You are here: HomeNewsDiaspora2017 05 19Article 539305

Ghanaian asylum seeker wins case to stay in Canada

Read Comments Comments (60)

• arkaah kofi 6 years ago

Ghanaians n telling lies to seek asylum.

• Nana Malik 6 years ago

Very sad that sons and daughters of africa have to go through all this just to escape the harsh conditions back home on the motherland.Hes lost his fingers and telling lies just to be allowed to stay in Canada.

• ST. GHFUO, BLACK EXCELLENCE! 6 years ago

GOD HELP THIS MAN AND OTHERS SO THEY CAN CONCOCT TRUTHFUL LIES AND BE WELCOMED, AMEN...SIMPLY BCOS THE TRUTH WILL NOT GET YOU ANYWHERE. SAVE THE TRUTH FOR YOURSELF AND YOUR GOD/CREATOR. HUMANS ARE TOO STUPID TO NOW THE TRUTH. ...

• black powers the grand master 6 years ago

black Indian Ghanaian professor in science divine
    master of the night grand master spiritualist0244908520 in Ghana call; for black magic rituals money
    protection joining o cultism secret society like Freemason money po ...

• efo 6 years ago

Thus it worth with your disfigurement. What is wrong with black man, the things we are doing to our self, because of sky scrapers and concretes. We have the best environment in this world than any where.

• Gee 6 years ago

I dey shock for am sef

• Bobo 6 years ago

Lol. Nigga is happier to lost his fingers and get a stay than to have it and return. Hmm

• AK 6 years ago

It's lie, he regrets it so much. He doesn't have any option that's why he's bragging. How would u expect ur father who's a devout Muslim to be happy with u as a gay. However, I don't think the father disowned him bcos he's a ...

• T and T 6 years ago

every single person in Ghana would leave if they had the opportunity to do so. Ghana is a country with primitive culture and it does not change, they do things the same way their ancestors used to do hundreds of years ago. Tw ...

• efo 6 years ago

You too can make a change starting with backward family, Idiot.

I WILL LIE TO GET AWAY FROM POVERTY THAN TO SPEAK THE TRUTH N BE STUCK IN POVERTY FOREVER N EVER...KWASIAKWA..IM SURE THIS GUY'S COLLEAGUES WHO ARE STUCK IN GH ARE NOW THINKING TWICE. DO U KNOW THE BENEFITS ACCORDED TO DISABL ...

• PRDAK 6 years ago

Really seidu? You're smart man.. I thought there's no gay in the Muslim community! Calling Christians gays.. shame on you guys. You're hypocrites.

• T and T 6 years ago

Ghana needs to modernize their culture to put the country on the path to progress.
    Expensive funerals, chieftaincy, arrogance, superstition, spiritism, one man churches, prayer camps are all obstacles in our way to progress ...

• Gee 6 years ago

Ghana is not going to modernise it culture for gayism if that's what you are asking for scumbag. Ghanaians are striaght and we'll forever be striaght, take your gayism somewhere else.

U DNT HAVE TO MAKE GAYS N LESBIANS LEGAL BUT THEY MUST BE EMBRACED AND CELEBRATED. WE NEED GAY TOWNS IN MAJOR CITIES LIKE ACCRA ETC. THERE ARE SO MANY PROBLEMS AFFECTING THE NATION YET SOME FOOLS LOVE TO FOCUS ON GAYS N LESBI ...

• kojo-NDC 6 years ago

Ghana will be more sweeter than Canada when John Mahama returns in 2020.
    Then we will call Ghana a home.
    You lose your hands and you calling Canada a home.

• Danso TDOT 6 years ago

Well, it was John Mahama's bad policies that led this able bodied man to escaped the harsh socio-economic conditions in Ghana under the stupid guise of being gay.

• Joe Lartey 6 years ago

Nonsenses,because of this,you have to risk your life to the extent of losing your limbs ? we have to start reasoning,where Ghanaians are walking and doing today,just to become a Borger ,very horrible

• Bash 6 years ago

everything about this story is assalum seeking story. no Muslim gay in GH. no Christian gay Ghana. this is lies to survive. God have mercy there thousands of them who are also in the same page. cuz that's the only easirs wa ...

• J J 6 years ago

What has he done will be regretful he will surely miss Ghana,

• Bobo 6 years ago

So please so pleased at least a decent life.

• Ali, Toronto 6 years ago

How sad, you call his situation a "decent life"? When he can't even wipe/clean himself when he attends toilet? At what cost? Seeking a greener pasture does not mean Ghana is a hellhole. I would rather remain in Ghana a well a ...

U SAY U LIVE IN TORONTO BUT U ARE VERY NAIVE.I KNOW PPL WHO LIVE IN TORONTO WHO HAVE PURPOSELY MAIMED THEMSELVES SO THEY CAN QUALIFY AS DISABLED AND ENJOY THE MANY BENEFITS THAT COME WITH BEING A DISABLED PERSON IN CANADA. FO ...

• The Man 6 years ago

What is decent about living in a racist police state like Canada as a black man?

• john mahama 6 years ago

A fool that he is

• peeee 6 years ago

So the choice was living in fear in USA whole or living in Canada limbless and free,hmmm

• Koo 6 years ago

Losing fingers just to live in freezing temperatures in Manitoba? He will regret this !

• Ekow Samuel. 6 years ago

Since you know that the ghana nation dose not go with the gay homosexsaul then you have to bear it,so when ever to be intravel, it is no need that you have to practics that if and even some of those group are being go with yo ...

• KM 6 years ago

Massa Seidu, your head soup(wutri Nkwa/i). The only problem is after its all said and done there will be eyes watching you in terms of who gonna marry and chop. Abi you be gay, so who will you choose to kiss and chop?

• Kofi 6 years ago

Ah! GHANA

• Avor 6 years ago

There is really nothing in these so called better countries. No one is torturing gays in Ghana. We live happily in our country. Life is good in Ghana. Why must one loose his fingers because you want to go to a country for a b ...

• Tawiah 6 years ago

At what cost will people go on maligning Ghana just to stay outside their own country's shores as serfs for other people?

• KOOMSON 6 years ago

CHRISTIANS ARE GOD FEARING PEOPLE THAT IS WHY THEY ALWAYS HELP PEOPLE IN NEED.MUSLIMS SHOULD TRY AND SEEK REFUGE IN SAUDI OR KUWAIT AND LIVE UNDER THEIR COMFORTABLE SHARIAH LAW....

• Dickson 6 years ago

You wanted to stay abroad, just look at yourself, your arm disfigured. What football can you play. Idiot

• Ozi Ozaa 6 years ago

Too bad that Mohamed failed to make it an obligation for every Muslim to to migrate and live in Saudi Arabia. See how they will do anything possible just to live in Christian lands this tells you there is something good about ...

You are so ignorant! This is not about religion. Canada is not a "Christian" country - it is a SECULAR country. The same goes for the other Western countries including Italy the home of the Pope. Even Israel is secular! By th ...

UDONT KNOW NUTHING...CANADA IS A CHRISTIAN NATION FOUNDED BY THE ENGLISH N FRENCH WHO BOTH PRACTICE CHRISTIANITY...SO MANY PPL COMMENTING ON THIS MATTER ARE IGNORANT. THIS MAN MAY HAVE HAD HIS FINGERS MESSED UP BUT HE STANDS ...

• Hanson, UK 6 years ago

@Koomson, u mean the gay society of Canada is a Christian country? I never knew, I thought it was a sircular country governed by democratic constitution. I thought Christianity frowns on homosexualism and how come Canada is a ...

• Martin 6 years ago

What the story boils down to is that shows is that Seidu Mohammed was skillful in gaming the system to his advantage. He lied his way to Canada in a quest to gain legal residency. He was supposedly in Brazil at a soccer trai ...

He wasn't running away from Ghana (as a result of being gay), rather he was heading to the greener pastures of US/Canada. I believe pity and compassionate considerations were behind Canada's decision to give him refugee statu ...

• Yaa 6 years ago

thanks be to God

• GHANAMAN THE REAL 6 years ago

Just wish you peace and prosperity after the daring risk you took in the midst of the Canadian winter and the high price you paid by losing you fingers. God bless you my brother because not many of us would have taken the ris ...

• Deport this asylum home 6 years ago

Asylum seekers, very shameful to seek asylum as a Ghanaian. Asylum should be for a war ton countries. Fuck this asylum seekers.

• Purple 6 years ago

Good luck

• Loneranger 6 years ago

How many whites ever sought assylum here?

• keni 6 years ago

However the case of the white people do not make a story like this one with no fingers unprepared for winter in Canada.

• kay canada 6 years ago

The Canadian government knows his story was a lie, cooked to establish residency in Canada but they gave him Protected Persons status on humanitarian and compassionate grounds. Canadian immigration Judges knows most of these ...

SO IF YOU ARE A GAY OR NOT AND WANT TO LEAVE GH. JUST GO TO CANADIAN EMBASSY N TELL THEM U ARE GAY AND ARE BEING PERSECUTED. GH LIVING IS HARD OOO

• truth 6 years ago

Tears of joy BUT not WORTH it one bit. STUPIDITY in the highest form!

• Boss 6 years ago

I have lived in Canada for more than 20 years now. It is a beautiful country and life has been great so far. The stupidity of this man beats my imagination. At least he could have waited for this time when the temperatures ar ...

• keni 6 years ago

No fingers how could he survive back home if deported.

• Fuck asylum seekers 6 years ago

Canada is fucking cold for an asylum seekers.. Ghana is a peaceful country and no warranty here and so on what grounds did the guy use Ghana for asylum in Canada? Beautiful country and warm country like Ghana don't use asylum ...

IS LIKE THE COUNTRY GH. VERY SUNNY, BEACHES, GOOD WEATHER AND PPL BUT THE CONDITIONS ON THE GROUND. THE POLITICS, THE TRIBALISM, THE CORRUPTION, THE GOVT STEALING AND LIVING STANDARD MAKE GH A TERRIBLE PLACE. YET, A COLD COUN ...

• Afro 6 years ago

I think you are a northerner, you see how tough and stricht to be in other countries. Your brother(Mahama)was a presidrnt . Do you see how he misruled Ghana true loot & share tax payers coffers and now you are running away.Yo ...

• Asylum seekers hahaha 6 years ago

I think every Ghanaian should be refused asylum as we are a peaceful country.

• Afro 6 years ago

I think you are a northerner, you see how tough and stricht to be in other countries. Your brother(Mahama)was a presidrnt . Do you see how he misruled Ghana true loot & share tax payers coffers and now you are running away.Yo ...

• Justice agyemang konady 6 years ago

Arkaa kofi,u have nevera experince anything in Life,or been through hardship b 4,so if u dont have any importante comment is better u shotup ur big mouth

• Maka 6 years ago

Ghana is a beautiful country. IF we all stay and try to build it together it weill be better than canada. We play with work in ghana but we are prepared to die to go to another country to live like 2nd class citizens.

• Mensa 6 years ago

Ghana will be better then Canada? What are you smoking brother Canada is a very rich country that have more oil then all the Arab and African country's put together and is very advance country it will take Ghana 250 years ...

• Kwami 6 years ago

Ghana is so far from being Canada