Soccer News of Wednesday, 14 May 2014

Source: Sammy Heywood Okine

Supersport to reward SWAG Premiership Player of the Year

Leading television company Supersport which has viewership allover Africa will on Saturday reward the best player in the local Premiership at the 39th MTN SWAG Awards Night to be held at the Banquet Hall of the State House.

Three players are in hot contention for this Award and the names released at the last SWAG meeting were that of Hasaacas' Goalkeeper John Owu, Abeiku Ainooson of Asante Kotoko and Augustine Okrah of Bechem FC.

Okrah who has won most Best Player Awards in the league is most likely to snatch the reward, depending on the votes he would receive from the general public and SWAG members.

The SWAG Awards Night is the grand occasion that all sports people in Ghana await for to crown the best heroes and personalities of a particular season. For the 39th Awards, James Kwesi Appiah, Asamoah Gyan and Juliana Arkoh are in the forefront for the Top Award, whilst Kwadwo Asamoah, Sulley Ali Muntari and the Black Stars skipper Asamoah Gyan are contending for the SWAG Footballer of the Year.

The event will see over 25 people and institutions being rewarded. According to the SWAG President Ackah Anthony formerly of the Graphic Sports, this year's ceremony is to honour the Black Stars for qualifying to the FIFA World Cup for the third time and this time being led by a local coach, He said the event would be graced by the Brazilian Ambassador to Ghana.