General News of Tuesday, 8 January 2013

Source: myjoyonline

Mahama makes four appointments

The first list of appointments by President John Mahama has been released with Mr. Prosper Douglas Kweku Bani as the Chief of Staff at the Presidency and Dr. Raymond Akongburo Atuguba as the Executive Secretary to the President.

The President in a statement signed by his spokesperson Abdulai John Jinapor named Mr. Roger Kwesi Angsomwine as the Secretary to Cabinet.

Below is the statement

A. His Excellency John Dramani Mahama, President of the Republic of Ghana, has made the following appointments:

1. Chief of Staff at the Presidency-Mr. Prosper Douglas Kweku Bani.

2. Secretary to Cabinet-Mr. Roger Kwesi Angsomwine.

3. Executive Secretary to the President-Dr. Raymond Akongburo Atuguba.

4. Senior Policy Co-ordinator in the Office of the President-Dr. Sulley Gariba.

B. For the orderly conduct of Government business in the period before Ministers of State are appointed to head Government Ministries, and in the spirit of the Transition Act, His Excellency the President has also designated the various substantive Ministers, including Regional Ministers, whose tenure of office expired at midnight on the 6th of January 2013, in caretaker positions of the various Ministries and Regions they previously occupied.

C. In the case of the Ministry of Justice and Attorney-General's Department, and in accordance with the Transition Act, the Solicitor-General "shall be in charge of the Ministry".

D. Additionally, and also in accordance with the Transition Act, Non-careeer Ambassadors and High Commissioners appointed by the President, are also to continue in office in a caretaker position.

E. Finally, in accordance with the Transition Act, the persons appointed as caretakers "shall not take a decision involving a policy issue".



Abdulai John Jinapor