You are here: HomeNews2016 12 08Article 493067

General News of Thursday, 8 December 2016


NPP snatches Cape Coast North seat from NDC

The New Patriotic Party (NPP) has snatched the Cape Coast North Constituency seat from the ruling National Democratic Congress (NDC).

Emmanuel Ebo Hawkson reports that the NPP's Barbara Asher Ayisi polled 19, 475 votes to beat her closest challenger Kobby Acheampong of the NDC who garnered 16, 309 votes.

Sarah Mary Buknor of the Progressive People's Party (PPP) came third with 3,251, while Peter Ceasar Kwegyir Aggrey of the Conventions People's Party (CPP) placed fourth with 88 votes.

In the Presidential race, NPP emerged victorious with 20,360 to beat the NDC, which polled 16,998 votes.

The PPP maintained a third position with 1,492. The National Democratic Party (NDP) followed with 63 votes; CPP with 57 votes, the People National Convention (PNC) with 19 votes and Jacob Osei Yeboah, an independent candidate, polled eight votes.