You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2013 01 08Article 261463

Bawumia to lead NPP?

Read Comments Comments (85)

• moyo 11 years ago

No notherner will ever lead NPP come what may. NPP is an Akam Party and the Presidential candidate must be a member of a Royal family. Nothing more

• Kojo T 11 years ago

So this is an aggregation of tribalists. We cannot run awayfrom that Akadu please read the history. So in modern day Ghana where Nation building is a priority where do tribalists fit in. What ideology do they have NONE except ...

• SAMPSON MADIBA - IRELAND 11 years ago

Mumuni as first Deputy Speaker, Alhassan Azong, second deputy speaker, Dr Benjamin Kunbuor, Majority Leader, Mohammed Muntaka Mubarak, Majority Whip, Hajia Mary Boforo, first deputy Majority Whip, all northerners, with deputy ...

• Asare-kumasi 11 years ago

YES YOU ARE RIGHT BUT WE WILL USE OUR COMMON SENSE TO BEAT THEIR RACIAL ACTS

• KOJO 11 years ago

GO TO AMERICA,GERMANY, FRANCE; UK ALL THESE RACIAL GENT PARTIES ARE DYING SLOWLY:

• Game Over - Paradigm Shift Now 11 years ago

Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia leading the party and Prof Michael Ocquaye as chairman would be a promising start, but the real question is - how does the party make progress in these regions where the results are as follows?

Northe ...

• Kwaku 11 years ago

Imposible

• Nina Ashanti lady 11 years ago

NPP behaviour is more than debarring other tribes from joining their party. Those tribalistic insults can push even those sensible Akans away from their party. They need to be educated and refrain from their partisan attitude ...

• norvisi 11 years ago

really Mumuni first deputy speaker ?Odoro from cape coast is and second deputy Gartey from Tdi!

• MUGU YARO 11 years ago

you are an idiot. everybody knows that you are not an akan.

• BEAUTIFUL NORTH 11 years ago

Who says there are no royal families in the north? Who says only Akans have royals? Continue making yourself a lamb and you automatically make them lions.

• Mr. Kelvin Kanga 11 years ago

Don't forget that, in the just ended elections, Mr. Bawumia's performance in the three northern regions is abysmal. He couldn't convince his own people to vote for the NPP party. There would be series of challenges facing Mr. ...

• EZEKIEL 11 years ago

KEEP ON DREAMING! If wishes had wings, elephants COULD fly! Hah ahahahahahahahaha

• norvisi 11 years ago

hmmm he did well , NPP won 10 seats in parliament in the northern region!

• Ghanaian in Rome 11 years ago

That is the very reason why the party soon will have problems as Ghanaians are becoming critical. Since tribalism is in your blood, the other tribes will have to use it on you. I think it will be a fair play.

• Klovi 11 years ago

IF NO NORTHERNER TO LEAD NPP THEN YOU HAVE A LONG WAY TO GO. AMEN

• norvisi 11 years ago

we would see , at the appropriate time you even beg for one and would not get it !

• Yaw O. Adutwum PhD 11 years ago

The comparison between BNP and NPP is ridiculous since the author stated that BNP doesn't allow non-whites to join. NPP does not prohibit non-akans from joining. The author deceptively makes a case for Bawumiah while lambast ...

• william 11 years ago

Interesting and instructive write-up.Pointer to future NPP reforms, Waiting for sequel. Thanks.

• Nii 11 years ago

You seem to have some interesting historical facts, but your attempt to narrow the argument by comparing the NPP to the British National Party(BNP)is not fair. The NPP does not debar any Ghanaian from joining the party and vy ...

• Pito Brewer 11 years ago

Advice to Bawumia -- please stop dreaming. Unless you can become an Asante by some devine intervention, quit thinking about this and live your life in peace. Kyeremateng will lead the NPP into the next election. It's a no-bra ...

• william 11 years ago

Another interesting one for the discussion. The future of our democracy will also be determined by how strong our political parties are in national character, gender balance, youth mentoring and general capacity-building, fai ...

• Kwesi Agbenu 11 years ago

he quote hereunder is interesting.
    ''Since the days of the United Party (UP) in the 1950's the leadership of the Danquah-Dombo-Busia Tradition has never gone outside the Akan area of Ghana. Northerners and other minority eth ...

• william 11 years ago

I get your point. What you point out is how the NDC can improve! But the point Haruna was making was to compare. When you compare what you see is a more national chatacter for NDC over and above all other parties put together ...

• JH Mensah 11 years ago

You have a nice story but the timing is wrong as we are in court trying to seek redress and justices. Pls try and talk about that one.

• Idris 11 years ago

I am not sure if this is the real JH Mensah who was Dr. Busia's Finance Minister or an impostor or just another Ghanaian with the same name. In any case, even the real JH Mensah will admit that Dr. Busia would not recognize ...

• SABEE-POLITICAL ENVANGELIST 11 years ago

LET IT BE KNOW THAT PRIDE AS A RESULT OF OUR EGO MAKES US FEEL SELFISHLY IMPORTANT TO ALLOW HUMILY TO SETTLE IN FOR PEACE AND GODLINESS TO PREVAIL. IT IS A DEVICE OF THE DEVIL-WHEN ALL 8 REGIONS IN GHANA HAVE SPOKEN AND ONLY ...

• Akadu Mensema 11 years ago

Even if God were to lead the NPP, some tribes would prefer Hell!

• Bomfaboy 11 years ago

I expected better than this from Akaadu. It may be true what you said but don't give an opportunity for JSS thinkers like the writer to have a field day. This article is so absurd it cannot even pass a JSS history test. And t ...

Yours is as elementary as mine as well as that of the author: they are all opinions!

• srome 11 years ago

Hello Mr. Bomfaboy, where is your rebuttal, rediculing a writer does not project any serirousness on your part, the article is true historical facts, if Dambo had shown some courage, maybe the reality might have been differen ...

• basoah george 11 years ago

Ha ha ha!,and you think you are better than the writer?

• joey london! 11 years ago

Not even kweku Duah will vote for npp!finito..

• Princewilly@Ymail.com 11 years ago

An old woman is riding in an elevator in a very lavish New York City building when a young, beautiful woman gets into the elevator, smelling of expensive perfume. She turns to the old woman and says arrogantly, "Romance" by R ...

• AU 11 years ago

you made my day

• basoah george 11 years ago

"Even if God were to lead the NPP, some tribes would prefer Hell"

An old woman is riding in an elevator in a very lavish New York City building when a young, beautiful woman gets into the elevator, smelling of expensive pe ...

• thomas 11 years ago

i think it is a blasphemy for any one to venture to reduce God to the place of man.
    logically, why God here?
    i suppose u still have not appreciated the sanctity and sacrosanct, the "unblemishness" of God.
    WHY GOD IN THIS ...

• Yaw Adu 11 years ago

Some of you talk without thinking! Have you heard of the name Kwesi Nyame? Does it mean he is God?

• SHADY BLUE niagara falls, ontario 11 years ago

LETS WAIT FOR THE SUPREME COURT TO MAKE A DECISION ON THE MAHAMA LOW BLOWS

ALAN SHOULD TAKE OVER. GET A FEMALE A VEEP. BAWUMIA WILL BE FINANCE MINISTER IF NPP WINS

• meh 11 years ago

The BNP and NPP comparison is not a fair one, for at least the BNP let *all* white people join their stupid party, the thought of just any black person -excluding Asanteman of course- joining the NPP must be too stressful for ...

• SAGOE 11 years ago

IT WAS INITIALLY CALLED DANQUAH-DOMBO-BUSIA,RIGHT? .SO THEY HAVE METHODICALLY REMOVED OR RELEGATED DOMBO TO THE BACKGROUND & HAS BEEN KNOWN ALL THESE YEARS AS DANQUAH/BUSIA ONLY. . THAT ALONE SENDS A MESSAGE TO THE NORTHERNER ...

• mable. 11 years ago

you ar the best journalist of my time ,your infor is the gospel truth and noting by the truth amen.

• Pumpuni 11 years ago

".....trained Journalist and a former NPP Secretary for Bole-Bamboi..."
    Traitor, Traitor, Traitor!!! Hypocrite, Hypocrite, Hypocrite!!!
    You knew all these "negatives" about the NPP and you still went ahead and contested for ...

• Issah 11 years ago

Prior to the 2008 election, Bawumia was not a card bearing member of the NPP if am not mistaking. Besides that, he is not a seasoned politician, with virtually little political experience. He cannot stand toe-to-toe with JM. ...

• AGOO 11 years ago

BOTH OF YOU THE WRITER; MAHAMA HARUNA-A JOURNALIST AND BAWUMIA ARE HYPOCRATES OR IGNORANMI.
    YOU MAHAMA HARUNA WAS ONCE AN NPP SECRETARY WITH ALL THESE FACTS IN YOUR COCONUT WHILST BAWUMIA (DR) OUT OF IGNORANCE OR IS IT GREE ...

• Pumpuni 11 years ago

Who made you a Spokesperson for Dr. Bawumia?
    You are an ethnocentric cry baby seeking attention through the electronic media by virtue of your being a "trained journalist".
    You will surely fail just like the others before ...

• Kofi Amankwaa London 11 years ago

This is obviously a demented "journalist" to even contemplate an analogy between the NPP and BNP. Haruna is very clearly ignorant and has no understanding of the history or the politics of the BNP. All seeks to do is to rehea ...

• Akan Born 11 years ago

Lst all the Akans team up as the Ewes have done these last 20 years and vote emblock for one party - the Akan People's Party. I bet whoever becomes the party leader of the APP would be of no significance in such a situation. ...

• Pumpuni 11 years ago

@ Akan Born. " Asem beba dabi!!!"

• Kwaku 11 years ago

We're not only going to vote emblock we will bring the people of Kabille from northern Togo to train us on how to manhandle these Ewes just like how Eyadema's family is treating their brothers and sisters like animals in Togo ...

• Asiedu Nketia 11 years ago

This is the same Haruna who some months ago took to the Elephant Patriot Forum to chronicle his role with the NPP and how he stood against John Mahama who he claimed is a relative. His narrative of his ordeal for standing tal ...

Aha you met your match!

• big 11 years ago

yes a good debator plus excellent command for micro and macro economics will be key at the primary and national levels.

• ADAMA 11 years ago

ANOTHER NDC FOOLISH NEWS

• Kwesi Prempeh 11 years ago

Bawumia, et la can lead!

• KOO-SWISS 11 years ago

bawumia? 36.70% will be his first class upper, never try him he is hollow as hollow block.
    from the look of things ,the way akuffu Addo has ruin npp , they need the calliber of Addo k4, the likes of richard annane, those ...

• okukuseku 11 years ago

What were the reasons why NPP was chritened DANQUAH -BUSIA tradition until most recently? DOMBO was left out becaquse the Asantes and Akyems wanted it so. They are no doubt reaping what Posterity has in store for them.

• MANU 11 years ago

Bawamia is joking. Our party will never be led by Bawumia or anyone from the north. Ah what an insult.

• Kwaku 11 years ago

The NPP is Ashante Akyem party so any other tribe following them is wasting his time.

• AU 11 years ago

bawamia was used to get the northerners votes, just like Aliu was used and dumped by the akan-npp

• Mr. Kelvin Kanga 11 years ago

Don't forget that, in the just ended elections, Mr. Bawumia's performance in the northern regions is abysmal. He couldn't convince his own people to vote for the NPP party. There would be series of challenges facing Mr. Bawum ...

• truth 11 years ago

if you are not an Akan forget it, it will never never happen

• OPARE 11 years ago

BAWUMIA LOST IN HOME CONSTITUENCY

• OMAN 11 years ago

FREE SHS IS 419, SAKAWA .REJECTED

• PATRIOT 11 years ago

CAPUT

• TRUE 11 years ago

Pro,Busiah was against Brongs when our chief want to seperate Brongs from ashanti region,that is the reason Techiman and Dormaa are still against npp,Nana Akumfi Ameyaw of Techiman and Nana Agyemang badu from Dormaa fought ha ...

• Banga na Soko 11 years ago

If Bawumia leeds Npp the party will collapse because all his household are Ndcs. The mpepefo is just making IRRELEVANT suggestions. What was Ayeriga's percentage in recent presidential election? Politics is not about THIS ON ...

''Since the days of the United Party (UP) in the 1950's the leadership of the Danquah-Dombo-Busia Tradition has never gone outside the Akan area of Ghana. Northerners and other minority ethnic groups like the Ewes and the Gas ...

The quote hereunder is interesting.
    ''Since the days of the United Party (UP) in the 1950's the leadership of the Danquah-Dombo-Busia Tradition has never gone outside the Akan area of Ghana. Northerners and other minority et ...

• A Richard. 11 years ago

Please Mr Haruna we do not want any division in the NPP Party again. Ghannians have done enough loyalty to the people of the North. Ghana have experience leaders from the North with President Liman and now President Mahama, ...

• KOFI 11 years ago

U WISH,BUT THIS TYM AROND IT WILL CHANGE AS BAWUMIA

• PATRIOT 2016 11 years ago

WIN ALL DE WAY

• Akora Oteng 11 years ago

Do northerners think they have to be leaders of Parties b4 they have to vote for it? How dare they? Why do they suddenly think they are better than the majority when infact they should be grateful to the others for NOT being ...

• mojingles 11 years ago

Akora, you are a dumb idiot; your rantings against northerners are misplaced and grossly exaggerated...northerners are inward looking? Free education for northerners? Big deal....what about southerners manipulating scholarshi ...

• TK 11 years ago

Get your facts well, Busia is from Brong Ahafo. Bono man to be precise

• Nana Bawuah 11 years ago

Kofi Abefra Busia was a royal of Wenchi. Yes, he was a Bono man, but like most parts of Bono-Ahafo (formerly Western Asante), Wenchi is part of Asanteman. To be precise, Wenchi is in the Akwamu division of Asante. I dont know ...

• Okponglo Guy 11 years ago

The NPP must actively promote minority leadership. The opposition has succeeded in defining it as an Akan party. The NPP could have done likewise by defining the NDC as an Ewe party.

• TK 11 years ago

Akans are the majority in Ghana and so most Presidents will be Akans. It is just common sense. Kwame Nkrumah, Busia,JAK and Atta Mills Are all Akans, if you care to know. Only JJ, Liman and Mahama are not Akans.

• Abodraku Peace 11 years ago

I will love to see Dr Bawumia leading our great party. Afable, brilliant,good public speaker,good leadership quality and above all an exceptional economist. Dr. you deserve to lead NPP.He is our man for 2016 else skirt and bl ...

• thomas 11 years ago

i want to understand the writer is also not trying to be tribalism.though there seems to to be some logic in the writer's view, his view lack intellectual honesty and factual assessment of issue of tribal genes that seem to w ...

• Paa Kodwo 11 years ago

BAWUMIA IS A DISGRACED POLITICIAN.

HE MUST FIRST FIND A JOB AT THE PRIVATE SECTOR OR AS A TEACHER AT ONE OF THE SECONDARY SCHOOLS IN THE COUNTRY,BEFORE
    THINKING OF HIS NOMINATION AS LEADER OF THE NPP.

THIS ENTAILS A L ...

• K mens 11 years ago

Can you also say that the ndc is fast growing as an ewe northern party. Please lets stop these ethnic writings. Everywhere in the world parties have their strong holds n there is nothing wrong about it.

• Diboriyum 11 years ago

Bravo, bravo, bravo Mr. Mahama, this is all I have been talking of. indeed that was a serious mistake our forefathers made, and indeed the Leaders of Npp will have to take a deep breath on the truth of the party's origin wi ...

• Paul Amuna 11 years ago

Having watched his abysmal performance, first in his extremely poor economic analysis in the Danquah Memorial lecture of 2012 and more recently, I am of the opinion that his choice as NPP running mate in election 2012 was unw ...

• Mahmoud 11 years ago

Amuna, Dagatis are latrine carriers and therefore can not rule.