You are here: HomeNews2000 11 27Article 12197

General News of Monday, 27 November 2000

Source: Graphic Reporter

Thousands are still without ID cards — NDC

THE National Democratic Congress has drawn the attention of the Electoral Commission (EC) to many areas across the country where thousands of eligible voters have not yet been given the photo identity cards.

The party has therefore urged the EC to take urgent steps to ensure that these areas are covered within the few remaining days of the photo ID exercise in order to avoid the situation whereby thousands of people could be denied the photo ID cards through no fault of theirs.

The call was contained in a petition signed by the party’s General Secretary, Alhaji Huudu Yahaya to the Chairman of the EC at the weekend on the photo ID exercise.

The areas in the Northern Region not covered include Lingbinsi, Kparigu, Sokogu all in East Mamprusi, Lukula, Mankarigu, Mempeasem, Tantaara, Yagba in West Mamprusi, Moglaa, Tanjurikukoo, Zogu, Fazini all in Savelugu, Atitekpo-Dabala and Kafaba-Makaba in Salaga.

The petition said Kumawu, Effiduase, Nsuta Kwamang-Sekyere West, Kumsu, New Edubiase, Namo Offinso, Lawel, Kansanso, Dawiaso-Asante Akim North and Obedumase near Konongo, all in the Ashanti Region were also not covered.

In the Volta Region, the party said communities left out are Tegbi, Woe, Anloga, Whuti/Srogbey, Dzita/Anyanui, Kome, Shime, all in Anlo, Dededoh, Tsito, Abutia, and Ashanti Kpotia in Ho West, Tafi, Tafi-Bonyai, Leklebi-Duga in Hohoe South, Dambai, Chendai in Krachi Constituency and as well as Krachi, Kpando and Biakoye all islands in North and South Tongu.

The whole of Ho District, according to the petition has 75 areas with almost 6000-7,000 voters not covered.

In the Greater Accra Region, the areas the party said have been left are Ga North, New Achimota, Taifa, Ga Rural all in Ga South, Ablekuma North and Laterbiorkoshie.

In the Eastern Region, islands and lake sides in Afram Plains North, Digya Islands of Afram Plains South, Fanteakwa, Abetifi, Mpraeso, Upper Manya and Agogo, Nkurakan all in Yilo have not been covered.

According to the petition, the following areas in the Upper East Region, were also not covered in the photo ID exercise Bongo. They are Nabdam, Navrongo, Kongo, Woriyamba, in Garu-Tempane, Gbelimbisi, Kanjarga in Buisa South, Bawku West, Zangoyiri, Binaba Googo-Gatusi, Boya, Batongo and Sapelega wards.