You are here: HomeNews2014 09 02Article 324031

Ghana discovers another oil field

Read Comments Comments (62)

• SAKAWA BOY 9 years ago

With NDC in power it will be a curse for ghana

• Whatever 9 years ago

And selling Ghana short in negotiation. How can Ghana be allocated 10.5 of our own oil. NDC is better than NPP

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 9 years ago

1.8 Billion Dollars earned from oil only and our economy is in such shambles? Look at our roads. Workers are not paid on time, strikes everywhere. What a mess. What will the new discovery bring? Let us hope if we get oil in l ...

• Baba 9 years ago

Ghana is being shortchanged! Our so called politicians don't know tro! How much did the expatriates make since 2011? I watched a documentory on this Ghana oil issue recently. From that documentary, I learned in the first year ...

• C.Y. ANDY-K 9 years ago

Shocking you don't know by now, even after watching that documentary. It is because Ghanaians, including yourself, are STUPID! Even when it is spelt out for you, as Efo Solo has been doing for years now, you won't understand. ...

• Baba 9 years ago

And you are a Togolese? Can't imagine such frustration from a person who is not Ghanaian.

• BlindMan 9 years ago

It was said, the SALE of his 'stocks' earned him that value, but then, what was his contribution in the exploration? The Oil Exploration had been done some fourty(40)years ealier, however, KU4 managed to HACK a scheme when to ...

• mike 9 years ago

Who is filling your head with that nonsense.Kuffour did not pocket money from oil.All the money he raised paid down the debt. Stop believing all the propaganda you hear.NDC chased away one of those companies from Norway for n ...

• KOZI AGBO 9 years ago

I AM VERY SAD FOR THE OIL FIND. GHANA WOULD NOT BENEFIT, IT IS FOR NDC CROOKS ONLY. THIS WOULD BE A GOOD OPPORTUNITY TO CREATE, LOOT AND SHARE.

• Shabi 9 years ago

Come on Baba! You dont know what is going on? They call it capitalism. Money talks and bullshit walks. No mercy for the cripple!

This is what happens when mere beggars become presumptuous, impetuous and foolhardy idiots wh ...

• Michigan USA 9 years ago

That is because Ghana neither has the technology nor the money to undertake the production. Besides, the corrupt previous and present governments of Ghana would rather award the contracts to foreign companies that can afford ...

• BlindMan 9 years ago

It had been known, DECADES ago, that Ghana had OIL deposits and ready the FUNNELLED it out, however, the deal calls for an extended agreement in the ranges of fifty(50)years, similar to Aluminum AGREEMENT. This means, Ghana w ...

• Baba 9 years ago

I am glad you did not single out a particular party. Our rulers just can't get it right about the dangers of borrowing!

• ADUANA BA 9 years ago

NPP MOMBESU AWU ASANTE FO NKURASEFO

• Atinga Kobla Atongo 9 years ago

A CURSE

• sam 9 years ago

AND NDC CROOKS

• Mandy 9 years ago

At the end of the day, Ghanaians will still not see any benefit from this finding. Only the thieves in parliament & the oil tycoons will enjoy this oil money

• work hard! 9 years ago

ditto ditto

• MA HAMMERED 9 years ago

GOD BLESS GHANA

• Remove Indemnity Clause 9 years ago

Foolish man,what do you know about Russia.Tell me.Do you know Russia a super power country and don't owe any country in this world? Stop thinking like you have never been to school before.

• Shabi 9 years ago

Ignore the man. He is a victim of brain-wash imperialist education.

They have been mesmerized and taught to hate and reject anything, any idea and anybody who has the potential to liberate Africa from centuries of tyranni ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 9 years ago

No wonder Alhaji Blanket is all smiles throughout last week till date.

• good name is better than riches 9 years ago

With no good leadership, is nothing. 1.8billion still dumso,dumso,poor roads, no water,no free education,with NDC in power it be like nothing.

• POINTED FINGER 9 years ago

We are wired to the doom machine stupid. What a country of idiots ! Who goes out there to check for accuracy ? As far as we know they might have started digging a long time ago while Mahama runs around in his Makola tailored ...

• Didier 9 years ago

Our foolish visionless politicians will squander the money as usual. We need to bring back the tribunals and have the law determine the fate of these social leeches.

• HAZOR 9 years ago

When with this huge money $1.8 billion from oil,no development,no payment of contractors and workers and still Mahama has run to IMF for bailout.

• HAZOR 9 years ago

and only sanitary pads that got money.

• NTIKUMA ANANSE 9 years ago

THE OIL MONEY IS CHOPPED BY NDC, WITH ACOOUNTABILITY.

• the truth 9 years ago

What was the 1.8 billion used for, to buy chinchinga and tolo beef? We need an audit as to how this money was appropriated?

• Ewe nation 9 years ago

This oil belongs to Ewes and Gas since Ghana is our homeland.Asantes excited about this new find need to scratch their heads and return to Ivory Coast and Mali bcoz this is not your country.Asantes are just greedy invaders w ...

• DOGBE 9 years ago

Ewe nation ...is there any oil drill or oil wells in volta region ???? Gold..diamond ..cocoa..timber..manganese and many more ....tell me how many from that you soo called EWE NATION ..fool ...if you are fool ..we the ...

• My Voice 9 years ago

You are too holed up in tribalism. Come out of your hole.

Get a better identity!

• My Voice 9 years ago

STOP TRIBALISM instead.

• KWAA 9 years ago

Why don`t our journalists wait till the Russians comfirmed it before putting it in the Public domian?What of,if the oil found is not enough to be developed?
    And besides even if it is true ,what benefit will come out for Ghan ...

• NON-ALIGNED 9 years ago

Are we negotiating 10% for our nation and 90% for the Russians??????

Please read below.....which is part of an article which was placed on this forum a year ago......titled - Oil In Liberia: How Could Liberians Settle for ...

• Military Man 9 years ago

We have about 95% of all the riches of Ghana emanating from our region but just come over and see our roads, highways and other infrastructures in very deplorable states.

Our leaders from Western Region should negotiate a ...

• Kwesi Klogo 9 years ago

I WOULD ADVISE THE GOVERNMENT TO KEEP CLOSE EYES ON OUR DRILLING-SHIP AND MAKE SURE KRONFUOR KUFUOR, NANA ADDO, KT HAMOND AND CO DO NOT GET CLOSER TO THE DRILLING SHIP. DON'T SAY IDIN'T TELL YOU SO.

• Fu-Chu 9 years ago

The Ghanaian people will not benefit, so what good is it?

• Ama 9 years ago

Hope Ghana man have enough experience now so they can do it themselves. However I daubt it as their lazy and corrupt attitude always is the problem.

• israel 9 years ago

You have to do what the jews did. Educate yourselves and you will rule the world.

• 8530 9 years ago

u mean 1.8 dollars since 2011 and cant even pay school teachers something is wrong

• 8530 9 years ago

u not thinking kuffour did not has oil

• NII 9 years ago

ANY WHITEMAN ENGAGING IN ANY DEALS ON OUR NATURAL RESOURCES SHOULD GO AND READ THE HISTORY OF GHANA.THEY SHOULD KNOW THAT WE ARE NOT FOOLS AS THEY HAVE ALWAYS SOUGHT TO PORTRAY.WE ARE JUST MAWU LOVING PEOPLE.BELIEVE THE CURRE ...

• Kwasea 9 years ago

so u wanna drill the bore-hole urself, eh ?

• Sankofa 9 years ago

Yes, let us learn to drill the boreholes ourselves and extract our oil and gas ourselves for the benefit of all our people.

• NII 9 years ago

IF OUR PROBLEM IS JUST THE DRILLING OF THE OIL,LETS LEAVE THE OIL TILL WE ARE CAPABLE OF EXTRACTING IT.BELIEVE THIS COUNTRY HAS BRAINS TOO.WE ALSO HAVE THE CASH. WE WOULD NOT LEAVE OUR LIVES IN THE HANDS OF THESE DOGS WHO KIL ...

• Amy 9 years ago

You can’t even give your people clean water and toilets ! IQ 71

• HOLY SEE 9 years ago

5% WITH 20% TO NDC

• appiah 9 years ago

And all the oil money has been siphoned into the pockets of N.D.C. stew-alts.
    Ghana a rich little nation with the most dishonest leaders on earth.

• James Naru 9 years ago

There is no accountability . Ghanaian officials have to tell the people what is going on. We need to know the details of the contract signed in connection with the oil money

• Kwaku Ntawatawa 9 years ago

Russia?Dont trust them!

• Cash 9 years ago

Where is that huge amount from the oil/

This is of no use to Ghanaians. Oil or no oil, Ghana remains a poor country.

• Dasani Dandop 9 years ago

Leave the oil to our grand children. You are going to steal all the money leaving nothing for their future use.

Shame shame. Why do you want to use all our resources for nothing?

• O B 9 years ago

We don't need the Russians,the invaders on our soil.

• truth 9 years ago

Sad not something to jubilate about.

• kwabena akwafo 9 years ago

with all these money coming into the country why must we suffer? hmmm

• Johnny 9 years ago

Now stop borrowing money and stop selling the country.

• Kwesi USA 9 years ago

WHERE IS THE BEEF

• WENTON 9 years ago

Further discoveries and exploration should stop until NDC leaves power. They only keep on using our oil as colateral for illicit and dubious loans in addition to the stealing of the little revenue that comes in.

• mike 9 years ago

NDC flushed all the money down the toilet. I can hear it flushing from Canada.