General News of Sunday, 13 April 2014


Prepare for gov't in 2016 – Afoko charges NPP supporters

Newly elected National Chairman of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), Paul Afoko, has pledged to return the party to government in 2016.

In his acceptance speech on behalf of the new executives, Mr. Afoko, who appeared weary on stage, expressed gratitude to supporters of the party “for the confidence you have reposed in me.”

Mr. Afoko polled 2,034 to beat Stephen Ntim, Fred Oware and Jake Otanka Obetsebi-Lamptey to the chairmanship position.

He asked the party’s supporters to put the new officers on their toes by making good choices in every decision they intend to make.

“We have heard you,” he assured the supporters. “We have accepted the order and now it is your turn.”

Among the new faces to serve on the executive board with Mr. Afoko are Kwabena Agyepong (General Secretary), Freddie Blay (First Vice Chairman), Sammy Crabbe (Second Vice Chairman), FF Antoh (Third Vice Chairman) and Sammy Awuku (National Youth Organiser).

Others are Kamal-deen Abdulai (National Nasara Coordinator), John Boadu (National Organiser) and Emmanuel Abankwah Yeboah (National Treasurer).

They will lead the party until 2018.