You are here: HomeNewsDiaspora2013 04 03Article 269797

Ghanaian cuisine goes mainstream in the UK

Read Comments Comments (28)

• Debbie 10 years ago

Why are they all located in London? What about other UK and Ireland cities. Maybe I should start one in Ireland - Auntie Muni's Waakye joint :)

• Kojo T 10 years ago

Forward ever

• Ama Serwa. 10 years ago

Come to my kitchen in New york, you Londoners. We do overnight delivery across the Atlantic.

• atigah 10 years ago

what is the postcode of the Africa Caribbean centre in Glasgow and when is the 'next few months'???? Can't wait!!!

• Mmalebna 10 years ago

bongo bar

• Atinga Billy, Bolgatanga 10 years ago

Bongo Bar is the best. I have been there several times. The branch in Broad Lane, Seven Sisters is always swinging with activity. Our food is extremely delicious.

• AZONTO BOY 10 years ago

Agoro Beso the Nana Akufo Addo popular eating spot at Pekham and Amma Spot at Woolhich are my best place for good and delicious Ghanaian/African food spots.

• Big mouth 10 years ago

It looks like the ghanain are eating thier own dishes ,This is not how food goes International?it has only changed location and being consumed by its own people.the Arabs,north,the Ethiopians and parts of east African, thier ...

• kobytown 10 years ago

hahaha you are right

• cool-USA 10 years ago

This is a superb dish every Ghanaian will enjoy but it lacks the necessary nutrients required by the human body to function properly.Fish is ok but the meal is full of Carbohydrates and no vegetables.I don't think this will q ...

• Ellen 10 years ago

learn how to promote ideas with good suggestion and be involved

• kojo 10 years ago

Be constructive and say positive things and add rather than subtract. Lets move Ghana forward. When other people from different countries come to love Ghana Food, the food and agric industry in Ghana will grow, Jobs will be c ...

• cool-USA 10 years ago

Sorry if my comment have been offensive.My foreign friends enjoy Ghanaian dishes and we go out to enjoy it on sundays.Their suggestion is that they will prefer a little carb (kenkey, Banku.Some veggie(lettuce, tomatoes, avoca ...

• Gido 10 years ago

there is another joint at Tooting Broadway has a special joint just at the entrance to the market, best waakye and kenkey for sure.
    but I support the other comments that Ghanaians eating their own food abroad does not really ...

• Eben 10 years ago

Ama's Fare at Woolwich is the best. Just try their house special fried yam and fish...hmmmm...yummy

• Joshuah 10 years ago

Yes I was told there is one Jollof Cafe in Manchester, has anybody been there yet? How is their food like? We are thinking of visiting from London. I would be pleased if anyone who has been there can just comment. Their websi ...

• hawa 10 years ago

They should be ready to get fat.

• Asonaba 10 years ago

Hope horse meat never take the place of beef. lol!!!

• COV UNIVERSITY 10 years ago

I THINK WHAT COOL USA IS SAYING IS RIGHT.IS TIME WE USE SOME BASIC NUTRIENTS IN OUR FOODS.

• JAMREAH 10 years ago

COME TO CANADA,YOU HAVE LOTS OF GHANAIN RESTAURANTS IN ALL THE CITIES,TRY MAMA BECKY'S TASTE OF AFRICA AT SURREY,BC.WE ALSO COOK OUR OWN FOOD AT HOME TOO WE PREPARE ABENKWAN

• Kwame Kwakye 10 years ago

There is far too much pepper in the Ghanaian dishes. They should consider making the food mild, hot and extra hot. They should cater for all races and nationalities, not just the Ghanaian customers. Cheers.

• Mohammed Ibrahim 10 years ago

In Peckham, and New Cross in London.

• Mohammed Ibrahim 10 years ago

In Peckham, and New Cross in London.
    I love their Peanut soup,and Banku.

• Aportro 10 years ago

Hi folks, we sell canned fufu with light soup and goat meat. We also sell canned Ga kenkey and Tilapia in Alexandria, Va USA. We sell to all countries order now

• Spike 10 years ago

Gold Coast South Norwood & Sankofa in
    Norbury.

• eat and live 10 years ago

in New York

• oga yum yum 10 years ago

...just asking because the foods in ghana are full of fat

• prince oduro mexico 10 years ago

why only LONDON wat about we is central america