You are here: HomeNews2013 05 01Article 272626

General News of Wednesday, 1 May 2013


CPP wins Kumbungu seat

The Convention People’s Party candidate has won the Kunbumgu bye-election.

Mr Amadu Moses Yahaya polled 13,029 to beat his closest contender, Alhaji Imoro Yakubu Kakpagu of the NDC who polled a little over 11,000 votes.

The Kumbugu seat became vacant after after ECOWAS’ endorsement of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) Member of Parliament for Kumbungu, Alhaji Mohammed Mumuni as Secretary General of the Africa Carribean Pacific (ACP) group of states.

The shocking victory has provided the CPP its single slot on the floor of Parliament.