You are here: HomeSportsAthletics2014 08 25Article 322746

Bissah grabs Gold for Ghana at Youth Oympics in China

Read Comments Comments (52)

• Yaw Adu-Asare 9 years ago

Miss Bissah has uplifted the national image of Ghana, at long last.

• SIR CHARLES - CHARLOTTE, NC, USA 9 years ago

Full of joy; happy for her. I pray our 'officials', if we even have any, should not let this girl 'rot'. Do whatever it takes to keep her up ...

• GHANAian 9 years ago

I BROKE IN TEARS WATCHING THIS GIRL CRUZING TO WIN THE RACE. TRULY, GHANA HAVE MANY GOOD ATLETHES LIKE THIS. I WISH THE GOVERNMENT TAKES VERY GOOD CARE OF HER, EVEN GIVE HER THE UTMOST SCHOLARSHIP, TRAIN HER AND BUILD HER TO ...

• GHANAian 9 years ago

CORRECTION: CONGRATULATIONS !!

• KAROTA 9 years ago

GHANA WILL KILL HER TALENT. PLEASE AMERICA CANADA SAVE THIS GIRL

• John 9 years ago

Sheii you get poisonous brain paaa Osagyefo Dr Kwame would have slit your throat if he was alive.

• KAROTA 9 years ago

JOHN IF SHE WERE YOUR RELATIVE YOU WILL AGREE WITH ME.YOU WANT HER TALENT TO DIE IN THIS SINKING GHANA. AM SPEAKING FROM HISTORY, AND HE WHO IGNORES HISTORY LIVES TO REPEAT IT. THE LEADERS ARE SELFISH AND SHORT SIGHTED.

• Rass Gbonyo 9 years ago

oh,where is Elvis Afriyie Ankrah? This man must splash some of his koobi money on Martha! Way to go girl.

• akamai 9 years ago

especially with an ethopian coming in second

• Kayaks 9 years ago

This girl must be given a full scholarship to go through her education so that she can concentrate on her career.
    A star in the making!!

• Yaw Achampong Tema 9 years ago

A great race ! A great potential.

• Ghanaman 9 years ago

I MEAN CONGRATULATIONS BISSAH.YOU MADE ME PROUD TO BE GHANAIAN AGAIN.YOUR JERSEY WAS NOT THE FLASHIEST NOR DID YOU HAVE A TECHNICAL DIRECTOR AND DEFNITELY DIDN'T SLAP ANYONE BUT YOU STILL CAME THROUGH LOOKING LIKE A MILLION D ...

• Ato 9 years ago

I haven't seen such clever and funny roast in Ghana forums in a long time.I guess those people will never be able to shake off that unpatriotic cloak they bought themselves with the $100000 they got.

• Prof Ato Azumah 9 years ago

Ghana does not play only soccer. Please give this girl all the support. Send her to the US or Germany at once to learn and study. This is our future Usain Bolt, our Frankie Fredericks for the middle distance.

• YAW 9 years ago

Unfortunately, the likelihood of her competing for Ghahan at senior level is almost zero. The developed countries, US, Canada, and others are likely to entire her to switch her nationality and compete for them. They do it all ...

• DIAMOND 9 years ago

Yes, the Americans can fast-track her citizenship overnight.
    Martha, if the offer ever comes, never say No.
    Go for it because Ghana is already wasted.

• ABEIKU 9 years ago

wow. I don't know what to say. May God guide you Miss Bissah for maknig our country proud.

• Jays Barracks - Bronx - U S A. 9 years ago

For umpteen years, Ghana has never won gold at many Olympic games and remained in the abysmal of forgetfulness.Thanks to Martha Bissah, an unknown girl from Aduman Senior High in the Ashanti Region. What a surprise! I have al ...

• Don 9 years ago

That was great. Good job done and more to come. God strengthen you to win more gold for mother Ghana.

• The truth 9 years ago

About damn time somebody lifted the country's image. Thank you Bissah

• orimo 9 years ago

congrats,more talents to competitions worldwide,less officials

• Komela 9 years ago

WOW!!! I weep for joy. Just a few weeks ago, Ghana Athletics Association was being criticized by so called expects and clueless past chairmen like George FAT BOY Luttedrot.

GAA tried to tell the world to have patience and ...

• OSEI TAWIAH 9 years ago

Don't give the fucking credit to the GAA. If this was about the GAA, why was she the only talent? There are only a few schools in Ghana that pay attention to athletics and they are all in Ashanti Region. The Ahmadiya schools ...

• Mereku 9 years ago

It is because of fools like you that Ghana fails to progress. You can't acknowledge progress or the role of the system in facilitating good results.

Go ask Bissah herself and her coach the extent to which GAA's focus on y ...

• KWADASO 9 years ago

I GUESS GAA HAD NOTHING TO DO WITH HER DEVELOPMENT?WHAT YOU SHOULD BE SAYING IS THAT WHATEVER THEY DID TO DEVELOP THIS KID'S TALENT MUST BE DUPLICATED MANY TIMES OVER.I THINK YOU ARE A BITTER PESSIMIST.I WOULD TELL YOU TO SE ...

The truth is Ghanaians are too scared of the truth. I can assure you that this girl planned her own strategy and dared to risk implementing it on her own. If Ghana had any good coaches, she would never be the only one to achi ...

• BUSUMRU 9 years ago

did the officials hear the advise of the commentator? 'if someone can tidy up that technique, she will be a force to be reckoned with when she becomes a senior'

• JOJO 9 years ago

Ghana is abound with many talents but our leaders some how manages to disappoint and destroy them all with their corrupt practices, I hope this time they will sit up and do one thing right and sponsor this kid so she can achi ...

• Kenkey Warriors!! 9 years ago

In Ghana every athlete/player has 2 birth certificates. She is either 21 or 27. In a couple of years she will fizzle out.

Congrats again for winning gold for the country of cheats.

• George Doe, USA 9 years ago

This day and age it's very had to cheat with ur age. All the Athletes go through vigorous tests so please stop your stupidity, birth certificate is one of many items they use to determine ur age, so stop ur stupidity!

• Mereku 9 years ago

Have we gotten so cynical that even when real progress is staring at us in the face, we quickly dismiss it as something else? OH GHANA

• @kenkey warrior 9 years ago

IT MUST BE EITHER THE ENORMOUS AMOUNT OF RAW KENKEY SHITTO YOU HAVE CONSUMED OVER THE YEARS OR THE SALTY AIR YOU HAVE BEEN BREATHING SINCE BIRTH THAT HAS CAUSED YOUR MENTAL RETARDATION.SEEK HELP.

• fada 9 years ago

Congrates,dear.

• JOJO 9 years ago

stupid corrupt officials when are you going to start using your brains and set Ghana up for success. look at the jersey everybody was wearing compare to Bissah's. imagine what her time would have been if she had a form fittin ...

• George Yin 9 years ago

You've made Ghana proud!
    Great job!

• Kwaku Ntawatawa 9 years ago

Don't you think we've had lass of her caliber before?Yes,we've had.But what happened?
    Every official of the NSC slept with them at every invitation!Thats the gospel truth!Ask Yaa Fremah and the likes,even Alice Anum!

• Paa Baah 9 years ago

Congratulations Bissah! Ghana should follow the footsteps of Jamaica to produce more of this results.

We have so many powerful running out there. Minister of Youth and Sports wake up.

• kofiga 9 years ago

A young lady nicknamed "Abetifi Mustang" who busted unto the seen in the early 70's and then vanished never to be heard of/from again.

Juliana Ohemeng got pregnant when she was in her 3rd year at Abetifi Presbyterian High School. She quit school after having the baby, never returned to school and never returned to athletics.

• kofiga 9 years ago

Awww what a waste because she was a great athlete in the making. Hopefully, all is well with her today. Thanks Mr. Osei Tawiah, I have always wondered about Ms. Ohemeng.

• Ba 9 years ago

Congratulations. The more we do well at the youth level in all sports will always propel us to do well at the professional level.

God Bless You All.

• Mr Objective 9 years ago

\something GOOD can come out of Ghana after all? To GOD be the glory for the life of this young lady who despite her teen age has given soo much hope to Ghanaians who have not given up on the country. If I were the President ...

• Fi 9 years ago

Fantastic. Awesome. God bless you

• Bomber 9 years ago

Good job done girl

• Great 9 years ago

These are the type of people Ghana need to spend money on. She needs a special coach and all the support needed form the government and the people of Ghana. Congratulation Ms. M. Bissah, you are GREAT. All the best.

• Sportsman 9 years ago

it. This is not the first time we have had such a talented female 800m runner since there was a lady from Brong Ahafo in the early 70s called 'Northern Horse'. The then sports council sponsored her to London and we didn't hea ...

• Jojo 9 years ago

Its so wonderful to watch Martha trash all the others! Hip hip hiop hurray. Congrats Martha!!
    If only Ghanaian businesses will take notice and provide the funding to help make her become a force in World Athletics!! The Gove ...

• Ghanaman 9 years ago

I was in your corner about helping ourselves as a nation until you called on NGO's to help.These non government organizations are all fronts by foreign governments to indirectly dictate our actions at specific fields.Many Cou ...

• robert 9 years ago

congrate

• Rass Gbonyo 9 years ago

Elvis Afriyie Ankrah must splash some of the Koobi money on Martha Bissah. Congrats girl!

• DIAMOND 9 years ago

Full scholarship for this girl to go to school in the U.S. and hone up for Brazil 2016.

We've got some serious Gold in the making in Brazil 2016.

My heart breaks as I see this little girl, this scrawny, almost gaunt, le ...

• SALINSA 9 years ago

was so eloquent @ the common wealth games. who is saying professor francis dodoo & his charges aren't doing something right?