You are here: HomeNews2013 12 16Article 295361

President’s brother defraying Merchant Bank debt

Read Comments Comments (33)

Now that its clear and exposed that this regime is burdened toxic tribalism , thieving corruption and hegemony we shall now elaborate on the other pillar which is the crudest form of cult personality politics . cult personali ...

• Ann 10 years ago

DO SOMETHING FOR MAMA GHANA.
    TALK IS CHEAP

• AKONOBA 10 years ago

Akonfem president=akonfem govt. Faith is not a policy. The Akonfem President is policyless, visionless, directionless and focusless. Edey be Keke is not a policy to transform the ecomini. Compare with NPP NHIS, NYEP, LEAP, Me ...

• Wells 10 years ago

That's right. Every right thinking Ghanaian should ask this question. Where did this Mahama got Guarantor from that.He should tell us what kind of assets did he give to the banks in return. All of a sudden he has been able to ...

we shall form our own country!!! long live the superior republic of Akan!!!

• agang 10 years ago

Are you in this world. Illiteracy is your problem. Travel and see and your primitive thinking of Akan will evaporate.

• agang 10 years ago

You are purely illiterate. Travel and see and this primitive thinking of Akan will evaporate. Think of Gh. don't be.......

• yendi boy 10 years ago

You are so ignorant.The guy is a businessman and he made his deal with a bank for a loan.What has that got to do with tribalism and president Mahama Mr.ignorant,next time think out of the box before you write

• Rose 10 years ago

Folks! You see how sensible Yendi boy is, he didn't insult but advised his brother, that is the way Ghanaians were brought up.We need to tolerate our enemies how hard it is, sometimes you can't just let go but we need to try. ...

• I & I 10 years ago

And Kwasea to you, that is the way I was brought up. You NDC failures cried and are still crying wolf when Kuffour's Son bout a Hotel for $5ml. Now this stupid prsident's brother is using the state's resources to buy a bank a ...

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

They advise against insults only if it's hurled at one of their own. These assholes will keep their sacred angelic mouths fully shut if the insults are geared towards Nana Addo or Kuffour.

• mas ieso 10 years ago

REALLY, REALLY, REALLY. Sometimes I wonder how we think as Ghanaians. Just one person, who happens to be the sitting President's brother has a company, and this company takes a loan from a Ghanaian Bank, does not pay/does not ...

• Ibrahim Mahama 10 years ago

I am Ibrahim Mahama and I am a thief, a womanizer, and a big time whack off KING. I will fuck anything in heels and pay for them with your money to go and get an abortion or travel abroad to deliver my bastard kid for me. You ...

• Ghanaman Original 10 years ago

This is a well written article. Maybe,
    we Ghanaians should hire the best managers from outside the country to come and manage the country for us.
    We could pay them a fixed salary plus aa % bonus based on how much they
    in ...

• Ghana 10 years ago

These mahama boys must be sent to de firing squad like wht happened to roger felli n the rest

• NII LARTEY NARTEY 10 years ago

If a gentle military General Roger Feli was shot to his death for officially signing for a loan as little as 50 thousand Cedis, then Ibrahim Mahama must have his balls set on fire alive and hang to death.

Why this stinky c ...

• Papa Yaw 10 years ago

How

• Kom 10 years ago

How much was the principal of the loan amount? Is he paying back with interest or paying off only the principal? Just curious

• OBURONIBA FITAFITA 10 years ago

A sole commissioner is needed here the most. J J Rawlings must be bold to talk about his own guys and stop beating about the bush with Kufuor's past inability to control corruption. Ghanaians are beginning to know where the c ...

• OBURONIBA FITAFITA 10 years ago

Must read "impoverished African nation"

• YAW MENDS 10 years ago

WHERE IS THE SO-CALLED J J .IS DEATH AND BLIND NOW ,CAN,T HE PREACH AGAIN ,I THINK HE IS THE CORRUPTION FIGHTER ,HE PREACHED AGAINST KUFFOUR REGIME OF CORRUPTION .GOD PASS MAN.J J SEE YOUR PRODUCTION ,YOU INITIATED ALL THESE ...

• WARD GDX - WE THE PEOPLE 10 years ago

ESSENTIALLY THE MAHAMAs USING SOME EWE CROOKS BEHIND FORTIZ JUST TOOK OWNERSHIP OF A STATE
    BANK AND PAID NOTHING.

Mahama Ibrahim owes Merchant Bank about 38 million dollars without considering the inte- the rest.

The ...

• KANIA 10 years ago

PRESIDENT BROTHER HAS BECOME MILLIONAIRE OVER NIGHT?

• JH New York 10 years ago

"Processes started on the 13th of Dec" is coined to align with your promises of payments on the 15th of Dec.Anyway.
    We're watching the outcomes of borrowing from Peter pan to pay Paul.

That does not mean that,investigatio ...

• Thieves! 10 years ago

90% of this historic bank is being sold for $45 million, which means this bank is worth only $50 million?

Awuni is doing the right thing.
    By the time the MB directors get their kickbacks from the $45 million, the balance ...

• ........ 10 years ago

HE BORROWED JUST 50,000 OLD GHANA CEDIS(5 DOLLARS OR LESS)FOR PAULTRY FARM, KOFI AWOONOR,AKRASTI SARPONG,MENSAH NUNOO,TSIKATA,FUI TSIKATA & JJ(MEMBERS OF PUBLIC TRABUNAL) MURDERED HIM.MAJOR AMEDUME WAS MURDERED SIMPLY BECAUS ...

• AKONFEM JDM ATOPAHENE 10 years ago

OH GOD SAVE GHANA,HMMMMMMMMMM EI NSEM PII,MAHAMA AND HIS CORRUPT BROTHER ARE KILLING GHANIANS,COLLAPSING GHANA,THIS PEOPLE ARE MAFIAS,THE BIG THIEVES,FOOLS TANII

• hawa 10 years ago

I will only respect Mahama as my real countryman if he backs out of the transaction. The payment wouldnt solve the problem. Paying ti whom, 90% shareholders?

• kudi 10 years ago

Robbing peter to pay peter

• .. 10 years ago

WALK INTO A BANK.
    TAKE A US$38 MILLION LOAN.
    REFUSE TO PAY BACK WHEN THE LOAN IS DUE.
    THE BANK REDUCES YOUR DEBT TO US$28 MILLION.
    PAY THE US$28 MILLION.
    WALK AWAY WITH A COOL US$10 MILLION LOOT IN YOUR POCKET.
    WHAT BU ...

• .. 10 years ago

"WHAT BUSINESS IS BETTER THAN THIS ? AND WHERE ELSE BUT IN GHANA WHERE WORKERS' PENSION FUND CONTRIBUTIONS ARE USED ANYHOW BY POLITICIANS !!!"..........

• HOW INTERESTING 10 years ago

Ibrahim took a US$58 million dollar loan from SSNIT Contributors via Merchant Bank and is paying back only US$28 million ? What happens to the hefty balance of US$30 million? Is that a gift to him? This is daylight robbery. I ...

• EI, AS3M B3N NIE ? 10 years ago

Mahama's brother pays back US$28 million instead of US$58 million, and FORTIS Group takes Second Tier pension fund contributions from Bank of Ghana to buy Merchant Bank as their private property ? EBEI, AS3M B3N NIE !!! Over ...