You are here: HomeNews2014 02 15Article 300807

Sale of house must attract VAT- Amissah-Arthur

Read Comments Comments (56)

• Kwamina Appiah 10 years ago

Since you useless and incompetent guys want to tax us up to our noses, maybe you may just have to impose VAT on any sexual activity going on in the country. From wives, girlfriends, apus or even prostitutes. Keep taxing until ...

• OLIVER TWIST 10 years ago

The only avenue this clueless bunch at the Flagstaff house see as a way to generate revenue for government is by increasing taxes and the number of items they charge them on, yet a lot of these dimwits were educated abroad.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

Well, let us pay. Afterall, we are paying taxes on condoms and even cutlasses. Very soon, like America, we shall start pay the DEATH TAX. Now, if I rent my house I have bought if this policy is implemented, that means I have ...

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

EVERY REVENUE YOU MAKE IN GH MUST BE TAXED....PERIOD!

• samo jewellery 10 years ago

let samo jewellery design n customise yr wedding n engagement ring for u......we are located in kumasi asafo two buildings away from glo office opposite snnit building....we use latest tools n equipment to design these rings ...

• KB Tema 10 years ago

More tax on Ghanaians to buy Gold Chains for lordina

• Krikri,, 10 years ago

There are so many millions of Ghanaians who should pay tax but are walking free. Why don't you JUST EDUCATE THEM on their tx liabilities? If you like give that job to me and I assure you that you will be surprised at what I W ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

A young man and his date were parked on a back road some distance from town. They were about to have sex when the girl stopped.

"I really should have mentioned this earlier, but I'm actually a hooker and I charge $20 for ...

• TEE 10 years ago

BOTH AMISSAH ARTHUE AND PEPENI MAHAMA HAVE NO BRAINS TO BECOME LEADERS IN GHANA. IT MAKES GHANA SO CHEAP. BOTH LIES AND DECEIVED

• Zoobie-Zoobie 10 years ago

17.5% tax on the sale of a house?

• dan 10 years ago

MAHAMA AND HIS V.P ARE DESTROYING ALL GHANA INDUSTRIES WITH NEW VAT TAX AND OTHER HIGH FEES ,EVERY DAY THEY ARE TAXING SOMTHING ELSE KILLING BUSNISS AND JOBS IN GHANA NOW THEY ARE ATTCKING THE REAL ESTATE INDUSTRY WHAT NEXT? ...

• KANE 10 years ago

They'll soon start taxes on females clitoris mutilations.

Ghana is in trouble.

• Osei Mensah 10 years ago

Oh yes, it is done all over the world. All of us over here in Europe ans elsewhere have paid VAT on our houses and it is not therefore a new thing that is going to happen in Ghana. There are too many loopholes in avoiding tax ...

• efo kojo 10 years ago

all the tax's you paid in the European countries are traceable,whiles in Ghana our tax's are wasted by the stupid politicians and the useless prez. poverty is increasing day-by-day and all we do is impossing tax on the people ...

• Zoobie-Zoobie 10 years ago

17.5% tax on a house?

• Krikri,, 10 years ago

Amissah Arthur please tell the President to start paying tax on his earnings now. He must also cancel the Article 71 office holders NONSENSE because it is a colonial inheritance.

• kom 10 years ago

Master Mensah, which part of the world are you talking about? I will agree if you are buying the house for investment purposes but not sure its even done. We have a huge housing deficit so what they have to do is to give tax ...

• JH New York 10 years ago

Is Europe, Ghana ! Before you make a suggestion in support of a VAT on buildings in our low impoverished Society,you have to consider the lack or non availability of Social Benefits to the people of Ghana, as against the nu ...

• prof 10 years ago

amissah Arthur have a mental problem

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

We'll like to bring PEACE FM'S attention to the situation that is going on in their sister Radio station at GhanaToday HOLLAND. It has been cleared to the listeners of Ghana Today radio , how the presenter Kofi nyarko was rud ...

• jm 10 years ago

ALL THESE NDC CRIMINALS KNOW IS TO MILK EVERYONE AND THE STATE. SHAME ON YOU MR LOOTER

• opusuodum 10 years ago

LOOK AT THIS GAY MAN

• Hp 10 years ago

Who told you so ?

• House Hunter 10 years ago

Our VP says: “Let’s discuss and encourage those who can pay for the houses, and find ways of providing affordable house to those who cannot afford.”
    In effect, the VP is saying that the affordable houses must be builr ...

• papadoc 10 years ago

The country is unfortunately ruled by a hierarchical cabal of incompetent sycophants. They are clueless about how to effectively run a country in the 21st century; they are still stuck in their archaic ways. You want to hear ...

• Pontius Pilate 10 years ago

I think what is more important is the payment of property rates. taxing houses at this time of our development will be counter productive

• Ship Dealer 10 years ago

Oh vice paa ... Tweeeeeeeeaaaaa.!!!!!
    You are a fool vice..

• Ghanaba 10 years ago

And VAT

• Kwasi 10 years ago

Another Efantinii Aboa come and tax couple'shaving sex too Kwasia gimiffour.

• dan 10 years ago

ANYONE THAT SUPORT THIS MAHAMA GOVRENMENT IS OUT OF HIS MIND NOW HE IS ATTACKING THE REAL ESTATE INDUSTRY AFTER ATTACKING IMPORTS AND IMPOSING
    HIGER VATS SECRETLY THE MESS MUST STOP WE ARE ALLREDAY TAX TO DEATH AND UNDER ...

• JB Ansong 10 years ago

May I know, if the estate industry is exempted from taxation?

In US and Europe, you'll pay VAT on ANYTHING you buy, be it a needle or a gigantic castle, be it a toy car or a Lambourgini - I mean everything.

Why must th ...

• Jane 10 years ago

Kwasia!

The USA uses taxes to develop America and Americans.

Ghana spends it's taxes on article NONSENSE OFFICEHOLDERS. The rest is looted by the government of the day.

• papadoc 10 years ago

Jane

I cannot agree with you more. This is a clueless, corrupt, incompetent and desperate band of thieves who are at their wits end. Instead of using revenue from taxes and other sources to generate long-term development ...

• sly 10 years ago

why houses been sell in us dollars?

• sam 10 years ago

It is very unfortunate in an attempt to get a little more money to balance the budget, the govt. seems to be taxing anything taxable.
    What the govt. should be doing is encouraging home ownership and more real estate develop ...

• KWEKU SARPONG-MIAMI,FLORIDA-USA 10 years ago

BOTH PRESIDENT/VICE ARE SO STUPID AND USELESS THEY LACK THE KNOWLEDGE, INTELLIGENCE AND WISDOM TO KNOW THE BEST MEANS OF RAISING NON-INFLATION- ARY REVENUE GENERATING IDEAS TO PEP UP THE ECONOMY SO THEY ALWAYS HIDE BEHIND LAZ ...

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

What about PAYING PROPERTY TAX and NOT paying tax on acquiring a house ???
    This REQUIRES A SECURE DATABASE.....we are just NOT ORGANISED for DEVELOPMENT!!
    The VP talks sometimes like an ......

• I CARE FOR YOU 10 years ago

"Those who can afford the houses should equally afford the required taxes". That is the principle of Social Democracy.

• dan 10 years ago

HOW MUCH MORE TAXES AND FESS DO YOU GHANA FALKS WANTS TO SEE TO FINALLY CONVINCE YOU ALL ,THAT MAHAMA AND HIS GOVRENMENT ARE NOTHING BUT FOOLS AND UP TO NO GOOD AND ONLY CREATE MISUREY AND PAIN TO THE PEOPLE OF GHANA
    FAL ...

• SenaGawu 10 years ago

The third world status is under statement . Ghana is worse than a firth world. Very shallow group of people. The education system is not helping either. Borrowed curriculum , borrow concept, borrowed knowledge and no origina ...

• papadoc 10 years ago

What happened to property taxes in Ghana. Has the vice-president and the administration even considered it? Instead of imposing Vat on houses why not implement property taxes instead. One will pay the tax as long as one owns ...

• crazy amissa 10 years ago

this mam is crazy

• papadoc 10 years ago

they are all crazy because they are all ignorant and unabashedly clueless. Instead of coming up with comprehensive solutions they are all over the place with anything that they can think of

• BRO DAN- TRC 10 years ago

BLESSED PEOPLE OF AFRICA, DIGNIFIED PEOPLE OF THE NATIONS OF THE WORLD, INNOCENT PEOPLE OF GHANA- BEHOLD IT IS REVEALED, -GIVE TO CAESAR WHAT IS CAESAR'S AND TO THE LORD WHAT IS THE LORD'S. AND WE KNOW THAT NO SERVANT IS GREA ...

• Tetteh Nubuor 10 years ago

Is Mr. vice president talking about just one time sales tax or a one time VAT. From my knowledge the tax would last as long as the mortgage. So if it is a 10 year mortgage the tax would be spread over the same period length. ...

• Patsy 10 years ago

Fool, such tom foolery.

• ALWAYS TAX 10 years ago

TOO MANY TAXES.
    IF YOU TAX THEM, THEY WILL PASS ON THE COST TO THE CONSUMER, MAKING IT EVER TOUGHER TO HOUSE THE PEOPLE, SO SHOVE THE FOOLISHNESS!

YOU GUYS MUST STOP STEALING THE NATION'S FUNDS, BEGIN USING NATIONAL RESOU ...

• Papad 10 years ago

Vat(value-added tax) is usually a one time front-loaded tax. Property tax on the other hand is a tax that the home owner will pay ad infinitum for as long as one owns the house. In other words, it never expires and it is a be ...

• Papadoc 10 years ago

Vat(value-added tax) is usually a one time front-loaded tax. Property tax on the other hand is a tax that the home owner will pay ad infinitum for as long as one owns the house. In other words, it never expires and it is a be ...

• Papadoc 10 years ago

• Papad 10 years ago

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON 10 years ago

I strongly believe that vat on all types of houses sold to the public is not fair as it will hit the pockets of the poor ones who scrape to buy low cost houses.What the government should do is to levy a special tax on houses ...

• NDC Thieves 10 years ago

Look at this ugly faggot. They now want to tax us more. What a useless pair of assholes we have ruling us. I weep for Ghana

• Yaa Nkosuo 10 years ago

What is the Veep talking about?
    Who is he expecting to pay that VAT ; the Buyer or Seller of the property.

• koku 10 years ago

AZUUUII