You are here: HomeNews2013 02 15Article 265072

Politics of Friday, 15 February 2013

Source: GNA

Parliament approves nine more appointees

Parliament on Friday approved the nominations of nine Presidential appointees for various positions.

They are Samuel Sarpong, Minister-designate for Ashanti Region, Mr Ebenezer Kwadwo Teye Addo, Minister-designate for Central Region, Mr Bede Anwataazumo Ziedeng, Minister-esignate for Upper West-region, Dr Alhaji Major Mustapha Ahmed (Rtd), Minister Designate at the Presidency.

The rest are Alhassan Azong, Minister-designate at the Presidency, Abdul Rashid Pelpuo, Minister-designate at the Presidency, Fiifi Fiavi Franklin Kwetey, Minister-designate at the Presidency, Comfort Doyoe Cudjoe Ghanasah, Minister-designate at the Presidency and Limunan Mohammed-Muniru, Minister of State at the Presidency.

Ebo Barton-Odro, First Deputy Speaker and Chairman of the Appointments Committee read the sixth report of the Committee which sought the House approval of the nominees by consensus.

He said the Committee had carried out its duty diligently in accordance with the 1992 Constitution and the standing orders, adding that the nominees have fully met the requirements of the Constitution.