You are here: HomeSports2014 03 06Article 302556

Have your say: Who’s in your Ghana squad for Brazil 2014?

Read Comments Comments (113)

• dread 10 years ago

A. Appiah my stinking Ass should be mada fuka realistic with this under-firing bastard of players whose main duties in europe is warming benches and sleeping with HIV infested prostitutes.
    Foools they should lve up to their ...

• ??? 10 years ago

You are never a loser until you quit trying.

• kkkkk 10 years ago

Whoever this article either did not watch the game or is the dumbest guy on earth!!! Which of our players aside from Kwaresey showed any promise? Nonsense.

• Nun 10 years ago

The problem is we don't even know we are sick

• SOLUTION MASTER/THE OBSERVANT 10 years ago

Muntari is found of looping balls to the front or target man, which is a problem to me. He behave like he can play with skills without brains.

Such balls a meant for strikers like Abahamovic, Drogba, Ronaldo and maybr Adeb ...

• KK 10 years ago

Like they say: he who knows not and knows not that he knows not is a fool.

You can't solve a problem until you identify and properly define it.

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

SQUAD FOR BRASIL AS OF TODAY, TODAY:
    The Best Offense is a Good Defense
    AKWARA, ADJEI/DAUDA, ADAMS, ...3
    R/LB: OPARE, AFFUL, D ADDY, LEE ADDY..4
    CB: AWAL, J.MENSAH, ADUSEI, AKAMINKO....4
    DM: ESSIEN, MUNTARI, RABIU, BADU. ...

• Mr.N 10 years ago

This is not league where you have all the time in the world to do try and error. If I was in Akwesi Appiah's shoes I would have played KVP, Sulley Muntari, Kwadwo Asamoah, Essien and Ayew together. He did play KVP and Djan du ...

• kkkkk 10 years ago

Akwasi Appiah's game plan was to let Ghanaians see how some of the players they make noise about are just mediocre. For now have seen that Inkoom plays not because he is a Kotoko player but because he is better than the compe ...

• BAABOOO!!! 10 years ago

Look kkkk, you are making a lot of noise here body, these Europeans whether good or dad determined not to lose to any Africa teams and put their full strength even if its friendly? I understand where you are coming from but, ...

• Rasheed. 10 years ago

I like your comments, but I have a problem with Essien. I think he should be coming from the bench. I charge you to fetch Slimzay or I will have you flogged at opera square.

• Mr.N 10 years ago

Rasheed we would not know for sure if Essien should be starting from the bench until Appiah play the six together take Liverpool manager Brendan Rodgers he did not want to start Daniel Sturridge and Luis Suárez one start an ...

• Rasheed. 10 years ago

How come you know so much about Liverpool, or you are soccer analyst in general?. Better bring back Slimzay my good friend with vim and alacrity.

• PAA JOE 10 years ago

ALL AKWASI APPIAH KNOW IS LOSEN FRIENDLY GAMES.THE GOAL WAS SCORE IN 1ST MINUTE ANY GOOD COACH SHOULD HAVE EQUALIZE. I DONT REALLY TRUST THIS COACH AT ALL.KESHI BOYS COULD HAVE EQUALIZE.

• POW@ Brazil b3y3 huhuu hu 10 years ago

The big six you're talking about shouldn't be a problem playing them together. Rather the search of 5 shaolin masters needed to join the big six and the extras needed for replacements are what's needed for now and I guess the ...

• Rasheed. 10 years ago

When is wimpy going to stop his "trial and error method of coaching?. Can't he learn from Brazil's Scolari, who has being consistent with his team and style of play. Appiah seems to be struggling against these Europeans and A ...

• Mr.N 10 years ago

If I were in Appiah's shoes, I'll never play my full best squad in any friendly in times like these. POW!!!

POW my half brother why not give me one reason Appiah should do that and I would forever keep my peace as I said ...

• Rasheed. 10 years ago

You are 101% right, Mr.N, my brother-in-law. POW has been paid to defend Appiah. Can't you see he has "released" a new BMW car?.

And your white lady secretary said I should leave a message on your office land line so I spoke in fanti per chance she sneaks to go listen, she'll be as confused as hell.

• Mr.N 10 years ago

Yes I got your message would call being very busy and running around the country. Where is Slimzay hiding by the way tell him to come back or I would bell him send me his new bell and Prof S'Berta too

Appiah has contacted Milo to be his technical advisor during the world cup.

• Rasheed. 10 years ago

I hope wimpy has not disappointed you.POW, and why Milo?.

• Mr.N 10 years ago

I do not care he can hire Rasheed, all the three Serbians as long as Akwesi Appiah is paying from his dame pocket am fine with that.

I seriously don't think so. It's the GFA using Appiah as if he wanted Milo. I suspects

No I'm not disappointed, not in the least. Except that I'm not sure if it's truly Appiah's own arrangement but not the GFA.

• Ikemens 10 years ago

Thumbs up Mr.N

• Rasheed. 10 years ago

What is the thumbs up for? Is it for Appiah bringing MILO back?.

• Higher Brains 10 years ago

We should be building team chemistry now by playing certain players together whilst trying different formations at the same time. Warris and Gyan have been doing well when paired together so I was shocked to see that the coac ...

• CHAKA ZULU JUSTICE 10 years ago

FIFA takes all these games into consideration while rating teams. Appiah must think scoring and not giving chances to these young players at critical games. Against Egypt, thanks to Kevin who appeared late after 70 minutes of ...

• The Truth sometimes hurts 10 years ago

You are too interested in FIFA rankings. I just don't get it. What really does it do. Nothing, it does nothing for us.

• joe canada 10 years ago

what a moron, how can you spew such nonsense on these guys who are serving their nation?. idiot, you are not even worthy to shine any of those guys shoes. talk about bastards, you are the bastard. because I don't believe you ...

• ??? 10 years ago

Your mental attitude will determine your success in life. If your outlook on life is a positive one, you will find life will be easier. Everything comes down to your own attitude. And, only you are the one who decides what ty ...

• WORLD CUP 10 years ago

A reputable sports agency with over 12yrs experience in sports travel & tour with wide links and contacts in Brazil need a trustworthy and reliable partners for lucrative business before,during and after the The World 2014 in ...

• Kwaku Addo 10 years ago

"Kwasia keka". Its high time idiots like dread be told to discipline the tongue.

• Nun 10 years ago

I don't agree with your language but I know what you mean. What a shame?

• Mark 10 years ago

GK: Stephen Adams (all three GKs are good though, to be honest)
    LB: Kwadwo Asamoah
    RB: Jonathan Mensah
    CD: Vorsah, Akaminko
    MF: Essien, KPB, Muntari
    FW: Andre, Gyan, Warris

Bench:
    Wakaso, Atsu, Badu, Afful, Opare, Fr ...

• Aloys 10 years ago

O my borther come on,ghana need help cont u see.

• taste of africa 10 years ago

you are absolute right my bro i support u 100 percent

• KK 10 years ago

What are those colors?

• PAA JOE 10 years ago

WARRIS WAS SERIOUS UNLIKE ATSU AND OTHERS WHO WERE VERY SOLLOW LIKE SERPENT. SINCE ATSU WENT TO HOLLAND THE GUY HAS LOSE SPEED AND FORM.

• NIPA 10 years ago

Period, I do not think Jordan is a BS material. He is not a striker, he can complement the efforts of strikers but he is not one of them.

• Aloys 10 years ago

Ghana Team is ok we jest need good coach

• RastafaraI 10 years ago

Drop him..he is not good

• Rasheed. 10 years ago

I have to stop Abedi Pele from bullying wimpy Appiah.

• kwabee 10 years ago

I dont care wether he makes the team or not . but waris is more of a attacking winger, In internationals the ball has to stick or you get punished. lets play as a sub attacking winger and take jordan as replacement like for l ...

• IMPANIMFUO USA 10 years ago

for what I saw yesterday,coach appiah need sharp wingers like frank atsu to operate from the left and not from right.Dede Ayew too should be put on left.JORDAN AYEW IS WAHED UOT MENN!i surprised !which true colours. blind wri ...

• Lato of newyork 10 years ago

1.kwarasey 2. Boye 3. Akaminko, 4. Essien 5. Vorsah, muntari, waris, Gyan,prince,a Ayew.

• IMPANIMFUO USA 10 years ago

for what I saw yesterday,coach appiah need sharp wingers like frank atsu to operate from the left and not from right.Dede Ayew too should be put on left.JORDAN AYEW IS WASHED OUT MENN!i surprised !which true colours. blind wr ...

• Adom 10 years ago

The players need patience and cool their tempers whenever they are fouled.Some of the players could have received Yellow or Red cards had it been a World Cup match.Every single unnecessary card shown weakens the strength of t ...

• MARK A. 10 years ago

GYAN,MUNTARI,ESSIEN,KASA,KPB,DEDE,WARRIS,KWARASEY,BOYE,AKAMINKO,JONA MENSAH,
    D. ADDY,L. ADDY,ATSU,RABIU,ASSIFUAH,YIADOM,S.ADAMS,S.ADJEI,BADU,OPARE,AFFUL,+ 1 MORE

• Rob 10 years ago

Whats up with some of these hateful comments? A few of you should write with intelligence and not vulgar. Can't you make some points without negativity? My goodness!This is just football and we are not even in June yet. All o ...

• CHAKA ZULU JUSTICE 10 years ago

God doesn't like idiots.

• RICHMOND BOATENG U.S.A. 10 years ago

I AGREE WITH YOU USE KWARASEY AS OUR
    # 1 KEEPER FOR BLACK STARS

• Daniel 10 years ago

It is necessary for Kwasi Appiah to schedule many friendly games to sharpen the Black Stars before Brazil World Cup 2014 in June. We all want Ghana to do well at the tournament in Brazil, so it is time not to procrastinate, b ...

• anokwale 10 years ago

These type of losses are good for the Black Stars. It reminds them that 100% effort is needed in every game. Unfortunately, our players can get over hyped on themselves and sort of go through the motions. The opening penal ...

• Kwame Milla 10 years ago

But who is Kasa? Is it Kwadwo Asamoah? If it is him, then you got it right, bro. I don't see Essien, though.

• Harrison 10 years ago

You approach a game with your best outfit, then you make changes as the game progresses. You don't just throw in team B and when the game gets tough, you then bring in your best players. We don't test players like that.

• anokwale 10 years ago

I like what he did because now, no one can try and complain that they should be starting.

For instance, Agyemang Badu, Atsu and Wakasso are clearly players to come off the bench. In fact, Essien should also come off the b ...

• Rasheed. 10 years ago

Essien is now a veteran and will be better coming from the bench.

• MARK A. 10 years ago

AA NEEDS HELP.I HEAR HE CONTACTED MILO BUT MILO COULDN'T PROVE HIMSELF ONCE HE LEFT GHANA. IS HE THE RIGHT CHOICE?

• Harrison 10 years ago

We said this a long time, but it look like GFA have their own agenda. AA has no foresight, he needs help.

• Whatever 10 years ago

We need a coach who understand the dynamics of football and how results come out. In every competitive match, the first 20 minutes because of the freshness of the players, is played at a frenetic speed - higher tempo yet that ...

• hmmmmmm 10 years ago

opare, jerry, atsu, wakaso,

• A concerned citizen...222222 10 years ago

Apart from those mentioned above, Harrison Afful will make it too

• banaman 10 years ago

THE same idea i have is what harrison said, that is the plan, play the senior ones first before bringing in the junior one will help us.

• onipa y3 10 years ago

The twenty man squad is great for now .What is needed is additional 4 players.John Mensah ,Richard Kingston +two more defenders.The problem with the team is something else.I will call it mental toughness.They don´t have to b ...

• kojo 10 years ago

my problem with those guys are speed and reflexes. Olele should not be called.

• YAA 10 years ago

my first 11 for the team
    1.Adam Kwaresey
    2.Daniel Opare
    3.Kwadwo Asamoah thats where he plays in juventus
    4.Jerry Akaminko
    5.Isaac Vorsah
    6.Micheal Essien = Experience
    7.Kevin Prince Boateng
    8.sulley muntari =Experi ...

• kkkkk 10 years ago

Kwadwo Asamoah is the best offensive midfielder we have now. Even at Juventus Conte thought about buying a natural left back and moving Asamoah to an offensive midfield position. We tried that with Essien at AFCON 2008. It fa ...

• kwabee 10 years ago

he plays at left back week and week out.
    And muntari is a more cultured left footer than k. asamoah. be realistic we have many offensive mid fielder who are goal scorers like muntari and boateng!! lets make most use of him!! ...

• Mark 10 years ago

I have almost the same selection, although I might try Stephen Adams in post to see how he fares in the next game. If there is ever a penalty, we need a keeper who has a good chance of stopping it. I will also like to see Jon ...

• ABDULWAHAB ABOOBAKER 10 years ago

I watched virtually all the international friendlies played yesterday with very close focus on the teams that have qualified to the world cup and my conclusions is that Black Stars is nowhere near the glitering performances t ...

• kojo 10 years ago

if were to have known his team by now, guys like Addy, Jordan and some others will not have made the trip.

• Koff Richards 10 years ago

I think Asamoah gyan ( azonto ) should be benched. He does not have it any longer. His creative edge is gone and a chance for a goal is unpredictable. We need a striker who can creat predictable goals. A younger striker will ...

• ??? 10 years ago

WHAT KIND OF BAD LUCK JERSEY IS THAT?

• Frank 10 years ago

From yesterday's game,i have selected my starting Elleven for the W/C.A 4,4,2 formation namely Adam Kwarasey in post and is about time that the coach should monitor John Mensah from now and bring him back to the team partner ...

• Kofi Mensa 10 years ago

4-2-3-1 formation

GK: Kwarasey, Dauda, Adams

RB/LB: Opare, Afful, Inkoom, D. Addy/K. Asamoah

CB: Boye, Akaminko, Jonathan Mensah, Vorsah/Sumaila/Awal

DM: Essien, Badu, Rabiu, Asamoah/Frimpong (Asamoah definitely i ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

If Ghana had 22 players playing football seriously like Abdul Majeed Waris, everyone would have gone to bed and slept well. Unfortunately the players we have right now, have a problem comprehending why they are on the pitch i ...

• Philip 10 years ago

Have watched Lee Addy play week in and week out and he has improved. Unfortunately he got an injury last week and will be away for one month. He is one of a few who can play in all the defensive positions. Lets look at him as ...

• Nun 10 years ago

It is quite clear that the Black Stars are doomed even before the competition commences. Any one who saw the match live should have realised how bankrupt, mediocre, and useless we are. We should have terminated Appiah's contr ...

• Ibn Batuta 10 years ago

You obviously do not know what you are talking about. I am sure you did not see the U.S. getting pounded by the Ukrainian team. You are the stupid one, Nun.

• Ghfuo, change your MENtality! 10 years ago

IBIN OR SHIT...U R A FOOL. AA IS THE MOST RETARDED HEAD COACH GH HAS EVER HIRED. THEY GUY IS EMOTIONALLY WEAK, AND TECHNICALLY BANKRUPT. AA NEEDS A FOREIGN TECHNICAL DIRECTOR TO LOOK GOOD. OTHERWISE, I PREDICT DOOMSDAY FOR GH ...

• Rasheed. 10 years ago

Please exclude me from your description of Ghanaians ,because I have never supported wimpy Appiah.

• Nun 10 years ago

The assumption underlying this article is, we have good players and coach. The problem is we don't even know we are sick. How can anyone who saw the game make this assumption? We are going to disgrace ourselves in Brazil.

• Soweto London 10 years ago

Please I beg on U the GFA to compensate Apiah & Konadu and bring in Silas Tetteh & Abedi Pele. These have proven records N experience internationally & on the Local scene. Tetteh twice a world cup medal winner at U20 level p ...

• Rasheed. 10 years ago

Who told you Abedi Pele is a coach?. Is it because he stood on lines against kotoko beat them in the finals, that is why he has proven records. Hahahahahahahaha, You make me "daff".Then any coach who has won the league can ha ...

• Soweto-London 10 years ago

Abedi is a coach. He has even gone on to get his licence A. Please I am talking facts here so keep your laughter. He has been coaching sine the birth of Nania FC. Silas wasn't given the tie to suceed. Appiah also lost to Zamb ...

• kwabee 10 years ago

THATS ALL!!!

• pato 10 years ago

the best formation that will ensure Ghana go through will be 3-5-2 formation taking the opposition into consideration and should be prepared to change during matches if needed be so my best 11 will be

1 Adam Kwarasey in g ...

• anokwale 10 years ago

It actually makes sense. However, I might put KPB where (Essien/Rabiu) is and put Gyan up front with Warris. That lineup might just work if Muntari can really play with energy.

USE FAST, PACY MIDFIELDER...LIKE KASA, WAKASU, RABIU AND EVEN GYAN/YIADOM ON THE RIGHT WING. MUNTARI N ESSIEN ARE SLOW. PLUS, OUR DEFENDERS HAVNT PLAYED TOGETHER LONG AND ARE HIGHLY EXPERIENCED AT THE WCUP/ A TOURNAMNT OF THI ...

• FIIFI 10 years ago

ALL THE SO CALLED BLACK STARS ARE USELESS AND HOPELESS,A NATIONAL TEAM WITH USELESS AND ILLETERATE ASAMOAH GYAN AS THEIR CAPTAIN,JUST FORGET ABOUT THESE BUSH BOYS.

• bobotee 10 years ago

Same squad minus Wakaso and Addy that will be 19. You add Acquah, Schlup who can play as a striker and LB, Olele and Banahene. Lets not rely too much on Gyan

• Kofi Agyin 10 years ago

GFA should look seriously into our coaching deficiency, then we can talk about the squad. With the players he had if he could not device counter tactics to overturn an early goal, against minnows like Montenegro, big embarras ...

• hmmmmmm 10 years ago

Opare, jerry A. and jordan are useless, they cannot even make it in USA team.

• Mark 10 years ago

If John Mensah is in shape, I will move Akaminko to the bench. Otherwise, let Akaminko play. He's one of the few defenders who hasn't caused a goal yet. Defenders do make mistakes, but it is also true that statistics don't li ...

• Tanga star in Egypt 10 years ago

Mr Rastafaral we have only one coach.

• KWAME OWUSU 10 years ago

ALL YOU COACHES MAKE YOUR SELECTION AND SUBMIT THEM TO ME
    THE BEST COACH ON THIS PANEL, WILL BE TAKEN TO PAPUA NEW GUINEA. HURAYY!

• J. J. RAWLINGS- 10 years ago

PLEASE INCLUDE ADIYIAH AND ELIMINATE JORDAN

• KOGYAM58 10 years ago

WHAT!, THIS DWARF ADIYAAH. OVER MY DEAD BODY.

• Sankofa 10 years ago

Yes, Jordan Ayew should be dropped and Adiyiah recalled.

Richard Boakye Yiadom and Assifuah should be reserves.

• The Truth sometimes hurts 10 years ago

OMG, adiyah is finished. talk about someone else

• Kwame Adu-Gyamfi 10 years ago

Goalkeepers: Adam Kwarasey, Richard Kingson, Razak Braimah Defenders: John Mensah, John Boye, Jonathan Mensah, Jerry Akaminko,Nana Asare, David Addy, Daniel Opare, Samuel Inkoom Midfielders: Michael Essien, Sulley Muntari, Kw ...

• Onipa Bone 10 years ago

Speed and stregth. two very important words from yesterday's match! Who remembers the African cup of nations tagged Ghana/Nigeria 2000. Baffuor & Asamoah Gyan were on that team. The two brothers walked away from that team aft ...

• Zaphenat Pioneer 10 years ago

Massa,you are talking about 2008(Ghana 2008)not Ghana/Nigeria 2000 when Osei Kuffuor,Akunnor and co played.Shame on you!!!!

• Dr. Kwame Nkrumah is my hero 10 years ago

You think you are smart but you are fool. Do some research before you spew garbage. THe year Gyan and Baffour left Black Stars was 2008. Moron.

THE SAME CHAMELEON GH PPL SAID BIYIK WAS JEALOUS. YET, LOOK AT THE PERFORMANCE WE PUT UP VS MONTENEGRO? WE COULDN'T EVEN ATTACK THE NET. OUR PERFORMANCE IN THE LAST 3RD WAS WOEFUL....NO CREATIVITY GETTING INTO THE 18

• ZUARUNGU 10 years ago

THIS 42 YEAR OLD GUY SHOULD BE DROPPED RIGHT NOW BEFORE HE MESSES US UP IN BRAZIL

• edmond 10 years ago

no you are wrong bro Essien is 38 not 42, LoL

• makaale Ltd 10 years ago

jordan n addy out

• Yahaya 10 years ago

My first 11:

Adam Kwaresey

Michael Essien-Isaac Vorsah-Jerry Akaminko-Daniel Opare

Dede Ayew-K.P. Boateng-Agyemang Badu-Kwadwo Asamoah

Asamoah Gyan-Majeed Waris

• Benjamin okyere 10 years ago

I think Essien is too old to be with the squad as compared to the quads of other teams since they may come up with fresh strength and speed.Essien should rather play the fifth position.
    However, Coach Akwasi Appia should als ...

• laudacit 10 years ago

Quincy Owusu Abeyie