You are here: HomeSports2013 02 08Article 264443

Ghana and Mali face off in third-place repeat

Read Comments Comments (118)

• gobay 11 years ago

Useless people!

• rocky 11 years ago

You can win or lose... We did not technically lose but, could not make penalties!

• Moke 11 years ago

It does not matter this is a useless game we are going to play who is interested on 3rd place we should have won the cu itself Ghana we have disgraced ourselves Kwasi Appiah needs to go he is toouch of a gentlest to be a co ...

• WISE-TALK,UK 11 years ago

this is our strong warnning to ghanians!!that we 9jas!!they masters of everything,upon 14 agaist 11 with b,faso u still fuck up,,haha we spell mali to maliens!!now is they time to wipe ghana ass,hahahahahaha,,respect to all ...

• NEMESIS, UK 11 years ago

Hand 2013 Africa Nations Cup title to Nigeria -Dutch football legend, Ruud Gullit

Written by Ganiyu Salmon - Lagos
    Thursday, February 7, 2013

DUTCH football legend, Ruud Gullit, believes the Super Eagles are as good as ...

• OH GHFUO, WHY SO PRIMITIVE? 11 years ago

WE HAVE SEEN ENUFF. AA MUST COMOT!
    GET RID OF APPIAH!
    MY FRIENDS. TO THOSE OF YOU WHO ARE DEVE;OPMENTALLY CHALLENGED.
    LET ME PUT IT THIS WAY.
    LETS JUST SAY U WANT HAVE HIRED AKAWASI APPIAH TO WORK FOR YOUR FAMILY BUSINESS ...

• Ern 11 years ago

stop copying and pasting and flooding GhanaWeb articles with the same comment please!

• JOE 11 years ago

HE MUST RESIGN NOW OR BE READY TO GO

• ASARE 11 years ago

THAT IS TRUTH

GHANA WILL NEVER, SMELL AFCON VICTORY FOR A VERY VERY LONG TIME DUE TO THEIR SHAMELESS PERFORMANCES WITH WITH BURKUNANES. MARK MY WORDS.

• UNCLE KOFI 11 years ago

GHANAIANS ARE BEHAVING LIKE THE CHELSEA BOSS. ONE FAILURE MEANS YOU MUST GO.

• Johnny 11 years ago

Akwasi Appiah is just a copy-n-paste coach. He keeps using the same formation Milo and Plavi used, working or not. He saw Kwadwo Asamoah being used in defense in Juventus and there he goes, Asamoah in defence while our midfie ...

THIS IS GH LAND OF GOLD. YENTU BRONZE WAHA SO DONT COME HERE WITH BRONZE....I WOULD RATHER HAVE KONADU COACH THIS GAME. I WOULD RATHER WE USE UNUSED OPLAYERS. I WOULD RATHER SEE US PLAYING FLUID SOCCER, LEAD AND HAVE MALI COM ...

• one man soldier 11 years ago

What happens to all the over confidence of the team. Pride indeed goes before fall. no more confidence again.

• OSEI 11 years ago

HE MUST GO

• JOE 11 years ago

HE TRIED HIS BEST BUT NOT FIT ENOUGH TO COACH OUR NATIONAL TEAM

• SWEET STICKS 11 years ago

"....and then re-organize ourselves for the 2014 World Cup qualifiers" . Haaaaba Maxwell Konadu, who the hell pumped it into that skull of yours that Ghanaians will give you and Kwesi the opportunity to break our hearts again ...

• Sikafuturo 11 years ago

Strong warning,what strong warning.
    You are masters,masters of what ,may be 419.Don't boast,remember you were 10 minutes from being eliminated UNTIL YOU GOT A DUBIOS PENALTY,
    Don't forget and I will tell you and this is a f ...

• I love Nigeria 11 years ago

hey!!!! look at somebody, did u have TV in your house at all which dubious penalty are u talking about, what is 14 against 10 man burkina fase and u can't even do anything.when did Nigeria become ghana wife. i can't just stop ...

• Ghanabwouy 11 years ago

Sikafuturo, u are an imbecile, people like u are the one killing our football...pride is what got us to this stage. we had better thank God that Burkina Faso saves us from meeting Nigeria. It would've been a great embarrassme ...

• talk 11 years ago

hahaha,bukina will discipline u 2moro.look at 419football.respect ghanains bcos anytime u meet us we beat u.No matter how weak we r we have always lost.U were praying not to meat us.that is y u pple are hungry.Thank God we r ...

• kwaku new york 11 years ago

who cares about the third position? we could have done better than that. kwasi appiah's judgement was very stupid knowing very well penalty shoot out was inevitable and for that matter should not have replaced wakaso..that wa ...

• anokwale 11 years ago

Wakasso's last free kick was horrible. He was tired. He had to come out. Ghanaians are interesting silent about the miss of the so called local champion striker by the name of Clottey who missed his penalty wide....The Gha ...

• Ebo, USA 11 years ago

The senior Black Stars should be dissolved as soon as they return to Ghana. We cannot go through this rooler coaster emotions of expecting to bring the cup home and have our hopes dashed for so many years. I can even dare say ...

• rocky 11 years ago

make sure you beat Mali! we want the Bronze! Then, lets focus on getting to the world cup!!

1):Nigeria : "GOLD"
    2):Burkina Faso: "SILVER"
    3):Mali : "BRONZE"
    4):Ghana : "CHARCOAL"

• BAMBAARA SOUNDZ 11 years ago

WE NEED A STRONG MENTAL & PHYSICAL PREPARATION TO FACE MALI BECAUSE THEY HAVE A STRONG TEAM.Get the motivation songs here.Click:www.alancosmos.com
    Facebook:Alan Cosmos

• Peep 11 years ago

If we keep kwasi appiah... He is not good.

• Peep 11 years ago

Experimenting time is over! Local coaches like the expertise in today's modern soccer which uses technology with tactics. NO MORE LOCAL COACHES!

• Stephen 11 years ago

Foreign coaches not solution.You are calling for a foreign coach when Nigeria has just beaten Ivory Coast. I don't think foreigners are the solution to all our problems all the time.

AKWASIA APPIAH WO Y3 BIG TOKE!

• Yaw Adu-Asare 11 years ago

Were the Black Stars complecent in the B. Faso game?

The loss to B. Faso is a useful lesson for the Stars.

Forward Ever!

• Abbey 11 years ago

Mali 4,Ghana 1

• IMMA 11 years ago

more footsoldiers are willing to watch the third-place match sponsor them mr. president(a financial loss at its best)

• TNC 11 years ago

FOLKS,
    LETS TAKE BURKINA TEAM TO THE SUPREME COURT FOR BLACK STARS TEAM TO BE DECLARED WINNERS !

• Maco 11 years ago

I have been down ever since this tragic calamity, why do the black stars always give up when they are close to winning something unique, from this I have made a conclusion never to watch or support the black stars if this is ...

• Stan 11 years ago

aww bro i side with you!! ever since we lost i've not been able to overcome it. all i see is a lazy gyan hitting posts and falling down at every little push. as for the coach i've never seen anyone this weak. his body languag ...

• atale 11 years ago

My only problem is the hair cut of our players. Whether they beat or lose to Mali they should never return here with those horrible hair cuts and spray designs on their heads. It is the hair cut that caused their defeat.

• CHARLES YEBOAH OBENG.USA 11 years ago

As a matter of fact,our players should portray decency and professionalism on the field of play.They represent our nation and all ghanaians and they should quit those ugly hair-styles,they should be conservative and curve a b ...

• Abeiku - London 11 years ago

U can all FUCK OFF ...we don't want to know ... too many disappointment's just make sure u qualify for the World Cup 2014 ... everyone of u is a DICKHEAD ..

• Decent 11 years ago

CAPTAIN SHOW GOOD EXAMPLE TRY AND LOOK DECENT (HAIR CUR) ON FIELD WHILE PLAYING YOU ARE NOT SEEN AS AN INDIVIDUAL BUT SEEN AS REPRESENTATIVE OF THE NATION, GHANA.

• appiah papa 11 years ago

another penalty for Ghana. wakaso scores.

• Nokwarehene 11 years ago

Unless you get the balls to play Clottey, Boakye, Majeed, or Jordan do not even think of qualifying for the world cup let alone play in it. Asamoah Gyan has been useless ever since he went to Arabia.

• RKB USA 11 years ago

BY GRACE OF GOD GHANA WILL WIN

• CHRIS LEWIS 11 years ago

LOL MALI 3 ghana

• Apia 11 years ago

They lacked stamina and players were not playing at comfortable positions leading to confusion sometimes, yet we are still proud of Gyan and the rest of the team. Fix the mistakes. Our time will come

• Asantewaaba kakyire Amoako 11 years ago

Who cares about third place.The main problem was,the players were not playing the game from their heart,l am not a coach nor player but that is fact.

• OKOROMANSA 11 years ago

WE NEED TO FACE SOME REALITIES ABOUT SOCCER. COACH APPIAH CANNOT PRODUCE STRIKERS OVERNIGHT. PLUS, WE DO NOT HAVE GIANTS IN THE TEAM NOW LIKE THE BURKINA AND MALI BOYS. ISAAC VORSAH RABIU AND JOHN BOYE ALWAYS HAD TO OVERWORK ...

• Truth 11 years ago

who gives a xxxx about third place?

• Mohammed Aribidesi 11 years ago

Incerdulously absymal show of Ghana soccer. This is not the Brazil of Africa that I used to know and loved

• Mohammed Aribidesi 11 years ago

Can't bet on these players. Ghana 1-Mail 0

• Yaa Asentewaa + Kwame Nkrumah 11 years ago

The Ghana national football team will always be as good as the Ghana's Absolutely Rubbish + Third World "Economy" and "Quility of Life" for it's citizens.

• Jo 11 years ago

that's why.

• abc 11 years ago

give everyone else who has not featured in the tournament a chance to play....Kwaresey, Boakye, Akaminko etc...treat it as a friendly to further assess for the WC matches coming up...The third medal is of no use to Ghana so d ...

• ali abubakar 11 years ago

konadu we dont need any of ur organise you and appiah go to hill rest we need good coach who will take us to world cup

JAMES AKWASIA APPIAH HAS NO BUSINESS COACHING GBSTARS. WE HAVE SEEN ENOUGH OF YOUR SHENANIGANS. JAMES AKWASIA APPIAH, WO Y3 TOKE.

IF GHFUO WANT BETTER. THEY MUST ONLY ENTERTAIN DESAILLY OR KONADU AS THE NEXT COACH. TONY BA ...

• Black pretenders 11 years ago

Does anyone find it strange that Ghana has not managed one legit goal?

WAT TOURNEY HAVE U BEEN WATCHING? WAT DO U CALL BADU'S FIRST GOAL AGAINST DR CONGO?

• Lord HateGood 11 years ago

Appiah knows nothing about real football and must go. Why he stopped Ayew from joining the black stars for the games is very questionable. Ayew would have helped us go to the finals as Asamoah Djan is too heavy with the loads ...

• Robert Mensah Jnr 11 years ago

The worst team ever to have represented the nation. These are selfish illiterate players, they are useless by any standard.

• abc 11 years ago

you are a royal name sir, conduct yourself with honor.....

• charlie 11 years ago

leave Gyan alone bcos of pressure that is why he is suffering

• TRUTH 11 years ago

Asamoah Gyan is useless, stupid foolish bastard, a twat and an idiot, he plays for a low league in UAE. What a bastard he is.
    Wo maame twe kankai

• ali abubakar 11 years ago

this year is our own i get the felling of that why fuck up when god says help ur self so that he will support you ,,,

• Asantrofie 11 years ago

Does anyone have a Link to a site where this game can be seen in the US?

• Asare 11 years ago

ARE WE GOING TO SPRINKLE ANOTHER WATER FOR OUR HOPE? GHANA SHOULD KNOW THAT FOOTBALL IS A PHYSICAL ACTIVITY AND NOT JUJU OR SPRINKLING OF WATER. SHAMEFUL GHANAIAN FOOTBALLERS SHOULD TRAIN HARD THAN TO RELY ALWAYS ON STUPID ...

• Busumbru 11 years ago

We must be objective about the Blackstars, Simple put, the team is NOT GOOD. Someplayers showed individual briliance, eg Dauda Mohammed who in actual fact carried us through the quarter finals to the semi finals. Christian At ...

• INNOCENT yum yum 11 years ago

boring

• Onslopogas 11 years ago

We can't win the African cup with this our team fellow countrymen.Even the Ivorians failed!!The thing is:Ghana need players who really are dedicated & determined to use their last breadth for the sake of mother Ghana.Look at ...

• Johnny 11 years ago

We need a coach!!

• walk a lone 11 years ago

In fact this is Ghana worse squad ever because they played the mostly ugly football in the tournament.I was shy to say from Ghana knowing very well that black stars always play beautiful soccer like barcelona.

• Johnny 11 years ago

It was so bad watching my belove Ghana playing like 'Frefrekobo' team and being toyed around by Cape Verde and Burkina Faso. What a shame. If you have talented players on the field and they can't play, then it is the coach's ...

• BRO DAN -TRC 11 years ago

PRECIOUS PEOPLE OF THE NATIONS OF THE WORLD, DIGNIFIED PEOPLE OF AFRICA, INNOCENT PEOPLE OF GHANA, TO THE BLACK STARS OF GHANA I SAY- CHOOSE NOT TO RAMAIN IN THE GRAVE ON THE "THIRD DAY"!! FOR "THE SAME SPIRIT THAT ROSE CHRIS ...

• Ebo, USA 11 years ago

God has blessed the Ghanaian players but He expects them to use their skills and brains.There is time for everything. A time to pray and a time to wake up and act and win cups! Enough is enough. We need the spirit of descernm ...

• Ghanaba 11 years ago

Can Ghana play against Mali with this poor team? The worst Black stars ever seen

• Hfhf 11 years ago

We need muntari essien and kelvin boateng for wc qualifications

• jkb 11 years ago

I am glad this lad has been cleared to play in the final. I sincerely hope that they play even better against Nigeria on Sunday. This team clearly deserves to win the CHAMPIONSHIP. Lets support Burkina Faso. I have an intuit ...

U better wake up, add blackstar plus burkina,Super eagle will win.looser

• jkb 11 years ago

you will come back this forum to congratulate the "dreamer".

• Sikafuturo 11 years ago

I hope you win tomorrows encounter with Brukina Faso.Let's face it, with a population of over 150,000000 million, you havent achieved much in football.Have you? Loser!

Before i start arguing with u. i will love to ask how old are u to say what has Nigeria Archived in football. but i will list them as follows

The only country in africa to reach the 4th place in FIfA ranking. what was he h ...

i hope u are watching Mali 2-GH zero 0000

• GYEDU ISAAC ITALY 11 years ago

GHANA IS A NATION KNOWN TO FOOTBAL BUT FOR 31YEARS IT LOOK LIKE GHANA IS OUT OF MORDEN FOOTBALL SO MANY FINALL BEEN LOST ON A SILVER PLATAR OFFICIAL NOTDOING ANYTHING ABOUT THE FA ALSO NOT DOING ANYTHING IS LIKE NO ONE CARE ...

• RICHARD .K 11 years ago

I DO NOT KNOW WHY THEY ALWAYS SEND ISAAC VORSA TO GO PLAY FOR GHANA TO WIN A CUP KNOWING VERY WELL THAT HE CAN NOT EVEN GIVE A SIMPLE PASS.

• Dacosta 11 years ago

Coach Kwesi APPIAH is not good enough hi substitution and tactics are very bad.

• Osei 11 years ago

The gay is now the black star captain

• Kwame 11 years ago

Black star team is poor.school boy team.shame to black star.

• stupid assistant coach and stupid ap 11 years ago

maxwell konadu is a mad man. do u tink ghanaians wil be happy to see u and ur stupid kwasi appiah again?do u tink we will b happy to see kojo asamoah playing number three.mad people.we want a coach who will not destroy d un ...

• Nicholas Osei Kyeretwie-Chicago-USA 11 years ago

So if Akwasi Appiah is not good enough,who is?Ghana have had the Otto Fisters and all the best names in coaching yet we cannot take the african cup.The wahala is not with the coaching,but the players.In ghana everybody is a c ...

• TRUE 11 years ago

which time

• Evo 11 years ago

BLACK STARS WILL MAKE IT TODAY!

• Arthur Edward 11 years ago

Ghana will beat Mali this time

• Evo 11 years ago

STOP KEITA AND DIABATE AND WE ARE THROUGH

• Mathias,JNTC. 11 years ago

Wishing the stars all the best.

• asiedu 11 years ago

Ghana is going to win the match today

• asiedu 11 years ago

GHANA 2 MALI 1

• Kofi - New York 11 years ago

The math is simple; Make Andre Ayew the lead striker of the black stars. We can get more goals that way. Stop the politics and favoritism!!!

• nana 11 years ago

look at the nigerians bragging all reday when they have not even taken the nations cup for even twice? hahahaha they are masters may foot. we have climbed and at the top they now looking fir the tree hehehe...they will lose t ...

How old are u, and i guess if u don't have computer u got a phone that can browse,it a pity u are not suppose to be here if u can say Nigeria has not won Afcon twice, u are living in Illusion.

• Ghana Boy 11 years ago

You are around 150 million people and we are only 24 million. We have won the cup 4 times and you not even 2 times. So tell me Abi,who is better?

• Brother Kwaku 11 years ago

Hello Coach Appiah,

Wishing you best of luck.

Please bring back Sulley Muntari, Dede Ayew, Jordan Ayew, Essien and Prince Boateng and meld them with the rest of the team. If we had these 5 guys we will be bringing the A ...

• Kwaku Ohenenana Atiemo 11 years ago

Hello my fellow Ghanaians, if we Ghanaians will accept the facts and the truth that the Black Stars are over rated then the team can be rebuilt.Due to over rating of the Stars,the pressure is always on them.The shareholders ...

• Ghana Boy 11 years ago

Win or lose I dont care. We need the cup not fucking third place. Black Stars the heart breakers.

• kwadwo 11 years ago

ghana are not good to go to final

• hoo- yah 11 years ago

ghana team has too many problem a rookie coach lack of condition captain who dont want to be part of penalty kicks

• Owura Wiafe Akenten 11 years ago

may the Most High be with you Black Stars. Amen.

• George 11 years ago

Appiah is making stupid excuses. He has been paid to do a job, but he is not up to the task. There should be no training on the job. Please show him the exit and get a better coach.

• adowa 11 years ago

look at it this way...if we kept winning with luck and got to the final some short sighted people will say afterall we made the finals SO KEEP THE COACH.loosing this way there is no excuse to keep him and make us loose out on ...

Ghana just lost to Mali.(3-1) We need to revamp the team. Look for a better striker to replace Asamoa Gyan and a few other players. Thanks.

• adowa 11 years ago

we missing some key players...but this is all the COACHES FAULT! NOT PLAYERS!

In USA,successful teams have tough coaches.Coaches who insist on hardwork and reward(playtime) prolific output.Nyantakyi and Appiah should make room for personnel who will not be playing second fiddle to political figures try ...

• adowa 11 years ago

to do this and that...this coach needs to be fired!

Ghana has lost to Mali again.

• gbengress 11 years ago

RIP black corpse

• amed 11 years ago

football starts from defence.look at burkinafaso defence its not easy to penetrate. by the Grace of Almighty God nigeria cannot, and this cup will visit burkina insha Allah for the first time

• ME HERE 11 years ago

ordinary mali that we blew away in the first 45mins..God forbid ..bad thing...lmao

• Kwesi Brenu 11 years ago

They are very useful in dancing AZONTO on soccer pitch. Until the dancing stops Ghana national team will only be famous internationally for Azonto Dance

• Chys 11 years ago

Ok everyone let's take a deep breath. Focus on what is ahead and prepare for that. Afcon is over time to move on. Forget the blaming game and focus on what went wrong and how to fix it. Peace