You are here: HomeNews2013 08 01Article 281129

University teachers begin nationwide strike today

Read Comments Comments (49)

• Blow man 10 years ago

let them stay home.after all we have a lot of graduates who don,t have jobs.

• ZoRRo 10 years ago

It looks like you must be in the government to get paid; everybody else can take a hike. Meanwhile the price of everything is going up. NA ANIMAL FARM BE DAT Ooooooh !

No wonder every tom-dick-and-harry wants to be Preside ...

• Alah 10 years ago

Like-wise, no wonder your name is spelt with mixed capital and small letters. Not your fault, but rather, internet's that gave you the opportunity to say "every tom-dick-and-harry wants to be president". And I hope you will r ...

• DANQUAH 10 years ago

YOUR MASTER IS DEATH AND GONE; STAND THERE AND BE STRIKING:

• ivc 10 years ago

THE TOUGHT ATTA MILLS IS STILL ALIVE

• joe 10 years ago

This doesn't matter, the only thing is to tell the government to rule the country well for Ghanaians deserve better.

• ivc 10 years ago

YOU CHOPPED YOUR CAKE ALREADY UNDER ATTA MILLS:

• UTAG Member 10 years ago

If they stay at home and don't train students, what will happen in the next 50 years?
    Common sense is common but not common .......

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

You are produsing the graduates but
    no work for them,and you are still produsing more,for what? Better go and
    farm and produse food,there are somany
    without Jobs.

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 10 years ago

IN CANADA N THE US, UNIVERSITY/COLLEGE PROFESSORS OR INSTRUCTORS ARE NOT PAID BY THE GOVT, BUT BY THE SCHOOL. THESE UNIV PROFESSORS IN GH SHOULD GO FOR THEIR SALARY PREMIUMS FROM THEIR RESPECTIVE UNIV. CHANCELLORS, NOT THE GO ...

• kwame no 1 10 years ago

SIMPLE IDIOT MAHAMA GET YOUR FUCKING FAKE GHANIANS PARTY NDC AWAY LETS GHANIANS BE FREE VISION LESS INCOMPETENT CORRUPT NDC FOOLS PRICKS

• Komla Anyidoho 10 years ago

bekoos de students pay tuition fees, bai deia own buuks, bai deia own fuud, pay for rent and all assessories including laboritry ekwipments. independent and praivit fainanshial institushion laik Salli Mae lend loans to de stu ...

• Sv 10 years ago

Boss! its national and social network so, check your funcy spellings.

• UTAG Member 10 years ago

Education in US and Canada have different policies, direction and focus from that in Ghana.
    The fact that you have about 75% Whites in Canada doesn't mean Ghana should also have 75% Whites! Each does what is good for itself ...

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

So you think it's good the Government of Ghana is taking care of everything including toilets because we are not 75% whites? If toilets in Ghana were not for the government, how could NDC foot soldiers often have them kidnapp ...

• Sv 10 years ago

Ghana is neither US or Canada and for your notice, gov't is not the president alone.

• kofi yesu 10 years ago

Waaa look, we are in ghana and you talking about these western world.

Have you not heard or seen that, we have ZEBRA CROSSING on a high ways....hihihihi

• Shamu 10 years ago

OH please, these are all crab of teachers. Is time the nation begin to take hard line against indiscipline people. All this people are NPP who feel they should be given chance to steal, corrupt and so on. This are all NPP syn ...

• tony lagos 10 years ago

u must be a fool talk lioke that. so all d teachers are NPP suporters?,wise up,idiot.

• Ernest 10 years ago

People like should be treated like an idiot.how can u say all the teachers are NPP members. It is time u grow up and give a mature comment

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

So when can you talk sense on this forum? If the government makes a promise to these teachers, it must be fulfilled. These teachers are no fools to be toyed around. Did UTAG not go on strike during Kuffour's admn? It is the r ...

• EOA , UK 10 years ago

To be sincere, how can Okudzeto Abrakwa negotiate effectively with the UTAG executives. This show how the NDC government is putting a square peg in round holes... What is his knowledge level, ability and power to influence an ...

• PK 10 years ago

My sentiments exactly. How does it sound having a recent graduate like Ablakwa, who didn't work a day in his life before entering politics but is now earning high pecks, trying to convince his former lecturers to accept lower ...

• Concerned Ghanaian 10 years ago

Because this Ndc government is bereft of thinking human beings. Okudzeto Ablakwa is just irritating by his posture.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

You are right. In dealing with these lecturers many of who have tons of knowledge, experience and diplomacy, Ablakwa is no match. He lacks diplomacy and the wisdom to deal with them. He also has the reputation of talking "sma ...

• True Ghanaian 10 years ago

Does this Ablakwa guy deserve to be a minister. Oh mother Ghana!!!!!!

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

This Keta School Boy called Ablakwa is not even fit for a JSS teacher. In NDC, you only have to be an ass cleaner and you are all set to determine the fate of all Ghanaians.

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

The concern citizens of Ghanaians abroad such as America, Canada, London, Germany, Italy, Australia and Holland, is appealing to the highest court of our country to throw the petitioners foolish and diabolical case that is ha ...

• tony lagos 10 years ago

u are a stupid liar about what u just said.who told u all this lies.

• nana 10 years ago

let dem bee. afterall universities ar on vacation. they shd wait and intensify it when the various schools resume.

• GOG 10 years ago

profs met and mahama's ablakwa was there so what good will happen

• Dr. med.William Acquah,Germany 10 years ago

Qou vadis, Ghana? What a shame!

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 10 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFUL SPIRITUALIST?THEN GOOGLE OR GO TO greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot.com

• George Badak 10 years ago

Government should harry up and pay UTAG and FUSSAG in order to avert the "sin of the council to be visited on the head of the client"

• www.bookerzmedia.com 10 years ago

This is the number one networking site for you to meet different kinds of people around the world. chat free with all users, watch free funny videos. www.bookerzmedia.com, join today and feel the fun and power of social netwo ...

• Emmanuel 10 years ago

IS UNBELEIVABLE NOTHING WORKS IN GHANA EVEN SUPREME COURT ARE NOT FOLLOW THEIR RULE ONLY THING YOU HAVE TO DO IS KNOW HOW TO APOLOGIES AND THAT'S IT. IS VERY SAD AS COUNTRY.

• joe 10 years ago

Go to strike before paid government ndc will never learn from the past. What kind of administration is that. A party with bunch of unqualified politicians. Any foolish person will be selected to be an administrator.

• Jay+++++++++++London 10 years ago

The effects of NDC money wasting during last year elections are now catching up with them.

It is taking the forms of increase in petroleum, non-payment of university staff, ministers, parliament etc.

How do the NDC expe ...

• Barima Yaw 10 years ago

How

• dee dear 10 years ago

UTAG will not take Ablakwa serious; an older person should be replace him

• Johnson 10 years ago

Oh God . How can Okudjeto be in charge of tertiary edu. Mahama pls give the ivory tower some respect.

• NANA KWAME 10 years ago

GHANA NEEDS SOLUTION

All university teachers must be NPP.

• Roland 10 years ago

I am using this medium to appeal to the leaders of the 2 organizations to reconsider their positions. Please have mercy on all of us. The government will pay up as promised by the Minister. "Me nuanom, ensuo reto nso efom ye ...

• No Name 10 years ago

there are so many PHDs in our Universities yet the country is getting worse. What are they doing to better our country apart from producing unemployable and unemployed graduates?

• CONCERNED CITIZEN 10 years ago

I DIDN`T EVEN KNOW THAT HE IS THE DEP MINISTER INCHARGE OF TERTIARY. I`M DISAPPOINTED; SOMEBODY WHO WAS A TRUANT AND JUST ENJOYED CONTROVERSING WITH HIS COLLEAGUES AROUND AND SCHOOL AUTHORITY. ANYWAY, THAT HAS EARNED HIM GOOD ...

• Ernest 10 years ago

When NPP was in power teachers not use to do this type of strikes

• SULE 10 years ago

Oyiwa, we said it. So what at all can this NDC gov't headed by John Mahama and his sycophantic dimwits, do right? Can't they just do something right for once, haba!!!! Today strike, tomorrow strike, everyday strike, what at a ...

• JH New York 10 years ago

Confused Nation !