You are here: HomeSports2013 01 29Article 263494

Gyan: Black Stars not looking beyond quarters

Read Comments Comments (64)

• Ofori 11 years ago

Congrats boys. Often times the coach isn't even acknowledge when a win comes. Congrats Appiah too.

• POW, The Prince of Walewale 11 years ago

With Dede and Jordan, Ghana loss to Mali. Without Dede and Jordan, Ghana beats Mali. That does not mean they are not good additions. Dede for one could've been there but for his bad attitude which some Ghanaians wouldn't want ...

• MC, K'Bu 11 years ago

POW, the Prince of WLWL-- you too why?..Eh? You wanna raise some people's blood temperature? Anyway like I said to another doubting Thomas recently "A prophet does not receive honour from his own country men and among his own ...

• REF: POW, Prince of Walewale 11 years ago

POW, your memory is very short. Remember, we beat MALI 2-0 in the 2012 AFCON with Dede and Jordan in the group stage. It is the match for the 3rd place we lost 2-0 to them because our players (and even some of us), dont care ...

• OWASS 11 years ago

nnnoonn;only 2??? 4 good years pls!!!

• OH GHFUO, WHY SO PRIMITIVE? 11 years ago

THAT ZAMBIA WILL BE GOING HOME AT THE EXPENSE OF NAIJA AND BURKINA. TO THE UNBELIEVERS. DO U BELIEVE ME NOW?....

• Rasheed the claivoyant 11 years ago

Who scored the second goal for us against Mali in the group stage?I hope it was POW.Today, Dede has a bad attitude.Mark my words,you swallow all the trash you've been writing about Dede.

• AfricanBoy 11 years ago

what is your problem with Dede? What bad attidude has Dede exhibited? Let your focus be on what is ahead of us and not your personal hatred for Dede. He is one player who is not arrogant.Dede had good reason not to be at the ...

• Smoking Columbia 11 years ago

Congrats! With hardwork and perseverance, we can, we are almost there, guys. Lets go get the ultimate cuz we can! You really impressed me with your touches and skills. To me, you were the man of the match: 2 assists and 1 g ...

• Macotih 11 years ago

Is good to speak for the team not to oneself...bravo black stars and to te captain you stand in your words.

• Yamus 11 years ago

Well said and well done captain Gyan.

This is the era of Akwasi Appiah, love it or hate it. 3y3 slow but sure. On, on we go. "Fuky3 fukÿ3 saaa na y33 k0".

• KojoLee/MRAA@WalatuAfcon 11 years ago

We are not going to listen to those people who were expecting Black Star to dominate in every match. We are moving forward with MRAA laws and orders whether slow or fast, we still dey in!

• The Stallion 11 years ago

So far, am only thinking of the semis. Burkina, Zambia, Naija, Tunisia or Togo are the possibilities. Bring it on.
    Na final we dey go direct. Any challenger?

Stallvodkadam, the Burkinas is now the 2013 Afcon cancer now, we better be prepare w3w3.

The fact that they ponish the Rasta-Ethiopians no go scare os. We go finis dem! You don't believe?

So my Senior soccer informationist is now throwing the first warning blow against the Moose men in advance?

Please, Stallvodmidas, just let the govina breath for a while before another unwanted fight. Haaaaaa I daff.

• Rasheed the claivoyant 11 years ago

You will be crying very soon.Mark my words.

• Kobby, USA 11 years ago

A portrait of a leader

• Papaloto 11 years ago

Bravo, Gyan for the perfect display of team spirit. You don't wanna take the praise for yourself since it was teamwork that earned the win. Ghana is so proud of your comments. Congrats!

• OBOATANTO 11 years ago

Where are his enemies? Those who wanted his crucifixion for missing a penalty. The guy is just great and he was born a winner. Bravo Gyan! God is with you and we're all solidly behind you.

• tegare 11 years ago

asamoah gyan the great striker who misses 90% of begging chances...the guy is a real winner

• OBOATANTO 11 years ago

A TRUE WINNER WHOSE EARNINGS A WEEK CAN PROVIDE A SHELTER FOR SOMEBODY. YES, A TRUE WINNER.

• COMPLEX 11 years ago

In terms of quality football the match against Niger was not better than against Mali and Congo but Gyan showed his good qualities.One player i don't know at all who impressed me was Solomon Asante.Well done,boys

• Nana Kwame 11 years ago

I have always believed that Asamoah Gyan is very patriotic when it comes to volunteering for mother-Ghana. I am very proud of you fellow citizen and I strongly believe in our well discipline and ambitious team. Go Ghana for G ...

Yes Nana, the guy may not be perfect as we want him to be, but he is all that we got. He plays with all his heart .

We have to support him for better or worse regardless.

• tegare 11 years ago

guys u have my vote, we must support gyan, but then, we need to let him know scoring 1 goal outof 10 begging chances is appalling...

Haaaaa Massa Tegare, you made me daff. Scoring 1 out of ten chances was part of the "for better or for worse" parkade.

What can we do, Gyan is "Okumfo dumfo"

I don't mind what others will say, but as for me, I no know ooo!
    I'm not thinking of the quarters; I'm thinking of the semis!!!

To be honest, I predicted:
    Gh 2 - 0 Congo
    Gh 2 - 1 Mali
    Gh 3 - 0 Niger.

Now, I'm saying ...

Eeeeiii sorry, where's Slimzay your fellow New Yorker?

By the way, I think if both Ghana and Mali qualify for the semi finals, they'll possibly meet since they are from the same group. Is that not what it is?

Stop using the "what if" phrase. Mr. N has banned that phrase from this forum.

If two teams in a group are to meet again, it can only be in the final and nowhere else.

You said: "If both Gh and Mali qualify for the semi ...

Stallinabicot, can you brief me Gh v C.V which team to meet next for either of them?

333mmm we go brush CV aside, then we go meet 333mmmm, 333mmmm the winner of group C, who is likely to be Burkina v. Togo or Tunisia.
    Which of the 3 teams I mention go fit os? Even add Naija.

33333mmm that Burkinas now is pain in the ass. They can cause damage paaa if you don't take care.

If Burkinabe's are a going to be a pain in our ass, we'll take purgetive "afase duro" and they'll be very loose down there for us to release them into the "atonkong".

• Mr.N 11 years ago

The Governor was on speed dial and pooophing in his under pants all because the Ghana Black Stars are going to play Niger, he doing all over again when would he ever have faith and believe in himself. Thank God we are not goi ...

• Visionary, Billings, MT. 11 years ago

See all those Pepe haters, look what the Northern Ghanaians could offer Ghana if the South hadn't marginalised the Northner!!!!

Just recovering from last night's hang over. How 'bout that? A liitle bit of vodka last night just to celebrate on Akwasi Appiah's behalf. Haaaaaaaaaa. As for the "what if's" they belong to Slimzay. "0ne obiaa mpre ho, 0ne ob ...

• SENANU SEGBEFIA 11 years ago

WELL DONE CAPTAIN GYAN, FORGET ALL THE NAYSAYERS AND CONTINUE TO SHINE FOR THE NATION. BRAVO, AND MAY GOD CONTINUE TO BLESS THE GREAT NATION OF GHANA!!!!!! WE DON'T NEED THE AYEWS AFTER ALL.

• tegare 11 years ago

yeah, well done gyan. he must stop talking and start scoring....better leadership by example...

• Gerald Osei Afriyie 11 years ago

i think this mentality of gyan is the best in the sense that from the onset of this tournament, he is not much centered on scoring rather creating opportunities for others to score. keep it up

• A concerned citizen 11 years ago

I would like to encourage coach Appiah to prepare Goal keeper Daniel Adjei for penalty kicks because we are in a knockout stage. I know BS has the capabilities to prevail against all odds but they must be ready to present goa ...

• OLE 11 years ago

well done black stars

• AYESE 11 years ago

YES, GOD BE PRAISED!

• Kofius 11 years ago

Advice to Kwarasey, Dede and co. Ya Gye y3 mann !!!

• AYESE 11 years ago

CONGRATULATIONS TO THE GALLANT BLACK STARS OF GHANA AND OUR LOCAL COACH AKWASI APPIAH AND HIS ASSISTANT MAXWELL KONADU FOR THEIR GREAT PERFORMANCES AT THE AFCON 2013 SO FAR. THOSE OF US STAUNCH LOCAL COACH ADVOCATES ARE BEING ...

• Sia 11 years ago

GYA REMAIN SO AND BE HUMBLE . OD WILL GUIDES YOU

• Markin 11 years ago

Good one there Gyan, now you have the right set of mind frame,you are at your best now and the sky is your limit !!!

• Justice Jay Yao Amevor 11 years ago

You can do it with determination.

• Owura Wiafe Akenten 11 years ago

nice commentys. keep it up and well done to you all.

• John,Tema 11 years ago

Well done BS

• Ahiabu Emmanuel 11 years ago

We thank God for what he has done.Ghana will wine this cup.One touch as Mr John said.

• Chris Lewis 11 years ago

Can someone tell BABY JET to STOP thinking about dancing and play football. He should grow up.

• she love u bro 11 years ago

yes

• OH GHFUO, WHY SO PRIMITIVE? 11 years ago

I DONT KNOW MUCH ABOUT THE CAPEVERDEANS, NOR DID I WATCH ANY OF THEIR GAMES. MY ONLY ADVICE.
    AA SHOULD SIT DOWN WITH HIS TECH PPL AND WATCH ALL 3 OF CAPE VERDE'S GAMES IN THIS TOURNEY. ESP, THE CAPEVERDE VS ANGOLA GAME.
    TH ...

• Frederick Ha nson 11 years ago

Baby Jet Keep And break the Record.

• Whatever 11 years ago

The team and players must treat the quarter finals as the first of the four finals left. It means your kick or block or dribble or header could be your last. This means when you get the chance, don't waste it.

• JEFF 11 years ago

THE BLACK STARS ARE ADVISED TO WORK HARD IN ORDER TO SUCCEED BUT NOT TO RELY ON ANY PASTOR OR SPIRIT FOR SUCCESS.

IN PARTICULAR, YOU SHOULD STOP USING WHAT LOOKS LIKE "HOLY" WATER ON THE FIELD BEFORE THE START OF A MATCH.

• Samirt. 11 years ago

I this piece.Just continue to be a team player and help the team the best you can.Soccer is no boxing.No individual can win the gameYou play as a team,L as team and W as a team.I enjoy how you guys are playing playing because ...

• Da Realist! 11 years ago

GHANA 1:2 CAPE VERDE....GHANA THINKS THEY WILL WALK ALL OVER THEM...DON'T THINK SO!

• Ben bella 11 years ago

Well spoken gyan..in my opinion the best captain ever for the black stars is stephen appiah..very humble,a great leader indeed and i hope gyan will follow in his foot steps,well done so far gyan and the entire team..it,s a te ...

• Ben bella 11 years ago

Well spoken gyan..in my opinion the best captain ever for the black stars is stephen appiah..very humble,a great leader indeed and i hope gyan will follow in his foot steps,well done so far gyan and the entire team..it,s a te ...

• Nana 11 years ago

Gyan, the most sverely lacking confidence and motivation that all captains should and must have . This is the only reason why Ghana might not win the cup,period. But I we win but is difficult with a very retroggressive and ba ...

• Nick 11 years ago

“But my ambition is to help my team to win. Anytime I can’t score I try to open chances for my colleagues to score.

“I said to myself the right time will come and I think today was the right time.

“I don’t lik ...