You are here: HomeNews2014 04 30Article 307775

Angry ICU demands answers for falling cedi, NHIS collapse

Read Comments Comments (57)

• koo nimo 9 years ago

I am waiting for the first person to tag this man as NPP

• insight to the bone 9 years ago

gbevlo was a gentleman with skills not suited for such an office. he was an ideal choice under knowledgeable mills but with brainless selfish mahama totally incompatible. the security of the land has so deteriorated in just l ...

• The Mask 9 years ago

Everyone with a problem should be able to come up with at least one solution to the problem. No solution as an answer is not acceptable.

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE 9 years ago

AUTHOR : SULE******
    .............It seems the NDC gov't is running against time to send Ghana into the pits and it is extremely worrying, very, very worrying that, such a magnitude of ineptness, incompetence, recklessness a ...

• FIFI WILLIAMS 9 years ago

Ask corrupt NDC gurus. NDC is damned corrupt.

• Krikri 9 years ago

All the people who call themselves 'businessmenwomen' know only one thing: MI KWO FA NIAMA. If we all 'kwo fa niama' without producing how would the cedi remain strong?

• Kman 9 years ago

Ater these idiots sign EPA, even "Mi ko fa niama" will cease to exist as the goods will now be flooded by the manufacturers themselves directly into the country without any middle man or woman. Let us pray our leaders dot sel ...

• FREEDOM FIGHTER 9 years ago

You can't plant corn and expect rice....NDC is reaping what they have sown.
    There is too much incompetence:inaptitude that breeds greediness and corruption.c

• FREEDOM FIGHTER 9 years ago

The NDC gov't is in to destroy whatever good that the country has achieved ever since it decided to go the way of democracy.
    Mahama and his cohorts are better off doing nothing because whatever move they take,be it social, ...

• osei 9 years ago

but is it true that NHIS is not working aba mr kotei

• Aku sika 9 years ago

Parliament should ask Mahama to resign.2016 is too far away.

• agyeiwaa 9 years ago

NHIS IS WORKING. STOP THE NOISE.go to hosp and see, we have enjoyed free things for so long.LEAVE JM ALONE, he is working, do your bit too instead of shouting from the rooftops. sit on you buck and do constructive work for wh ...

• me 9 years ago

O my god, what is he working on? His family's future prosperity?

• Kwame atobodzemafi 9 years ago

How much do you get pay to make ignorant statements. Hmm you must be paid well.

• WISDOM 9 years ago

Mahama needs to resign. Ghanaians can't wait until 2016.

• Yaw 9 years ago

Why

• Dave 9 years ago

Please note in your opening paragraph that ICU is not a member of the Trades Union Congress.

• Sammy Marfo 9 years ago

Do we have the right and qualified and experienced personnel to run Ghana TUC? It is disturbing when one hears TUC leaders in Ghana making statement like- 'we demand increase in minimum wage or else', we demand answers for th ...

• PHOBIA-PHOBIA--Leeds 9 years ago

Thank u,Sammy.Your message stands out as extraordinary piece of writing.Ghanaians must be objective in our approach in finding a solution to our economic woes. One cannot talk about the NHS without the true balance sheet of ...

• Chelsea Rolland 9 years ago

Mahama short of idaers

• agyeiwaa 9 years ago

The presidential task force is going after corporate tax defaulters, wont you commend the prez for that? He, JM will then get the money to pay us all, BAD HABITS, that is what we have all been condoning over the years

This is fools's talk "He was worried that the educational system has failed to produce graduates needed by the job market, expressing the fear that with the upsurge in private universities, the number of unemployed graduates ...

• agyeiwaa 9 years ago

Private universities shd create jobs for the graduates they take huge sch fees from. they make profits and expect govt to produce the jobs, WHY?

to say private universities should create jobs for their graduates is ignorance at the highest peak. this is where l question the the statement that was made.

• BRAINS 9 years ago

Agyeiwaa, if gov't can't create jobs, it shouldn't mismanage and misappropriate the national resources!

Exactly what l tried to let her know. thank you Mr brains

• Kobooh 9 years ago

What is the 'fools talk' in his scholarly analysis. This is one thing that is wrong with Ghanaians - we prefer to bury on heads in the sand rather than hearing the truth so we may do something to resolve them. Bravo Mr. Kot ...

to say private universities should create jobs for their graduates is ignorance at the highest peak. this is where l question the the statement that was made.All we specialize in that everything from the government is biblica ...

• TrulyTrulyIsayIt. 9 years ago

Just let us wait patiently for Nana's reign. Utopia, utopia and utopia. Not one Ghanaian will have a complain..no economic problems, no more death with Nana in power. Ghanaians should look to the NPP. Wiser Ghanaians should l ...

• C.C. 9 years ago

The economy of Ghana is not worse than before. The opposition should stop painting Ghana black. In a failed economy workers can not consistently withdraw their salaries on the 25th of every month.

• gyan 9 years ago

These opponents are just wasting the net space. By mistake if they come to power theirs will be worse.

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

You don't vote a murder gang of revolutionary Marxists into power and expect economic development. This is not Astro Physics; you only need to look around the globe and figure that out. All they do is to share - albeit dispro ...

• SYLVESTER MENSAH - CASH MAN 9 years ago

The only solution to the fall of NHIS is to sack Sly for his lavishness in spending home and abroad.
    He is building like crazy and spending as if the whole Ghana is in his pocket. His book lunch alone tells you how he dips h ...

• Private Mensah 9 years ago

that will provide:
    - a stable business environment.
    -Promote investor confidence.
    - stem money flight out of the country
    -Encourage inflows of finance
    - lessons pressure and cost of balancing the cedi by BoG
    -Spooks IMF ...

• HUMAN RIGHTS FOR ALL 9 years ago

I GUESS U VOTED 'BETTER GHANA'
    I GUESS U VOTED 'E DEY BEE K3K3'
    YOU HAVE IT NOW.. KEEP QUIET & EAT THE SHIT!!!

• HAZOR 9 years ago

The sad thing is that Ghanaians are still ignorant about EPA agenda.EPA was design to annihilate KOSA and it is sad that our own government who is not capable of creating jobs want to see the demise of Apostle Safo agenda by ...

• Post office 9 years ago

Workers lets hoot at Mahama on May day. He has all but failed and we need to show him the RED light at the May day celebrations.

• Ato Kweai 9 years ago

The Chinese are flooding our markets with sub-standard and fake goods. So, what is the difference?

• Lord Tennison 9 years ago

John Mahama is not good for Ghana.Therefore,call for his resignation.
    The center cannot hold.Hence things falling apart.

• KWAME, BELGIUM 9 years ago

The ICU as a trade union knows the plight of the working class people of Ghana. In my opinion, when the Cedi falls, I don't think it's the fault of the government of the day. Sometimes the US dollar, sterling, the yen and the ...

• Paa Joe (UK) 9 years ago

You've made a very good case for government intervention Kwame. Do you think the average Ghanaian trader can legally export anything to Belgium without a certificate from the Belgian government and vise-versa.
    Government is ...

• KWAME, BELGIUM 9 years ago

Thanks for your point.

• gabriel 9 years ago

You know the formula; someone complains of things not going well. Then the newsmen put on ghanaweb. Then we use the opportunity to insult each other and our tribes. Then the cycle continues and nothing changes. welcome to Gh ...

• Nana Opeimu Ababio I 9 years ago

Ever since Mahama became president I have observed the TUC siding against the government and making unneccessary demands on behalf of Ghananian workers. The TUC I know since time immemorial works with the employers to benefit ...

• Antiochus - London 9 years ago

Better Ghana Agenda.

• KK 9 years ago

OOOO GOOD TALK I AM VERY MUCH Concerned ABOUT THE LAST PARAGRAPH NHIS NOW IT DOESN'T WORK EVERY DEPARTMENT YOU ENTER AT THE HOSPITAL YOU WILL PAY; IT IS VERY SAD. BUT THEY WILL ASK YOU TO PROVIDE YOUR NHIS CARD WHILES THEY ...

• Nii 9 years ago

NHIS failing is the results poor accountability - officials collecting monies and not paying it into Govt. account and not Mahama's doing. Too much dishonesty in the system. The falling cedi is due to combination of factors, ...

• Son Of Man 9 years ago

SQUARE PEGS LOCKED UP IN ROUND HOLES.
    THE FINANCE MINISTER AND HIS BOSS MAHAMA.
    MAHAMA IS NOT A NORTHERN. PURE NORTHERNS WHO GREW UP IN THE NORTH WILL NOT DISGRACE THEMSELVES THE WAY HE IS SHAMELESSLY DOING IT. TWEAA GOVER ...

• MAHAMA LOOT ND SHARE 9 years ago

OH EVILS,CRIMINALS,CORRUPT JUJU PARTY NDC,MAHAMA,ANITA,ASIEDU NKATIA,IBRAHIM,NKWASEAFUO THIEVES,GANGATUAN CORRUPT,TUO ZAAFI FUO,TWEAAAAAAAAAA APUUUTO

• WHAAAAANA 9 years ago

Mr Kotei the chair you are siting on in your office, is it an imported one bought with dollar or not? if it is, then you have answer your self as to why the ceid is falling. Hypocrate

• mr amint 9 years ago

Is long overdue for us to demand from BoG why the depreciation.our cedi account is losing value it means our sweat is in vain. fix import duties in cedis permenently no indexing in dollers. this will save the cedi, are we not ...

• Sikamanba 9 years ago

Yes now with so many universities springing up many are will be graduating to add to the unemployment situation and if these educated ones can't find jobs, the country will be in grave danger.
    Illiterate criminals are no pro ...

• Malam 9 years ago

@krikri. So now you're blaming the "me ko fa niama" business people. Have you ever heard of private and public sector? When the cedi was strong what do you think these business folks were doing?

• Whatever 9 years ago

If industry imports most of their raw materials from abroad then why is ICU complaining about fall in value of cedi? The activity of importing itself devalues your currency. Lets produce what we need. we keep talking about it ...

• BRANDY 9 years ago

OUR MONIES WENT INTO BUYING CARS FOR LEGON GIRLS TO CAMPAIGN TO NDC....OUR MONIES WENT TO FAKE JUDGEMENT DEBTS, GYEEDA SADA SUBAH, WOYOME, CP, BARTON ODRO BETTY MOULD ETC ETC....THIEVE MASQUERADING AS POLITICIANS..

• Whatever 9 years ago

financial leakages doesn't cause fall in value of currency. In any case those you've mentioned have to be taking on a case by case basis because all of them are completely different issues with varying degree of merits and va ...

• Igp 9 years ago

Until the sitting president believes in the value and the people of Ghana that we are capable of managing our own affairs and disabuse his belief in all things foreign are good for Ghana, the Mahama regime will not able to po ...