General News of Thursday, 24 January 2013

Source: XYZ

Hannah Tetteh, Terkper, others face appoinments c'ttee today

The Appointments Committee of Parliament will today start vetting nominees for ministerial appointments.

Nominee for Finance and Economic Planning, Seth Terkper; Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration; Hanna Tetteh; Water Resources, Works and Housing, Alhaji Collins Dauda; and Agriculture Clement Kofi Humado are among the first to be vetted.

Other nominees who will appear before the committee are Alhaji Inusah Fuseini nominee for Lands and Natural Resources and Alhaji Amin Amidu Sulemani; for Roads and Highways.

Minority MPs have decided to boycott the vetting process but the Majority MPs have downplayed the impact of their absence on the work of the committee.

Mr. Ebo Barton-Odro, the First Deputy Speaker, who is also the NDC MP for Cape Coast North will have his debut as chairman when the Appointments Committee begins the vetting of the ministerial nominees today.

Out of the 25 members of Appointment Committee, 14 are from the Majority side while 11 are members of the Minority side with the chairman excluded.