Display options Mobile website

General News of Wednesday, 11 December 2013

Source: myjoyonline.com

Akufo-Addo popular in NPP but… - Pollster

Pollster Ben Ephson has said that while Nana Akufo-Addo is the man to beat in the New Patriotic Party's upcoming presidential primary, Prof Frimpong-Boateng will appeal more to floating voters.

The Daily Dispatch Editor said however that Frimpong-Boateng may not see his dream of contesting the presidential elections on the party's ticket materialize because winning the primaries will be a tall order.

He was speaking to Joy News on the NPP's internal elections to be conducted next year.

The opposition party is electing new officers at the District, Constituency, Regional and National levels ahead of the 2016 elections.

According to Ben Ephson, close to ten candidates are interested in contesting the flagbearship elections of the NPP.

He said the 2012 candidate, Nana Akufo-Addo is still popular and will be the man to beat in the party should he decide to contest.

Mr Ephson was unable to tell if the twice defeated presidential candidate would be able to attract independents and therefore win the 2016 Presidential poll.

He is convinced, however, that Prof Frimpong-Boateng will be a better candidate in terms of attracting floating voters whom he described as the king makers in any election.

Ben Ephson said the higher the number of flagbearer aspirants against Nana Akufo-Addo, the easier it will become for the 2008 and 2012 flagbearer to win the presidential slot of the opposition party.

Four candidates have so far formally declared their intention to contest the party's national chairmanship position.

Incumbent Jake Obetsebi-Lamptey, his vice, Fred Oware, Stephen Ntim as well as Paul Afoko have so far made their intentions clear.

Ntim will be contesting the position for the third time running.

Mr Ephson said the four candidates are fairly divided into the two major factions within the NPP- the Kufuor faction and the Akufo-Addo faction with Stephen Ntim and Paul Afoko belonging to the Kufuor faction and Oware and Obetsebi-Lamptey belonging to the Nana Addo faction.

He said until the constituency elections are done, he is unable to tell who will win the party's chairmanship elections.

This article has 39 comments, give your comment