Profile of Author

Stevanovic: My best squad for 2012 CAN

Ghana coach Goran Stevanovic has declared himself satisfied after with the 25-man squad list selected for the African Nations Cup.
The Black Stars coach today announced the squad to the Ghanaian media and he explains that he has a squad capable of challenging for next year's competition in Gabon and Equatorial Guinea.
"The players I have called are the best who can fit into my tactical plans. They are capable of winning the cup for Ghana and I have enough faith in them," Stevanovic said. "I am happy with everyone I have picked and I know we can do a good job if we all work in the same direction."
Stevanovic released his squad for the 2012 African Nations Cup, with 25 players making up the list of those who will travel to South Africa to begin the training preparation for the tournament.
Squad in full are:
Goalkeepers: Adam Kwarasey, Daniel Adjei, Ernest Sowah.
Defenders: Samuel Inkoom, John Paintsil, Daniel Opare, Masawudu Alhassan, Lee Addy, John Boye, John Mensah, Jonathan Mensah, Isaac Vorsah.
Midfielders: Charles Takyi, Emmanuel Agyemang Badu, Derek Boateng, Anthony Annan, Mohammed Abu, Kwadwo Asamoah, Sulley Muntari, Andre Ayew.
Strikers: Emmanuel Baffour, Prince Tagoe, Derek Asamoah, Asamoah Gyan, Jordan Ayew.
Three players from the local league make the squad which will be pruned to 23. Emmanuel Baffour is called into the squad for the first time under Stevanovic as the Glo Premier League's leading top scorer chases his first cap. 2009 Under 20 World Cup gold medalist, Daniel Adjei and Ernest Sowah are the other local players.
Notable absentee from the squad were 2009 world youth player Dominic Adiyiah and veteran goalkeeper Richard Kingson who were axed from the squad.
The squad will arrive in South Africa on January 7 and stay there until January 19 before travelling for their Nations Cup campaign. During that period the Black Stars will play top South Africa side Kaiser Chiefs and the Bafana Bafana. Ghana is in group D of the Nations Cup with Botswana, Guinea and Mali.