You are here: HomeNews2022 04 07Article 1509917

Editorial News of Thursday, 7 April 2022


Bagbin must declare absentee MPs seats vacant – Political Scientist

Sara Adwoa Safo, Member of Parliament for Dome Kwabenya Sara Adwoa Safo, Member of Parliament for Dome Kwabenya

A Political Scientist, Nii Amarh a has urged the Speaker of Parliament, Alban Bagbin to declare the seats of truant Members of Parliament vacant.

Speaking to Lily Mohammed on Starr Today Wednesday, Mr. Amartey indicated that it is unfortunate how the Minority wants to obstruct the process to get the absentee MPs sanctioned.

“Their seats should be declared vacant, I don’t think we should accept the excuses they are adopting to thwart the efforts of the Speaker, no, that should not be countenance.

“What is wrong. is wrong and it doesn’t matter who committed the wrong. If we are going to do things and look at individual faces then we will never do it. What Muntaka is doing is a tactics he is adopting just to safe the face of the individual. So that tomorrow when it is his turn and I hope not so they will also fight for him.”

He continued “I don’t think Speaker should even refer the case to the Privileges Committee, I think Speaker Bagbin should crack the whip with immediacy and declare those seat vacant, that is all I am saying.”


The former Kumbungu MP Kumbungu, Ras Mubarak in March petitioned the Speaker of Parliament to declare some four seats in the lawmaking chamber vacant.

“It has come to my notice through parliament’s Hansard, and newspaper and radio report that some four Members of Parliament, namely Hon. Sarah Adwoa Safo, MP for Dome-Kwabenya; Hon. Henry Quartey, MP for Ayawaso Central; Hon. Ebenezer Kojo Kum, MP for Ahanta West; and Hon. Ken Ohene Agyapong, MP for Assin Central have all absented themselves from Parliament for more than fifteen sittings of a meeting of Parliament without the permission of Mr. Speaker in writing.

“In view of this reported breach of the constitutional provision, I respectfully petition your high office to direct for their conduct to be referred to the Privileges Committee for consideration and necessary action,” he disclosed in the petition.

Acting on the petition, the Speaker of Parliament on Tuesday April 5, 2022 referred three Members of Parliament on the Majority side to the Privileges Committee for absenting themselves for more than 15 days without permission.

Dome Kwabenya MP Sara Adwoa Safo, Ayawaso West MP and Greater Accra Regional Minister Henry Quartey and Assin Central MP Kennedy Agyapong will have to provide a convincing explanation to the Privileges Committee chaired by first Deputy Speaker, Joseph Osei-Owusu in order to keep their jobs as MPs.

The move, however, has been resisted by the Minority side of the House.

Responding to the Minority on Morning Starr Wednesday, Mr. Mubarak said the Minority cannot say they are unaware of the truant MPs in the House and the sanctions that should apply.

“That is worrying and disgraceful posture of the Minority. Because the leadership has hinted that no member of the Minority will support the petition and the referral and I find that as most unfortunate.

“We all know that breaches have occasioned and people have violated the Constitution and they the Minority Leader and the Chief Whip having taken the oath of office and to protect the Constitution should be at the forefront of righting the wrong,” he stated.

He continued “So there have been an issue in the public and you take zero interest as the official opposition party in Parliament. Issue of public and breach of the Constitution you’ve taken zero interest in defending the Constitution.”