You are here: HomeNews2012 02 24Article 230601

General News of Friday, 24 February 2012

Source: citifmonline

Mills tasks new ministers to excel

The President of Ghana, John Evans Atta Mills, has sworn in all nine ministerial and deputy ministerial appointees approved by Parliament on Thursday.

Administering the Oaths of Office and Secrecy at the seat of government on Friday morning, President Mills tasked his new team to live above reproach in this election year.

He said they should be circumspect in carrying out their duties to sustain the confidence of the electorate.

The nine are Minister Designate for Employment and Social Welfare - Moses Asaga, Minister of State designate at the Presidency - Dominic Azumah, and Minister designate for Information - Fritz Baffour.

Others are Minister designate for Education - Ambassador Lee Ocran, Minister designate for the Upper West Region - Ambassador Amin Amidu Suleiman, and Minister designate for the Interior - W. K. Aboah.

The rest are Deputy Minister designate for Local Government and rural Development - Stephen Ackah, Deputy Minister designate for the Greater Accra Region - Isaac Vanderpuije, and Deputy Minister designate for the Volta Region - Henry Ametefe.

The newly-sworn in appointees would take office from Monday at their various ministries.