure or finding the one pearl of great price. When we discover the kingdom of God we receive the greatest possible treasure - the L ...

• Tweaa dc 7 years ago

OH! KWESI PRATT..
    YOU SEE THE CHAMELEON TYPE OF YOUR PERSONAL SELF...YOU ARE NOT BOLD ENOUGH TO PLAINLY TELL MAHAMA THAT HE HAS FAILED.

• Ahiable 7 years ago

Mr.Know all Kwesi Pratt. Tell president Mahama to give us the leap money OK.we are suffering here in V/R.Susu people too has run away with our money.

• Kotoo 7 years ago

Ako,your stupid and dumb president is corrupt beyond comprehension.Excessive borrowing does not make economy stable
    What did Dr.Bawumia tell your NDC about excessive borrowings. A spade is a spade and not a big spoon as idio ...

• Modesto 7 years ago

Infact am praying that President Mahama loose these election ooooo ooooo. We are suffering ooooo ooooo. Brong Ahafo and western should lead the crusade vote Mahama out ooooo.

• sea storm 7 years ago

....It doesn't mean those who handled the problem earlier did a better job than the current govt"BUT who created this ECO-MESS? And for what are they in power? is this Kwesi Kwasea-a big time stomach writer running now for a ...

• Musa 7 years ago

U only bark when u r hungry. Shameless man. For how long have u heard people crying out to this government that Ghanaians are suffer? U kept mute cos Mahama hired u n now d contract is over. Since it's not renewed then u re o ...

• Angelo 7 years ago

The biggest hypocrite of them all. Still hiding his head in the sand. Kwesi call a spade a spade. The NDC has failed. They have been at the helm of affairs of this country for almost half of its life post independece period. ...

• Moses 7 years ago

Kwasi I hope mahama listen to you since you are friend to him advice him because it's getting out of hands now.

• kwabina Ashanti drobo 7 years ago

All those insulting Mr Pratt is being hypocritical and none patriotic to the Ama Ghana and her Ghanaians. We are all in this very Ghana when JJ handed over to JAK, he also handed to JEA Mills. JM then took over from him, don' ...

• Angelo 7 years ago

That's why we elect a leader to plan for the future. If Mahama cannot manage no one is forcing him to stay. He can resign honourably. If the position is not yours you mess up.

• Malami 7 years ago

Why do we vote for new leaders? Am asking you. If you can spell it please don't make any attempt to write it. (Wontumi enspell mentworo ) who said adundum dundum no begyai? Is it not this same NDC gurus who pronounced politic ...

• Malami 7 years ago

Why do we vote for new leaders? Am asking you. If you cant spell it please don't make any attempt to write it. (Wontumi enspell a mentworo wai) who said adundum dundum no begyai? Is it not this same NDC gurus who pronounced p ...

• jasco 7 years ago

r da ur bribe not coming again.posterity will judge u,ur teath like pickass

• TM's 7 years ago

I feel sick to read about this propagandist journalist, the problem did not originate from mahama but who? Liers! This country can move forward without this sort of commentators. He's always protecting his interest. Kwasi u ...

• Yussif 7 years ago

Empty words,then why does Kwasi Pratt praise President Kwame Nkrumah and defend his legacy?thats why we ve economic policies in the world or in every administration.Again why do we sometimes refer to the good agricultural and ...

• Chief Vandal 7 years ago

Foolish Pratt. Is he already positioning himself for the defeat that is coming? The great chameleon

• National Agenda 7 years ago

Mahama/NDC can never make Ghana better. They economic wreckers.

• change is coming 7 years ago

I am sure if this comments had been made on radio gold, the caption will be different. "KWASI PRATT ADMITS THE ECONOMY IS BUOYANT" on alhaji and alhaji. what a chameleon character kwasi rat is. but change is inevitable. Nana ...

What else is expected from myopic know it all Pratt?But not all of us are so daft to be prejudice in our assessments.
    Ghana is suffering as a result of bad governance but who are those responsible?
    With the exception of th ...

• Prime Minister of Sekondi-Takoradi 7 years ago

kwesi Pratt is just a stupid man,gyimmi,b3ll3,b3ll3 abowafunu,incompetent dead goat John Ford mahama's dog.we already knows that you are helping mahama and ndc criminals to destroy Ghana's economy. ndc IDIOT'S BAMMM!!! #STILL ...

• Anglia 7 years ago

Man with

• Trouble no one 7 years ago

It is obvious that mahama is not a leader rather a follower. The fact is that not everybody is born to be a leader. it actually takes a strong man emotionally to make a sound decisions which mahama is no near there. He is onl ...

• Anglia 7 years ago

Akwasi Pratt has seen the light and the incompetence of his pay masters. Shaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaame

• Chris 7 years ago

Hypocrite will kill us all in this country

• Joe Pasasa 7 years ago

This hypocrite and stomach journalist is coming to his senses. The largesse you receive from NDC to twist reality to favor them will be meaningless to you in a wider broken economy. When the rain falls, it falls not on one ma ...

• burruchaga 7 years ago

Mr Pratt Jr note that if things go well in a house the credit goes to mum and dad hence Mr president of mother ghana accept the challenges and work hard.ghana will decide come 7 December 2016 stay blessed

• GkkG 7 years ago

But you are one of Mahama's advisors.

• Agya 7 years ago

The language is now changing as we head towards the day of reckoning for this incompetent government. Kwesi you are now seeing pepper, right? Woano dendeenden, wo mma yenka. You better jump off the boat.

• GkkG 7 years ago

Pratt should ponder over what his boss Mahama said: " we eat road...because the road helps bring food to the market". Now let the roads feed the poor and the hungry citizens. Let the roads improve the ailing economy.

• David 7 years ago

How long will Ghanaians continue to tighten their belts. We are waiting away talents and dreams are dying due to wickedness, stupidity at high places and sheer selfishness. What is it about managing Ghana that is too hard tha ...

• Kwadw Somuah 7 years ago

Sorry that the party you sympathises with is letting you down. The funny thing is that JDM does not see it that way.

• God dey... 7 years ago

When people like u cant simply just voice out the real issues on the ground, we know gh journalist are just plain pocket fillers. Am just waiting to see a real journalist who speaks to issues n doesn't seek his self interest. ...

• kwedwo isaac 7 years ago

Hmm kwasi pratt

• James Adams Ho 7 years ago

Kwasi now they have failed you too since when compare ten years ago and today the two which is better for us to vote for.Its unto you if you have allow us to speak against it early things will not reach this level.

• aked 7 years ago

The government has stagnate the economy

• Apple Sauce 7 years ago

Ghana's economy is not in any trouble nitwit

• zak 7 years ago

Hippocrate shut up things weren't worse like this in kuffour "s era but u made sure u demonstrate against the government at any least chance. now that he's been paid monthly for no work done

• Samuel Appiah Mensah ( Sir Sam ( 7 years ago

Vote for Jesus....He only can provide all your needs.

• Vinss 7 years ago

KWESI DONT THINK THAT YOU ARE TOO SMART OR CLEVER.YOU ARE JUST ACOWARD INDEED.ARE YOU LIVING IN GHANA?HOW MUCH DEBT WAS AT KUFFOURS TIME8YRS AND THA OF YOU ndc?GO TO CIRCLE AND SEE YOUNG MEN TRYING TO MAKE A LIVING.FROM NOW N ...

• Mensah Abrampa 7 years ago

Kwesi Pratt, in a desperate bid to salvage at least a little bit of his battered image and to keep feeding on the crumbs that fall every now and then from the high table is talking from both sides of his mouth. The double tal ...

• ogyam 7 years ago

I think GHANA and for that matter AFRICA is a sad story. Nobody wants to tell the truth except where it affects them personally or their day to day activities. They have big mouths to be heard by every community as though spe ...

• NANA BONSU 7 years ago

The problems predates them. The issue is, it was presented as the previous Government's problem that NDC has very quick solutions for. To cover for lack of ability in providing solutions, they have resorted to "smoke and mirr ...

• Yapo 7 years ago

When Mr Pratt speaks like this, then you should know that his coffers are empty and they need refreshing.

• Alhaji Alhaji Alhaji 7 years ago

ALL THE POLITICIANS ARE OF THE SAME MIND...LET HOPE AND PRAY FOR GOD GUIDANCE, WITH GOD ALL THINGS ARE POSSIBLE

• ogyam 7 years ago

Of course, infrastructure is very important for mother GHANA'S development, but not at the expense of our future generations.
    All the money that was borrowed for those projects could have done twice that.
    Our next generat ...

• mustqpha haruna 7 years ago

Left us fight and vote for right person in 2016 election

• unknown 7 years ago

I wonder if dis govt hs dan somtyn 4 our dear country Ghana. He cont.s on a tour of wch he used our own money 2 do n he claims he hs dan somtyn. Watz da responsibilities of a prez. Mahama govt hs really failed Ghanaians n he ...

• Amega 7 years ago

Terkper is saying what, that he 'is optimistic the economy is rising'? Rising to where? The truth is the economy is shrinking. Terkper should just show me one country in this world whose economy is growing in the face of prob ...

• apuuuu 7 years ago

Kwesi Pratt where have you been all this years were you blind that you can not see what was going on why now when opposition parties and the citizens are complaining you were throwing durst into our e ...

• Divine 7 years ago

Let as all come together us a Nation to solve your economic issues.
    N.D.C. or N.P.P, is not Ghana

• Omar Husein 7 years ago

Kwesi you are write .NDC has not Inherit a Heaven from the NPP they inherit a serious mes from the NPP.and after that look at them they are rather crying as if they are angels. But we say NoNoNo NPP No way

• frank, kumasi 7 years ago

So its now you are seeing Kwesi. You should blame yourself first before accepting that its in trouble.

• Kwesi Amoah 7 years ago

Kwesi Pratt, give a sincere answer to the following questions: What makes a country tick? Why is Ghana in economic mess? Why do our public officials think the country has a bottomless pit of money and therefore they can loot ...

• Alon 7 years ago

Actress and Actors are now making politics in Ghana, I hate to see those peoples

• Kojo 7 years ago

Kwesi is only being prudent in his speech.

• idris 7 years ago

Kwsi's body language is in balance. Shem on to him.

• Agyaa 7 years ago

Pratt is not bold enough to say it as it is......so from which government does this economic crisis started? This Rat don't reason anymore.

• Paa Joe 7 years ago

HAVE YOU ASKED YOURSELF WHY THE ECONOMY CONTINUES TO FACE MANY CHALLENGES AND DIFFICULTIES IN THE COUNTRY.

YOU HAVE ONLY CRITICISED AND OPPOSED TO MANY CRITICAL QUESTIONS, But FAILING TO KNOW, THE DRIVE OF ECONOMIC GROWTH ...

• kokui Ayivo 7 years ago

look at his greedy face , is it now you know .Kwesi Pratt you have questions to answer .corrupt journalist

• Nyame 7 years ago

Ghana's economy has Brent in trouble since the overthrow of Nkrumah in 1966,

Ghana's successive leaders are all useless and downright corrupt.

• Kenneth 7 years ago

I am ashamed of Kwesi prat Jr. The that was my idol. Hecwss kwesi during Rawlings and Kufour. We praise him for his work. But he now belongs to a particular party. It is a shame, where have you left your followers? In the for ...

• yaw 7 years ago

l agree with u keepit up

• GH 7 years ago

Always blasphèming.when will ghanains stop mahama diz mahama dat. Its time u noe dat ghana's economy suffered economic crisis under npp tooo even b4 de reign of Ndc. Way back in de reign of npp Ghana suffered severe dumsor ...

• Richard 7 years ago

This useless man who calls himself a journalist. Now that you know the Ghanaian economy is in bad shape. You supported Ford Mahama to mess up the economy and you are now crying. Shameless fool.

• Abusua 7 years ago

Your comments are the truth but be bold to attribute the worsening economic conditions to other regimes. You know how mahama's gov't has wickedly treated Ghanaians and saddled generations unborn with dubious debts through his ...

• KKD 7 years ago

Why don't u say it as it is. Stop beating around the bush Kwesi. U find it very difficult to criticize this Mahama administration. The NPP regime did not leave power with such poor economy.

• Yay rah Kwame 7 years ago

You can't create and loot and expect the economy to be versatile.
    Bring the stolen money back
    Kwasi tell you paymaster and pay back what you have been given.

• GH PEOPLE 7 years ago

OPEN LETTER TO FELIX KWAKYE OFOSU , IT IS A SHAME AND DISGRACE FOR MAN IN THE OFFICE OF PRESIDENT TO ENCOURAGE, BARBARISM, FOOOLISH TALK AND PRIMITIVE TALK, FELIX OFOSU HAS THE MENTALITY OF THE 3 DISGRACED, RADIO PRESIDEN ...