You are here: HomeNews2007 10 25Article 132995

Regional News of Thursday, 25 October 2007

Source: GNA

25 new Districts created

Accra, Oct. 25, GNA - President John Agyekum Kufuor has created 25 new Districts and three Municipal Assemblies bringing the total number of districts to 166.
A statement signed by Mr Kwadwo Adjei-Darko, Minister of Local Government, Rural Development and Environment said Tema and Cape Coast had also been elevated to Metropolitan Assemblies.
The new Municipal Assemblies Ledzokuku-Krowor, with headquarters at Teshie Nungua, Adenta-Ashaiman (Adenta) and Weija (Mallam). The District Assemblies are: Shama, Prestea-Huni Valley, Sefwi Akontombra, Gomoa East, Awutu Senya, Upper Denkyira West, Biakoye and Ketu North.
The others are: Nkwanta North, Upper Manya, Birim South, Kwahu East, Offinso North, Atwima-Kwanwoma, Kumawu Afram Plains and Nsuta-Kwamang Beposo.
The rest are: Afigya-Kwabre, Bsome Freho, Sunyani West, Dromaa East, Nkoranza North Chereponi, Kpandai, Lambussie and Kassena Nankana West.

Join our Newsletter