Display options Mobile website
Click to go to GhanaSoccerNet

Sports News of Sunday, 29 December 2013

Source: GNA

Happy FM sports fans award President Mahama

President John Dramani Mahama was on Friday honoured at the maiden Happy FM Sports Fans Awards held in Accra.

The Citation, which accompanied the award, said President Mahama had made an invaluable contribution to the development of Ghana’s sports.

It said President Mahama had displayed inspirational leadership and unflinching support to the senior national team, the Black Stars, leading to its qualification to the 2014 World Cup in Brazil.

Former Presidents Jerry John Rawlings and John Agyekum Kufuor were also honoured for their various contributions to the development of sports.

Other distinguished personalities who were also awarded are Mr Kwesi Nyantakyi, President of Ghana Football Association, Adwoa Bayor, former Captain of the Black Queens, Professor Azumah Nelson, the Boxing Legend, and Kennedy Agyepong, Chairman of Kenpong Group of Companies.

Mr Emmanuel Akromah, General Manager of Happy FM, said the idea behind the sports fans award was to enable the various supporters groups to reward sports personalities that are performing creditably.

He said the fans were the best judges of who deserved to be awarded as they had been following the various sporting disciplines with keen interest.

Mr Akromah urged the fans to continue to support the various sporting disciplines, especially the Black Stars, as they prepare to participate in the 2014 World Cup in Brazil, adding that the support would help promote peace and unity in the country.

He expressed the hope that the award would be sustained to include the ECOWAS sub-region and the African Union in the coming years.

Nene Okukrubuo Kwesi Agyemang V, a Chief from the Dodowa Traditional Area and Chairman for the occasion, commended Happy FM and Global Media Alliance for organising the event.

Mfantsipim Senior High School emerged the Basketball School of the year, Yahaya Mohammed of Asante Kotoko Football Club won the footballer of the year (Local) while Kwadjo Asamoah who plays for Juventus in Italy, won the footballer of the year (Foreign).

Football Coach of the year was given to Didi Dramani of Kumasi Asante Kotoko, Athlete of the year, Kwame Dasor and Sports Personality of the year went to James Kwasi Appiah, Coach of the Black Stars.

Football was also adjudged the Sports Discipline of the year.

Other award winners were, Elizabeth Opoku, Hockey Player of the year, Janet Ayiyem, Female Footballer of the year, Patrick Allotey, Boxer of the Year and Esther Lamptey, Tennis Star of the Year.

This article has 2 comments, give your comment