General News of Wednesday, 19 February 2014


NPP condemns Nyaho-Tamakloe's 'unguarded' utterances

The New Patriotic Party says Dr. Nyaho Nyaho-Tamakloe, a founding member of the party, “violated his duties” as a member of the party following his recent actions and “unguarded” pronouncements.

Dr. Nyaho-Tamakloe had questioned the composition of the party’s national vetting committee, following rumours that a national chairman aspirant, Paul Afoko, has been disqualified after he appeared before the committee on Thursday.

But Perry Okudzeto, Ag. Director of Communications of the NPP, in a statement said that, “the premise on which Dr. Nyaho-Tamakloe made the assertion is flawed”.

He listed the “respected” members of the committee and cautioned Dr. Nyaho-Tamakloe not to denigrate them because “it does not auger well for the unity and cohesion of the party”.

“Such unguarded statements deepen the perception and rumour that engulfs the party in times like this, when there is internal competition for leadership positions,” he underscored.


18th February 2014

The Editor

Daily Graphic



Our attention has been drawn to your publication of Saturday 15th February 2014 with the above headline “Aftermath of NPP vetting...Nyaho questions composition of c’ttee.”

DrNyahoNyaho-Tamakloe, a member of the New Patriotic Party (NPP),is quoted as questioning the composition of the party’s national vetting committee.

It must be stated in clear and certain terms that the premise on which Dr Tamakloe makes the assertion is flawed. Dr. Nyaho-Tamakloe’s statement that out of the five alleged to be disqualified, three were from the north, cannot also be a statement of fact. There are eight candidates from the north in the contest. Disqualification was not based on ethnicity.

Further it exposes his ignorance of the party’s constitution and its provisions. Such unguarded statements deepen the perception and rumour that engulfs the party in times like this when there is internal competition for leadership positions.

As a leading member of the party, recent actions and pronouncements by Dr. Nyaho-Tamakloe violate his duties as a member of the party.

Article 3 D of the party’s constitutions states that a member shall:

  1. Protect and promote the good name of the Party;

  2. Protect the unity of the Party;

  3. Be loyal and truthful to the Party;

  4. Abide by, and publicly uphold, the decisions of the Party.

Article 9 B on national organisation, addresses the issues raised by Dr Nyaho-Tamakloe. The relevant portions are qouted below:

“The National Council shall have the following Standing Committees, which shall submit quarterly reports of their activities to the National Executive Committee for consideration and transmission to the National Council”.

  • Finance Committee;

  • Constitutional Committee;

  • Organization Committee;

  • Research Committee;

  • Disciplinary Committee;

  • Vetting Committee;

The Vetting Committee shall consists of;

  • i. The five (5) Chairpersons of the other Standing Committee of National Council;

  • The Chairperson of the National Council of Elders;and

  • Three ( 3) other persons appointed by the NationalCouncil, one of whom shall be designated chairperson of the Vetting Committee, provided however that the National Council shall ensure that at least two (2) out of the nine (9) persons are women.

The Vetting Committee is therefore made up of current Chairpersons of the various standing committees appointed four years ago and have been in office since.

The impression being created that this was a new committee just for the purpose of the 2014 National Executive Election, and tribal underpinnings that have been cited is mind boggling.

The following are members of the Vetting Committee:

Mr C.K Tedam – Chairman National Council of Elders

Most Rev. Dr. Asante Antwi – Disciplinary Committee

HE DrAdjeiBawuah – Organisation Committee

Brigadier Joseph Odei(Rtd) – Research Committee

KwabenaSarpong – Finance Committee (Rep)

Hon. AyikoiOtoo – Constitutional Committee

Martin Adjei Mensah Korsah- Director of Elections (Secretary)

There are two women representatives, Madam Cecilia Dapaah and Hon. Catherine Afeku.

Other members are co-opted heads of departments at the party headquarters.

Odoi Sykes, Sammy Okudzeto, Roland Alhassan, Gladys Asmah, Appiah Menkah, ex-President J.A. Kufuor, Kwame Pianim, Donkor Fordjour and Cecelia Bannerman as mentioned in the publication are very respected members of the NPP and should not be drawn into denigrate other members currently on the committee. It does not auger well for the unity and cohesion of the party.

By this statement we urge all party members, irrespective of their level in the party to seek clarification on all issues concerning the party from the Communication Directorate.

Any member, who uses the media as a platform for addressing internal party issues, shall be summoned before the disciplinary committee.

We urge you (the media) to also cross-check information from the party’s Communication Directorate at all times.


Perry Okudzeto

AG Director of Communication