You are here: HomeNews2018 09 22Article 686929

General News of Saturday, 22 September 2018


GJA inaugurates 8-member awards committee

The Ghana Journalists Association (GJA) has inaugurated an eight-member committee to superintend on the selection of deserving journalists for the various categories for this year’s awards ceremony scheduled for October 27, 2018.

The committee has Dr Doris Yaa Dartey as Chairperson, with Mr Albert Sam, the immediate past Corporate Affairs Manager of the Graphic Communications Group Limited (GCGL); Mrs Tina Aforo-Yeboah, a former Editor of the Spectator newspaper; Mrs Betty Apau-Opong, the immediate past Director of Television at the Ghana Broadcasting Corporation (GBC), and Mr Gabriel Bosompem, a former broadcaster and producer at TV3, as members.

The rest are Mr Peter Martey Agbeko, a former Director of the Ghana International Press Centre; Mr Kwasi Kpodo, a journalist with the Reuters Bureau in Ghana and Mr Akwesi Agyemang, a broadcast journalist with Peace FM.


Inaugurating the committee, the Chairman of the National Media Commission (NMC), Mr Kwasi Gyan-Apenteng, asked the members to demonstrate a high level of integrity and professionalism in the selection process.

He commended the members for their commitment to serve on the committee for the second time in a row.

“For a country to develop, there is the need for a group of people to dedicate themselves to undertake an impactful agenda just as you have demonstrated,” he said.

Touching on the theme for the award ceremony: “State of Investigative Journalism, Boundaries of Privacy and Borders of Public Interest”, Mr Gyan-Apenteng urged the media to continue to be front runners in the fight against corruption.


Dr Dartey, on behalf of the committee, thanked the GJA for entrusting them with the task of selecting winners of the awards, adding that “we will deal diligently and only reward quality”.

“We had just two weeks to deliver during last year’s award ceremony, so trust that we will even perform better with five weeks to discuss, select and agree on the best stories that deserve to be awarded,” she added.

She gave an assurance that the committee would approach its work with a high sense of integrity and dedication, saying the award scheme would continue to serve as a benchmark in quality journalism.

Touching on the impact of the awards on society, Dr Dartey said “the media has done an amazing job in bringing up issues. What is left is for the government to tackle with drastic actions in dealing with issues brought to light by the media”.

“Civil societies must also push the government to be proactive in ensuring that the appropriate implementation of laws and sanctions are done.

Stories will be made relevant when the necessary actions are taken to address issues raised,” she stressed.