General News of Thursday, 7 February 2013

Source: Daily Graphic

Regions elect Council of State representatives

Regional representatives on the Council of State were Thursday elected to offer counsel to the President for the next four years.

Thursday’s election, the sixth since the advent of the Fourth Republic, saw the representatives being elected by the electoral colleges formed in the 10 regions by two representatives of the various Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies.

Donald Ato Dapatem reports from Accra that the former Greater Accra Regional representative on the Council of State, Mr Emmanuel Adzie-Annan, was re-elected with a landslide victory.

He polled 32 votes to beat his three other contestants who all had zero. They are Mr Ali Adam, Mr Kuadey Anthony Mawuena and Mr Sebastian Selby Ashong-Katai.

The election, which was conducted and supervised by the Greater Accra Regional Director of the Electoral Commission, Mr Alexander Poku Akubia, lasted about an hour and was without a hitch.

Mr Adzie-Annan, who was elected in 2009 to represent the region, described the voting pattern as overwhelming.

“I did not expect such a gargantuan victory,” he said, and pledged to assist the President in executing the Better Ghana agenda.

From Kumasi, Nana Yaw Barimah reports that Nana Asiama Poku-Afrifa, Toasehene, was re-elected to represent the Ashanti Region.

He polled 39 out of a total of 60 votes cast by delegates present drawn from the 30 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in the region.

Just before the contest began, two out of the 10 contestants, Messrs Joseph Alexander Tufuor Sarkodie and Bernard Bekoe, a building contractor and Ghana News Agency regional correspondent respectively, withdrew from the race.

The other seven candidates included Rev. Dr.Seth Frimpong Coleman, a Reverend Minister/Educationist, who managed 12 votes to place second.

Nana Ameyaw Kotoko Mowirehene had eight to place third whilst a technician, Arimer Yawo, polled one vote.

The remaining four contestants had zero each. They include Professor Seth Opuni, former Provost of the College of Architecture and Planning of the Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, Mr Eric Oteng Poku, a technician, Nana Kusi Ampofo, Otumfuo Baamuhene, and Mr Richard Ofori Agyemang Boadi, Operations Manager of Local Enterprise Skills Development Programme (LESDEP).

Tim Dzamboe reports from Ho that a lawyer and Paramount Chief of Ziope Traditional Area in the Agotime-Ziope District, Togbui Binah Lawluvi VI, was elected to represent the Volta Region.

He polled 25 votes out of an electoral college of 50 to beat five other contestants to win the election.

Other contestants were the paramount chief of Dodo traditional area, Nana Obournie Sebewie, 13 votes; a former presbyter of the Evangelical Presbyterian Church, Madam Lucy Aku Adadjawah, six votes; the Paramount Chief of Alavanyo Traditional Area, Togbe Tsedze Atakora VII, four votes; an architect, Dr Austin Asamoah-Tutu, two votes, and Mr God Is Good Amegashie with no vote.

In a victory speech, Togbui Lawluvi, who is also a lecturer at the Ho Polytechnic, thanked members of the electoral college and promised to deliver to meet the aspirations of the people of the region.

From Tamale, Vincent Amenuveve says the incumbent Council of State Member for the Northern Region, Vo-Naa Bawah Muhammed Baba, was re-elected unopposed.

The Vo-Naa was the only one who filed his papers as of the close of nominations on Tuesday, January 22, 2013.

Speaking to newsmen after his election, the Vo-Naa, who is also an educationist, pledged to represent the interest of the region in governance.

Alhandu Abdul-Hamid reports from Bolgatanga that the incumbent Member of the Council of State for the Upper East Region and Bishop of the Anglican Diocese of Tamale, Rev. Dr Jacob Kofi Ayeebo, defeated two other candidates to retain his seat.

Rev. Dr Ayeebo polled 20 votes out of 26 ballots cast to beat Mr Clement Abavana, who had five votes, and the President of the Upper East Regional House of Chiefs and Paramount Chief of the Sakoti Traditional Area, Naba Bewong Joseph Gelbire, who had one vote.

Dr Ayeebo commended the delegates for reposing confidence in him and assured them that he would be a worthy ambassador of the region.

A. Kofoya-Tetteh reports from Koforidua that Nana Kodua Kese, Chief of Oyoko, who is also the Adontenhene of the New Juaben Traditional Area, was elected to represent the Eastern Region on the Council of State.

Nana Kodua Kese polled 26 votes to beat two other contestants, Osabarima Ansa Sasraku, 48, Chief of Mamfe and Kyidomhene of Akuapem, who obtained 24 votes, and Dr Michael Agyekum, an industrialist, who had zero.

In his acceptance speech, Nana Kodua Kese said he would use his experience to advise the President on all issues affecting the development of the region.

He also pledged to do his best in modernising outmoded traditional practices for the well-being of the people.

A 67-year-old banker and agricultural-economist, Dr Percival Alfred Kuanchie, won the election to represent the Central Region, reports Tina Arkorful.

Dr Kuranchie polled 38 out of the 40 votes. Mr Ato Essuman, who has been the central regional representative on the council since 2004, polled two votes.

Mr Raymond Ofosu Aboagye, a 23-year-old student, had zero.

Dr Kuranchie promised to work hard to bring development to the Central Region and help improve the living standards of the people.

From Wa, Chris Nunoo reports that a 64-year-old traditional ruler, Guli Naa, Naa Seidu Bhat Braimah, was retained as the representative for the Upper West Region.

He polled 13 out of 22 valid votes cast while his closest contender, Daffiama Naa, Naa John Domalae, had eight votes.

The third contestant, Kuoro Barecheh Nlowie, had a single vote.

Two of the contestants, Messrs Mike Tiataa Nagumo and a former regional minister under the Kufuor administration, George Hickah Benson, withdrew from the race.

From Sekondi/Takoradi, Moses Dotsey Aklorbortu reports that the incumbent member on the council, Mr George K. Dadzie, was re-elected to represent the Western Region for the next four years.

Mr Dadzie polled 43 votes followed by Mr Isaiah K. Quansah with one vote while Mrs Paulina Amoah had no vote.

A 43-year-old traditional ruler and a businesswoman, Nana Saa Gyamfuaa II, was elected as the Council of State Member for the Brong Ahafo Region, reports Samuel Duodu from Sunyani.

Nana Gyamfuaa, who is the Queen of Ayima, a farming community in the Kintampo South District in the Nkoranza Traditional Area, obtained 32 out of the 54 votes cast to defeat the incumbent, Mr J.H Owusu Acheampong, 71, a former Minister of Food and Agriculture under the Rawlings administration, who secured 22 votes.

The other contestants, Messrs Raphael Cubagee, 40, and Evans Ofori Mensah, 21, secured no votes while the Yejihene, Pemampem Yaw Kagbrese V, 62, and Mr Daniel Kwaku Dartey, 50 and a tutor at Chiraa Senior High School, withdrew from the contest.