You are here: HomeNews2017 10 19Article 592247

General News of Thursday, 19 October 2017


9-member commission to oversee creation of new regions inaugurated

Government has set in motion a process to create six more regions out of the current 10 Government has set in motion a process to create six more regions out of the current 10

President Nana Akufo-Addo has inaugurated a nine-member Commission of Inquiry to see to the creation of at least five new regions.

The Commission would be chaired by a retired Supreme Court judge, Justice S. A. Brobbey The country currently has 10 regions with the Greater Accra being the capital.

The Commission of Inquiry are expected to tour the country especially the Volta, Brong Ahafo, Northern and Western regions to gather the necessary information for the landmark exercise.

The Council of State in August this year okayed the decision to create six more regions as proposed by the government, paving the way for the establishment of a Commission of Inquiry to also take up the issue by examining the petitions on the matter.

Other members of the Commission are inaugurated on Thursday are: Dr. Grace Bediako, former Government Statistician; Maulvi Mohammed Bin-Salih, AMEER, Missionary in-charge, Ahmadiyya Muslim Mission in Ghana; Prof. Kwasi Kwafo Adarkwa, former Vice Chancellor, KNUST; and Ms. Gladys Gillian Naadu Tetteh, a local government expert.

The rest are: Mr. Robert Ajene, retired Director of Education; Dr. David Wellington Essaw, Senior Research Fellow, University of Cape Coast; Prof. George Owusu, Institute of Statistical, Social & Economic Research, (ISSER)/Director, Centre for Urban Management Studies, University of Ghana; and Ms. Josephine Hughes, legal practitioner.

Join our Newsletter