You are here: HomeNews2010 11 04Article 196733

General News of Thursday, 4 November 2010

Source: myjoyonline

Changes at Electoral Commission: President appoints two

President John Evans Atta-Mills has appointed two persons to the Electoral Commission following the compulsory retirement of two members of the Commission.

Mrs. Rebecca Kabukie Adjalo, a Senior State Attorney at the Attorney-General’s department and Ministry of Justice and Ms. Sa-Adatu Maida, former Senior Project Consultant with the West Africa Network for Peace Building (WANEP) in Tamale are to replace Madam Eunice Akweley Roberts, an Educationist and Human Resource Practitioner and Nana Amba Eyiiba I, Efutuhemaa and Krontihemaa of the Oguaa Traditional Area as members, according to a statement issued by the presidency, signed by Mr. J.K. Bebaako-Mensah, Secretary to the President.

The seven-member Electoral Commission is officially charged with the conduct of all public elections in Ghana under the 1992 Constitution.

It is chaired by Dr. Kwadwo Afari-Gyan, who together with his two deputies; David Azey Adeenze-Kangah, and Kwadwo Sarfo-Kantanka, have been at post since 1993. The other members are Mrs. Paulina Adobea Dadzawa and Mr. Ebenezer Aggrey Fynn.