You are here: HomeNewsDiaspora2014 08 09Article 320452

Asantehene to sit in state at London’s Earls Court

Read Comments Comments (90)

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

I am calling the youths and the good people of Volta Region to be carefully watch the Akan's npp General Secretary Kwabena Agyapong utterances which he strongly linked the deadly EBOLA disease to the Great Volta Region. These ...

• GURUNDA 9 years ago

GIVE US A BREAK WHAT GOOD THING HAS VOLTA REGION TO GIVE GHANA. GOLD, TIMBER? MAYBE JUJU KILLINGS AND TRKOTSI

• OSBON 9 years ago

I leave two miles away from the Ibis Hotel, I am the founder of one the 120 Ghana Clubs and Associations in London. But no info about this event till now. How can you get our funds?. who was promoting this event? Oh GHANA PEO ...

• J J RAWLINGS 9 years ago

NONSENSE, HE GAVE BRIBE TO JUDGES TO MAKE NDC WIN ELECTIONS

• KOZI AGBE 9 years ago

THE ASANTEHENE, OSEI TUTU II IS A VERY GOOD MAN AND I THINK ALL PEOPLE OF GHANA SHOULD SUPPORT HIS EDUCATION FOUNDATION. AS HUMAN BEINGS WE ALL HAVE OUR IMPERFECTIONS. THE ONLY PROBLEM I HAVE WITH HIM IS THAT IT IS VERY DIFF ...

• GONDA 9 years ago

YOU ARE AN ILLITERATE. EBOLA IN GHANA WILL COME FROM THE BUSH-REGION ASHANTI. BÇOS YOU PEOPLE ARE SO DIRTY THAT YOU ARE THE TRIBE IN GHANA WITH TUBERCOLOSIS, HIV, RABIES, GONOREA ETC ETC. NOW EBOLA IS IN YOUR REGION B;COS YO ...

• Akan 9 years ago

is this English or Ewe???

• THE TRUTH IN UK 9 years ago

With all due respect Nana should be wiser and maintain the high respect accorded the Asantehene and his Ashanti Kingdom by being choosy in show-casing whatever you represent. If Nana finds the golden stool small, it is rather ...

• Kwabena Atta 9 years ago

Mr.The Truth In UK,you better advise your chief in Volta Region.The Asantehene and hie people don't need your stupid advice.You are just jealous.Period.

• k, n, a 9 years ago

Well you some point but it is not entirely useless.

• impromptus 9 years ago

What has this article got to do with Volta region and ebola? Can you read?

• Palmwine Tapper 9 years ago

English Comprehension is a Good Thing! Are you NUTS or this man (a.k.a. Kwabene Agyapong) Pussy WHIPPED your girl friend?

• SOJOURNER -BRUISED 9 years ago

A bastard grew up without their fathers and many a times they jealous those who grew up with their fathers. They lack the values of fatherhood. One will call them son's of.......like JJRAWLINGS.

When Jesus christ was conce ...

• GURUNDA 9 years ago

MOST ASHANTIS DONT CARE ABT THIS KING BCOS HE SUPPORTS THE VERY PARTY THAT IS SEEKING TO BRING HIS OWN PPLE DOWN.

• WARD GDX - WE THE PEOPLE 9 years ago

The ewe elements of P/NDC who have always saught to undermine Ashantis and their interest deliberately plant stories to link Otumfoo with NDC so as to erode the people's support and affection for the King.

Don't be fool ...

• Vodoo Xebieso 9 years ago

Could you for the devil's sake leave Ewes out of this? If you don't take time, your Ewe-hatred will be the Ebola that will definitely kill you.

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Stop that foolishness being perpetrated by some ndc supporters and these illiterate London serial callers on Oman Ghana radio station.

• Nana Appiah 9 years ago

Hey ShoeShine Boy, Your Soo called Ugly Baboon looking Chief looks like he is getting dragged to the Abattoir to be slaughtered...hahahaha.This Idiot was Kicked out of Canada for fraud and Drug Dealing...Animals like these ca ...

• Abdul 9 years ago

it is also because people like you hide your identity and claim to be asante because you are ashame of your tribes.

• EAF 9 years ago

Thank you Abdul. The fiercest critics of Asantes on this forum are the Asante-wannabes who wish very much that they were Asantes. They feel incomplete, with inferiority complexes. No identity, hence they go around unconsciou ...

• Abdul 9 years ago

I appreciate your comment. As much as I am not an Asanti, I have respect for anyone who is given leadership position like Nana. At least I am born and raised in Kumasi and Nana is my king and I will protect his dignity and hi ...

• JAMES 9 years ago

Fund raising for education in Ashanti region okay but put some clothes on these men. Too PRIMITIVE.TYPICAL AFRICA N

• Abdul 9 years ago

Anyway, you can't be an abroni with your suit.

• John 9 years ago

Senseless king NDC. No Ashanti should pay for him. Use the money and the pickup give by the NDC govt for fund . Thanks

The ewe elements of P/NDC who have always saught to undermine Ashantis and their interest deliberately plant stories to link Otumfoo with NDC so as to erode the people's support and affection for the King.

Don't be fooled ...

• Acquaye 9 years ago

Some body please groom these men.
    If you are coming to display yourselves in public In the western world please groom your yourselves

• k, n, a 9 years ago

Otumfuor has got nothing to do with any party. Try and respect the only awed and respected in ghana.

• 1616 9 years ago

I BELIEVE HE BE RIDING IN PRESIDENTIAL JET

AAHHH! Time to Ship Cocaine Stocks via NPP Nana Addo requests.

Go to bed. This is not p/ndc goons' playground

• Gaana 9 years ago

Whoever calls this chief a king must be sleeping and I wonder why people will donate to his corrupt education fund when their own families may be suffering in Ghana and this chief is living big. Oh! Ghana OH hell.

• NEZER 9 years ago

I don't like the Asantehene but to be honest, he is the only king in Ghana. He is not the chief of Kumasi but the head of conglomerate of chiefs in the Asante Kingdom. Kumasi itself has several chiefs and he is not one of the ...

• K.K 9 years ago

WHILE THE MAJORITY OF PEOPLE ARE SUFFERING AND HE THE THIEF KING TAKES THEIR GOLD AND RESOURCES TO BUILD MILLION DOLLAR MANSION AS VACATION HOME IN LONDON? ONLY THIEF KING CAN BE SUCH INSENSITIVE AND NOT BUILDING SCHOOLS FR ...

• Counselor 9 years ago

You must be dreaming. There are several kings in Ghana dreamer!

• NEZER 9 years ago

Name me just one other king in Ghana who is not a chief of a town/city but his only position is that of the head of a group of chiefs in his kingdom. All the other rulers in Ghana are chiefs of individual cities/towns who may ...

• BRAINS 9 years ago

HEI, COME TO THE CLASSROOM. THE ASANTEHENE IS THE CHIEF OF KUMASI, THE SETTLERS' TOWN! THE NKORANZAHENE'S DOMAIN STRETCHES OVER 100 MILES. THE FIRST AKAN KINGDOM WAS THE BONO-KYEMPEM WITH THE CAPITAL AT MANSO, NOW SUBURB OF N ...

• adumtumi nyansafuo paa ni 9 years ago

Techimanhene oyoko was a traitor of the Asante, who switched his allegiance to bono- kympem. Bono-kyembem was created in 1957. The bono states was not a kingdom. It comprised of several chiefs, that ruled. That history his fu ...

• Bechemniiba(Paris) 9 years ago

Asantehene is the Spiritual President of Ghana. Daasebre . Nana Bokoo!!! Asanteman Da Wo Ase.

• Joe sam 9 years ago

Asantis/Akans are proud and civilized. The most tribe able to explore their culture in the western world.

• JONA 9 years ago

SHOW ME ANY BLACK DEVELOPED NATION IN THE WORLD ALL ARE THIRD WORLD BECAUSE OF BAD BAD LEADERSHIP AND CORRUPT SELFISH INDIVIDUALS OR CRONIES. BAD LEADERS WHO ALWAYS KILL THE ECONOMIC SUCCESS, SHARE THE NATIONS WEALTH WITHOUT ...

• Kumawu nii 9 years ago

What a disgrace! Tradition dictates that such functions shouldn't take place in a foreign land. What's wrong with this Asantehene? He's not British; he's the king of the Ashantis. He should be doing this in Ghana and not in U ...

Masa, the Cocaine King has to Clear Cocaine Stocks.
    Christmas is coming and JUST around the corner. He doesn't want to be caught hording the stash.

• POMPOMSUO 9 years ago

The man has no shame for all the disgrace and controversy he's brought to Asante nobility. Male Asante royals have been completely useless and mentally confused, if not deranged, since the days of Her Majesty Yaa Asantewaa. T ...

• Joe 9 years ago

Begging for money is not govt. reserved

• Kwabena Atta 9 years ago

Shame unto you,Mr.Adofo.

• Kojo Addae, Dansoman, Accra 9 years ago

Why not? My king, you deserve it. Other traditional leaders should stop disgracing themselves with dirty politics and learn from Otumfuo.

• ADONGO 9 years ago

GOOD JOB ,NANA

• yaw 9 years ago

why should we worry ourselves to meet this ndc idiot let him carry his own chair rubbish

Ah! Narh! Narh! The King doesn't carry his own Chair a.k.a. STOOL.
    That one you gotta give it to him (Nana). Just Chill!

• Abdul 9 years ago

Jealousy go kill. Nana I go carry your stool if no one does. We must respect to our elders.

• Oman ba pa 9 years ago

NOW YOU´RE BEGING MONEY??EVEN YOUR OWN CITY KUMASI YOU CAN´T BILD A PUBLIC TOILETS FOR THEM BUT YOUR OWN INTERESTED:ONLY SILLY AND FOOLISH PEOPLE WILL LISTING TO YOU:GOD WILL DEAL WITH YOU ONE DAY KWAKU DUAH

• kato 9 years ago

God bless you my brother. I didnt think there was any sensible Ghanaian left on earth. Well done for your good comments. What we lack in ghana today are people like you who talk sense. Who is Asante hene my foot. People in Ku ...

• Akomadan Adjei Nkansah Belgium 9 years ago

TWEAAAAAAAA,ASANTEHENE IS NDC NUMBER ONE BIG CORRUPT,JUJU,EVIL CHIEF IN GHANA,WOMANIZER,CRIMINAL,CHOP CHOP WITH MAHAMA,ATUGUBA,WE ALL SAW IT 2012,KWASEAHENE SOLED OUR GOLD IN NORWAY,THIEF

• impromptus 9 years ago

You're pure evil who hate good

• adumtumi nyansafuo paa ni 9 years ago

I know akomadan very well. I do not think you are really from the akomadan-afrancho area.

• AWUDU 9 years ago

Shameless, corrupt, narco-business king! Funds for what? What did he do with the EU grant? Tweaaah!

• impromptus 9 years ago

Evil guy who hates anything good

• mama 9 years ago

very sad that this should happen because it cheapens the Asante stool .why the need to be known and important.There are more important things to do within the region.ie comparing Obuasi with Johannesburg both mine of gold tow ...

• OSEI POKU 9 years ago

Who cxares?

Tell he KING to Fight Armed Robbers in his so-called ashanti kingdom. They're breeding like mosquitoes in ashanti kingdom nation. And their offspring like filth flies. Can you do that?

• impromptus 9 years ago

Damn it if he initiates good strategies - damn it if he doesn't

• Kofi Adu Bediako 9 years ago

We are having a lot of problems at home and it is always celebration with the king.
    There is no need to beg for money when the king is dressed in gold almost around his body.
    Kings and qeens around other parts of the world ...

• philip 9 years ago

What has done for Ashanti man and Ghana after taking all gold to abroad

• OTCHERE DARKO 9 years ago

Oumfuo Osei Tutu "the second (II)"...... NOT the eleventh (11) as copied above.

• OTCHERE DARKO 9 years ago

"The Durbar is to commemorate the 15th Anniversary of His Majesty Otumfuo Osei Tutu 11, Asantehene’s ascension to the Golden Stool"

Boye! You don't even know your own History. Whew! Try again!

• KOFI NIMO 9 years ago

why do guys have to invite this bustrad to the durbar, has he finished using all the drugs money and from NDC gov't? nothing better to do with your time than to listen to good fo nothing so called king. Anyway I am ashanti gu ...

• AKORA OTENG 9 years ago

Why sit in state in someone else's country. What do you think Ghanaians will say if Queen Elizabeth came here and sat in STATE? Will the loudmouth Ashantis not scream that she wants to RE-colonise Ghana? This time he should n ...

• ADAMU 9 years ago

More than 50% of funds raised at this show of African opulence and profligacy will go into Asantehene's personal bank accounts in London, South Africa and Switzerland.

Mark my words.

African leaders are known globally ...

• Abdul 9 years ago

Keep your penny, Nana does not need your money, what has His Highness to do with the taxes you're paying at the port. Long Live Nana. I will contribute if that could make Nana the richest man on eart.

• Effah 9 years ago

Where is Nana Juabenhene, Otuo Sirebour this time, Nana? Have you fallen out with him?
    Nana Juabenhene can no longer become your poodle, OK?

• Mallam Tula-4 9 years ago

MASSA: WHO GIVE THESE WIERD IDEAS TO THESE CHIEFS INCLUDING JON MAHAMA KWARAAA !!!: TO ME THE WHOLE PLOY IS THAT THE KWAME DUA THE ASHANTE HAS ACCUMULATED SOME GOLD AND WISHES TOMTO SELL THEM TO SOME WELL CONNECTED BRITISH EL ...

• ama 9 years ago

Asantehene to sit in state at London’s Earls Court

• KAY 9 years ago

jesus Christ! you coming to sit in state fully dressed in gold to raise funds? why not sell the gold around your neck and waist to develop your kingdom. No wonder the white man thinks we are fools. Any body knows how much th ...

• Abdul 9 years ago

Skin pain, the whiteman likes our culture and they will patronize the occasion in their numbers. Nana, keep the regalia and keep the millions if you have them. Primitive or no primitive, we love you. Long Live Nana.Masa, you ...

• Gaana 9 years ago

Kwaku Dua eih!Please, Bring all the Gold ornaments back to Ghana. don't sell them or your own gods will deal with you. You've already been spared the first time.Your two, STEALING COUNTERPARTS,(PV Obeng and MORO) just departe ...

• Abdul 9 years ago

Accusing Nana is an act of disrespect unless you can prove your case. What has PV and Moro to do with Nana. Let the Gods deal with Nana and do not decide for the gods you believe in. Long Live Nana. Keep the gold and the mill ...

• Law Speaks 9 years ago

What is the meaning of majesty?

• OLDMAN GYASI 9 years ago

NO COMMENTS AS THE TRUTH IS THE LIGHT

• CC 9 years ago

THIS LONDON THING IS NOT RELEVANT NOW WHILE EBOLA MAY SOO COME FROM THE NORTH TO ASHANTE REGION, COME AND HELP BLOCK THE EBOLA FROM REACHING ASANTE OTHERWISE YOU WILL SOON FIND OPUT THAT YOU DONT HAVE A KINDOM ANYMORE

• Anan 9 years ago

Ibis, a cheap hotel in the back waters of Central London. Why do so my King

• Abdul 9 years ago

Thank you my Brother, let us support our Nana. Please, find a better location if you believe the location is not good for the occasion.

• Lolulou 9 years ago

Quite frankly no one cares whether he comes or goes!

• Prince Kwadwo Adusei 9 years ago

people should not waste their time and money on this so call fund raising cos the money will end up on buying another mansion in DubaI.

• Kanawu 9 years ago

I know what Nana and others are saying " who is this nonentity who doesn't want to come - who does he think he is" But it is me who is important but all those with same mind set who wont attend" Together we are quite signific ...

• Philip 9 years ago

Who is going waist his time on this useless king

• Akwasi (London) 9 years ago

The Asante hene is on ego trip. Why is it necessary for him to hold a durbor in London when his so called kingdom and most of Asantes live in Ghana and not London. This absolutely unneccesry event is supposed to take place ...

• baffour mensah-bonsu,USA 9 years ago

Would somebody please spell out the economic, social and cultural benefit to the Asante state and Ghana?Pure ego and wasteful spending.He should be at my village helping them bore a hole for good drinking water.Another bad le ...

• Akomadan Adjei Nkansah Belgium 9 years ago

SLOED THE STOOL GOLD IN NORWAY,CRIMINAL,CORRUPT CHIEF,SHAAAME,

• //// 9 years ago

He is old and tired of Ghana. Plus he does not want to contract ebola so he stays in the UK and south Africa for cautionary reasons.