You are here: HomeNews2014 03 24Article 304141

Ghana Ambassador to Japan was deceived by gamblers - Report

Read Comments Comments (96)

• Phasmida 10 years ago

Hahahahaha. This is funny. A whole ambassador deceived by hoodlums? This story can only be told in Ghana

• Tuga 10 years ago

Is it not this Ambassador,who have too kids with his maid?

• Tuga 10 years ago

I mean two kids.

• John 10 years ago

Such an important matter, the Foreign Minister posts on facebook, projecting a foreign social company. She reads nothing and knows nothing. What have we done to deserve such people as Ministers? Today it is Hannah Tetteh, yes ...

• MAHAMAH MUMUNI DRAMANI 10 years ago

THE NDC IDIOTS ARE MUTE WHY NOT CONDEMNING IT.USELESS PEOPLE IN A USELESS PARTY.PEOPLE AROUND THE WORLD ARE GOING TO KNOW HOW THIS PARTY OPERATES,EVILNESS VISONLESS LOOTERS AND LIARS HAVE NO GOOD IDEAS ABOUT THE COUNTRY.

• Aku sika 10 years ago

They have no use for him now that he is caught. NDC DOES NOT CARE ABOUT ITS OWN MEMBERS. IF YOU GET INTO TROUBLE YOU ARE ON YOUR OWN

• KOO NIMO 10 years ago

Don't believe the story. That trokosi Ambassador to Japan is a gambler and incompetence. He is corrupt just like JJ Rawlings and the whole NDC. That corrupt trokosi must be recalled home immediately. How can a Togolese bastar ...

Nobody can hide the light and true destiny of the great nation of Akan. they use all kinds of schemes and tricks to undermine or deny a proper standard to us but we shall never surrender. we shall change and adapt as like the ...

• Gye Nyame 10 years ago

Ghana is in big trouble oh! It is amazing how he has not been recalled and is still representing the country. I wonder what else this fool has signed without knowing the full details for Ghana. What a bunch of thieves making ...

• Che 10 years ago

Right from the Prez to whoever, are all a disgrace to this nation of ours. Hannah Tetteh is among the useless people around, yet, they keep humping her fron one place to another. Hannah Tetteh, Sherry Ayitey, Vicky, etc. are ...

• Bush 10 years ago

The other time, it was Ghana gold that was seized in Turkey with it attendance of explanations without success how the cargo lefts our shores. Nobody was held responsibly for that embarrassment to security capos, the governm ...

• Iman Erskine 10 years ago

Don't forget, it is only what they know. NDC(National Disgraceful Congress). They were taught to "create, loot and Share". and they have been doing that in Ghana from Rawlings Military/Rawlings NDC/Mills NDC and Now Mahama ...

• Yaa Nkosuo 10 years ago

Don't say "Only in Ghana"
    This incident did not happen in Ghana.
    The man is the greatest "twerp" that ever existed
    "People like this" WE pay to represent US abroad?

When Yaa Nkosuo criticises it, people think I am bad.

• John Tetegah 10 years ago

Mr. Kpodo, who was also ex-Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs, under late President Mills told the Commission presided over Justice Apau that even though he could confirm that he received the cheque, he added that he only sig ...

• Koffi Parker 10 years ago

Is it ever possible for this to happen to a man of such position? It appears the promises was being used for that purpose for a long time only this time nemesis has finally caught up with them $5,000 a month for protection an ...

• Ghana 10 years ago

Ndc trokosi thieves for you.

• KENKEY BOY 10 years ago

This man is a gambler, period. NDC has no credible people to rule this country. Look at people like Ablakwa, Fiifi Kwetey, Ayariga, and the Agalgas ...

• Kwaame 10 years ago

Away with this crappy explanation. You guys knew what was going and benefited from the proceeds. You are a big disgrace to Ghana.

• Tibaa 10 years ago

This is what happens when unreflecting automatons are posted to our embassies. This is a disgrace.

• Gumbihini Atika Atika 10 years ago

Is the ambassador a gullible or a crook? Either way this is bad.

Nemesis has finally arrived at the door step,the high commissioners is not innocent,infact all of them are involved past and present.

• TELL THE TRUTH 10 years ago

Our Ambassadors conduct due diligence on companies seeking to do business with the Government of Ghana. How could the previous and current Ambassadors in Tokyo have overlooked the need to conduct background checks on the so-c ...

• C.Y. ANDY-K 10 years ago

I also find the information puzzling. Take a look at this sentence.

"Japanese investigators had earlier stated that a rental contract to the tune of a monthly payment of 500,000 Yen or $4,923.50 was entered into, using the ...

There is more sinister and insidious agenda surrounding this so called NGO. It was created as a coverup.

• SARPONG 10 years ago

According to the earlier report, the initial contract was signed in 2010 and was renewed in 2012 . The 2010 contract was signed by Dr Brandful and the renewal was signed by Mr Deh.

It will be impossible for the Ministry of ...

• C.Y. ANDY-K 10 years ago

Thanks, Sarpong, for the explanation. The whole thing just didn't make sense to me. This particular reporter is mischievous. I read one other report which said the current Ambassador is a career diplomat; appointed as diplom ...

• Musah 10 years ago

he is knee deep in it, and he is aware of everything that went on

• SARPONG 10 years ago

How can you even rent a room at your foreign mission to anybody? You don't want Spies planting Listening devices in the Embassy so how can you lease a room to anybody? This is a scandal that will damage the image of our count ...

• MENSAH 10 years ago

The premises of our CONSULATE shouldn't have been rented to anybody,entity,call it,because:
    IT IS SOLELY GHANA.
    That is why I smell rat here.
    I have been to lots of consulate generals over here in TORONTO,and hardly see an ...

• KOO NIMO 10 years ago

This is what happens if you appoints muppets as Ambassadors

• ALWAYS RESPECT 10 years ago

WITH DUE RESPECT,HONOURABLE AMBASSADOR
    EDMOND KOFI AGBENUTSE DEH,ARE YOU TELL
    -ING THE TRUTH ?
    HOWEVER, THERE IS A SOUP THAT SEEMS
    GOOD TO OTHER PEOPLE BUT AT THE END
    IS A SOUP OF PAIN, EMOTIONAL DISTRESS
    AND SADNESS. A ...

• Nii Armah 10 years ago

Just look at this only for a paltry sum see how a whole idiot of an ambassador is dragging the whole nation through the mud.I dont blame him I only blame the status quo where every stupid punk is given a position they dont me ...

• Kululu 10 years ago

He want to get something small to top up his 10,000$ monthly salary. almost all the ambassadors abroad get to do something like that cos it is the Ghanaian way, they see the Gov't ministers back home do it too, so they don't ...

You sum all in one piece thankz

• Yiadom 10 years ago

These people are anti-Ghana. I do not believe he was hoodwinked but rather it was a connivance. Are there no diplomats at the embassy to confirm the activities of the 'NGOO"? If we were a serious country, this reprobate of an ...

• Mahmoud 10 years ago

Mr. Ambassador should have remembered the story of Kweku Ananse "Waa wu dia wu ye? Mi di e mi dia min ye?" Ask your Japanese colleague, it is real.

• SWOA 10 years ago

DECEIVED BY WHO ? THIS IS A KWEKU ANANSE COVER-UP.HE SHOULD FACE THE JAPANESE LAW.GHANA SHOULD DISTANCE HERSELF FROM THIS 'CHACHA' MAN LABELLED AMBASSADOR.

• NII LARTEY NARTEY 10 years ago

The issue here is, the Mahama led criminally corrupt mafia government have had their pants shamefully down this time in far away Japan where the police and the security operative are much more independence and professionally ...

• NII LARTEY NARTEY 10 years ago

Please, find corrections. The Ambassador would have been briefed and not grieved. Thanks!

• Woyome woyome 10 years ago

Look at the disgrace ambassadors statement of lies? So guys sign a contact for ghana and you did not do due diligence this is ghanas reward? Animguasei ni paa?do Ghanaians call these people our leaders?. No wonder our hardshi ...

• Palogo 10 years ago

You've got such an idiot as an ambassador and you expect Ghana to make progress. He only got his appointment because he is an Ewe and nothing else. He signs anything without reading. I mean words fail me.

• seneior citizen. Braunschweig Germany 10 years ago

Mr Agbenutse Dei should have been more prudent than the infantile decision he took without further investigation into the activities of the so-called NGOS the Japanese gamblers had claimed.As an Ambassador he represents our d ...

• Kwame 10 years ago

Daily Guide, your own story does not make sense. First contract was in the name of previous ambassador and changed in March to the name of current ambassador. When did the current ambassador assume duty? When did the previous ...

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 10 years ago

Don't just be stupid and ask yourself where in the world a portion of diplomatic premises would be subject to rental? This is what your so called Dr. Kwabena Agyei said NDC Party have brain dead voters who will never change t ...

• YOOO 10 years ago

The effect of giving appointments to crookish and incompetent family members, friends and certain privileged tribesmen only. Mahama has to recall this greedy good-for nothing gambler without any further delay

• AGYABA 10 years ago

THAT IS THE HALMARK OF THE NDC(NATIONAL DESTRUCTIVE COMPANY)A WHOLE AMBASADOR NOT DOING DUE DELLIGENCE, HOW? THIS IS A NATIONAL DISGRACE AND THE AMBASSADOR SHOULD BE RECALLED AT ONCE.THESE ARE THE THINGS RAWLINGS SHOULD SPEAK ...

• Adjei Kooti 10 years ago

Is there no legal dept attached to the embassy? Do our embassies have the mandate to enter into legal contracts withoput the attorney general's dept getting involved?

The story does not match. The ministry of foreign affai ...

• Kojo Azemeti 10 years ago

For the information of the ignoramuses who are posting comments to condemn our Ambassador, the various embassies and high commissions we see around do not just exist to grant or refuse visa applications. Their main mandate is ...

• jomo 10 years ago

are you literate and is this how you run the counry's business signing everything without reading oh ghana

• KnYc(USMC) 10 years ago

You are all over the place. You are not making sense. Just be specific. Your writing is as poor as JJ given a speech, it does not make sense.

When you wrote "Your writing is as poor as JJ given a speech", I believe you ought to have written the word "giving" and not "given", not so? This goes to show which of the two of us has poor skills at using the medium of wri ...

• Palogo 10 years ago

Kojo what do you take us for. you think we are idiots or what? Well try but I am not buying this nonsense even if you call me ignorant. You send an Ewe mafia to disgrace our country and you turn round to tell me you did this ...

• SARPONG 10 years ago

Nonsense. So whose interest were these Ambassadors serving, that of Ghana or Japan? Wouldn't it make it easy for others to spy on us by renting our embassies to them? Have you ever heard of any embassy renting out rooms from ...

• KnYc 10 years ago

You are a moron.

• FIIFI KWATEI 10 years ago

The cloack and dagger business you describe is the preserve of National Security agents who operate under the guise of diplomats at every Diplomatic Mission. Assignments that border on criminality are embarked upon strictly o ...

It is often said that assumption is the mother of all great blunders. I can see that you share the same mindset with Hannah Tetteh. Hannah Tetteh assumed that the American diplomats she was speaking to were safe for her to co ...

• Musah 10 years ago

Have you heard of any embassy or diplomatic asset of any country being rented out to gamblers? This very thing with Ewes trying to defend any odiuos behaviour that involves your tribesmen is what draws people to denounce your ...

The truth is the truth whether it is told by an Ewe or any human being. If what I am saying makes sense then simply accept it and stop looking for the tribe or ethnic background of the person who tells the truth. We should le ...

• Reality 10 years ago

This is pure exportation of the endemic Ghanaian fraud and corruption to the shores of Japan. Luckily the Japanese are more alert. Is this where we have gotten to now and where else is this happening in other Embassies. Poor ...

• oppong 10 years ago

Look at his faces, the man is crimenal.

• KnYc(USMC) 10 years ago

A very fool think that everybody is a fool. Deh is a moron, and the president is a moron. If you sign something without knowing than you as foolish as a madman.

• Boyz abr3 10 years ago

What kind of cock-and-bull story is that? What happened to due diligence?
    Please sack this incompetent ambassador and let's have some peace. What is this? Aaaah!

• Tokyo 10 years ago

We are going to demonstrate for the whole world to see that our African leaders are all
    Corrupt.

• Kofi kwame 10 years ago

We Sit in Ghana,giving our whole life to this Profs and Docts,look the world has changed but we refuses to change so we shall keep on to suffer untill the world tire apart.Obama ,Putting can never be president if they could h ...

• yaw 10 years ago

Aaaaba,mr.ambassador advise yourself,
    you better sack yourself before you get to Ghana.

• K Apenkwa 10 years ago

Too bad for ghana

• Onipa Bone 10 years ago

All politicians; NDC or NPP or otherwise. Everyday for thiefman. One day for owner. Ambassador whatever your name is, should you be recalled in disgrace, you can take solace from the fact that you aren't the first to suffer t ...

• senegal 10 years ago

BULLSHIT how can an ambassador sign a document not without proper verification. dont try to cover up for him. MAHAMA did the same with STX.

• RESIDENT OF JAPAN 10 years ago

We Ghanaians will force him out

• Kofi Dubai 10 years ago

Mahama is a gambler too so shall it be with his ministers and his diplomats. What a diplomatic blunder!

• CAO. 10 years ago

oh Ghana why?

• Chiga 10 years ago

Is the embassy a rent agency? corruption would continue to embarrass this country. I am sure if it were Ghanaians in Japan who had requested for the use of the premises they Ambassador would have refused.

• Majid 10 years ago

My God!!! a whole ambassador of Ghana couldn't read ordinary tenancy agreement or he knows about the fraud,Thank God Nigerians are not close to this people, he would have mentioned Nigerians as the people behind this mess. Al ...

• Paa Kwesisika 10 years ago

Ghanafo nkwasiafo that's what you get for voting k3k3. Vote for substance, integrity, quality, experience and credibility. Don't just vote because you are of the same tribe or region as the candidate. Vote your mind not your ...

• HAZOR 10 years ago

Did Mahama government rent office space for all NGO's that is assisting in drilling boreholes and other developmental projects?This bullshit excuse.President Mahama and his criminal Mafia's are destroying Ghana image abroad.G ...

• iddi 10 years ago

so....stupid and undeserved of an AMBASSADOR...GET RID ...really quick ..hes a disgrace

• Kofi Peprah 10 years ago

Osagyefo Dr Kwame Nkrumah will weep in his grave. His beloved Ghana has become a disgrace !!

• Truth 10 years ago

Osagyefo was just as bad. Waving big white handkerchief and the walking stick.Acting like he was God. People are getting smart today. Ghanaians would never have tolerated Nkrumah if he was alive today. All these mean politici ...

• Osofo 10 years ago

Indeed

• Hakase 10 years ago

I wonder how Mahama San feels especially as a former employee of the Japanese Embassy in Accra.

• oye 10 years ago

AMBASSADOR GOT CAUGHT HE IS ON HIS OWN. THE GGAMBLING PROFIT WAS TO ADD TO NDC CAMPAIGN MONEY BUT NOW NDC HAS ALL THE OIL MONEY SO THIS GUY IS ON HIS OWN

• K. Azuntaba. 10 years ago

Kwasea Ambassador.Such an idiot does not qualify to represent his local akpeteshie club, not to talk about the great people f Ghana. However I bet you a fresh Cedi to nothing that this Linmann, sorry Mahama government will br ...

• nana yiadom 10 years ago

the government of the ndc are full of square pecks in round holes, things are falling apart in all sectors of govenance.

• mensah abrampa 10 years ago

What do these people take us for? A mere bunch of naive nincompoops? Don't even try. I hope for mere political partisanship and expediency the president did not appoint a novice and crookish diplomat to an advanced nation lik ...

• Ghanabiya 10 years ago

Ghanaians, we pride ourselves of knowing too much about the world to the extend that what is happening to the embassy will be unthinkable.

It is happening. Is it as a result of the greed of our Diplomats or what?

Wha ...

• MENSAH 10 years ago

I will expect somebody like ASIEDU NKETIA to speak on such issues,that demeans the name of GHANA,but will keep mute to it,of course.
    IF SOMEONE FROM GHANA HAD COMMENTED/REPORTED ON SUCH GRIEVOUS DEEDS,HE MIGHT HAVE ALREADY C ...

• Adom 10 years ago

Oh what a disgrace an Ambassador signing a Casino Document without reading through and not refering it to the Home office?greedy people.Please Mr President know the character of those you give Appointment to.

• Vodoo Xebieso 10 years ago

THE IDIOT SHOULD BE RECALLED HOME AND PROSECUTED.

• ASUNNYJOH 10 years ago

ARE YOU SURE?.THE JAPAN GOVERNMENT IS NOT SO STUPID TO LET THE GUY OFF HOOK THEY WILL DEAL WITH HIM ACCORDING TO THEIR LAW,BEFORE THEY WILL DEPORT HIM OUT OF THE COUNTRY.NDC HAS NO LAW BACK HOME TO PROSECUTE THEIR FOOT SOLDIE ...

• CAPII 10 years ago

AFRC,P/NDC ARE ALL BUNCH OF THIEVES,CREATE,LOOT & SHARE; PNDC ACCT.48,WOYOME,SUBAGATE,SADAGATE,VICKILEAK,WATERVILLE,ISOFOTON ETC.NO WONDER NDC AMBASSADORS ARE "GAMBLERS"

• Iman Erskine 10 years ago

Typical NDc lies. Who told him to lease the space in the first place. You are a diplomat not a landlord. So stop the lies.The mission is supposed to purchase a building that caters to theie need only.So stop the lies . Your c ...

• Antiochus - London 10 years ago

Another cover up. This is a big diplomatic disgrace.

• Joe 10 years ago

What an ass hole representing a whole nation.
    This guy ought to be stripped-off his post and sent back to Ghana immediately.

• Amada 10 years ago

OH, WHAT A GOVERNMENT, WHAT A PARTY! EITHER GHANAIANS ARE COWARDS, OR OUR COLLECTIVE FEAR OF EXCELLENCE HAS LED US INTO THHIS CHAIN OF GOVERNMENTAL CORRUPTION. WHAT A PITY!

• DAN 10 years ago

WHY ELSE WOULD THEY DO IT?

• Kofi Yeboah-Agyemang 10 years ago

It is indeed sad and also interesting for the story to suggest that the Ambassador was deceived to sign an agreement when he had no idea or background information of the group as an NGO.
    If for the sake of cheap money, the M ...