You are here: HomeNews2013 10 31Article 290507

Ghana is third most corrupt country - Latest Gallup poll report

Read Comments Comments (212)

• Jeff, UK 10 years ago

Blame the civiland public servants servants bcos they know what is going on

• CONTEMPTIBLE CONTEMNOR! 10 years ago

I'M NIT SURPRISE ANYWAY. CORRUPTION IS LIKE A CULTURE IN GHANA. NOT EVEN THE SO-CALLED PASTORS AND ASSHANTES HIGH CHIEF ARE EXEMPTED. IT IS IN THE BLOOD.

• ATSU, HO 10 years ago

IN GHANA IT SEEM AS IF WE ALL AGREE. AFTER ALL THE POLITICIANS WILL NEVER MAKE CORRUPTION AN ELECTION ISSUE. EVEN IF TH GOVT IS CORRUPT IT WILL NOT AFFECT ITS ELECTORAL FORTUNES BECUASE WE CARE MORE ABOUT TRIBAL ORIENTATION T ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

The quote below is from the article which confirms we are destroying our own country with our deeds and our mouths.

'Ghana scored 89 per cent alongside Portugal, South Africa, Italy, Costa Rica and South Korea, all of ...

• HASSAN RASTA GERMANY 10 years ago

BUT IT WILL END PON THEIR OWN HEADS. NO ONE WILL EVER VOTE FOR THEM BECAUSE THEY ARE ALSO NOT GENUINE ALL ARE CORRUPT. BETTER THE DEVIL YOU KNOW.

• HASSAN RASTA GERMANY 10 years ago

IN TERMS OFCORRUPTION THERE IS NO GHANAIAN WHOSE PARTY WILL COME WITHOUT STEALING THE POOR NATION´S WEALTH. ALL PARTIES IN GHANA ARE CORRUPT. WHEN WE GAVE NPP JUST 2 TERMS THEY NEARLY SOLD US BACK TO THE WEST. THEY HAVE STAR ...

• Kwame 10 years ago

MAHAMA HAS CAUSED ALL THIS MESS. HE WILL PAY FOR HIS GREED.

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

Author:...OBAA YAA...

OOO FATHER FORGIVE HIM FOR HE KNOWS NOT WHAT HE IS DOING.
    A hallmark of any incompetency is an excuse, which by the way is a trademark for Mahama’s Administration an extension Mill’s inability to ...

• kwasi 10 years ago

WE PASS NIGERIA IN FRAUD AND CORRUPTION

• Williams USA 10 years ago

Yes, Ghana pass Nigerian in corruption and public fraud.

• NEMESIS, UK 10 years ago

Corruption in Ghana is common; even pastors are corrupt
    General News of Wednesday, 9 October 2013
    Source: peacefmonline

Corruption in Ghana has been common since independence. Over the years, Ghana’s score and rankin ...

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

show or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3,FIFA SPORTS, FIFA WORLD CUP,
    TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND OVER 7500 TV - RADIO
    CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

i have refrained from commenting on anything for a while but this is a provocation , let them get it into their heads its now time for only Akans to rule , and we dont want any mix north south shit both president and the vice ...

• Naa Korley 10 years ago

sorry for this rating for a God fearing country like our GHANA, this is not the best and i believe it affects every Ghanaian. we need to work together as one people to give our country a better outlook to the world. let us st ...

• TETTEH 10 years ago

...AND EVFERY SUNDAY WE FAST AND PRAY AND PAY TITHE. AND MONDAY THE CORRUPTION CONTINUES.

• NII 10 years ago

the pastors are corrupt. the congregation is corrupt. we are all corrupt. big church-going nation but not a christian nation.

• nene 10 years ago

All the money in the collection plate is sakawa money. The tithe money is dirty money.

• kukuwa 10 years ago

all thieves and greedy pastors. hypocrite church goers.

• HEXAGON!! usa 10 years ago

NPP and Joy can't even do good feigning. You left out Dubious No. 1 Nigeria!!

• Tamrock DP 1500i 10 years ago

We don't need anybody to tell us what we already know. We need massive revolution to sweep out corruption. We need who will supply the artilleries so that the youth can arise against the sleeping military and police who are a ...

• Imoro, Mr. Sayibu Awolu 10 years ago

The government of Ghana should put in certain measures to deal with the situation as it can tarnish the image of the country even though corruption can not be completely eradicated but it can be minimised. by: Imoro, Mr. Sayi ...

• SAMUEL 10 years ago

GOD BLESS U MY DEAR

• TETTEH 10 years ago

TOO MANY CHURCHES, TOO MANY GREEDY PASTORS, TOO MANY CORRUPT CHRISTIANS.

• NANA 10 years ago

-all the tithe and offering money is corrupt money. The most christian nation, the most corrupt country.

• JC 10 years ago

Tweaa! Gallup did not do their work well. GHANA should be the first corrupt country IN THE WORLD. Our President and Supreme COURT JUDGES ARE ALL CORRUPT AND THIEVES!

• BE BOLD 10 years ago

At least when the NPP came, they built the country. What they did during the 8 year period cannot be duplicated in the over 20 year that NDC has been running the country. They are the source of the corruption going on. If you ...

• Gospel 10 years ago

We have always been a part of this international survey, this is the one time we have come close to the top and these are the best comments the NDC suppoters bring to the debate? We all know u lot are ignorant but to be this ...

• Kwadzo 10 years ago

Whiles I agree with U remember that the Devil was once an angel. So perharps that angel we always prefer its beter we don't know is dagerous because the devil was also an angel before.

• facts 10 years ago

Nalie! FALSE! Ghana is second to non. In a country where the president himself is involved. Small boys are given positions because they can talk. Ministers and their deputies are all millionaires. Woyome is asked to pay back ...

• KOLA,LONDON MAIN 10 years ago

Corruption under JJ Rawlings was near zerro before Kronfuor Kuffuor took over and since then, it has reached it's crescendo with a new definition given to corruption by the Most Thief, Ku4.

He defined corruption as 'steali ...

• Osei Kwaku 10 years ago

Your grammar is really bad. Kuffour is not the President anymore.

Anyway, Rawlings himself stole more than all previous Presidents combined

• Observer 10 years ago

Well, at least he has toilets to clean. His compatriots don't shit in plastic bags and toss them in the gutter next to the food vendors.

• Blankson 10 years ago

His mother and father are doing exactly what you described in Keta lagoon and that is why the lagoon has ceased to exist.

• KOLA,LONDON MAIN 10 years ago

Well said observer. People like you keep me on this site.It was that good reply to the shoeshine boy.

• AK47 IS MY FUCKING ADDRESS 10 years ago

DO YOUR HOME WORK GOOD BEFORE POINTING FINGERS . EX PREZ JJ FIRST TERM 1979 WAS FINE BUT HIS SECOND TERM WAS NOTHING BUT CORRUPTION WITH TSIKATA . EX PRESIDENT LIMANN SO FAR WAS THE BEST AND CARE ABOUT THE GHANAIANS THE REST ...

• BUGA BUGA ATUGUBA 10 years ago

This report is a recipe for coup d'etat. I cannot wait to hera the radio broadcast that begins with: "Fellow Ghanians...." Remember, yesterday it was Jeremiah; very soon it will be Moses.

• Jingo Bell 10 years ago

NDC has destroyed Ghana.Just imagine, Woyome who is not government employed, has no contract with the government, but received $59.9 Million signed by Attorney General and some government officials, you don't have wait until ...

• BOY KUMASI 10 years ago

You see how stupid you are for blaming only Mahama's govt ? Pls don't direct this corruption issue on this present administration only bcos all past govts we know in Ghana can't go unscathed just to say that they all did it.

Yes, it is true that that the past administrations, particularly Rawlings government was the most corrupt in Ghana's history. So, should John Mahama continue this evil corruption that is destroying Ghana? Is that your argumen ...

• BOY KUMASI 10 years ago

That Jingo Bell Guy's silly comment deserves my response.

That is what you, who siphon Ghana's blood do.You insult to cover your numerous sins.Either you have a relative or you are part of the looting brigade who are looting Ghana as NDC Youth in Kumasi rightly put it. Insults do no ...

• BUGA BUGA ATUGUBA 10 years ago

Quick question: How free are the free press in these countries? At least I know that in Ghana most of our pressmen have sold their conscience and professionalism to the devil

• CONCERN CITIZEN 10 years ago

were you expecting us to keep our mouth close. no, we will say and write what we see and hear.
    I thought you will appreciate the work of our journalist only for you to say the opposite.
    People like you are the ones who prom ...

• Daniel 10 years ago

i am soo much suprise that we all know that the corruption rate in the Ghana is very very high and wepoliticize it. for how long are we going to destroy the oly country that we have? why can't us rise and fight this evil once ...

• OBSERVER 10 years ago

THIS IS A VERY GOOD COMMENT. ATSU, YOU'VE SAID IT ALL! THE TRIBAL ORIENTATION IS WHAT IS KILLING GHANA AND IT IS VERY SAD.

• kob 10 years ago

John "Mahamo" for you

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

This is due to population explotion
    no jobs,salaries wise small cannot
    surfice the needs of the people.

• Kwaku 10 years ago

Why blame civil and public servants,its leadership failure.Soon there will be chaos on the street of Acrra,Kumasi and everywhere.

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Did you vote yourself?

• Homeboy 10 years ago

Ziomlion owner and Agambire are not civil servants.

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 10 years ago

This is not surprising with the Executive, Legislature and Judiciary all corrupt. Jeff, it's not only the civil service but across board. What is disturbing is the fact that nothing happens to even those who are caught in the ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Why do we do this to our own country. There is an article in the business section which says, Ghana's economy is the 14th fastest in the world and guess what? only 14 comments.

We love negative news. Tell me Kofi, if the ...

Braveboy, with all our resources Ghana is expected to be doing well. That should be the norm. If you do what you're supposed to be doing, that should be no news. If you don't, yes, that is big news. We do not love negative ne ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

But it is like a teacher always telling your average son how useless and poor he is. It is demoralizing and would not serve any good purpose. The other kids will despise and mock him.

The current world system is build mor ...

• Kwadzo 10 years ago

Am proud of you Braveboy.

• KOW AMISSAH 10 years ago

Fellow Ghanaians, please let us stop the insults and see what we can all do to minimise corruption in our country. Our casual attitude to issues is our one of our main problems in the country. Too much talk with less thinkin ...

• wiseman 10 years ago

my bro..you know Ghana problem is npp and ndc. These two party supporters sit on their pc write nothing but insult. l think those in abroad in these two diabolic party supporters most of them travel on deserts so the heat ha ...

• Gospel 10 years ago

Another ignorant part taker.. your family may have travelled through deserts to corruptly get to the west but most of us had prominent backgrounds linking to other countries.

• Gospel 10 years ago

I agree on the casual approach.. we must have a radical robust approach and that can only be achieved through democracy.. meaning the people should air their anger via freedom of speech and civil demonstration without any for ...

Do the math, for the good thing we are #14; the bad one we are #3. Looks like we are doing great, right?

• Kojo T 10 years ago

We have a section that only THRIVES on negativity. It is difficult to move forward when people are so negative Ghana is DEFINITELY the 3 rd worst. Where do we place Kenya and Nigeria in Africa?

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago

Check the list below.

• Private Eye 10 years ago

Fastest Growing economy with increasing
    Unemployment - Are those two facts consistent? Do you what economic indices are used to to measure this? - Galamsey would be one of them.

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

My friend, Rome was not built in a day. We either help to build a nation we would be proud of or just encourage our leaders to sell us back to the Europeans. They will be willing to buy us back you know. Who buys what is not ...

• Private Eye 10 years ago

I agree with you absolutely; but bear in mind we you cannot build that "utopia" we all dream about, unless we are FIRST truthful to ourselves. A thought for you.

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

There's a big difference between being truthful to ourselves and allowing ourselves to be mocked by foreigners.

Just a few weeks ago, A Ghanaian General made the unpardonable mistake of speaking the truth. Most Ghanaians ...

Bad news sells, BRAVEBOY. That's all. The Gallup new media just went around asking people in a free press country by which Ghana is now registered as a member due to our associated free press credential, to give their account ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Yes,bad news sells, but it is how quick Ghanaians accept a perception that would affect their personal daily lives that boggles my mind.

It does not matter how good you are, you will always have people who will try to pain ...

BRAVEBOY, they know me in here that I don't beat about the bush. My policy is, get the facts on the table and let's debate about it. So, no amount of yahoo babies will turn my colour yellow. Youngman, we have country to build ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

You are so right, but the last time some one made that comment, he was crucified. We don't like it when a Ghanaian tells the truth, but we love it when a foreigner spits into our palm.

I visit western sites a lot and you ...

Why do you think it is so? And again, who do you think brought this particular survey news list before the masses at this particular time of financial hardship in the country? Remember what General Nunoo Mensah said a couple ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Too late indeed.

• Avoudra 10 years ago

Corruption has become functional in our society. In many God houses these days corruption is part of the norm.

• JOHN DADZIE 10 years ago

I'm surprised Ghana was not declared the first.

• FMM 10 years ago

OUR PERCEPTIONS MAY NOT NECESSARILY BE THE REALITY. WE NEED REAL-FACT RESEARCHES NOT PERCEPTIONS. BOGUS REPORT.

• Sethoo 10 years ago

Death is staring right in your face and you are denying it,soon you and your family members will be sold by your own party members.

• Ka na wu 10 years ago

Perception is everything...

• mmrosa 10 years ago

ARE YOU THE ONLY STRANGER IN JERUSALEM? SO ALL THAT IS GOING ON IN GHANA NOW YOU DON'T SEE NOR HEAR?

• pasor rasta 10 years ago

GOD is there it shall be well

• Kwame Kumi 10 years ago

There can be no doubt that if the same source had stated that Ghana is ranked the third least corrupt among the 129 nations you would have welcomed it as true, wouldn't you? If indeed you're a Ghanaian or have been living in ...

• US GROUP BROKE?? OR FRAUD,PAY UP 10 years ago

Ghana need a house cleaning execise just klike what JJ did ,and all chop chop will need to account for the money in about 3 mths

• Gye Nyame 10 years ago

Except we know that the JJ type revolution does not work, the corruption comes back with a vengeance and the same so called revolutionaries join the rot. I guess you can't beat them you join them.

• PALMWINE SELLER 10 years ago

true true.

• Sethoo 10 years ago

It means His Excellency John Mahama is the leader of the third most corrupt country on the planet.

• Jack 10 years ago

Time to show backbone. Crack the whip or lead your party into political oblivion.

• Jack 10 years ago

You will get the fiercest opposition for 2016 nomination.

• Felix Gannon 10 years ago

No wonder Ghana is placed third......it starts from the government down to the ladder...

• Mr Kwaku Yaw 10 years ago

Hmmmm Ghana! Where is my expectation?

• KRETZ - D 10 years ago

I know Mahama and his NDC crooks will soon downplay this report. They will soon tell Ghanaians the report is not true and NPP is behind it. NDC will blame the NPP for this report - you watch!

• Pumpuni 10 years ago

The NDC will come out to deny it.

• Joe Pasasa 10 years ago

It's only Ghana who would vote someone as president whose corruption credentials are second to none.
    As Vice President,Mahama inflated the 8 planes to be acquired by the armed forces that could have cost the State US $ 27850 ...

• king 10 years ago

im sitting here enjoying my coffin,always article abt corruption are those politicians belly not full yet?

• ALLOSMAN 10 years ago

makes you proud to be a GHANAIAN.INNIT?

• Elijah 10 years ago

It is obvious the poll is not scientific and cannot be relied upon. Whereas corruption is an undeniable fact in Ghana there are more corrupt nations even within our region that have not been mentioned. Could there be a situat ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Is it the same Czech Republic with Prague as the capital? We even beat Nigeria to the game.

Ghanaians should be very careful how we encourage the defacing of our dear country.

Criticizing and spilling or washing our d ...

• David Aikins 10 years ago

RUBBISH!!

• HABLUTA SENYO 10 years ago

BLAME THE ASHANTE PEOPLE.THEY ARE THE MAJOR CAUSE.TAKE THE MESSAGE DIRECT TO KUMASI RADIO STATION.STOP THAT OLD SHIT AND LET US START BUILDING GHANA

• Kondendiara Kakraba 10 years ago

Stupid mother-fucker stinking brute! When people are talking sense, you breed tribalism into it. Have you and your pathetic family sat down to realize tribalism is the bane of our present predicament? Instead of knocking sens ...

• Say the TRUTH 10 years ago

These TRIBALISTIC Mentalities needs such A REBUKE - WELL DONE Kakraba!

• akosua akyaa 10 years ago

Mmobo! Is that your solution ?

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

Thief kufour brought corruption into the countary, we should hold him accountable. He allowed his tribe men and women to take loans from the Banks , and after he advised them not to pay the Banks back the loans.

• Osmanu Baba 10 years ago

Nincompoop! Assuming without admitting that what you are saying is true, get this through your greasy big head, that, Bank loans are not government monies ok. Bank money are for individuals who for security reason deposit the ...

• Andy 10 years ago

Gyeeda report is responsible. Can someone be hanged? Please hang someone. Please.

• Kofi kwame 10 years ago

These are the results when Ghana copied Nigeria.

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Even Nigerians have started singing good songs about their country. It is a perception thing. U encourage it and it will continue to dissipate your entire nation and you will find it even harder to solve the problem.

• ADU-BOGYA 10 years ago

WHY NOT IFA GOVERNMENT CAN SELL A WHOLE SHIP AND SHARE THE LOOT

• Kwame Angel 10 years ago

This is 2012 data. 2013 data would put Ghana a distant 1st among ALL countries in the world. Go to the airport, seaport, highways, civil and public service, parliament ... and now the courts. But when a president is such a co ...

• cha 10 years ago

NDC must go- We had enough - enough

• Darko E.K 10 years ago

INFACT THIS REPORT DOES NOT NEED ANYBODY TO CONFIRM.IT IS REAL AND IT STARTED FROM THE DOORSTEPS OF PREZ. MAHAMA.BRIBE IS PAID EVERYWHERE TO LIKE NOBODY'S BUSINESS.THE GENESIS OF IT ALL IN THE CURRENT STATE IS THE PAYING OF D ...

• JB Ansong 10 years ago

An NPP Memmer of Parliament duped my own sister of US$3000 under the pretext of smuggling her to Italy as a member of government delegate.

He did not succedd in doing that and till date, we have not received a single dime ...

• Nana Ben 10 years ago

President Mahama is No 1 unless he come sout to defend the investigations instituted by the late President Atta-Mill for the acqusition of the 5 aircrafts, The STX deal and others. More is on the way

• Joe Pasasa 10 years ago

It's only Ghana who would vote someone as president whose corruption credentials are second to none.
    As Vice President,Mahama inflated the 8 planes to be acquired by the armed forces that could have cost the State US $ 2785 ...

• Amenkakure 10 years ago

It took a year and half for the results of this poll to be released. Something sinister is afoot here.

• Bilal from Finland 10 years ago

Who are those having the free press in the first place is't not the same media net work came with Otumfo saga and they where not any where to found?Are they telling us Ghana is ahard of Greece?,we all know there's currption i ...

• Koforidua Flowers (fr) 10 years ago

GHANA IS EVEN CONSIDERED BY HIS GRACE.

• Great 10 years ago

oseyie ghanaoo oseyie y3nay3kronooooo.
    I told you Ghana, DO NOT TRUST ANYBODY.

• Dallas 10 years ago

I urge the current government to legalize corruption in Ghana and start taxing it. These taxes could them be used to alleviate the burden of sky-pocketing utility tariffs and basic commodities on the average Ghanaian.

• OSIMANDIAS KONFANKO METHUSALLAH 10 years ago

THIS POLL MIGHT NOT BE TRUE BUT I STII TAKE IT AS POSSIBLE.NOT EVEN NIGERIA. GHANA IS A LAWLESS COUNTRY, FREE FOR ALL AND VERY HIGH CORRUPTION. THIS IS A COUNTRY WHERE FEW MEN GET TOGETHER AND SELL STATE PROPERTIES,DRILLING ...

• JB Ansong 10 years ago

Remember that JoyOnline only culled part of the report and represented false results. I have read the entrie list at gallup_dot_com. Nigeria was second in the list.

• John 10 years ago

Cry your own cry and leave Nigerians alone

• Grafit, NAIJA 10 years ago

Sorry that was last year, This year, Nigeria is not on the top 10 list

• Malam 10 years ago

Eiiish GH is worse than Naija now!!! Agye gon!!!

• BRO DAN- TRC 10 years ago

BLESS PEOPLE OF AFRICA, PRECIOUS ONES OF THE NATIONS OF THE WORLD, INNOCENT PEOPLE OF GHANA, OF A TRUTH, ONES IS -FIRST- AND ANOTHER -SECOND- AS GHANA IS THE -THIRD. HOWEVER, BLESSED ONES OF THE NATIONS OF THE WORLD, WE KNOW; ...

• Ghana concern 10 years ago

oh NDC u have failed Ghanaians n disgracing us.now the whole world has seen u n ur awaam government u are governing. Fire go burn u.

• SULE 10 years ago

Ghana, within a period of just a little over 4 years, is a failed state under the recklessly corrupt and monumentally inept John Mahama/Amissah Arthur NDC gov't. The NDC gov't has given real meaning to the "e de bee k3k3" slo ...

• Ghanaba 10 years ago

For those of you who say the Gallup report is not credible and that perception is not reality can tickle yourselves and laugh.The next report would find Ghana at the summit.Corruption here,corruption there,corruption everywhe ...

• Majele Gbeke Kofie Mawuko 10 years ago

Nobody is surprised, even Mahama. We will just place a granades into their mouths

• Mawutor 10 years ago

NPP and their confuse stories. Only NPP believe this crap.

• GC/USA 10 years ago

NOT ONLY CORRUPT BUT A COUNTRY FULL OF LAZY PEOPLE. HOW MANY OF THEM GET TO WORK AT 8 AM, STAY WORKING TILL NOON AND LEAVE AT 5 PM PROVIDING 90 TO 100% SERVICES? PERHAPS LESS THAN 10%. GO TO THE MINISTRY AND YOU WILL SEE STAF ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

That is what we must be seeking to change and not glorying in the negative news we get from abroad.

I give them the benefit of the doubt, most of the negative comments here are from Ghanaians abroad who just want to see G ...

• GC/USA 10 years ago

THE PROBLEM WITH MANY GHANAIANS IS THAT THEY WANT TO EARN THE SAME SALARY LIKE THOSE IN EUROPE/USA WITHOUT HARD,LONG HOURS AND RESPECTFUL SERVICES TO THEIR CUSTOMERS UNLESS YOU BRIBE. IN MANY CASES YOU STILL GET A POOR QUALIT ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

@GC/USA.. you will be lucky to even get a service at all. I must admit, sometimes I don't even trust my own Dad. I wish we stop this ostrich mentality and address the issue right from our own door steps instead of passing the ...

• atik 10 years ago

This kind of survey could be true or false depending on the political environment.In Ghana for instance where every issue is politicized there is no way oppositions and their supporters would say anything positive about the g ...

• moasem 10 years ago

There's only one truth. It can't be true and false at the same time, Atik! Stop lying to yourself and face the stark reality of Ghana's miserable situation!

• Nana 10 years ago

This is a cold war going on against Ghana and their leaders. This aims at demoralizing Ghanains and pushing them to lose confidence in their leaders and give up. So Ghana will regress while it's known that Ghana is doing well ...

• Edem 10 years ago

when you have a country where the opposition always cries wolf where there's none, what do you expect? the bane of Ghana's progress is the npp.
    for all Ghanaians living outside; remember this is a perception survey, not a re ...

Edem, I think those living outside see it even better. Just travel through any airports in North America through Europe to Kotoka and you will see the difference immediately. Every official at Kotoka will want to demand some ...

• Kwesi 10 years ago

very true edem, if you visit the business registration outfit of the ministry, you see lots of people foreign and local, trying to get a business registered. and yet we keep letting this politicians make us believe that every ...

No, in Ghana hard work does not pay unless you work hard at stealing or duping.

• damango 10 years ago

MPS and ministers are building mansions with stolen money. the presidents are no exception. Civil servants are not afraid to STEAL as well. Look TSATSU TSIKATA stole heavily from GNPC but was set free.

• Kwesi 10 years ago

where is your proof?

Congrats to the government and people of Ghana on this excellent performance! Keep up the good work.

Corruption is as a result of low self esteem, lack of self respect, incompetence, lack of fore sight etc. Look at the incorruptible personalities in our resent history: Mandela, Nkrumah, Martin Luther King, etc. They were foc ...

• Mawutor 10 years ago

Why NPP is cry so much about Ghana While everybody us enjoying their live with their daily activities. Ghana "one party state" with NDC. Mahama keep up with your good work.

• Nana Yaw 10 years ago

Ghana can never be more corrupt than any of the former French colonies in the third world. Not even during the most two corrupt goverments in our history, Kuffour or Acheampong's regimes. Just make a trip to Gabon and you wil ...

• Me 10 years ago

No doubt, I bet Nigeria topped the list and we are not too far behind.
    Very scary.

• Obed Adore 10 years ago

What about Nigeria? I am very eager to know.

• Joe 10 years ago

I must congratulate Mahama for presiding over such a corrupt state of Ghana. More greese to your elbows, Mahaama. Keep it up.

• Senior Wisdom 10 years ago

We all go to Church and some to the mosque, but we are all so corrupt that it stinks. Pastors . Imams, Judges, Police and worst of all Politicians. Even our missions abroad are all corrupt. S H A M E!!!!

• Just me 10 years ago

I don't doubt the report that Ghana is the third most corrupt country in the world. What NPP sowed is what we is reaping. When Kuffour and his cronies are corrupt, the pastors, judges, police the civil servants, teacher and a ...

• Mumin 10 years ago

please time 4 action and kill the corruption

• Martin 10 years ago

Most Ghanaians are involved in corrupt practices in their daily lives without even knowing it. Corruption is ingrained and deeply-rooted in society that people ask for and pay bribes for the most basic services. Ghanaians hav ...

• samsam 10 years ago

There is no doubt Ghana is third in corruption among all the countries in the world. The recent elections where
    one party issued Laptops and Cars for
    votes. The worse was when this same party bribed Polling Agents to swap v ...

• Pelicles 10 years ago

We have a government whose navel is tied to corruption. Upon assuming office, the first thing Mahama did was to ship a plane load of gold to Iran via Dubai so, what should we expect? Transparent? No and never.

Ghana, if ...

• US GROUP BROKE?? OR FRAUD,PAY UP 10 years ago

US Tilapia should honour their part of the contract with the ghanaian investors.
    When are they to pay their investors

• Don Ken 10 years ago

this is never a news cos corruption is everywhere and Prez cnt be blame for that.Gh can be 1st......No one can fight corruption cos if from the grass root..even in churches...Leave the Prez alone and let him work.

• kwasi 10 years ago

AND NO ONE WAS LISTENING

• The Truth 10 years ago

But that son of a prostitute called Rawlings stole more than any President in the history of Ghana.

He stole Ghanacan

He stole Caridem

He stole star hotel. He stole all UTC properties in Accra including 543 acres of ...

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

This is complet rubbish,name all the 129 countries here,otherwise take it to the dustbin.Thank you.

• Paa cash 10 years ago

Atuguba u dey inside

• Paa cash 10 years ago

Atuguba shud ve save the poor record

• Paa cash 10 years ago

Sir jon , help me to tell atuguba that his face is like gods who is shitin in the mornin

• Etwetwebi 10 years ago

This is the final delivery of the election petitions report , horrible face lik atuguba put ghana at this stage.fuck u horrible gods

• Kwame frimtiboa 10 years ago

It shal be well

• YAW 10 years ago

Another rubbish from Joy fm and their affiliates. This is a complete misrepresentation of news!

1. Its not all the 129 countries that are classified as Free press, So Ghana cannot be the 3rd most corrupt.
    2. The headline ...

• ANNA 10 years ago

EVEN MANY GHANA EMBASSIES IN THE WORLD ARE MORE CORRUPT,ESPACIALLY GHANA EMBASSY IN MADRID-SPAIN

• Zip Up 10 years ago

Here We Are, Fiddle Fiddle Corrupt Corrupt And Imtimidating Culture, Who Am I To Challenge A Corrupt Institution, it Is Not Only That We AreTop Third Corrupt Country Globally But Our Parliamentarians Continuosly Award Themsel ...

• N y 10 years ago

I totaly agree that Ghana is the most corrup in the world. it si so sad that when one sends Money to the bank esp, Ghana comicail bank they will take part of the Money and give the rest to the recipient, and when one verifies ...

• YUSIF DOKU 10 years ago

This is clearly the handiwork of the evil NPP.Who provided them with this kind of perception?NPP is hell-bent on making the country ungovernable.But we shall prevail by God's grace.Who is more corrupt than the NPP?

• AKWAPIMBA ,LAS PALMAS DE G.C.,SPAIN 10 years ago

- WHAT A SHAME.EVEN THE BIBLE, THERE WAS CORRUPTION IF YOU READ 1 SAMUEL CHAPT. 2 , 13-17.SO CORRUPTION WAS IN THE BIBLE.SO MANY CHURCH IN GHANA WILL NEVER SAVE US.THE DEVIL IS WITHIN US.

• Okra 10 years ago

Coup d'état is the birth of all corruptions, so fellow Ghanaians let's stay out of it. Accept that fast money is hurting the country. Every mps must explain their worth.

• jp brooks .u .s .a. 10 years ago

think about the poor people,s in the country

• NON-ALIGNED 10 years ago

OH! GHANAIANS!.......Look at your own responses pointing fingers at and insulting yourselves........and at the same time, deeply rooted in CORRUPTION yourselves!!!!!!!

Why don't you all look into your hearts before 'throwi ...

• Johannesburg 10 years ago

People who are writing this rubbish must stop because they don't even what they are talking about and Ghana is not the third most corrupt country.We know very well that our country is corrupt but not to that extend.10 most co ...

• OBAA YAA 10 years ago

Third in corruption, good for us this is the best ranking Ghana has ever received in the world.

• ghanaba 10 years ago

dear friend who exempted dr.limann. i am sometimes schocked how immatured africans want to make exceptions without the least search. send an e-mail enquiry to a newspaper estalished in Bern the political capital of switzerla ...

• Joe Turkey 10 years ago

This was all that the stupid coup of 1981 was about.

• Abrante 10 years ago

JJ, This will surely break your heart.

• AGES 10 years ago

I have said it elsewhere that there's little difference to choose between Ghana & Nigeria when fraud and curruption is concerned, the two countries are percieved as equally currupted by the Western world.Let nobody think Ghan ...

• What's wrong with Ghana leaders. 10 years ago

My God! Ghana!

What's wrong with the leadership of that country Ghana?

I have lived and worked in another third world, much poorer, country than Ghana for 4 years without witnessing a single price increase.

Althou ...

Which country might that be if you don't mind me asking?

• KOKI 10 years ago

What a bruising indictment on the nation! Shame when incidence of corruption is reported nothing concrete is done about it due to the fact that the entire system is corrupt! Everywhere!

Everywhere in the country is marked ...

• AGES 10 years ago

KOKI, you are the most realistic, frank and patriotic Ghanaian I've seen in recent time. Your analysis seek to put the facts bare and refrained from been drawn into comparism of any sort. With people like you at the helm of a ...

• KOKI 10 years ago

Thank you, AGES, for the kind compliments!

So long as God gives us strength and breath, we won't give up on Ghana, our motherland! We will cry out for her deliverance from the pawns of greedy,selfish,wicked and heartless s ...

• tomotm 10 years ago

Our old system have to change. Government have to invest money in ways of changing the a newer and more dynamic ways of doing thing.

• Ogua Kotor 10 years ago

that was between May and June, now we should comfortably occupy the first spot. No challenger.

• Aryiku Charway 10 years ago

You and I are the culprits. We cannot run away from this cancer in our society. One way or the other, directly or indirectly you and I stand accused and must be blamed because we lack self-discipline, we are intolerant, we ca ...

• Old Major 10 years ago

The remedy is to re-visit 79 and all shall stop

• BE BOLD 10 years ago

Ghana is slowly dying and we are watching it happen without any intervention and helped by tribalism. Why can't we BOLD to reverse this while we are alive. that is what intelligent people do. Are we?

• Bastard 10 years ago

The gallup Poll the report is not true as Ghana should be and is the most corrupt country in the whole wide world. Ghanaians are conceived corrupt,born corrupt, grow corrupt ,live corrupt ,and die corrupt.

• MK boy. UK 10 years ago

Exprez Kuffuor confessed that corruption is a GHANA DO, since Adam and Eve.SO Why blame Mahama pls.

• JC 10 years ago

The soldiers should intervene again. The politicians have abused the Constitution by rampant stealing and flouting constitutional provisions. The soldiers should suspend the constitution and deal with the situation.

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 10 years ago

JC, I don't know your age though but calling for soldiers intervention is not the answer. People alive of 50 years and over today had witnessed most coups in the country and the last one staged by Mr. Rawlings deprived some i ...

• KOKI 10 years ago

Good and honest assessment, this is, Stoner! Coup? Never! Reason? Not the solution! No evidence in history; not in the history books of Ghana, my motherland. Sure let those who have doubts go ask JJ Rawlings! After the bruta ...

• Eli 10 years ago

2012 report? Why now? Mtcheeeeeewwww. Let's get serious in this country.

• ........ 10 years ago

THEY ARE TO BE BLAME.AFARI GYAN WILL EAT HIS OWN TOILET B/4 HE DIES.

• PRESIDENT MAHAMA 10 years ago

THATS THE MEANING OF I DEY BE K3K3...
    KWASIA FO

• AGYAATA 10 years ago

mahama is the most corrupt president ghana had ever had

• sharon 10 years ago

so if this is the case what are we as patriotic citizens doing about it. i always ask myself that we are here in school leaning about all the mistakes that Ghana has made so far but ow to solve it in a practical way it not di ...

• John Ameyigbor 10 years ago

it true, even our prez's(mahama) salary for the 4yrs and some months is a canker to our poor country. Mahama total salary will cost ghana nearly 7,000,000,000(7 billion). Polititions are greedy.

• concerned observer 10 years ago

Answer NO.

• king 10 years ago

There are more corruptions in these s developed countries than Ghana, they are smarter it or they give it a different name, example bribery in politics is called "fund raising" So Gallup should check their back yard first

• concern ghanian 10 years ago

FOOLISH CORRUPT LEADERS INSTEAD OF CREATING JOBS ARE CREATING ARMROBBERS

• concern ghanian 10 years ago

WE NEED ANOTHER RAWLINGS

• radicle 10 years ago

This current ministers are taking advantage of their positions by stealling...they only think about their families..

• Sambiru duut elijah 10 years ago

And this is the administration that believe in accountability and freedom of justice. No wonder they are creating, luting and sharing of the national cake. God go punish that akomfem president. Because ghanians are corrupt, t ...

• Sambiru duut elijah 10 years ago

And this is the administration that believe in accountability and freedom of justice. No wonder they are creating, luting and sharing of the national cake. God go punish that akomfem president. Because ghanians are corrupt, t ...

• priscy dawson 10 years ago

hmmmm is d NDC administration. dey r corrupt demselves. Mahama wahala gov't.

• sayibu 10 years ago

Due meagre salary on both public and private workers has led to embezzelment of government funds in to their private use. In order to deal with such situation any found guilty should be brought to and necessary measures is pu ...

• IMORO AWOLU SAYIBU 10 years ago

Due to the introducion of western education in west African countries especially Ghana has made many young managers and accountants to make money quick and within a twinkle of an eye their assets is uncalculable. To me it is ...

• IMORO AWOLU SAYIBU 10 years ago

Many graduate are out of school and have no job to do simply because theres a very high level of corruption in Ghana workers who are due for retirement are not willing to give up their position why because theres a secret thi ...

• Asaah Anaconda 10 years ago

hmmm!Ghana re we save? ok no wonder b'cos our leader de chop de courtry our money's too much