You are here: HomeSportsSoccer2014 06 29Article 314777

Stars Rob Ghana to Pay Brazil

Read Comments Comments (52)

• Whatever 9 years ago

We threw caution to the wind and loved dollars

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

If Mahama, Afriyie Ankra and Yamin are in control what do you expect? total dissaster

• akonoba 9 years ago

Mahama is a joker.What a Mahama we have. This Bole Mahama is a joker=clueless=confuse=calamitous. In this day and age you defend clear violation of our own laws by BOG???????? Your counterpart President in Brazil, a woman is ...

• zak 9 years ago

morality is a basic requirement, however,the current crop of leaders lacks morals. how could our leaders assist to perpetuate such illegality. pres. mahama pls, advice yourself b/4 it is too late. your government has breaded ...

• esi atta 9 years ago

The Brazilian government must increase the tax to 50%! Education by negative experience! They would have learned the hard way next time!

• Annoited One!! USA 9 years ago

Why is every one surprised!! This to be expected. Very Ashanti, Money stealing, Corrupt thinking!! What is Money? They crying for peanuts when they could have reaped even millions with the final appearance!!! Shame, Sham ...

• blackstar camp amatuerish 9 years ago

Kevin Prince Boateng has called the entire Black Stars World Cup campaign in Brazil "amateurish" in his first full interview since being sent home from the tournament.

In a no holds barred interview with German news outlet ...

• PEE 9 years ago

BUNCH OF USELESS BOARDS, LEADERSHIP, GFA, MINISTERS THIEVES GHANA HAVE A LOT TO LEARN. LEARN FROM COLUMBIAN DISPLINE FOOTBALL MENTALITY NOT SLAVE MENTALITY. BUNCH OF THIEVES CORRUPT LEADERS NO WONDER GHANA DOESN'T HAVE AN AIR ...

• PEE 9 years ago

WILL BE SURPRISE EVEN AFTER THE TX THESE PLAYERS CANNOT MOVE THESE MONEY OUT OF BRAZIL. THERE IS ALWAYS A LIMIT OF 5-10K

• Ghfuo, What Is Your Purpose/Legacy? 9 years ago

Had they waited to get back to gh. They would have banked more of this money. There was too much indiscipline a dog brouhaha in camp..so sensing a possible chance of the President not giving them(players, gfa mafia) their bon ...

• Ghfuo, 30seconds WC DISGRACE!! 9 years ago

Really?

• Amega 9 years ago

Even after tax deductions, not all the monies will be allowed out of Brazil. They should watch out.

• PEE 9 years ago

USELESS TO USE OVERSEAS TALENT WATCH THE COLUMBIANS PLAY AND THAT TELLS IT ALL IF THE GOVERNMENT OF GHANA WILL PUT CORRUPTION, GREED ASIDE AND FOCUS ON REAL TEAM BUILDING.

• PEE 9 years ago

HOW WILL GOVERNMENT BREACH IT OWN LAWS BY CARRYING MONEY FROM GHANA TO OVERSEAS REGARDLESS OF THE LAWS OF THE LAND FOR EVERYONE. IS THERE A DIFFERENT LAWS FOR THE GOVERNMENT AND DIFFERENT LAWS FOR THE PEOPLE? GHANA AND AFRI ...

• Onipaba 9 years ago

Mahama is a shame!!!

• $$$$$$ 9 years ago

Ghana need a new team this GFA and the puppet kwesi apps and also some of the players are corrupted taking secret bribes and thinking that all GHANAIANS are ignorant it's very painful knowing that OUR football team and the w ...

This is what happens when fools think they are smart. They know how to break open the safe, but not how to close it...lol the truth will soon come out and heads will roll like car tyre

• GFA IS SHIT 9 years ago

Bro, you just hit it out of the park. I could not stop laughing, but then, it is a fact. God save us.

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 9 years ago

I learnt about this taxation episode by the Brazilians authorities on Friday which wasn't a surprise to me. First of all, Mr. Mahama and his governemt are so fools to move ($3 million)in cash to a foreign country to pay its c ...

• DAVID AMOAH 9 years ago

I do not blame the Black Star Players because they are all NAIVE and uneducated with difficulty to apply their natural knowledge except how to play football.
    Playing football for Ghana at the world stage is an ambassadorial ...

• onetribe 9 years ago

The black Stars were fighting on a point of principle. They will probably donate most of the money to charity anyway. Most of them earn more in a week than the money they got. It is just insulting to them to be taken for gran ...

• eddie 9 years ago

naivety in the highest order,you see these players have been in Europe for several years yet they do not learn from the European footballers. now they are complaining about payment of 17% taxes to Brazilian govt. since most ...

• YO YP 9 years ago

But your politicians were educated in Europe and America but they didn't learn anything their politician counterparts. Your leaders are educated and look at how they behave too. As a leader you need to put your foot down. The ...

• he 9 years ago

Lack of education to black stars players and offices

• Kwame 9 years ago

Blame the greedy corrupt officials including the Mumu coach. FIFA provides 8million dollars to each team for the group stage. It is not the Ghana gov't money. It is not for balancing their budget. In any case, did it occur to ...

• NO CALCULATIONS FIRST? 9 years ago

so the money was even closer to 4 million than 3 million? add the charter fees, landing fees, security fees and the ground transportation fees.
    4 million, easy.

• Noble 9 years ago

Ghanaians most pple are ingorant and don't know what was going on with the players apparence fees. this money they didn't rob ghana for nothing. this is money due to the players by fifa regulations. fifa gave each qualified c ...

• kbb 9 years ago

Correction. Fifa had not paid the money at yjr time of the revolt.

• S>L>Y> 9 years ago

all officials involved have to be impeached for breaking local and international law. There is no special situations in this matter.

They orchestrated this whole thing just so they can have free money to chill with in brasil. Now, the players are passed and it has all gone downhill. Now, brasil want tnekr tax. Stupid ghppl govt. Clakm ur tax when the playe ...

• Mann 9 years ago

I am sad that AFRICANS we don't grow from our PRESIDENT to last BABY, even the educated ones play childish than uneducated we can not manage our affairs only few who are honest and to get them together is not easy.

He played poor so kwarasay will look bad and be replaced by dauda. Boye is just a useless defender. When dauda took over, boye still played bad. Waa look! USELESS is useless no matter where you are!

• Ghfuo, 30seconds WC DISGRACE!! 9 years ago

Talk is cheap, haba!

• charles 9 years ago

Afriyie and GFA boss are incompetent . They should have known better that the said practice exist

• Yaw Adu-Asare 9 years ago

The world is witnessing an example of how Ghanaians do some things backwardly.

The money paid to Brazil could pay for part of school feeding program in Ghana.

• baba maduogu 9 years ago

it should be more than 17% , , time it will be 50%

• appiah 9 years ago

Was the government of Ghana drunk when it carried physical cash of that magnitude into another country. Don't they have laws in Ghana about how much money can be shipped in or out at a particular time.

• HIM 9 years ago

Declaration of Monies/Currencies at airports is not handled by immigration but customs-

Stop using the word immigration for customs

• kwam 9 years ago

Not surprise at our stupidity to the highest degree, was the gov't not aware of the tax? 17,000 dollars from each player could have done a lot for us in Ghana. this shows how myopic our leaders are.

• JON, USA 9 years ago

I think you are attacking the govt blindly, these fools were given the option of the money being paid into their accounts in Ghana or have their relatives receive it on their behalf but they refused both offers,so who is bein ...

• JON, USA 9 years ago

It serves them right. They would have been making noise at the top of their voices if government had demanded that tax from their money.Next time round they must be made to pay tax to the govt and documents must be signed to ...

• Original Ghanaba 9 years ago

FROM PRESIDENT MAHAMA.....ROTTEN, ROTTEN..
    GOD HELP GHANA.

• chingo 9 years ago

couldn't the stupid officials and so-called experts advise the guys on how things work??

• Greta 9 years ago

Fools can never give good advice

• Awurade kasa 9 years ago

Who are the experts?. The Coach, Nyantakyi or the Minister and his Deputy?.
    They are SCUMBAGS if you don't know. They are second to your president.

• patrick 9 years ago

the stars deserve it they love money than their country with whole lot of money they are making here and there they cant wait to be paid back home out of gov tax despite it go back to corrupt officials now they should pay mor ...

• PepperJ 9 years ago

BLAME THE GFA, THE SPORTS MINISTER AND THE GOVT NOT THE PLAYERS!!

• Nancy 9 years ago

Why do we always blame the victim?? Pointing the finger away from where it needs to, & should have been pointed in the first place. Had the authorities, be it, government of Ghana, GFA or whomsoever, paid the appearance fees ...

• Akoh 9 years ago

It was all aluta, cash or we no go play. They wouldn't hear anything else. Now it's their loss. Unpatriotic brats -- they held a gun to the head of Ghana and Ghanaians. Not even hired mercenaries would have done this.

• yussif junior 9 years ago

shame mahama
    shame kwasi appiah
    shame black starts.
    u wil alwys los NDC.

• Papa Dey 9 years ago

The whole chaos was the corrupt officials.The players felt that if they dont pay them before they leave Brazil they will never be paid.Now Brazil is not like Ghana whereby one can pay his or her way out.Why cash in the first ...

• Awurade kasa 9 years ago

110% ILLITERACY and ILLITERACY GOES WITH IGNORANCE.
    WITH THE HELP OF THE PRESIDENT, THE QUIET BUT STUPID COACH AND THE GFA, THEY PREFERED TO DONATE TO THE GOVT OF BRAZIL INSTEAD OF THE ORPHANS IN THEIR VILLAGES.
    SHAME ON TH ...