You are here: HomeNews2015 09 30Article 384799

Chinese miners defy military; engage in alluvial mining

Read Comments Comments (70)

• Da Real Blackman. 8 years ago

What is the government doing to stop this menace to our environment, and the rampant disregard of our laws by illegal aliens? They are stealing our resources and the government is doing nothing about it!!! Can Ghanaians or Af ...

• OFOSUAA 8 years ago

EVIL FORCES ARE IN CHARGE OF GHANA NOW SO WE PROMOTE THE DESTRUCTION OF OUR PEOPLE AND OUR LAND BY FULANIS AND CHINESE ETC ETC AS STUPIDEST CLUELESS JOHN MAHAMA AND HIS COHORTS JUST ENGAGE IN DIRTY POLITICS SO PREOCCUPIED WIT ...

• bhono holland 8 years ago

the only solution is to start killing the chines,because they bribe police and everybody,kill them they wil run themself,no african wil be allouwed to do this in china,india,pakistanis,why should we allowed them is really pai ...

• Hellooooooo 8 years ago

Fanti folk still giving gold coast away ju st like they did in history. In return the idiot took foriegn names like Yankey, Moore, Robertson etc. Only Asantis have brain in gh. The rest of the tribes are a disgrace

• anang 8 years ago

aboabi ba do you think you ashantis are better than other tribes in ghana ?

• LARYEAH 8 years ago

LOOK BOY, BLAME THE GOVERNMENT BECAUSE THE CHIEFS, ELDERS AND THE RESIDENTS MUSTER COURAGE SEIZED AND DISMANTLED AND MARCHED THOSE ILLEGAL ALIENS' TO THE POLICE STATION. UNFORTUNATELY THE LAW SET THEM FREE WITH BOGUS BAIL. SO ...

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

MY BROTHER,I ATTENDED MYOHUANG BARRACKS MIDDLE SCHOOL WHICH IS A BLOCK FROM THE RIVER.
    THE OLD CHIEFS DID NOT DO ANYTHING IN 1966 WHEN SOLDIERS SEIZED THE FORMER EYESON SECONDARY SCHOOL BUILDING AND MADE IT MYOHUANG.

• TDR 8 years ago

The Ewes in notorious NDC government have sold all the mineral land in Central, Eastern and Asanti Regions to these Chinese. NDC government does not care. They are in the business of making money. The Chinese are perfect busi ...

• Saint Ghfuo: CHALLENGE YOURSELF!!! 8 years ago

Bribe the police to engage in galamsay and dats becos the govt isnt paying the police well

• Torgbigah in China 8 years ago

Ghana has failed and democracy is not good for us. what kind of people are at the hem of affairs in Ghana? Chinese and their behavior in Ghana is really making me sick. I am writing straight from China. I published series of ...

• matemeho 8 years ago

STUPID USELESS GHANA POLICE: ALL THEY KNOW IS BEATING UP, MAIMING AND OTHERWISE BRUTALIZING INNOCENT GHANAIANS. MMOA! IT IS SAD TO KNOW THAT FOREIGNERS ARE ALLOWED TO BREAK OUR LAWS WITH IMPUNITY. GHANA NEEDS STRONG, NO-NONSE ...

• Mintim 8 years ago

BLACK AFRICANS DO NOT STAND SUCH A CHANCE IN SOUTH AFRICA, LET ALONE CHINA, WHICH STILL RAGARDS BLACKS AS MONKEYS.

YES, BLACKS ARE INDEED MONKEYS.

• Insitu 8 years ago

The government in power, the NDC, is predominantly Ewes and Northerners and they do not give a damn what happens to the resource endowed areas of Ghana which is mostly in the South West and the Ashanti regions. They have con ...

• safia 8 years ago

do you have evidence to what you are saying. please be mindful of what you say. ask yourself what you can do to help your community cos even God would reward you for that.

• safia 8 years ago

why must we always expect the government to always act on our behave even if the problem is just at our doorstep. it is the leaders and the members of the community who should rather act. i believe it is these same chiefs who ...

• Benson 8 years ago

Communities should be able to protect themselves.

• Aj 8 years ago

Dude,are you telling us or you're asking us.what's the government doing.Mr President is in the UN telling them Africa has a lot of resources so they should come and take it for free.how on this Earth the Chinese people would ...

• XAVIER 8 years ago

The chemicals used in alluvial mining are some of the most dangerous cancer-causing chemicals known to science. Check the records at the hospitals - more and more people are getting cancer and dying of cancer.

Neither NPP ...

• Brian Williams 8 years ago

The country has been sold by the corrupt leaders.

• Napoleon,USA 8 years ago

So the government cannot ban galamsay in ghana? Oh poor ghana with senseless leaders.

• OFOSUAA 8 years ago

THIS GOVT IS SO PREOCCUPIED WITH THIEVERY AND THEIR INEFFICIENCY THAT THEY ARE READY TO SELL GHANA TO THE LOWEST BIDDER JUST TO LINE THEIR POCKETS TO DEEPEN POVERTY IN GHANA....ide biii kekekee

• Joe Turkey 8 years ago

It is strange how any foreigner from any equally underdeveloped part of the world could just come to Ghana and start doing anything anywhere. Indians (most of them running away from poverty in their country) consider themselv ...

• OFOSUAA 8 years ago

NDC IS SO BUSY PLAYING TRIBAL POLITICS AND DESTROYING NANA ADDO SO THEY ARE NOT EVEN BOTHERED BY THE CHINESE AND FULANIS WHO ARE DESTROYING OUR LAND AND OUR PEOPLE....

• Adote 8 years ago

There is NO Government in Ghana. Ghana needs a benevolent dictator; someone who really loves Ghana; to enforce laws, eradicate corruption, deport the Chinese and Nigerians, shut the stupid parliament for good. Otherwise, Ghan ...

• kusasi 8 years ago

l never want the npp led by nana to come to power in Ghana but if this chines menaces continues unchecked please voters should remove the ndc from power

• OFOSUAA 8 years ago

WELCOME TO GHANA, THE STUPIDEST COUNTRY IN AFRICA WHERE FULANIS, CHINESE, ETC ARE FREE AND WELCOME TO DESTROY OUR LAND, OUR PROPERTY AND OUR PEOPLE WHILST OUR CLUELESS, STUPIDEST, MORONIC NDC GOVT LOOKS ON UNCONCERNED BCOS TH ...

• guyguy 8 years ago

the Ghana Police and the Military are all Mb3l3fo... you should be taking care of your people and not taking bribes from foreigners ..

• Mozzu 8 years ago

Your mother and father are the mb?l?fo. As for you de?...

• NDC 8 years ago

There should never be an excuse for the people of Africa to be so foolish like this,poverty should never be an excuse for such stupidity, all over Africa is the same problem, businesses that the Governments will not give to i ...

• Uncle Pee 8 years ago

In abundance of water, the fools will always be thirsty!

• FIX DUMSOR 8 years ago

THIRD WORLD COUNTRY IS ALWAYS A 3RD WORLD . EVERYTHING IN GHANA DOESN'T FUNCTION WELL . NDC AND NPP DOESN'T KNOW HOW TO WORK TOGETHER FOR BETTER GHANA . EVERY FOREIGNER CAN JUST WALK IN AND CHANGE THE LAW . OUR IMMIGRATION LA ...

• S.H.C 8 years ago

Ghanaians are CAPITAL FOOLS with only big mouth

• safia 8 years ago

oh, it is a problem ooooo. we have a serious problem.

• Tang 8 years ago

WHY ARE WE TOYING WITH THESE BASTARDS CHINESE. KILLS THEM ALL IF THEY WANT TO MESS UP WITH OUR LAWS. THEY SHOULD GO BACK TO CHINA AND FUCK UP THEIR OWN LAWS IF THEY WILL GO FREE. IN CHINA CORRUPTION IS PUNISHABLE BY FIRING SQ ...

• Mozzu 8 years ago

I have read the story. I still cannot find the Parr where the alleged Chinese miners DEFY the military. Useless sensationalism is the stock-in-trade of our journalists. You just want to sell your paper so you must put in a la ...

• LAST DON 8 years ago

Nonsense!

• Mozzu 8 years ago

Look in the mirror. What do you see?

• tenta121 8 years ago

I agree with the fact that the article doesn't mention any Military confrontation/contact with the Chinese miners,therefore the heading is misleading and sensationalised.however, how did the Chinese get into the country in th ...

• gh 8 years ago

The garrison is just in the nose of the galamsey operators

• Papa Yaw 8 years ago

No

• TAMAKLOE 8 years ago

FOR HEAVENS SACK START KILLING THEM AND THIS DISRESPECT WILL SURELY END COMPLETELY

• ADWEN 8 years ago

JOHN DRAMANI MAHAMA IS SO CORRUPT THAT HIS PERSONALITY AND DEAMEANOUR INSPIRES ONLY CORRUPTION BECAUSE HE IS SO CORRUPTION THAT HE CARES NOT ABOUT ANYTHING CORRUPTION.
    JD MAHAMA HAS NO ANY MORAL AUTHORITY TO ADDRESS ANYTHING ...

• VETERAN(BRITISH ARMY),UK 8 years ago

HOW CAN GOVERNMENT AND THE PEOPLE OF GHANA LET THIS CHINESE PEOPLE DISREESPECT THEM IN THEIR OWN COUNTRY.SACK THEM ALL BACK TO CHINA.

• Brofo 8 years ago

Mehn, fuck the Chinese....can we go to their country and do this? Useless and stupid Ghanaian leaders

• safia 8 years ago

they are really stupid, corrupt, greedy, selfish, dishonest, useless, etc leaders we have. why wont they kill each other for such positions. foolssssssss

• LAST DON 8 years ago

We are doomed!

• Esther AYAABA 8 years ago

IN CHINA IF U FIND DOING ILLEGAL MINING THEY KILL U OR GO TO JAIL, WHY DO WE GHANAIANS ALLOW THEM TO DESTROYING OUT ENVIRONMENT, PLS PLS STOP THEM

• Y B 8 years ago

Solution to Health
    Get approved quality health product and prevent yourself from the following chronic sicknesses and disease
    Are you suffering from Cancer? prostrate and breast cancer, skin cancer, cancer in the throat, ...

• gh 8 years ago

aboafunu

• anang 8 years ago

lol

• Uncle Pee 8 years ago

How dare the Chinese invade our country with impunity? If we're not decisive in our resolve to flush out these illegal Chinese, our country would be doomed!

• Papparazzi 8 years ago

Ghana police ne gyimie.... foreigners doing galamsey right under your noses.. do you want Anas to be doing this for you.... Gyimifo police and military...mb3l3fo

• Dessie 8 years ago

I think the police chief in the area need tough to be question and the entire operation sould be stop and leaders who gave go ahead for the Chinese need to be arrested

• AKUSABIIGA 8 years ago

This guy is one person and always tickles himself and laugh. Please I don't care about your political affiliation but please stop your tribalism in your comments. You post the first comment in every story on Ghanaweb and spew ...

• Justice 8 years ago

Kill the Chinese ...no black man can go and mine illegally in China u will be killed when u are caught. Why

• Amidini 8 years ago

OH MOTHERGHANA ! Can you do this in China ? The chief of Apremdo, assembly member and the entire community must fight for their right. Our leaders re not helping us. Everybody will give his/her account one day

• Sekwa 8 years ago

Every facet of the Ghanaian life is sinking. All our notable rivers and streams are polluted with impunity. There are choked gutters everywhere leading to the June 3 disaster in Accra, people are losing their jobs everyday an ...

• Awiraakua 8 years ago

The simple truth is that there is NO GOVERNMENT in Ghana.

For what is the first duty of a Government? It is to make sure that its people are SAFE; that their property is PROTECTED; and that they enjoy a reasonable standar ...

• inercycl 8 years ago

That's how far we've come. Are these chinese holding weapons in the footage here? Someone must have given them authority.

• Nduom 8 years ago

HOW CAN THIS BE IF IT WAS NOT FOR OUR FOOLISHNESS AND STUPIDITY. WHAT IS WRONG WITH AFRICANS AND GHANAIANS IN PARTICULAR. WOULD GHANAIANS BE ABLE TO GO TO CHINA SHOW SO MUCH DISRESPECT. THEY ARE ABLE TO DO IT BECAUSE OF GREED ...

• dunaa 8 years ago

The People's Republic of China treats the various "sovereign" states of Africa as colonies. There are small minded Africans in each African Republic, who are willing to be bought by the Chinese. These Africans then become the ...

• T Bone 8 years ago

By doing the right thing, you find who the real thieves are behind the scenes. Obviously the police have been bribed. Its easy for ghana police to beat up and maim demonstrators, but when it comes to illegal chinese mining an ...

• Ibrahim Alhassan 8 years ago

Please stop these miners and their selfish behaviour for quick money . They will pollute the water and present long term damage to environment and the health of communities. The health and environmental cost be so great it c ...

• yamo 8 years ago

Go ahead Ghana, keep kissing the ass of China, you are getting what you asked for. You chase other foreigners out of your country and keep scum like this. Good for you, you got what you wanted, now live with it.

• gaba 8 years ago

No ghanaian can dig an ant hole in China. Ghanaians r insulted here in China.

• KB 8 years ago

My country Ghana is lawless and most stupid failed state of Africa. Prah, Offin and Ankobra this rivers has already got their fair share of the pollution from illegal mining activities in the areas. Lets us think the next ...

This is what happens when leadership of a country fails. This is insane!

• Mozzu 8 years ago

Rubbish! It's in your mother's nose.

• CHRISTOS CHRISTOFF 8 years ago

All chinese must be deported from GHANA AS THE US DID TO THEM SOMETIME AGO. THESE ARE BAD PEOPLE WHO MOST COUNTRIES DO NOY WAANT.....Hoe did they ever end up in Ghana????? SHOOT THEM..KILL THEM....

• Sankofa 8 years ago

What the heck! How can we allow this to happen in our land?

What are the Police doing What are the military doing? How can these Chinese come to our country and engage in illegal mining right under the noses of our authori ...