Display options Mobile website

Politics of Tuesday, 17 December 2013

Source: Daily Guide

No show in 15 constituencies in BA

Fifteen out of 29 constituencies in the Brong Ahafo Region failed to take part in the party’s congress over the weekend meant to elect officers of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) due to various reasons.

The Brong Ahafo Regional Secretary of the NPP, Alfred Ofori Annye, told DAILY GUIDE that the elections were held in 14 constituencies in the region.

According to him, elections in three constituencies, namely Sunyani East, Pru West and the Atebubu-Amanten were not held because of court orders.

Others such as Berekum East and West, Tano South, Tain, Banda, Techiman North and South, Nkoranza North and South and the Kintampo South also failed to hold elections due to incomplete album of delegates and financial difficulties, he said.

Mr. Annye further mentioned that elections would be held in some of the affected constituencies in the course of the week depending on the availability of resources and preparedness of the various constituencies.

Meanwhile, reports reaching DAILY GUIDE indicates that 14 constituencies conducted peaceful elections.

In the Tano North Constituency, security personnel at Duayaw Nkwanta had a hectic time controlling disgruntled party supporters, whose preferred candidates were disqualified from taking part in the elections.

But for the timely intervention of the Member of Parliament (MP) for the area, Freda Prempeh, the constituency election would have been disrupted by the disgruntled party members.

The disqualification of the two leading candidates namely, Osei Boateng, Constituency Chairman aspirant and Silas Adjei-Mensah, Constituency Organiser aspirant, nearly created chaos at the venue.

After the election, Ankama Gabriel beat two contenders namely George Ofori Adu and Samuel Nyantakyi Fosu to become the new Tano North Constituency Secretary.

Emmanuel Adu Poku also defeated Jacob Kwame Adjapong to win the constituency youth organiser position, while Francis Kwame Owusu was also elected as the new treasurer beating Joseph Kwabena Gyau and Owuahene Acheampong.

Meanwhile, the incumbent Constituency Chairman, Nana Afodour Bonsu, the First Vice Chiarman, Maxwell Adu Adjei, Second Vice Chairman, Bernard Amoakoatta, Women’s Organiser, Ruth Fosua and Constituency Organiser, Kwame Akufo were elected unopposed.

This article has 3 comments, give your comment