You are here: HomeNews2014 07 31Article 319249

Increase MPs to 400 - IEA proposes

Read Comments Comments (122)

• USMAN 9 years ago

Nonsense.

• MATHS 9 years ago

We are all living in Ghana. We are bemoaning the woeful economic situation in the country. Many of us are suggesting a down sizing of Government officials, of the cabinet members etc. This is purportedly to reduce the numbers ...

• Cindy 9 years ago

Crazy woman, you want more lazy ass people to govern the nation? The already 275 members is way too much & serve no purpose to society.

• oba nyansani baako Pe in Ghana 9 years ago

I believe it was a slipped tongue maybe they wanted to day 40 but not 400. Wicked Ghanaian politicians!

• FOREIGN VACANCIES 9 years ago

SOME FOREIGN JOBS
    DRIVERS,
    CLEANERS,
    LABOURERS,
    NANNIES,ETC
    SECURITY MEN ARE WANTED FOR VACANCIES IN a
    SECURITY COMPANY IN THE
    UAE: ABU-ABI,DUBAI, SAUDI ARABIA etc.
    Free Accommodation &
    Transportation to work
    CA ...

• jumbo 9 years ago

I have so much respect for Emile Short but i could not believe that,he is making such a reckless suggestion.400 MPs for what?.Is he calling for reduction in the existing number,which is already high or what?.What at all will ...

• Jay Rogue Ray Ram Liar 9 years ago

400 MP's to give jobs to the boys
    400 MP's to loot the country
    400 MP's to bankrupt Ghana
    400 MP's to starve the people
    400 MP's to increase taxes and duties
    Funny, very funny

• Nicholas 9 years ago

He or she say more MP is vey stupid.

• John 9 years ago

It is shocking that these people could be so insensitive and cruel. Who will pay for the lazy MPs who keep giving away our reosurces for free? We are borrowing to buy sanitary pads and this is what some ignorant 'think empty' ...

• Omani 9 years ago

We are borrowing to buy sanitary pads and this is what some lunatics can come up with?

• AOV 9 years ago

Even 275 is too large.

• Zoobie-Zoobie 9 years ago

does t make sense

• OBAA YAA 9 years ago

Reduce these fools and do nothing parliamentarians to 120 with the following presentation from each region. Based on population and size
    B/A-10
    Ashanti – 20
    Greater Accra -20
    Eastern -15
    Central – 10
    Northern -15 ...

• A. T. 9 years ago

I actually was thinking that we need 50 MPs but I can go with your suggestion of 100 MPs distributed according to population and consideration for size (geographic area).

• Omanhene(U$A) 9 years ago

Again, the Blackman is EXPOSING the Supposed STUPIDITY of the AFRICAN.

"What an INSANE & IDIOTIC idea?" How the hell do you pay for it, fools? Continental America (USA) has a population of about 300 million but has only 53 ...

• EZEKIEL 9 years ago

STUPIDITY comes in different forms!
    This IEA just wanting to be in the front page by TALKING NONSENSE!! STUPID IDIOTS, is that how you think ?? Even the 275 is too many......we need NOT more than AT MOST 130 parliamentarians ...

• SUNKWA 9 years ago

SOMETHING MUST BE WRONG! THIS CANNOT COME FROM THE ORIGINAL THINK TANK THAT I DEALT WITH IN YEAR 2000. POLITICS APPEARS TO HAVE DAMAGED SOMETHING. WHEN THEY HAD CREDIBILITY ISSUES WITH GHANA NEWS AGENCY, SOME OF US THOUGHT T ...

• AbasZ 9 years ago

MATHS {Obrigado} Thank you .

• KO 9 years ago

we need to bring the number of MPs down not increase. A poor country like Ghana does not need 275 MPs. at the moment some of the MPs just make up the number and we are wasting scarce resources on them. We need to bring the nu ...

• KWAA 9 years ago

I wonder how some people reason,we are having problems with the non preforming MPs already and somebody is suggesting we should add more.
    Where is the money to cater for 400MPs?Do politicians think about this nation at all?

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 9 years ago

This IEA so-called "Winner-Takes All" Committee is now becoming irrelevant. It wants proportional representation coalition government enshrined in the constitution and now they want the number of MPs to be increased to 400. W ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

This is an arrant nonsense. A population of 25 million should not have 275 MP's let alone 400. The government is collapsing under the weight overburden government salaries and we are going to add more salaries to out already ...

• LONTO-BOY 9 years ago

My fellow, you're right. Clearly, this IEA proposal is nonsense. Given Ghana's geographic and population size, and the country's financial crisis, we should, instead, be reducing/limiting the number of MPs already in parliame ...

• Justice 9 years ago

Is that man called Emile Short in Ghana ? . Rubbish rubbish and rubbish. This are the people who get their pat at the end of every month and don't care about the rest of the people.

• Jigga 9 years ago

Emile is a woman's name, not a man.

• Tweaa 9 years ago

Emile or Emil are boys name, Emily is a girls name. Get your facts right!

• JK 9 years ago

I have see his picture!

• John 9 years ago

Foolish Fante lawyer. He does not think. If young want peace and good enjoyment. We must prepare for war or thing to happen. Foolish supreme High court judges!!!!!!!
    Want the country to break apart? Only for the high class ...

• YAW 9 years ago

Is Mr. Short and his cohorts normal at all? are they serious? what kind of ridiculous recommendation is that? The number of MPs needs to be reduced to the original 200.

Ghana cannot even afford to set up cholera treatment ...

• Kodwo 9 years ago

Not now.The economy is unhealthy to pay their salary.

• Meh 9 years ago

As for this proposal di3 it will worsen our current situation unless all MP allowances and benefits like accommodation, cars, fuel, etc are removed and only salaries are paid.

• Chiga 9 years ago

400 is too high a number. We don't need more chaff, what we need is quality. The number does not have to be increased for affirmative action to be introduced. We just need to change the electoral system and convert some of th ...

• Pelicles 9 years ago

Your name is exactly your thinking. Short. Foolish man. Have you ask yourself where the money will come from to pay the additional constituencies? Innocent children are sitting on cement blocks to learn and did you go throu ...

• Man in town 9 years ago

Emile shorts you really have short ideals your age is a problem .

• Bar Tender 9 years ago

Why stop there? Why don't we make every adult Ghanaian an MP. After all, those already there are only fighting for themselves!

• Osei Yao 9 years ago

SIMPLY INCREASING THE NUMBERS OF MPS DO NOT INCREASE EFFICIENCY. IT SIPLY INCREASES AVENUES FOR CORRUPTION AND WASTE OF PUBLIC FUNDS. POWERS SHOULD BE DEVOLVED TO MAKE LOCAL GOVERNMENT EFFECTIVE. CENTRAL GOVERNMENT MUST STOP ...

• PREEEE PREEE PREEE 9 years ago

Emil you got it wrong. to add more MPs to collect more pay and get more 'exgratia'....oh OH Papa EMIL you got it wrong.

• Kofi West Haven 9 years ago

OH OH MOTHER GHANA!!! Have been CURSED or is a punishement.That our beloved country is full selfish individuals like this man? How can you suggest this? woaaw!!!.shut your wickid mouth up.

• kkboy 9 years ago

What has this committee members been smoking. Ghana doesn't need more than 100 MPs. 400 MPs is nonsensical.

• OTCHERE DARKO 9 years ago

Where is the money to pay them?

If IEA has nothing sensible to propose, they should shut up!!!!!

• Kk 9 years ago

Who is going to pay them? Idiot!

• ofori ampofo 9 years ago

Emile Short man or woman, did not state reasons why number of MPs should be increased to 400. If she or he has reasons convincing enough, that will justify the suggestion, he/she must let the people of Ghana have them. In any ...

• Abeeku Mensah 9 years ago

Why not make it mandatory for every Ghanaian citizen above the age of 20 years become their own representative in parliament so we can all ensure our own rights? It will ensure almost all its citizens have the same wages and ...

• opusuodum 9 years ago

FOR WHAT,WHAT ARE THEY GOING TO DO?APART FROM LOOTING GHANA THEY DON'T DO NOTHING

• alex 9 years ago

Kwasiafo. What do we need 400 mps for. Fools!!!!!!!!

• Kofi Virginia 9 years ago

Heck your figures. How manu new seats were actuall added? 45 or 75?

• Kofi Virginia 9 years ago

Increase thenumber at the District Assembly level instead to stimlate competition and ideas.

• Vinny 9 years ago

Increase the District Assembly level by 1000 % and you'll get nothing but increase in budget . What we need to is to hold them accountable by rating their performance . Retain, kick, and jail them if proven.

• bet 9 years ago

EVEN THE 275 MPS ARE TOO LARGE FOR A COUNTRY 25 MILLIONS POPULATIONS NOT TO SAY ADDING WHAT, COMPARE INDIA POPULATIONS & THEIR SEATS, SOME OF OUR ELDERS ARE NOT THINKING WRITE ALSO GHA IS A DEMOCRATIC COUNTRY NO SHARING OF GO ...

• King George 9 years ago

400 parliamentarians for what ??? Too many chiefs no indians. Population of 22 million is rediclus.

• Sam 9 years ago

Unintelligent. This suggestion is highly misplaced. A small country like Ghana doesn't that many MPs. The country can't afford the cost.

• Tran_quil 9 years ago

I thought IEA had greater integrity,ridiculous proposition.More chop chop for the greedy politicians abi??Fire burn u all!!!

• kaaaaaaaaaaay 9 years ago

Foe them to go and do what?

• amoah wade3 9 years ago

Why do we need more mps when our economy is in such a mess?

• KA 9 years ago

why not 4000 MPs?

who pays the 400 MPs and where does the money come from?

Are these people serious in Ghana?

• liv 9 years ago

Think Tank indeed.

• JK 9 years ago

..does not necessarily mean that we should have that many. It means that we should not exceed that number at any time.

The premise however is warped, given the current economic situation. Even in good times, the current n ...

• MR RIGHT 9 years ago

Completely rubbish suggestion and unforgivable recommendation. Please kindly make the full report available for thorough analysis. How can a nation of 25million people have 400 MP's for what? UK with a population of 6 million ...

• koffi 9 years ago

Is not necessary at all.even in advance countries have less number of MPs.

• Dr.med.Acquah 9 years ago

I wonder what sort of depletion the sun has had on the brain cells of the IEA.This Gov`t has a lot of arrears to settle but this is irrelevant to them.The additional 75 seats was wrong because there weren`t enough seats in Pa ...

• Hard Listeners 9 years ago

Only in Africa and only in third world and only in sub Saharan Africa would one hear of such suggestions. I have suggested that people should please listen to a program on BBC Focus on Africa on Fridays at 3:00-3:30pm and 5:0 ...

• Hard Listeners 9 years ago

This is a big disappointment coming from IEA. Are they in Ghana or not? They should please come again and come properly.

• Yawpong 9 years ago

Reduce the MP's to 100 and combine most of the districts in the country. The numerous MP's and the district chief executives have been very disappointing. They buy houses in U.S.A and Europe for their girl friends, and shuttl ...

• MArk Dwumfour 9 years ago

This is the most stupid idea ever to prescribe for a country like Ghana at this moment.
    All people want is to get money money money, what effective or efficient role has the 270 play in our life as Ghanaians.

• Victor 9 years ago

Simply for proportional representation , 400 MPs needed? This is absurd.

• RETIRED MP 9 years ago

Stupid suggestion from a heartless group of people. Looks like this country needs a coup as there are too many influential people with little sense or a high level of selfish tendencies coupled w ...

• A. T. 9 years ago

Why does a poor developing country like Ghana need so many law makers? We have way too many MPs. The amount of money we spend on these law makers is too much already. I say, Ghana needs at most 50 MPs!!! An average of 5 MPs p ...

• Lomo 9 years ago

BETTER YET, WHY NOT A HOLE IN THE HEAD

• Joseph Okyere 9 years ago

Tweaaaa This is fucking shit.
    Another 125 lazy non-performing illiterates?

• Moomin 9 years ago

......and they will all take ex-gratia!!!, Come on!!! Have you for a single minute thought about how much is lost to ex gratia? That is why workers are calling for their share. How come an MP takes an ex gratia far greater th ...

• A. T. 9 years ago

We need Ghanaians with ability to think!!! What is going on in our motherland? Do these people really have the ability to reason? Look, we have so much corruption in political circles; we have children schooling under trees; ...

• KWAKU 9 years ago

YOU NEED 400 MPS FOR WHAT? HAVE U CONSIDERED THE ADDITIONAL COST TO THE TAX PAYER? SOMETIMES YOU GUYS ASSUME THINK AND CARRY ON AS IF THE ONLY THING THAT MATTERS IN THIS COUNTRY IS POLITICIANS. EVERYTHING IS THEREFORE AIMED A ...

• darling joe 9 years ago

do we need 400? I think we dont know what we are doing as a nation.The whole united states get 535 and Ghana needs 400.it doesnt make sense and anything that doesnt make sense is nonsense.we dont need 400 we need 4000 nonsens ...

• darling joe 9 years ago

IEA was saying that it should be decreased to 40.but they were not bold enough to suggest this.

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

The secret is that even if Nana Addo beats Mahama and NDC still maintains the majority in parliament then we must opt for a power sharing.If NPP fails to win majority in parliament that means the country will be ungovernable ...

• JDM 9 years ago

IMAGINE WHAT THEY CAME OUT WITH, GRADUATES OF THESE MUSHROON UNIVERSITY WHO CAN NOT IDENTIFY PROBLEMS BUT RATHER CREATE MORE

• A. T. 9 years ago

Look, Emily Short did well when he was in his prime. He is a little too old now and is bereft of ideas. In Ghana, either we have the Ablakwas and Ofosu Kwakyes who don't have anything inside their cranium or we have very old ...

• DO THE DO 9 years ago

Nnesense

• USA 9 years ago

monkey

• Divine 9 years ago

This is a stupid suggestion,those people sit down doing nothing and you want them to be increased for what??

• Kwamena 9 years ago

If you have nothing better to contribute please keep quiet. What is the cost to the Ghanaian treasury of the current crop of "docile MPs"? Increase their number for them to come and lord over us and loot the state coffers. HA ...

• the truth 9 years ago

Even the U.S. which is like 4 times our size there is an argument to reduce the number. Look at this small country and we are talking about increasing the number so that waht they can get more money to chop and freebies while ...

• Mawuli 9 years ago

The USA with a population of over 300 milion has 435 members in the House of Representatives and 100 Senators. You want Ghana with a population of 25 million to have 400 members of Parliament? Where would you get the money to ...

• Obrefo 9 years ago

We need less but not more. All we need is about 150 MPs well resource to job the job.

• NANA 9 years ago

These experts are destroying the Ghana.

Maybe a thousand will be better!

• MA HAMMERED 9 years ago

YENTUA.

• Prince 9 years ago

What an interesting suggestion. I must admit I am no expect in Politics but I dare say the number of MPs in Ghana should be pegged at 200 if not lower. Also, the MP common fund should be scrapped and used for development with ...

• Ben 9 years ago

We have not even been able to solve our economic crises as a country and you tell us to add more MPs to the existing ones. what will be their importance to the economy apart from over burdening our tax

• Tantra Bea 9 years ago

Some of our policy think thanks are enjoying moon ride

• amonana 9 years ago

Do we actually need rubber stampers only work together when the outcome favors them? I think we need only 10 parliamentarians. 10 wise MPs is far better than even 275 fools we have now. God saves Ghana oooooo. Think Tanks are ...

• ANTI 9 years ago

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA WITH 50 STATES AND OVER 300 MILLION POPULATION HAS 400 CONGRESSMEN AND SENATORS IN BOTH CHAMBERS.

• CUT IT. 9 years ago

No way. Reduce the number of MP's to 120. Demarcate the country into 4 political squares/regions and create 40 constituents in each of the 4 squares making a total of 120 MP's only. We don't need that many MP's. It's a total ...

• Alex 9 years ago

IEA has outlived its usefulness and must be shunned. It is now NDC body. Nonsense.

• Papa Yaw. 9 years ago

Why

• nii 9 years ago

How many congress men are in the US Congress? Whjat's the size and population of the US compared to Ghana?
    What's the GDP comparison?

• BIG JAY 9 years ago

IEA, this is madness. You just sit down in your offices and make suggestions without counting the cost. 400 parliamentarians for what? The 275 in parliament are not making any impact in the socio-economic transformation of th ...

• fidelity 9 years ago

Those that are already in the parliament what are they doing for the nation.Please there are already enough clever thieves in the parliament so put a stop to new once.

• Atikopo#1 9 years ago

Ghana is simply full of educated idiots!!

• Victor Baidoo, South Africa 9 years ago

Are this IEA people serious at all? Are they only concerned about governance? What about the economic implications of having many people paid by the tax payer. At a time when it is clear that the number of parliamentary seats ...

• Kwame(USA) 9 years ago

No need to comment.....just give up on this democracy

• Whatever 9 years ago

What an insane proposition

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

As it stands now with NDC holding the majority in parliament.It simply means that if NPP wins the presidency and fails the legislative they must broke a deal for power sharing vice-versa.These big men are not all that stupid, ...

• Ataa 9 years ago

A vote of no confidence? I kind of agree..so maybe they want to up the number and increase their chances of keeping the majority. The people who have failed the Ghanaian populace however are those MPs and government propagand ...

• tuffour 9 years ago

i really find it difficult to understand some pple. looking at the current economy we are facing we dont need that.what we need is a good policy to help us curtail the inflation rate of this country

• Emperor 9 years ago

Do u people think before u talk. A population of 25 million. Ghana is not china or india

• Kofi - USA 9 years ago

THIS IS STUPIDITY AT ITS BEST. EVEN THE US WITH A POPULATION OF OVER 300 MILLION DOES NOT HAVE UP TO 550 CONGRESS MEN. YOU WANT A COUNTRY WITH 24 MILLION TO HAVE 400 MPS. I AM NOT SURE THEY KNOW WHAT THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT.

• I say 9 years ago

Now why would Ghana want to do this knowing full well it cannot afford to pay? whose stupid idea is this

• Kojo Ghana 9 years ago

how are you going to pay for them?
    400 mps would cost the tax payers huge amount of money you stupid IEA.

• Kwawu Agbemenu 9 years ago

Indeed, because their salaries & heavy perks are paid regularly while nurses, teachers, etc., have to go three or more months without pay!

• YawZa 9 years ago

Ghana should actually reduce the size of MPS to about twenty five.
    Why do you want to increase the number to 400?

• Evans Tsalepor 9 years ago

This suggestion/comment from a so called think-tank as IEA shows how shallow our supposed intellectuals think. Ghana's poppulation is less than 25 million people, India with a poppulation of over 1.3 billion has less than 600 ...

• sarfO 9 years ago

Please check your facts 40 seats were added, not 75.

• Onipaba 9 years ago

This is the most stupid suggestion I have heard in recent times. I don't think we need more than 100 MP's if we will elect DCE's and empower the district assemblies to work. More MP's for what? Come on, don't spoil my evening ...

• KKO 9 years ago

Clearly, there are a lot of idiots within the ruling clique of Ghana. If we do not have enough seats in Parliament for 275 MPs, if we do not have enough office space for 275 MPs and their assistants, how on earth do we cater ...

• Ataa 9 years ago

What are they saying? Increase the number to 400? with all the perks and "gifts" and ex-gratia? Eiii! Asem ohhh!

• truth 9 years ago

Another brains going WRONG.

• Ebo Africaba 9 years ago

Why not increase the number to Ghana's population so that all of us will have our share of the cake? Morons.

• Kweku 9 years ago

This is utter stupidity. This think tank doesn't think

• TAMBRO 9 years ago

IN FACT GHANA IS FULL OF STUPID INTELLECTUALS,THATS WHY WE CAN NEVER MOVE FORWARD.WHY SHOULD SOME ONE EXPECTED TO BE A REASONABLE BEING SAY SOMETHING LIKE THIS AT NO OTHER PLACE THAN PARLIAMENT AND NOT EVEN THINKING ABOUT THE ...

• Jazz 9 years ago

I don't think we need more the 100 MPs in a small country like Ghana. They are a drain on the economy. Somebody tell what they have done the country apart from enriching themselves.

• crorkz matz 9 years ago

POiBN0 Great, thanks for sharing this blog.Thanks Again. Will read on...