You are here: HomeNews2017 06 18Article 549781

Porn stations: Government throws in towel; says it is handicapped

Read Comments Comments (85)

• Billy Bob Pounds 6 years ago

Show us the change and stop this gimmicks, when in opposition you people seem to have the key to all problem now that you are in power is speech after speech and your president too is on constant tour as tourist.

• Bigray @kokoteasu-obuasi 6 years ago

@Billy am srry to say we are in democracy era not military where constitution rules wae.X high time we citizens starts to reason else somone like wl always talk trash n stupid stuff into d society.I rest my case

• Kwadaso 6 years ago

Will the Military need a law to fight against an invading force?We live on our own land and ruled by our own people but cannot go against an action which everybody agrees is not good for our nation?What a disappointment!I exp ...

• ST. GHFUO, BLACK EXCELLENCE! 6 years ago

legalize prostitution, wee smoking and homosexuality...add bestiality also...this govt have claimed money to pollute the morale fabric of gh society...in the name of western thoughts n ideals. meanwile ppl shit on beaches n f ...

• AMPEM DARKO 6 years ago

...and you these same NDC bitches will call our dear president a dictator if he should issue a fiat without an act of parliament to back it.

• Pilolo 6 years ago

Useless npp government. Useless president Stupid foolish man

porno is glorified by white ppl bcos they dont value sexual intercourse bcos they they dont consider themselves well endowed. so they destroy n disgrace the whole notion of intercourse. intercourse in african societies is not ...

• P Djamgbe 6 years ago

These are the kind of stupid things the so called vigilante groups should be taking the law into their own hands and putting an end to, but will they do that, no. All they know is terrorizing innocent people.

• No government. Control 6 years ago

If you do bot want to watch porn please turn off the tv or use the remote control to change the channel,

• Nana Malik 6 years ago

This doesn't make sense.So where's the criminal law against the spread of pornography in Ghana? Gaddamn it.Shut the hell up, Mustapha and apply the law.

• SALUTE 6 years ago

NPP is totally confused and incompetent. No one among the 110 Zombees including the Attorney General has a clue.

• Lynda 6 years ago

You see how everything revolves around mobile technology with Internet of Things? Support for high-value smartphones is a market for the long haul. Think of the latent possibilities. People value their high end devices(N380k, ...

• 20/20 6 years ago

Africa, its sad.

• SIMON 6 years ago

PARENTAL GUIDANCE CAN BLOCK THESE CHANNELS FROM OR SET CLOCK TO BLOCK THESE CHANNELS FROM MIDNIGHT OR WHATEVER TIME SHOWS START

• Wisdom 6 years ago

In opposition you guys create the impression you can do everything. We voted for you and gave you power only for you to tell us your hands are tied. African politicians are just scumbags

• concerned citizen 6 years ago

Then citizen vigilantes will take the law into their hands and stop these porn TV stations if the government is powerless to act.Moslems and Christians should rise up to confront this evil.

• Storm 6 years ago

Will you just shut that your mouth! Who is citizens vigilante? There are many stations on your TV, why choose to watch the porn station? The hypocrisy in this part of the world is terrible. You're a suspect... People like you ...

• Billy Bob Pounds 6 years ago

Even you couldn't fight your own imbeciles invincible muppets puppets useless lawless foot soldiers. As for porn forget it the president and Osafo marfo really love it.

• hay 6 years ago

When the law was being fought for last year, you guys politicised it and got your judges at the Supreme Court to shoot it down. Now there is a situition at your hands. Deal with it Mr. Government!

• Boboso 6 years ago

First Ban sexual enhancement advert on radio and TV.
    Moreover tv have many channels with remote control so if you don't like porn just change the channel.
    Is this so difficult

• The truth 6 years ago

In fact I support you, I wonder all this cry about pornographic TV, must you watch those stations and moreover this programs are aired at past midnight, so if your kids are still awake by then you have a problem. Most of this ...

• Dignity 6 years ago

Don't mind. I wonder what their problem is. This would surely not give them visa to heaven. If they don't like it, it does not mean others should also not. There are plenty TV channels so they have the choice of not tuning in ...

and set them all on fire...we cant allow this govt to turn this country and our morale ideals to filth in the name of western standards...

• NAT 6 years ago

Massa,we are talking of the future generation and Ghana here.

• Anim 6 years ago

Hahaaa.. I support u and any parent who is irresponsible enough to let his/her kid stay up till 12am all in de name of watching shd get his/her head checked. Ders no single day dat we dnt hear abt drinks n drugs dat will impr ...

• SALUTE 6 years ago

When you are paralysed and live with your only two under 12 years old kids. Control them when those who take care of you are already gone to come back the next day. Who then control what they will watch on TV. Think!

• unpredictable 6 years ago

They will be asleep by the time the porn starts

• Ohene 6 years ago

That woman with that demon wig should be banned from saying and doing silly sexual escapades on tv. There are so many on radio and tv saying or showing filthy stuff to the very young in society.

• Ghanababa 6 years ago

Surprised at this statement. Pornography has been a criminal offence in Ghana and still is. Check the Criminal Offences Act under Obscenity! If you can't sell pornographic books, you can't show them either.
    Secondly, the pre ...

• NAT 6 years ago

If a driver behind a steering wheel decides to take a particular route because he likes that route can you a passenger change it.It is not that they are handicap to next year but they like it.If it was to be millions of contr ...

• kaketonti 6 years ago

NO DOUBT DELTA FORCES ARE FREE

• Tweaaaaaa 6 years ago

Now you see it's not easy?
    Waste of time and space.

• cha 6 years ago

did u read the entire story? smh

• GHANA FORAY 6 years ago

It's sad. Ghanaians must with one voice fight this stupidity my boycotting the purchase of the decoder on which this porn station is on. Our children are the future of this country and must be protected. Which sensible and re ...

• SALUTE 6 years ago

I weep when I think about Ghana's future. Look carefully at the youth now and what they will be in 20 years to come. It is a disaster and Nana Addo does not get it.

• GHANA FORAY 6 years ago

Let's send Invisible forces, delta forces and Kandahar boys to teach them no ko fiooo. Hahaha hahaha hahaha.

• Odikro 6 years ago

I have always said this; there are a few instances where mob action could be acceptable.

• Addai Mark 6 years ago

For God sake and for the sake of our children we must stop showing pornography on our television sets

• haruna 6 years ago

what if one of these evil-sponsored ngo's pays these tv-station to show gay-porn? stop them now!

govt has been paid by the west to legalise gay. they are using porn to test the waters. soon, gay porn will be shown on tv n made legal. soon, diseases will be rampant in gh society n many will be killed bcos white ppl need b ...

• firepower 6 years ago

WHY NOT INTRODUCE TAX OF 100% PER MINUTE TO DISCOURAGE THEM

• SIMON 6 years ago

NOW CHILD MARRIAGES , GIRLS, BOYS SODOMIZATION WILL BE ORDER OF THE DAY IF GOVERNMENT DOESN'T PUT A STOP TO IT AS WELL AS AIDS ENDEMIC. SHAME TO LEADERS ICLUDING PASTORS WHO WATCH THEM TO PUT A STOP TO IT NOW. GHANAIANS ARE F ...

• Kofi 6 years ago

I know that it is an offence to circulate pornographic and this is the basis of the many successful conviction for those who circulate pornographic material through social media sites. If they can be held accountable what of ...

• NAT 6 years ago

Absolute madness,Is the president not having veto powers or the power to issue executive orders.
    By their governance, they will be known.

• Sankofa 6 years ago

These were the self-same people who accused President Mahama of being incompetent, and President Mills of being Dr Dolittle.

Nana Addo's insults will come back to haunt him!

Nana Addo, Onaapo!

• Matete 6 years ago

You made so much noise in opposition but look at you now. You have nothing to offer GHANAIANS. Your days are numbered NPP.

• damba 6 years ago

this is bad for ghanaians

• Sankofa 6 years ago

Can gov't not issue a directive to the TV stations to stop showing porn and other offensive material?

• Banana 6 years ago

You mean government has no power to ban porn on free tv channels?..im a fan of free speech and free press but when it comes to showing porn on free tv channels in Ghana,i vehemently disagree..nowhere in the world is porn show ...

• indian black magic 6 years ago

black Ghanaian Indian spiritualist c
    Professor in science divine healing HIV
    invisible0244908520 power healing power money rituals contact the grand master of the night

• good magic 6 years ago

black Ghanaian Indian spiritualist c
    Professor in science divine healing HIV
    invisible0244908520 power healing power money rituals contact the grand master of the night

• Azumah Nelson 6 years ago

Nana Should his executive power.

• VERY QUICK 6 years ago

You just make it a paid channel. Those who want to watch it, pay the station to subscribe to the channel, that's it. If govt wants to actually clamp down on it, you charge the stations that will want to broadcast it, prohibit ...

• Akora 6 years ago

Then government is such a toothless and useless bull dog.

Our nation has lost its moral bearings mmmm

• Tom T 6 years ago

What a shock. Did I misread or what's. As a country are we saying when broadcasting license is issue it means tv and radio station can show anything they want. Oh my God Ghana. Well meaning ghanaians let's rise up oo let's ri ...

• Geverends 6 years ago

In a country with an uncountable number of TV stations, if only three out of the lot are identified as showing pornographic films in the early hours of the morning, 1am, then we are not bad. Those who claim they detest and lo ...

• Kwame Donkor 6 years ago

Blame the framers of the constitution.

• SIMON 6 years ago

BLOCK BLOCK THESE CHANNELS A PARENT TO PROTECT KIDS TRUST ME THAT IS WHY AMERICANS ARESTRUGGLING IN THEIR PERMISCUOUS BEHAVIER AND LIFE STYLES WITH DRUGS, ALCOHOL AND LESS EDUCATION WHILES CHINESE ARE TAKING OVER THE WORLD

• asempa 6 years ago

Chale as i dey talk for here dem dey show porn on ice tv nw.is 1:45 am

• Storm 6 years ago

Why tune your station to porn station. You are a hypocrite! Stop debating about stupid things and start talking about jobs for the youth.

• Igp 6 years ago

The Government of Ghana has power to shut down the TV stations publishing or telecasting pornographic matereials. Its a "commonsense" law based on ethics, locus, morals and traditions/custom of a modern nation called Ghana. T ...

• Omega 6 years ago

there must be some requirements that need to be met before a person or organisation is allowed to have a TV station to broadcast in the country. let all broadcasting stations have a review of their licences and inthere make a ...

• inercycl 6 years ago

Means adult only!

• Knockout 6 years ago

Stop the bull

• FREDDIE 6 years ago

They should not throw-in the towel because they could be controlled. There are a lot of porn sites all over the but they are well controlled by the government. It is one's discretion to view those dirty sites. However, in a p ...

• T and T 6 years ago

Our education system needs transformation, as it is right now it is producing graduates good at stealing, immorality and superstition.
    When was the last time the university students stood up against corruption and mismanage ...

• Philips 6 years ago

I have read the whole story and some of the comments some of you have given and am also here to share my view. One thing I have noticed about Ghanaians is that we like insult too much. There is an issue on the table and we ar ...

• Odikro Mununkum 6 years ago

It's unbelievable and stupid for a government to be powerless for a TV stations to show porn movies free.
    This foolishness can only happens in a backward nation like Ghana.

• and he said what? 6 years ago

A government that can't even pay the salaries of its Ministers must be indeed handicapped. Government may be handicapped, but the people are not. Most people will choose to eat corn instead of watch porn. Corn will fill your ...

• Odikro Mununkum 6 years ago

The government have power for to protect the citizens interest under any condition. In US,P graphics pictures and porn movies are strictly not allow on national TV. Port movies are on cables channel and customers/viewers ha ...

• Mallam Amotia JINNI Powers+2335471222 6 years ago

Hello people all over the world this is your number 1 spiritual consultation and problem solving center..Anybody out there whether in Ghana or any where in the world who is encountering any problem,difficulties,spiritual sick ...

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 6 years ago

Why is it that in some countries such as USA and others there are laws forbidding TV and broadcasts stations to go public on ponographic materials at certain hours in the day? Even vulgar words and sentences are not allowed t ...

• and he said what? 6 years ago

the government may have its one village one dam plan, but some business folks also have their own one village one porn station plan.

• Ernest 6 years ago

These stations are creations of npp top brass, how can they close them down? Remember, they started showing this filth as soon as they got power. Crooks!

• Anim 6 years ago

Funny country. All day long, our radio n TV stations are advertising drugs dat will increase our sexual performance n no one is worried abt dat.Ur kids hv smart fons wid very strong internet access n u worried abt some TV sta ...

• Eze Gbakagbaka 6 years ago

Interesting statement by the Minister/Govt. Your hands are tied til next year? If you really want to fix this brouhaha, ask parliament to take it up and work on something asap. And what happened to executive orders? Ghana ...

• RICHMOND, MARYLAND 6 years ago

Wow.... What a country! Am I being told that President akuffo Addo cannot use executive powers to nip this canker in the bud! Are our leaders serious at all.

• David Nii 6 years ago

This is unbelievable and stupid that the government can not shut down the stupid porn TV stations why why why why aaaaaba which type of Nation are we building now Even the USA who we adopt there lifestyle sometime don't show ...

• Kwesi 6 years ago

Use force it's your country.

• We must eradicate porn out of County 6 years ago

Gh media shouldn't entertained porn on our screens. We are not in America ok

• ATYCO#1THE CITIZEN 6 years ago

If Akufo Addo is serious and wants change, he shouldn't sit down without putting his ears on the ground aND lis ten ato entirely to what ishe circulating in the country by turine fire at the back of his tortoise ministers, t ...

• KINGSLEY 6 years ago

What about the laws on indecency. Mustafa seems to be rushing to the press and creating confusion with his immature releases. It seems many people including these TV stations are laying a banana pill for Nana Addo ansd his Go ...

• Tee 6 years ago

What will happen to me if I am found having sex with an adult female in a car parked in a secluded area at 8 o'clock in the night,?

• Abonsam Cartoons watcher 6 years ago

What's all this hypocrisy? Ask the Telcos and they'll tell you how much of their traffic is from porn sites. So why are we pretending?
    Doesn't the government have better things to do?

• N. BOAKYE 6 years ago

THE WISEMEN AND THEIR CHURCH MEMBERS TO RESCUE THE GOVERNMENT