You are here: HomeNews2014 07 16Article 317164

General News of Wednesday, 16 July 2014


Ministerial reshuffle: Spio rejoins gov't

Former Chief Executive of the Commonwealth Telecommunications Organisation (CTO), Ekwow Spio-Garbrah, has been nominated as Minister for Trade and Industry, in the President Mahama's recent ministerial reshuffle.

Mr. Spio-Grabrah will be taking over from Haruna Iddrissu (MP) who has been moved to the Ministry of Employment and Labour Relations.

A statement issued by the Office of the President said the President has also appointed Dr. Benjamin Bewa-Nyog Kunbuor (MP) as his new Minister for Defence, replacing Mark Woyongo (MP) who has been reassigned to the Ministry of the Interior.

Until his reassignment, Dr. Kumbuor was a Minister of State responsible for Government Business in Parliament.

Alhaji Inusah Fuseini (MP) moves from the Ministry of Lands and Natural Resources, and is the new Minister for Roads and Highways.

Under the new realigned government structure, the Ministry of Communications will now be responsible for the Information and Media Relations functions of government as it was prior to the year 2001.

All agencies under the former Ministry of Information & Media Relations will now operate under the Ministry of Communications.

Below is the final list of Ministers and Deputy Ministers of State


Foreign Affairs & Regional Integration: Hanna Serwaa Tetteh (MP)

Attorney General & Ministry of Justice: Marietta Brew Appiah-Oppong

Defence: Benjamin Bewa-Nyog Kunbuor (MP)

Finance: Seth Emmanuel Terkper

Interior: Mark Owen Woyongo (MP)

Food & Agriculture: Fifi Fiavi Franklin Kwetey (MP)

Communications: Dr. Edward Omane Boamah

Education: Professor Naana Opoku- Agyeman

Employment & Labour Relations: Haruna Iddrisu (MP)

Transport: Mrs. Dzifa Attivor

Health: Dr. Kweku Agyeman Mensah

Lands & Natural Resources: Nii Osah Mills

Environment, Science, Technology & Innovation: Akwasi Oppong Fosu (MP)

Local Gov’t & Rural Development: Julius Debrah

Water Resources, Works & Housing: Alhaji Collins Dauda (MP)

Tourism, Culture & Creative Arts: Mrs. Elizabeth Ofosu Agyare

Chieftaincy & Traditional Affairs: Dr. Henry Seidu Daannaa

Energy & Petroleum: Emmanuel Kofi Buah (MP)

Roads & Highway: Alhaji Inusah Fuseini (MP)

Youth & Sports: Mahama Ayariga (MP)

Gender, Children & Social Protection: Mrs. Nana Oye Lithur

Fisheries & Aquaculture: Sherry Hanny Ayittey

Trade & Industry: Ekwow Spio-Garbrah

Minister of State: Alhaji Rashid Pelpuo (MP)

Minister of State: Mrs. Comfort Ghansah (MP)

Minister of State: Dr. Mustapha Ahmed (MP)

Minister of State: Elvis Afriyie- Ankrah

Minister of State: Alhassan Azong (MP)


Ashanti- Samuel Sarpong

Brong Ahafo- Eric Opoku (MP)

Central- Aquinas Quansah (MP)

Eastern- Antwi Boasiako Sekyere

Greater Accra- Nii Laryea Afotey Agbo (MP)

Northern- Alhaji Limuna Mohammed Muniru

Upper East- James Zoogah Tiigah

Upper West- Alhaji Amidu Sulemani (MP)

Volta- Helen Adjoa Ntoso (MP)

Western- Paul Evans Aidoo (MP)


Foreign Affairs & Regional Integration: Amb. Thomas Kwesi Quartey

Attorney General & Ministry of Justice: Dr. Dominic Ayine (MP)

Defence: Alexander Segbefia

Finance: Cassiel Ato Forson (MP) and Mrs. Mona Quartey

Interior: James Agalga (MP)

Agriculture: Dr. Hanna Bissiw (MP) and Dr. Alhassan Ahmed Yakubu (MP)

Communications: Felix Kwakye Ofosu and Ato Sarpong

Education: Sam Okudzeto- Ablakwa (MP) and Alex Kyeremeh (MP)

Employment & Labour Relations: Baba Jamal (MP)

Transport: Mrs. Joyce Bawa Mogtari

Health: Dr. Victor Asare Bampoe

Lands & Natural Resources: Barbara Serwaa Asamoah and Ebenezer Okletey Tei Larbi

Environment, Science, Technology & Innovation: Dr. Bernice Heloo (MP) Dr. Alfred Sugri Tia (MP)

Local Gov’t & Rural Development: Emmanuel Agyekum (MP) and Edwin Nii Vandepuye (MP)

Water Resources, Works & Housing: Samson Ahi (MP) Johnny Osei Kofi

Tourism, Culture & Creative Arts: Dzifa Gomashie

Chieftaincy & Traditional Affairs: Effah Baafi (MP)

Energy: John Abdulai Jinapor and Benjamin Dagadu

Roads & Highway: Isaac Adjei-Mensah (MP)

Youth & Sports: Vincent Oppong Asamoah

Gender, Children & Social Protection: Mrs. Dela Sowah (MP) and John Alexander Ackon

Fisheries & Aquaculture: Mrs. Benita Okity Duah (MP)

Trade: Kweku Ricketts Hagan (MP) and Murtala Mohammed (MP