You are here: HomeNews2014 05 24Article 310378

Angry Mahama summons minister

Read Comments Comments (93)

• moyo 9 years ago

This is sad situation that almost every tom, dick and harry is making decisions which are not in the interest of the country.

• BOY KUMASI 9 years ago

Just under a minute Afari Djan is sacked through the air-waves.

• Kwaku A. Danso 9 years ago

The president should learn to sack some people and make new laws quickly to protect the environment and enforce laws on the books!!
    He is so far appearing like a weak President with no guts!
    He should sack the Minister ...

• Conventional Youth 9 years ago

(Y)

• Thomas 9 years ago

Achimota forest, gone; Legon Botanical, religious invasion, Wassa forest, gone; Dodowa forest under invasion, Aburi gardens under destruction. Obuasi forest, polluted by arsenic, western region forest under pollution. Oh Ghan ...

• hajia 9 years ago

purnish them if guilty.The extreme hot whethers in Ghana is due to deforestation.

• CITIZEN ONE 9 years ago

Some of these trees are more valuable than some of the human lives among us. Especially this minister and DCE. This is murder, punishable by death!!!

I visit Aburi Gardens as often as I can, and I promise you I do get goos ...

• insight to the bone 9 years ago

Ayigbe JJ is the worst thing that has happened to Ghana and we know for a fact that historians who are not under the influence of his brainwash propaganda or children of the future will very rightly confirm so . i am hoping G ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

They dont even know the importance of a forest! Scatering everything including our enviroments

• Akos 9 years ago

How can they destroy such a beautiful treasure and how can they take it upon themselves to chop the trees down without consulting the president, as this place is considered to be our nation's reserve garden? Is greediness and ...

• NYARKO U.S.A. 9 years ago

AKOS, THIS IS SAD SAD SITUATION. SELF INTREST , GET RICH QUICK ,NO RESPECT FOR THE NATION'S INTEREST IS KILLING GHANA.
    IF NECESSARY STRICT MEASURES ARE NOT TAKEN NOW ,OUR BEAUTIFUL GREEN FOREST WILL TURN TO SAHARA DESERT,RIV ...

• Fedup 9 years ago

Akos you nailed. The root cause of all this is GREED & ' I don't care' attitude. Mahama must not only get angry but must coupled it with action by sacking all those involved.

• Tilapia 9 years ago

Come on man! Do you really think that Mahama would be angry about this? There are more serious national issues which he has simply brushed aside without comment.

I am sure that some more enlightened person must have comp ...

• Barimaba 9 years ago

There is no need to consult JDM,he is powerless

• Tilapia 9 years ago

People who blame the President are not 'dumb ignoramus' as you claim. It is rather you, who is the dumb ignoramus. Who should we blame for appointing such complete and utter idiots like this DCE into office?

• GOLD DUST 9 years ago

If we're serious, we can place a 100-year ban on logging throughout the country.

Time also to start recycling the discarded wood in Ghana.

We can also start importing wood from Europe and North America so they too can s ...

• oba nyansani baako Pe in Ghana 9 years ago

I bet you that he instructed the minister to do that but he is pretending as if he did not know anything about it.

• Haaba!! 9 years ago

Whya are all Gyans so destructive? The Gyans in Ghana are destroying Ghana.

• SGT ANANI FIADZAOE 9 years ago

Is Mahama himself competent to stay at post? No.

As he is incompetent so all his Ministers are thieves and brigand, liars, deceit, dishonest, arrogant, loot and share helping other crook Government officials to rob the peo ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 9 years ago

Even though NDC is struggling, Nana cannot be an alternative to JM because of his wee smoking. It will be sad for foreign visitors to come and smell marijuana at the Flgstaff House. Even the lawns will be turned into Nana's b ...

• C.Y. ANDY-K 9 years ago

What is wrong with Mahama and his regime? That DCE shouldn't be still at post by now. As for the Minister, he should be on his way out too. If Mahama continues like this, it'd be a blessing to have the NPP back in power! He i ...

• Mr. Figure-Out 9 years ago

You want the DCE and the minister sacked because they are not Trokosis, right! Did you advocate for the same when the ' diaper wearing' Koku Anyidoho used to fabricate words and put it in Prof Mills' mouth? What about whe ...

• kookyei 9 years ago

Mr . Presideent ,P L E A S E put your foot down and do something to safe your name and image. These people need an instant sack. Be assertive, strict and stern to safe GHANA

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 9 years ago

Why the dithering, Mr President? Both the Minister and DCE should have been sacked instantly. What is the use of calling the minister? It is such feeble actions that have portrayed you as a weak president. The Minister should ...

• Jawatabs 9 years ago

IDIOT

• BOAKYE 9 years ago

Mahama can't do anything. All these leaders are doing what they like.

• ADJEI-BADU 9 years ago

Is he the same mother-fucker of the electoral commission???

• owura kwasi asante, canada 9 years ago

The Government should waste no time on greedy bastard call themselves MPs. he should fire him.

• SAMO JEWELLERY 9 years ago

let samo Jewellery design your dream yellow n white wedding n engagement gold rings for you.....we design to suit yr taste with our modern tools.....
    .call or whatsapp us on 0244717600 to send you latest designs to choose fr ...

• fredsaid 9 years ago

This is how an ignorant, wicked, uneducated selfish, uncaring, unpatriotic, greedy bastard of a black man appointed as a minister who is prepared by all means necessary, (despite the fact that he has been given an alternative ...

• sam addisom 9 years ago

unbelievable anyone who is involve should be fired

• Akomadan Adjei Nkansah Belgium 9 years ago

KWASEA MAHAMA IS INSANE,OFUI AKONFEM MAHAMA SHAMR ON YOU

• Mawriz 9 years ago

The author of this message is a toad and a coward. The president represents the country, I understand you may not agree with him but to label him foolish is labeling the country as such.

• Dandu 9 years ago

But it is aountry of cowards and fools and useless parliamentarians , ministers and president. Look at Thailand. That is not a country of cowards and fools. They rise up to remove a government that delivers a bitter agenda ...

• HANG AFARI-GYAN 9 years ago

GOD HELP US

• Yaro de Mann 9 years ago

U see the result of putting square pegs in round wholes? Here U are.

• Joesant 9 years ago

Sometimes I ask myself the kind of education we have in Ghana. Our fathers didn't have the chance to go to school but they were smart enough to know the importance of forest reserved. When it comes to getting rich some of us ...

• Baako Mienu Mensah 9 years ago

How can you take a chainsaw to Aburi botanical Gardens?
    Sack the motherxxxxer now!

• Papa Koti 9 years ago

The evils of voted P/NDC are horrible that we are heading towards total destruction. I do not hear NDC USA/EUROPE commentihg on destruction of Ghana.Back up and save Ghana in TRUTH.

• KWAME, BELGIUM 9 years ago

I was not there but if this story is correct, then the DCE and whoever gave the orders must be given dismissed from office. Aburi botanical garden is somehow a heritage for Ghana and the people of the place.

• Awurade kasa 9 years ago

Why is the President angry?. Garbage in, garbage out. If you're putting wrong perks in square holes, what do you expect?.
    I feel bad for the NDC leadership qualities.
    God help us.

• Stallone teee 9 years ago

I feel sorry for Ghana

• Al furqan 9 years ago

God save Ghana from the avarice of Mahama and his brothers. This president is a shameless liar and a hypocrite. Why is he not worried about the illegal logging by his brother Alfred in Gonjaland but turns to criticize others. ...

• Papa Yaw 9 years ago

No

• Papa Yaw 9 years ago

True

• OPEN YOUR EYES 9 years ago

I AM GLAD THE PRESIDENT IS TAKEN A GOOD STEP BY SUMMONING THE MINISTER, FIRST OF ALL SACK THE DCE BEFORE U CONTINUE WITH THE CASE TO BRING PRESSURES DOWN.I SUSPECT THE MINISTER WILL LIE ABOUT THIS MATTER AND SAY YES, THAT HE ...

• DISCIPLINE HOLLAND 9 years ago

MR PRESIDENT WHERE DO THEY LEARN ALL THESE SHITSSSS?

• Ibn Abudu @CANADASHEABUTTER@LOOK.CA 9 years ago

Both should be terminated & imprisoned ;
    The beauty & medicinal value to mankind of this centuries old forest have served almost agricultural learning institutions of higher learning both locally & internationally.

Are th ...

• JOJO 9 years ago

this president is the worse president ghana has ever had,he will be good for togo or burkina fasso where he originated from

• Boamah Gyamerah 9 years ago

Both the Minister and the DCE have to be sacked to say the least. The Minister even if the directive did not come from has to go for failing to respond promptly on the DCE`s action. The DCE has to go even if the directive was ...

• Kanawu 9 years ago

SACK EVERYBODY INCLUDING YOU! NOTHING IS WORKING IN GHANA.

• Odasanibi 9 years ago

If the 'Tweaa' DCE was fired then this
    guy should go quicker for destroying exotic vegetation with impunity and also
    for being a 'knucklehead'!

• Kanaku 9 years ago

Mahama, President Mahama, YOU have failed Dr Nkrumah who wanted to breed patriotic & intelligent youth who were going to take Ghana forward. YOU have failed your father , the nation & Dr Nkrumah. You have too many IDIOTS arou ...

• AGBEVE... 9 years ago

Mmmmmm

• Prosper 9 years ago

There seem to be no laws in this country; you encroach on protected area and cause destruction, why should the President be involved here, trying to find out the appropriate response? This is corruption from the office of the ...

• Koney 9 years ago

Anything these non entity animals will touch, they fucking destroys it. Almost all of them are behaving like men without families and proper training by their parents. Charity begins at home

• bet 9 years ago

MR PREZ MAKE THEM REPLANT THE TREES FIRE THEM AFTER

• Gandalf 9 years ago

After spending all our money on the elections, they have now turned to our depleted forests. power for the sake of power......will anything change?

• Nyaaba Anthony Sadat 9 years ago

If u put square perks in round holes, that's what happens.... Ghana needs serious deliverance.

• Agyeman 9 years ago

WE ARE A GENERATION OF VANDALS, DESTROYING OUR GOD-GIVEN ENVIRONMENT FOR A FEW BUCKS TODAY. WE NEED A MORAL REVOLUTION!

• SM 9 years ago

USELESS MAHAMA SACK URSELF TOO.FOOOL

• Navy 9 years ago

Where from these Afari Gyans?One has destroyed Ghana, another is destroying forest.

• adjen kotoku 9 years ago

prez alhaji mahama has'nt got capability of sacking people if not Dr oko vanderpoye should have bn sacked long time. they only thing ibelieve he has is that thing infront of his legs the buldozer which can fire the ladies

• Alhaji Brutus Germany 9 years ago

NATIONAL DESTRUCTION CRIMINALS IN POWER:

• i ad 9 years ago

M

• BRO DAN- TRC 9 years ago

BLESSED PEOPLE OF AFRICA, DIGNIFIED POPLE OF THE NATIONS OF THE WORLD, INNOCENT PEOPLE OF GHANA; MAY -'JOSHUA'- THE PRESIDENT OF GHANA "BE STRONG AND OF GOOD COURAGE" AS ALL -"WILLING MINDED AND PERFECT HEARTED" GHANAINS (WAT ...

• Y3nboda 9 years ago

Are doing a lot of damage to the central govt,and need to restrained!
    The fact of the matter is that many do not understand what their party stands for, and thus are not truly committed to implementing any of the policy-init ...

• Jane 9 years ago

The same thing the Chinese & some natives did to the Mole national park. They went on a chopping spree by destroying many of the trees last year. Don't these people know that deforestation destroys the environment, causing ma ...

• Kofi kwame 9 years ago

MR President ,what are you Waiting ?Just Fire the Two Ministers,

• BabaUS 9 years ago

He can summon all he ants to. What action has he taken?

• Abayifo3 Master 9 years ago

Any culprit in this case should be shown the front door and punish them by condemning the m to plant 1000 timber plants each in their villages and at their own expense and by themselves. Rear-Enders!

• kofi boye 9 years ago

They appoint anybody as minister so I thinkthis DCE do not underst what this forest stand for.....well done DCE. ?....

• Amekukumenyeakor 9 years ago

If the facts in this story is true, the president must fire this stupid DCE immediately. He (the DCE) is a big fool. We don't need the likes of him in governance.

• HEATHER 9 years ago

A Ghanaian friend told me about the destruction of this fascinated garden & I just had to add my input. As a tourist in ghana, one of the most favorite getaways is aburi. The garden is not only breathtaking but also very educ ...

• Obiaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa 9 years ago

NDC past insatiable for innocent blood is still hunting and hurting them. God blessings have eluded them for whatsoever they lay their hands on irrespective of how religious you are turns sour.whoever is living under the umbr ...

• Wofa Koo 9 years ago

Mahama must know now his ministers and NDC are his downfall, they using him as puppet. Mahama need to have balls to fire and jail all those NDC Crookes who always point their fingers on NPP just to cover their criminality.

• Quartey 9 years ago

It was just this april when I made a trip to kwahu in the eastern region for an easter celebration while there I saw the same destruction of their reserved forest. I will wish the powers that be will focus that place too.

• AKUFO ADDO ADDICT 9 years ago

Looks like the name Afari Gyan is synonymous with destruction. I remember how the other Afari Gyan destroy my dreams of becoming president of the stupid people of Ghana and lord it over them with my arrogance and FALA (Foreig ...

• Vida 9 years ago

We all need to petition on social media so they'll stop this destruction of forest and other reserve parks. They've managed to destroy the nation's assets and now they're moving on to demolish our game reserves. We can't just ...

• Dandu 9 years ago

It's too late for petitioning. . It's time to hit the streets in protests until mahama does something. Just look at how the people of Thailand did it to remove the government. When is the military of Ghana going to bring ...

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 9 years ago

These inexperienced officials are those destroying the image of the President. From the looks of their faces in pictures,they resemble students just passed out from universities with no experience. How can a person like this ...

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 9 years ago

Come to and see how Ex-Mayor Blumberg planted more than million trees on the streets of New York and how the city dweller are enjoying the cool breeze of the hot summer. But in Ghana it is the opposite, Oh, my people! Ignoran ...

• Queenie 9 years ago

Oh Ghana, why so much trouble in this country. We elected these people to govern us but they're the one causing so much wahala. Such behavior cannot be tolerated by the president. He must walk the walk & talk the talk by stan ...

• Antiochus - London 9 years ago

Mahama is just blowing hot air. Nothing will come out of this summons.

• AAN 9 years ago

As a result of uncountable cover-ups, all the ministers think they can do what they like. When the presidency decides to take them up, they threaten to open a can of worms. Then the presidency shuts up. They are all in the sa ...

• nhyiraba 9 years ago

it is so shameful that any uneducated person who doesn't know the benefit of forest just get up and do things in their own interest without following the law .What is assembly office? Mr president you need to enforce the laws ...

• King Marcus 9 years ago

Strike them down Mr president

These inept bunch will destroy not only the economy but everything that they can touch in Ghana. God save Ghana!

• King Marcus 9 years ago

Look at this useless,bastard DCE

• Sankofa 9 years ago

Kwadwo Afari-Gyan must be sacked at once for an act of wanton destruction.

He should have known better than to cut down trees in a natural reserve - trees which are much older than himself.

If the directive came from Ho ...

• OKOE 9 years ago

IT IS BEYOND COMPREHENSION THAT IN THIS DAY AND AGE, A HUMAN BEING WILL GO TO SUCH LENGTH TO DESTROY. OUR ONLY PRIDE FOR AN OFFICE COMPLEX. IF THIS IS NOT ABSOLUTE BACKWARDNESS, THEN I DO NOT KNODW WHAT IS. MR. PRESIDENT, I D ...

• Lord Tennison 9 years ago

Give John Mahama the environmentalist award of the second quarter of 2014 whilst our cities are engulfed in unprecedented filth.

• Brentu 9 years ago

If the only land left in the Aburi town where the Assembly complex can be built lies only in the garden then the town is choked so the government should re-located the district capital to another town in the district.