You are here: HomeNews2012 07 06Article 243966

Politics of Friday, 6 July 2012

Source: GNA

Upper West Akim District inaugurated

Minister of the Interior, Mr. William Kwasi Aboah, on behalf of President John Evans Atta Mills inaugurated the Upper West Akim District at Adeiso, the new district capital.

He said that the government was providing more than 9,000 motor bikes to all assembly members in the country.

Mr. Aboah said the assemblies would also receive GH?42 million seed capital in the 2012 budget approved by Parliament.

“Additionally, they have been factored into the 2012 Common Fund allocation formula and will also be factored into the District Development Fund (DDF) formula”, he said.

Mr. Aboah said that each new district would witness the building of a minimum of two Senior High Schools, a district hospital and provision of potable water and electricity for the district capital, and second class access road to the district capital.

Mr. George Mensah Akpalu, West Akim Municipal Chief Executive is the Acting District Chief Executive for the Upper West Akim District.

He advised the chiefs and people and officials of the new district to work as a team to ensure the development of the area.

Mr. Akpalu urged the people to be part of the decision making process “so as to assume ownership of every public venture that the assembly would undertake”.

Mr. Eric Ansah Awuah, a District Magistrate, ushered assembly members for the 36 electoral areas with Mr. Kenni Tei as the first Presiding Member, into office, when they swore the oath of office and secrecy.

Mr. Salas Mensah, former Member of Parliament (MP) for Upper West Akim, said that creating a new district was not a joke, but serious business.

He donated a pick-up vehicle and two motor bikes to the district assembly.

The assembly also took delivery of two brands of “YSS6 - Sinotruk” refuse trucks.

Chiefs, representatives of political parties, head of departments, workers, traders, farmers and people of the newly created district participated in the inauguration.**