You are here: HomeNews2013 08 01Article 281114

We are producing graduates we don’t need’ – Dep. Minister

Read Comments Comments (115)

• jrn 10 years ago

sayoooooooooooooo

• Homesense 10 years ago

USMAN of Ghanaweb News, 'oyiwa' (i.e.'here you are', in Twi language).

This story vindicates my co-forumer, USMAN, who has on every post he has made on this site expressed his displeasure at the products of our Universitie ...

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

Source: Daily Guide...

All of a sudden nonentities want to portray to the world how close they were to the late President.

Those who had to chat with him for one hour everyday, those Deputy Ministers who had to call him ...

• Kojo T 10 years ago

Well NPP advocates Free SHS as a solution. When we ask how we get insults. Now we have University graduates and the question is why does the NPP factor not come in?"So in my view, there should be regular intercourse between k ...

• Gye Nyame 10 years ago

@Kogo T,Obviously, providing free mandatory education up to the high school level is good for every country. That education of course should have a great curriculum and the right method of learning. If a child does not have t ...

• WILLIAM 10 years ago

what industrial base does Africa have today? what kind of public service that should support the private sector? what kind of private sector? We also need to begin from teaching science and maths correctly at the early stages ...

• Gye Nyame 10 years ago

And this goes for all the universities (private & public) in Ghana – garbage in, garbage out. What the education ministry needs to do is totally revamp the whole education system, from primary to the tertiary level. Even s ...

• WILLIAM 10 years ago

I concur, if they cannot train people to think individually and collectively(team work) of what use is university education!

• Kwame ninsin 10 years ago

Who licensed or approved these private institutions? The government did, and the same government is now chastising them.

• seth danso 10 years ago

Engineering, ICT and similar Universities should not be taxed.... incentive to creating more allied varsities

• SENEGAL 10 years ago

GOOD COMMENTS. IT IS FOR THE GOV'T TO STEER EDUCATION TOWARDS THE PRODUCTION OF THE RIGHT MANPOWER.

• Ashanti Boy 10 years ago

U are a sensible person man.

• Visionary 10 years ago

Simple solution t our problem is that:
    STOP EXPIDITING OUR PRECIOUS MONEY TO FORIEGN LANDS. Stop stealing our money to swiss. Use the stolen money to build the economy. Build factories etc...

• seth danso 10 years ago

the Business Universities teach only how to read and write in English. their products cannot even manage their own lives... mchweuuu

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

It is our educational system that is sick and outmoded. We still place emphasis on the 3Rs that the colonialists introduced to us. There is no practical training. Even students at the various SHS do not have the materials for ...

• ghanaba 10 years ago

and you? who needs you. useless govt.

• Akoto 10 years ago

I believe Mr Kyereme is a nuclear scientist

• Maxi A 10 years ago

Ok we know... even in developed countries some courses are mind boggling... my question is how is the minister going to help to improve things. all talk no action is vapour into atmosphere..... So Act deputy minister and fa ...

• ADWEN 10 years ago

Kyeremeh, people like you are ministers, right? You don't even know how to solve problems facing the educational sector, yet you have been appointed Minister of education.
    Who is the "Nation" you are referring to? The nation ...

• EAF 10 years ago

I have always said this since the proliferation of these mushroom universities in Ghana. Our economy is nowhere near the level where we can accomodate all these graduates. Blame it on the poor economic planning by succesive g ...

• Kweku Asare 10 years ago

Some of the universities are only money making or cash cows for their owners. They don't care what happens to the graduate after leaving school.

However, I don't blame people who fall for this trap because we are so much ...

• CITIZEN ONE 10 years ago

Yes, I am pondering what this man would be doing had he not been a minister? Ghana has had this problem from time immemorial, don't just wake up yarning and pretend you have brains and ideas.

Just introduce legislation to ...

• CITIZEN ONE 10 years ago

...don't just wake up yawning and pretend...

• Ibn Batuta 10 years ago

The government is not an employment agency.It is up to the private sector to be innovative and create jobs. You will be surprised to know how many of these graduates have created jobs for themselves.

• Kwadjo, London 10 years ago

Your comment is misleading. It is the govt's responsibility to look after its citizens.The govt may give incentives to the private sector to do this as it is done in the western economies. What is the NDC govts policy? The De ...

• J. J. LAWRENCE 10 years ago

ASK YOUR BLOODY SELF AS A SO-CALLED DEPUTY MINISTER OF EDUCATION WHY SUCH COURSES YOU TERM AS IRRELEVANT ARE EXISTING IN THE UNIVERSITIES AND COLLEGES IN THE COUNTRY IF WE DON'T NEED THEM. WHY DON'T YOU FOOLS STOP THEM? "KWA ...

• NANA 10 years ago

u speak lyk a bush animal i kno frm de Ashanti.

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 10 years ago

I think it is better to produce graduates who don't get work to do at the meantime than having majority illiterates who can be deceived by such visionless Deputy Minister. In the long run the benefit outweigh your negative t ...

• KwameWiredu 10 years ago

Oh yes,we are actually producing illiterate graduates as demonstrated by this reporter, probably a product of one of those mushroom universities and "colleagues".The sad part he/she writes "colleagues" and repeats it again a ...

• KwameWiredu 10 years ago

Mr. Deputy minister that's the reason why you have to advise your government not to tax these banana universities but to assist and encourage them to re-invest their profits in curricula and infrastructure development and 2)P ...

• Conventional Youth. 10 years ago

Mr.Kyeremeh in an interview with Accra based *Montie fm* on Wednesday, said most of the over fifty private universities and colleagues in the country are only running business related courses to the neglect of relevant course ...

GHANA’s CURRICULUMS NEEDS MODIFICATION AND MODERNIZATION

01-08-2013

Dome at the age of 13 took a critical look at his dad, then said, Papa & Mama, are really STUPID. The dad being a typical African, was infuriated. ...

• OPPONG 10 years ago

GOVT DEVELOP A POLICY THAT WILL GRANT SCHOLARSHIPS AND BURSARIES TO STUDENTS WHO UNDERTAKE THESE COURSES AT BOTH PUBLIC AND PRIVATE UNIVERSITIES
    EQUALLY GRANT TAX HOLIDAYS TO THESES PRIVATE UNIVERSITIES WHO WILL ENGAGE IN ...

• Oman Ba Pa 10 years ago

‘’Most of the accredited private universities in Ghana are running business and management courses . Question is, are the jobs available for these graduates when they leave school?’’
    IS THIS NOT A GROSSLY WRONG UNDER ...

• Tekonline.org 10 years ago

Right on!

• kusi 10 years ago

Bravo you said the truth we spend money on our wards for going to university seek

• Kofi Adjaho Mahama 10 years ago

This is a clarion call to our education administrators and the Ministry of education to sit up and put in place a mechanism that will ensure that the 'Gown meets the Town'.
    The lecture notes that some lecturers use are olde ...

• L. A. Michael 10 years ago

It is definitely misconceived to blame unemployment on increasing number of business/management universities and graduates. Are we saying that if there are no jobs, the population should remain illiterate? or under-educated?

• Kwabena 10 years ago

Deputy minister, you are one of those numerous graduates we don't need.

• bob 10 years ago

haha, He knows as most ghanaians get education, they will know the reality on the ground and will not buy the lies of some thieves who call themselves politicians.

• tony germany 10 years ago

hon Minister if i may ask what Profession do u hve ?How many science students does the Country produce we should encourage pupils in maths etc most of us are weak in maths thereby shifting to arts your govt should do reverse ...

Very sad indeed. And yet math is the language of the universe. A lot of BEAUTY is hidden in math and if only the right teachers were available en masse, it would be every pupil's first love. Seriously!

• JJ Rawlings 10 years ago

May l ask where are the workers of the government including ministers, parliamentarians were schooled. if in any of these public universities in Ghana am not surprised with the statements from the illiterate deputy minister. ...

• jon 10 years ago

This man is not serious. Yes private unis are producing graduates in business courses, if your govt is wise it will ask the so called public unis to concentrate on your ITC sciences and engineering. Even these so called publ ...

• Awuah Nyamekye 10 years ago

If this is the view of the Hon. Minister then he is at the wrong place. It is impossible to tailor education content to meet the employment needs of society. Content should be made as broad as possible to facilitate retrainin ...

• Kofi Adjaho Mahama 10 years ago

Sir:
    I beg to disagree with your statement that "It is impossible to tailor education content to meet the employment needs of society".Contrariwise, education is the means society uses to develop the brain power it needs to ...

• km agyin 10 years ago

Don't blame the institutions for producing graduates. blame the governments for failing to provide jobs for them. The gov't must put up pragmatic policies which will create jobs like facilitating private people to set up fact ...

• Oman Ba Pa 10 years ago

Help the private sector to expand and more (sustainable) jobs will appear.
    Let's stop training graduates who are unable to visualise creating jobs for themselves.

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

The concern citizens of Ghanaians abroad such as America, Canada, London, Germany, Italy, Australia and Holland, is appealing to the highest court of our country to throw the petitioners foolish and diabolical case that is ha ...

• owusey1963 10 years ago

what has this to do with the petition, think twice

• owusey1963 10 years ago

when i sometimes read the comments that some people make, i ask myself, if these people are really reasonable.

• EOA , UK 10 years ago

Hope the deputy minister has not missed his audience. He should be advising his boss and writing proposal of these identified problems to the cabinet and government for positive action before coming public, you wash your line ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

Parent are much to be blamed as the government.
    Ghanaian parents have children as a means of recreation not procreation.

They are vision-less and this means they turn out or have more babies than dreams of what they wan ...

• CAPTAIN DERRAILE 10 years ago

THIS STUPID MINISTER DOESN'T EVEN KNOW WHAT EDUCATION ENTAILS. EDUCATION ONLY OPEN AVENUES FOR THE POPULACE, ITS SUCH AVENUES THAT GHANA NEED. GHANA NEED A FUND AND SECRETARIATE THAT EQUIP THE GRADUANS TO GO INTO THEIR OWN BU ...

• NANA IS USING BAWUMIA 10 years ago

The problem Ghana is facing momentarily is that most Ghanaian Engineering, Science, Agriculture graduates at the undergraduate level end up taking alternate degrees like MBA, Management or Law graduate course to become manag ...

• NANA IS USING BAWUMIA 10 years ago

KNUST has not lived up to expection. Subsequent gvernments of Ghana since Nkrumah haven't lived up to expectation in terms of developing and promoting science studies and innovations.

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

A case of "too many Chiefs and NO Indians"!!! We can't even MANAGE ANYTHING WELL after all the qualis in "Business Management"!!
    Give GENEROUS TAX INCENTIVES to the Unis training in the STEM (Science/Technology/Engineering/M ...

• TT 10 years ago

Where would you have been had you not been hiding under the mercy of politics. Let your government help the private sector to grow and not sabotaging them to score cheap political points.

• When Will They Ever Learn 10 years ago

At long last someone has hit the nail on the head.Science and Technology and not "Dondology or Osofology."

• K-DE-K 10 years ago

COLLEGES NOT COLLEAGUES It is very bad to see this.

• Mr President 10 years ago

AND SO WHAT???????????????????????

So write Dagbani!

• James B. Otafregya 10 years ago

If a writer is incapable of differentiating between 'college' and 'colleague', (s)he should stop writing.

No excuses!!

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

I have seen someone write Afrifa instead of Africa, should that person also stop writing? Such things happen all the time, especially if you write a lot, because the brains sometimes move faster than the pen.

You need to read over what you have written at least ONCE before publishing.

Reading over what you have written IS also part (about 20%) of the art of writing.

By the way, if someone writes 'Afrifa' instead of 'Africa', ...

• Paa Kwow 10 years ago

Conduct a Skills Gap Analysis Studies for Private Sector Development and determine the skills the private sector is looking for. Once that is known, the universities need to tailor their curiculum to provide training to fill ...

• pk 10 years ago

Education is different from training. Education allows a well informed person to develop his or her ideas; become more confident in undertaking personal ventures. It's not the Govt's responsibility to employ every graduate. S ...

• kiki 10 years ago

You are right,but back your words with Action.
    Mr Deputy

• Kwame Safo 10 years ago

Say that again Kiki this man is just talking shop. He is the Deputy Minister for Education so he more than anyone else is in the best position to find a solution to this. The fact that he is waffling with his statistics attes ...

• obroni 10 years ago

That's exactly what I have been telling everybody for years, at least someone is waking up now.

• www.bookerzmedia.com 10 years ago

This is the number one networking site for you to meet different kinds of people around the world. chat free with all users, watch free funny videos. www.bookerzmedia.com, join today and feel the fun and power of social netwo ...

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 10 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFUL SPIRITUALIST?google or go TO greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot.com

• OSUO ABRUBUOR 10 years ago

This is far too many for an under developed country like Ghana.

Obviusly the academic rigor will be abandoned in the scramble for customers er students.
    These are far too many for an under developed country like Ghana and ...

• OSUO ABRUBUOR 10 years ago

These are far too many for an under developed country like Ghana and obviously academic rigor will be abandoned in the scramble for students or shall I say, customers?

This is a complete devaluation of the University Syste ...

• kwadwo Amponsah 10 years ago

Yes, in all, there are 86 universities in ghana.

• Joe 10 years ago

Sorry for our leaders. Mr minister, you are still very far away from reality. Are you saying that there will not be unemployment if our graduates study engineering and ICT? Trust me, there will still be more. What is needed i ...

• ABU 10 years ago

Long overdue

• KWASHIE ADJAH 10 years ago

WHY IS THE AFRC/P/NDC DEVOID OF IDEAS AND VISION FOR MOVING GHANA FORWARD. THE AFRC/P/NDC PARTY IS BY DNA, HIGHLY INCOMPETENT AND CHRONICALLY POOR IN IDEAS AND VISION WHEN IT COMES TO GHANA'S DEVELOPMENT, BECAUSE THE FOCUS OF ...

• kk 10 years ago

Well said my MP

• Yaa 10 years ago

"...the nation can allocate some resources to motivate the private universities to train students in the most relevant areas like engineering..."

yet the government is talking about taxing these same private universities. ...

• faida sulley 10 years ago

I could not agree ant better with the minister,cos courses in our universities are either bussiness ralated or the arts with little attention to the sciences.

Idiot, we certainly do not need graduates like you!

" Mr.Kyeremeh in an interview with Accra based *Montie fm* on Wednesday, said most of the over fifty private universities and colleagues in the country ... "

What has the word 'COLLEAGUE' got to do in this context?

Even ...

• GHANA FIRST 10 years ago

MISMANAGEMEMT ALL THE WAY

• Kofi Gordor 10 years ago

the government must come to the bitter reality that the universities cannot admit the two streams of students who graduated from the senior high schools. why can't we just allow the 4th years entry with the back log from the ...

• blacksperm 10 years ago

colleagues

• The Don 10 years ago

Typical Ghanaian minister!!!! Complaining about what we all know,....what incentives are you given schools to educate people in ICT, engineering? Do you even have a clue how expensive it is to train pple in ICT, engineering, ...

• Kwame Milla 10 years ago

This is the most irresponsible statement ever uttered by somebody connected with the education of the human race! Create the jobs to absorb them, Mr. Illiterate Minister of Education!! That is why we have you in government. T ...

• K-DE-K 10 years ago

What did the minister study to become a minister? Even Ablakwa is a minister in Ghana. E.T Mensah is also a minister

• Ibn Batuta 10 years ago

There are a whole lot of unemployed engineers in Ghana. The problem is lack of job creation. It is always a good idea to have a well educated populace .

• messa 10 years ago

THERE IS NO RESON TO WAIST TIME&MONEY ON UNIVERCITY SINCE THERE ARE NO JOBS AFTER THE SCHOOL IS OVER ITS BETTER THE PEOPLE LEARN A TRADE SUCH AS PLUMBERS OR ELECTRICTION AND SO ON AT LEAST WHEN THEY FINISH BEING A TRAINE THE ...

• My Opinion 10 years ago

To a degree there is currency in what the deputy minister is postulating about business grads in Ghana. While I agree that the country is producing graduates, I do not think the government has a concomitant responsibility to ...

• Obibini 10 years ago

The accreditation board should stop giving new licenses to colleges that are coming to offer business courses and issue it to those coming to offer the sciences & making sure they have all the labs & equipment required. we ne ...

• GHANANI 10 years ago

What is wrong with ghanaians?What Mr Kyeremeh is saying is absolutely true.And what baffles me is the emrgence of so many private universities to produce more jobless graduates.

• Asase Jay 10 years ago

This minister has no clue about what education entails. There is no country in this world that produce more scientists than business and arts graduates. I recently advertized job opening for secondary school teachers. I was s ...

• NON-ALIGNED 10 years ago

PART ONE
    If I may, this was my response to an article on this forum, onTuesday, 4 August 2009 to a brilliant article – “The side effects of Colonialism”. However, I deem it appropriate to re-edit a bit of my respons ...

• NON-ALIGNED 10 years ago

PART TWO

“Basically, it was based on the idea of trapping an entire legion of mice invading your house, by using the same old ‘trap mechanism’ that we use today in our native Ghana. In one’s household, the ...

Ghana must buried this imperial system of Education, which creates platforms for a few shameless opportunist for good!! Even the west who have developed most it’s industrial & social infrastructures are radically reforming ...

• Dr. med.William Acquah,Germany 10 years ago

What about you politicians?Have we produced the types we need?

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

A good one this time! Weiter so

The media can help Educate,Empower and Enlighten Electorates, to Elect for Electable leaders, insdead of the "professional stooges" whch are being recyled unfortunately.

• powis 10 years ago

let us admit that, more of these graduate would increase and this so call mismatch will widen. there is a problem we have given very small attention to and that is tackling poverty menace at the grass root. you see there shou ...

• osei yao 10 years ago

Who made thisilliterate a deputy minister of education? University education is not the same as vocational education like nursing or teacher education. Any university education worthy of the name merely trains the mind in cri ...

GHANA’s EDUCATIONAL CURRICULUMS NEEDS MODIFICATION AND MODERNIZATION.

Dome at the age of 13 took a critical look at his dad, then said, Papa & Mama, are really STUPID. The dad being a typical African, was infuriated. ...

A very insightful comment, except for one problem. This statement of yours is very wrong:
    "...I would like all curriculum developers and EDUCATIONIST in GHANA to meet to REVIEW and REMOVE IRRELEVANT THEORETICAL aspects in ou ...

Please check My Conclusion:

I THINK IF GOVT FOCUS ON THIS WITH SERIOUSNESS WITHOUT USUAL POLITICAL LIP-SERVICE THE COUNTRY CAN BENEFIT FROM HER GRADUANT. The old imperial system must be discarded and replaced with a more F ...

Sorry For the typo.

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

THESE PRIVATE UNIVERSITIES SHOULD ONLY HAVE BEEN ALLOWED TO REGISTER WITH THE MISSION TO PRODUCE TECHNICAL ENGINEERS AND NOT SOCIAL SCIENCE GRADUATES FOR NON PRODUCTIVE WORK IN THE COUNTRY:

IT IS TIME,THESE UNIVERSITIES A ...

• kwame 10 years ago

KNUST is producing more MBA graduates than science grads

• SULE 10 years ago

Now having realized that the critical mass required to fast track our development requires the requisite human resource capital in the science and technology field as well as ICT, what is the policy direction of the gov't in ...

Well, brainstorming is totally free so here we go:

(1)The government should reveal to educational institutions what the GREATEST needs are.

(2)The government should work with the bodies that craft the curriculum.

(3) ...

As much as a agree with you on your ideas, the ideals behind, looks fragmented as far as, skills needed today and the build of this well endowed country is concerned.

Please, don't forget that Managers of highly skilled & ...

As much as a agree with you on your ideas, the ideals behind, looks fragmented as far as, skills, Knowledge & experience needed today, in building our well endowed country is concerned.

Please, don't forget that Managers ...

• GOOFY 10 years ago

The GOVERNMENT CAN RECRUIT SOME OF THIS GRADUATES TO DO RESEACH OR DO INVEESTIGATION FOR THE MINISTRY EVEN THE LAZY MPS IN PALIMENT

• JH New York 10 years ago

The reasons are Rawlings AFRC,PNDC,NDC 20years in power had not well cutout plans for the Country and therefore was a Complete waste of time and Tax payers funds.And the present NDC which you are a deputy minister has none e ...