You are here: HomeNews2018 05 18Article 652898

General News of Friday, 18 May 2018


Ga West Municipal Assembly fails to elect presiding member

The Ga West Municipal Assembly failed to elect a Presiding Member (PM) after two consecutive voting on Thursday as neither of the two contesting candidates was able to secure the required 18 votes of the 27 members as prescribed by law.

The 1992 constitution of Ghana provides for a presiding member for each Municipal Assembly to lead the assembly in its meetings as well as the execution of other statutory works.

The election which had to go into a second round failed to produce a Presiding member for the Ga West Municipal Assembly.

In the first round, the Assemblyman for Amasaman , Mr. Love Alister, polled 11 votes while the assemblyman for Mayera, Mr. Kwebena Appiah had 10 with 5 rejected ballot papers.

In the second round, Mr. Alister had 15 votes as against 10 votes for Mr. Appiah which fell short of the two-thirds votes needed of the 27 member assembly. The assembly is soon to announce a new date for the election.

Speaking to Graphic Online, Mr. Alister said he was not disappointed in the outcome of events.

He said he will use the weeks ahead to firm up his campaign to ensure his victory.

According to him, the people in the municipality want a leader who will ensure its development.

Mr. Kwebena Appiah said although he was disappointed in the turn of events, he will go all out to seek the approval of the electorate.

The Municipal Chief Executive (MCE), Mr. Clement Nii Lamptey Wilkinson was hopeful that the assembly would be able to elect a Presiding Member in two weeks. He said although Mr. Alister had 15 votes instead of 18 votes, they must follow the laws of the land by holding another election.

A former presiding member, Mr. Thomas Okine told Graphic Online that the absence of a PM in development deliberations could slow down the decision making process of the assembly, as it is unable not take and implement major decisions.

Government appointees being sworn- in Meanwhile, eight government appointees were sworn into office before the commencement of the voting process. The eight took the Oaths of Office, Allegiance and Secrecy.