You are here: HomeSports2014 06 12Article 312497

Appiah amongst lowest paid coaches at World Cup

Read Comments Comments (39)

• ohene 9 years ago

What Appiah makes is a powerful and a respectful amount of money, as earnings in Ghana.

• moyo 9 years ago

Appiah has been imposed on the job and does not have what it takes to $20,000 per month. Apart from Ghana, no country will hire Appiah.

• Minta 9 years ago

He is doing better than the all previous overpayed white coaches.

His present salary is ok for the country he is coaching.

• Ghfuo, heaven is not for fools! 9 years ago

If his name was simply kwesi appiah. Im sure he will be earning more. He should remove James from his name and the cash will flow. His confidence will rise even more, like gari I'm water. Be will KNOW WHO HE TRULY IS. Right ...

• Kwesi 9 years ago

Football is crazy with all these swindling amounts to coaches and players.

And it's just a game, but it isn't a game any more. Appiah is earning more than the President and the best medical doctors in the country.

And i ...

• OFUIJATO ABLAKWA 9 years ago

SO SHOULD WE GIVE HIM THE WHOLE NATION'S MONEY OR WHAT?
    LET US THINK,HE IS EVEN FORTUNATE TO TAKE THAT AMOUNT EVERY MONTH.

• Kweku 9 years ago

We would have paid foreigners higher so why not our own? Reading through the comments it shows slavery has really blinded us. Pay him just like we would have paid foreign coaches.

• JULO 9 years ago

We pay foreigners higher because they are expatriates. Its tougher to recruit from abroad than to recruit locally. I think they are even paying him too much. If he doesn't want the money, he can give up the job.

Stevanovic ...

• tuy 9 years ago

Why do you have to recruit from abroad and pay higher?

• BORBOR 9 years ago

Coach Appiah, make sure your suit is not step-buttoned as it is in this picture.
    Unprofessional way of dressing.

• Mankwadze 9 years ago

It's not step-buttoned. It's the pose !

He is wearing a 2 piece suit in this pic. I hope he has some linen, pinstripes suits to wear.

• TRUTH HURTS 9 years ago

GFA, PLEASE FOR THE SAKE OF GHANAS IMAGE AND APPIAH'S CONFIDENCE, INCREASE IT TO THE LEVEL OF NIGERIA. haaaba! the annoying thing is, he is the best performing coach ever to coach ghana with the highest goal tally. This is no ...

• Akristofo3 Master 9 years ago

ALL WELL MEANING GHANAIANS SHOULD PILE PRESSURE ON MAHAMA. EVEN GIRLFRIENDS CORRUPT UNPRODUCTIVE MINISTERS ARE SITTING IN RANGE ROVERS COSTING £150,000.

• Ern # Chai! Dia ris God oooh!! 9 years ago

I was going to say £150k is a decent amount of money for a country like Ghana given our GDP and cost of living etc, but you are right about the useless girlfriends of useless ministers.

Wee, he must show be needs a raise by showing positive results. Most of these coaches have won actual trophies.

• Samu Uk 9 years ago

That is what we can afford as a nation is not about money but the national period if Appiah need more money he got justify it, for now £150,000.oo is lot for Ghana stantard

• THE TRUTH 9 years ago

and yet still the family is in london and you refer to this as low a small thigh and the way it swells

• Conventional Youth 9 years ago

Brain-Drain & Capital-Flight are the of Afrika's Economic Development.

No wonder a Ghanaian Client would prefer paying an expatriate Engineer or TRADES Guy the "standard Quote" and go extra mile to paying nothing to an equ ...

• MAN 9 years ago

What purpose does it serve to publish coaches earnings just before world cup kick-off? To discourage others and motivate others? All the coaches are vying for the cup and for now should have equal respect.

• Kweku 9 years ago

at least 75,000 of that will go to Nyantekyi and that jack of all trades dude who calls himself sports adviser (Yaw Ampofo-Ankrah). Pay the coach like we would have paid a foreigner

• edmond 9 years ago

Because Appiah havent won anything in his career

• Abayifo3 Master 9 years ago

Football boarders are very porous and Akwasi Appiah can jump ship to anywhere in the Middle East and earn three or four times that he is currently earning. Take Asamoah Djan as an example when they were bluff him in the UK an ...

• Akristofo3 Master 9 years ago

there is power in naming

Great minds think alike. Nothing scares the shkt out of a whiteman. Than to see a Blackman with a native name doing better than him. Abodam sets in! It's like seeing a dog speaking human language...lol

• Mark 9 years ago

Some of the money coaches get paid is premium to encourage them to take up the job. Kwasi Appiah is a great coach, but there is no need to pay him a premium to stay in his own country. If he were coaching Brazil or Spain befo ...

• Rastafara"I" 9 years ago

Appiah is actually overpaid considering Ghana's meager resources. Even Mexico can not afford to pay its coach as much as Ghana pays Appiah.

Even if James appiah wkns the wcup. He will still not be paid the same salary as the top 5 richest coaches. Trust me, he will be discriminated against. Unless if he maybe goes to the emirates, but still I doubt he will get pa ...

• THEORDORE WALLACE 9 years ago

Ghanaians are poor people yet they make the most noise, they pretend and fake lifestyle to make others believe things are Ok with them. After all the noises and eventually dusts settle down, the average Ghanaian is exposed he ...

• JH New York 9 years ago

And so !
    Is this news ?
    How many people earn half of that amount of money in his Country for working all day 24/7
    365 days in a year.
    Is that amount of money not fair for holding a ball on the field surrounded by players ...

• Okusie 9 years ago

Please don't forget that Ghanaian workers are also amongst the lowest paid working force in the world!. The amount he is getting is a handsome reward for Dr AA do little.

• Freddie 9 years ago

Do not publish this kind of nonsense at this crucial time. Appiah accepted this position in faith. I am sure he is truly faithful for what he is receiving. Let him concentrate on his duty and don't distract and confuse him an ...

• Ghanaianspoliticians 9 years ago

Appiah may not be earning much compared to his African counterparts but he gets his money whilst some of the big earners don't.

• Francis 9 years ago

that is what Ghana can afford. so why the comparison

• Joe Mensah 9 years ago

Don't forget Appiah is talking brides from the players before he fixing them

• Kwame Angel 9 years ago

Every class and profession in Ghana pays the lowest, anyway, so what? One hundred and fifty British pounds a year is six times Mahama's quoted annual salary and eight times that of the vice president. Let's cut our coat accor ...

• Paa Joe 9 years ago

A COUNTRY IS MEASURED BY ITS GDP.

IF POOR COUNTRIES CAN AFFORD TO PAY FOREIGN COACHES WITH HIGH SALARIES WITH THEIR HARD EARNED FOREIGN CURRENCIES FROM EXPORT OF THEIR NATURAL RESOURECES,THEN WE HAVE TO KNOW WHY THESE NATI ...

• JJ THE PARASITE 9 years ago

GHANAIANS WORSHIP WHITES AND WOULD HAVE PAID APPIAH AT LEAST TWICE HIS PAY IF HE WAS WHITE ..... EVEN A USELESS AND CLUELESS WHITE. EVEN JJ THE NATIONAL PARASITE AND HYPOCRITE IS WORSHIPED BY SOME GHANAIANS.

• Billah Alfred 9 years ago

is it becouse he is black infact Appiah needs to be payed well so that he can deliver; Ghana want to play finals with a low cosr coach am sorry